Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites: “The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the support sleeve and the contact sleeve form, at least in sections, a positive and/or non-positive connection.” Emphasis added.
Paragraph [0040] recites: “According to a further aspect of the invention, it can be provided that the support sleeve and the contact sleeve form, at least in sections, a positive and/or non-positive connection, preferably when the crimp connection is formed.”
However, it is not clear what is meant by “a positive and/or non-positive connection” when claim 12 is construed in view of paragraph [0040] and the drawings.
In order to expedite prosecution, claim 12 is construed as how it might be interpreted by a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-12, 14-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Hellermann” (DE 1089839. Examiner’s note: the citations to Hellermann are based on the English translation of Hellermann).
Regarding claim 1, Hellermann anticipates 1. A connecting arrangement, comprising: a support sleeve (Figs. 3-5, [0021]; outer sleeve 3);
and a contact sleeve configured to receive an electrical conductor which has individual wires as a received electrical conductor (Figs. 3-5, [0021]; inner sleeve 1 receives the conductor 2),
wherein the contact sleeve is received at least in sections in the support sleeve (Figs. 3-5, [0021]; inner sleeve 1 is sections of the outer sleeve 3),
wherein the contact sleeve comprises an active section configured to form a crimp connection at least in sections with the received electrical conductor (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; inner sleeve 1 has an active section to form a crimp connection),
and wherein the support sleeve is configured at least to maintain a contact surface pressure, at least in sections, between the active section and the received electrical conductor and/or, at least in sections, between the individual wires of the received electrical conductor (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; outer sleeve 3 maintains a contact surface pressure between the active section and the received conductor 2).
Regarding claim 2, Hellermann anticipates 2. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the active section and/or a support section of the support sleeve assigned to the active section is plastically deformable or plastically deformed at least in sections (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; outer sleeve 3 is deformed).
Regarding claim 6, Hellermann anticipates 6. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the support sleeve has a conductor insertion section, and wherein the conductor insertion section is funnel-shaped at least in sections (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; outer sleeve 3 has a cross-sectional funnel shaped insertion section).
Regarding claim 7, Hellermann anticipates 7. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the contact sleeve is rotationally symmetrical, at least in sections, at least in a region of the active section (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; inner sleeve 1 is rotationally symmetrical).
Regarding claim 8, Hellermann anticipates 8. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the support sleeve has, at least in sections, at least one support section in a region of the active section, and wherein at least the support section is rotationally symmetrical (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; outer sleeve 3 has a support section is rotationally symmetrical).
Regarding claim 9, Hellermann anticipates 9. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the support sleeve has at least one stop element configured to support the contact sleeve and/or an insulation of the electrical conductor in a longitudinal direction (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; outer sleeve 3 supports the inner sleeve 1 and the insulating material 5 in a longitudinal direction).
Regarding claim 10, Hellermann anticipates 10. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the support sleeve has at least one recess extending at least in sections around a circumference of the support sleeve (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; outer sleeve 3 has a recess extending around a circumference).
Regarding claim 11, Hellermann anticipates 11. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the support sleeve extends in a longitudinal direction at least over the active section (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; outer sleeve 3 extends in a longitudinal direction over the active section).
Regarding claim 12, Hellermann anticipates 12. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the support sleeve and the contact sleeve form, at least in sections, a positive and/or non-positive connection (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; outer sleeve 3 and inner sleeve 1 form either a positive and/or non-positive connection. Examiner’s note: see the 112 rejection above regarding the construction of this limitation.).
Regarding claim 14, Hellermann anticipates 14. A method for producing the connecting arrangement, claim 1, the method comprising: receiving the contact sleeve at least in sections in the support sleeve as a received contact sleeve, the received contact sleeve in the support sleeve comprising the active section; receiving the electrical conductor in the received contact sleeve;
and forming a crimp connection, at least in sections, by a crimping tool which is applied to the support sleeve in a region of the active section (Regarding claim 14, Kondo Hellermann, the method limitations are process limitations in a product claim and is treated in accordance with MPEP 2113. As these process limitations uses a product structure that is the same as the product of Hellermann, this claim is therefore anticipated by Hellermann.).
Regarding claim 15, Hellermann anticipates 15. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the contact sleeve is received at least in sections in the support sleeve in a longitudinal direction (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; inner sleeve 1 is received in outer sleeve 3 in a longitudinal direction).
Regarding claim 18, Hellermann anticipates 18. The connecting arrangement of claim 6, wherein the conductor insertion section, in a longitudinal direction thereof, merges into the support section (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; conductor insertion section merges into the support section in a longitudinal direction).
