DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 13-21, in a previous reply was previously acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election was treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, corresponding to claims 13-17 and 20-21, in the reply filed on 18 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-19 and 22-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the aforementioned replies.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: claims 13 and 16: flow control device has been interpreted as a mass flow meter, flow control valve or a flow meter, and equivalents thereto, as set forth in the specification at para. 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “said first valve” and claim 20 recites the limitation “said second valve”. Neither of which is properly introduced in claims 16 or 20, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed claims 16 and 18 were both meant to depend from claim 14 and has examined accordingly. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,989,345 to Hatano et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0362701 to Logue et al.
Regarding claim 13: Hatano et al. discloses a sublimation gas supply system capable of supplying solid material sublimation gas to a subsequent process substantially as claimed and comprising: first vessel (see, e.g., Fig. 1, 22) capable of housing a first solid material; a first heater (see, e.g., 28) to heat said first vessel so that said first solid material sublimates to produce a first sublimation gas; a first buffer tank (see, e.g., 32 in Fig. 1 and one of 52-54, e.g., 52 in Fig. 5) capable of storing sublimation gas; a first channel (see, e.g., gas line between 22 and one of 52-54 ) capable of supplying said first sublimation gas into said first buffer tank; a second channel (see, e.g., gas line(s) between 52-54 and 16a) capable of supplying said first sublimation gas to a subsequent process (e.g., performed at process chamber 6); a dilution gas channel (see, e.g., gas line 24 between 20 and another one of 52-54, e.g., 53) configured to connect to a first connector (e.g. “junction D”) in said second channel; a first flow control device (e.g. 58 downstream of 52) configured to control (i.e. capable of controlling) flow, provided between said first connector and said first buffer tank on said second channel; and second flow control device (e.g. 58 upstream of 53) configured to control (i.e. capable of controlling) flow and provided on said dilution gas channel. Also, see, e.g., Figs. 1-5, col 3 ln 10-52, col 4 ln 14-19, col 5 ln 30-47, col 6 ln 26-65.
However, Hatano fails to disclose a mixing vessel, provided on said second channel, configured to mix (i.e. capable of mixing) said dilution gas and said first sublimation gas brought together by said first connector.
Logue et al. disclose providing a mixing vessel (Figs. 1-3, 346L or 346H) provided on a second channel configured to supply a sublimation gas from a first vessel (e.g., 226 or 228) to a subsequent process (performed at 342), configured to mix (i.e. capable of mixing) a dilution gas and a first sublimation gas brough together by a first connector for the purpose of providing a continuous precursor generation source, precursor gas conditioning and precursor gas delivery and obviating downtime associated with removal or replacement of a sublimator (see, e.g., paras. 37, 73-76).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided a mixing vessel provided on said second channel, configured to mix (i.e. capable of mixing) said dilution gas and said first sublimation gas brought together by said first connector in order to provide a continuous precursor generation source, precursor gas conditioning and precursor gas delivery and obviating downtime associated with removal or replacement of a sublimator as taught by Logue et al.
With respect to claim 17, in modified Hatano, Hatano discloses a first buffer tank heater (50) configured to heat said first buffer tank for the purpose of preventing the first sublimation gas from condensing (see, e.g., column 4, rows 29-34). However, Logue et al. fails to explicitly teach a mixing vessel heater configured to heat said mixing vessel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art exercising ordinary creativity, common sense and logic to have provided a mixing vessel heater for the similar purpose of preventing the first sublimation gas from condensing as taught by Hatano.
With respect to claim 21, in modified Hatano, Hatano discloses a controller (40 and 70) adapted to select during steady-state operation, or depending on the conditions of the subsequent process, at least one from the group consisting of said first flow control device and said second flow control device to regulate the concentration of said first sublimation gas introduced into said subsequent process (see, e.g., column 6, rows 55 through column 7, row 8).
Claim(s) 14-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hatano as applied to claims 13, 17 and 21 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0159005 to Olander.
Regarding claim 14, modified Hatano discloses the apparatus substantially as claimed and as described above. Additionally, Hatano discloses second buffer tank (see, e.g., 32 in Fig. 1 and one of 52-54, e.g., 53 in Fig. 5) configured to store (i.e. capable of storing) said dilution gas, provided on said dilution gas channel; a first valve (see annotated figure above) provided on said first channel; and a third valve (see annotated figure above) provided between said first connector and second buffer tank on said dilution gas channel.
However, modified Hatano fails to disclose a second valve provided between said first connector and said first buffer tank on said second channel, in addition to a flow control device.
Olander discloses a combination of flow control instruments downstream of a vaporization vessel/first vessel (Fig. 1, 12) including a sequence of valve (31), mass flow controller (e.g., flow control device) (32), and valve (33) in a gas channel prior to a connection point (connector at 46) for the purpose of controlling the flow of between the vaporization vessel and a processing tool (see, e.g., paras. 49 and 61).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided a second flow control device and a second valve provided between said first connector and said first buffer tank on said second channel in order to control the flow of between the vaporization vessel and a processing tool as taught by Olander.
With respect to claim 15, in modified Hatano, Hatano discloses a controller (40 and 70; see, e.g., column 6, rows 55 through column 7, row 8) configured to exert control to valves. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art exercising ordinary creativity, common sense and logic to have provided the controller for closing any valve in modified Hatano, including the second and third valves.
With respect to claim 16, in modified Hatano, Hatano discloses a first discharge channel (e.g., from 52 leading towards “factory plant exhausting duct” to discharge first sublimation gas from said first buffer tank (i.e. discharged/prevented from entering first buffer tank), provided between said first valve and said first buffer tank on said first channel; Logue et al. discloses a third flow control device (e.g., V21 and/or V22) configured to control flow, provided between said mixing vessel and said subsequent process on said second channel; and Logue et al. discloses a discharge gas channel (via V19 and/or V20) configured to discharge gas on said second channel, provided between said mixing vessel and said third flow control device on said second channel.
With respect to claim 20, in modified Hatano, Hatano discloses the controller (40 and 70; see, e.g., column 6, rows 55 through column 7, row 8) configured to exert control to valves. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art exercising ordinary creativity, common sense and logic to have provided the controller for opening and/or closing any valve in modified Hatano, including the second and third valves. Hatano also discloses a second pressure gauge (60) configured to measure pressure inside said first buffer tank; and the controller (40 and 70) adapted to exert control to exert control to open said second valve so that said first sublimation gas flows through said first channel at start-up, when said second pressure gauge (see, e.g., column 5, rows 47-61).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP Pub. 2008/0141937 discloses a method and system for controlling a vapor delivery system.
/KARLA A MOORE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716