Regarding claim 19, Hellermann anticipates 19. The connecting arrangement of claim 7, wherein the contact sleeve is hollow-cylindrical (Figs. 3-5, [0021]; inner sleeve 1 is hollow-cylindrical).
Regarding claim 20, Hellermann anticipates 20. The connecting arrangement of claim 8, wherein at least the support section is hollow-cylindrical (Figs. 3-5, [0021]; support section is hollow-cylindrical).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hellermann in view of “Zhang” (CN 110364907. Examiner’s note: the citations to Zhang are based on the English translation of Zhang).
Regarding claim 3, Hellermann discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Hellermann discloses 3. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the support sleeve comprises a support sleeve material, and the contact sleeve comprises a contact sleeve material (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; each of inner sleeve 1 and outer sleeve 3 have a material).
Hellermann does not disclose wherein a modulus of elasticity of the support sleeve material is greater at least in a region of an ideally elastic-plastic material behavior than a modulus of elasticity of the contact sleeve material.
Zhang discloses wherein a modulus of elasticity of the support sleeve material is greater at least in a region of an ideally elastic-plastic material behavior than a modulus of elasticity of the contact sleeve material (pages 14-15, the support sleeve has a Young’s modulus greater than the contact sleeve).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Hellermann’s connecting arrangement with Zhang’s materials since Zhang teaches that the support sleeve and the contact sleeve can be made of different materials having different Young’s modulus. Furthermore, changing the materials of the support sleeve and contact sleeve would have involved a mere change in the materials of a component, which is understood to require an ordinary level of experimentation by a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Hellermann discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Hellermann discloses 4. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the support sleeve comprises a support sleeve material, and the contact sleeve comprises a contact sleeve material (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; each of inner sleeve 1 and outer sleeve 3 have a material).
Hellermann does not disclose wherein a yield strength of the support sleeve material is smaller, at least within a range of an ideally-elastic plastic material behavior, than a yield strength of the contact sleeve material.
Zhang discloses wherein a yield strength of the support sleeve material is smaller, at least within a range of an ideally-elastic plastic material behavior, than a yield strength of the contact sleeve material (pages 14-15, the support sleeve has a yield strength smaller than the contact sleeve).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Hellermann’s connecting arrangement with Zhang’s materials since Zhang teaches that the support sleeve and the contact sleeve can be made of different materials having different yield strengths. Furthermore, changing the materials of the support sleeve and contact sleeve would have involved a mere change in the materials of a component, which is understood to require an ordinary level of experimentation by a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Hellermann discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Hellermann discloses 5. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the electrical conductor comprises a conductor material, and the support sleeve comprises a support sleeve material, (Figs. 3-5, [0021]-[0025]; each of inner sleeve 1 and outer sleeve 3 have a conductor material).
Hellermann does not disclose wherein a yield strength of the support sleeve material is smaller than a yield strength of the conductor material.
Zhang discloses wherein a yield strength of the support sleeve material is smaller than a yield strength of the conductor material (pages 14-15, the support sleeve has a yield strength smaller than the contact sleeve).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Hellermann’s connecting arrangement with Zhang’s materials since Zhang teaches that the support sleeve and the contact sleeve can be made of different materials having different yield strengths. Furthermore, changing the materials of the support sleeve and contact sleeve would have involved a mere change in the materials of a component, which is understood to require an ordinary level of experimentation by a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, Hellermann in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 3, above.
Zhang discloses 16. The connecting arrangement of claim 3, wherein the contact sleeve material is electrically conductive (page 14, aluminum splicing sleeve 1).
Regarding claim 17, Hellermann in view of Zhang discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 5, above.
Hellermann discloses 17. The connecting arrangement of claim 5, wherein the individual wires of the electrical conductor comprise the conductor material (Fig. 4, [0022]; strands of cable 2).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hellermann in view of “Kern” (US 2016/0199932).
Regarding claim 13, Hellermann discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Hellermann does not disclose the limitations of claim 13.
Kern discloses 13. The connecting arrangement of claim 1, wherein the contact sleeve comprises a copper alloy or of a brass alloy, and/or wherein the electrical conductor comprises copper ([0037], [186]; the crimping preform and conductors are formed of copper alloy).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Hellermann’s connecting arrangement with Kern’s copper alloy in order to provide a method for establishing an electrically conductive connection which is easily realizable but nevertheless leads to a corrosion resistant, as suggested by Kern at Abstract.
Conclusion
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847