Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on pages 8-10, filed 8/18/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16-33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20110167128 to Raghunathan et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 10820263 to Barton et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170215224 to Ke et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20190357298 to Li et al (independent claims 16 and 23); and U.S. Publication No. 20110167128 to Raghunathan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20200178052 to Pattan et al (independent claims 22 and 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 18-20, 23, 25-27, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110167128 to Raghunathan et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 10820263 to Barton et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170215224 to Ke et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20190357298 to Li et al.
Referring to claim 16, Raghunathan et al disclose in Figures 1-5 a method for estimating a duration when a UE is unreachable (loss of connection between BS and UE) caused by a coverage hole (dead spot region) in a coverage area of at least one access node (BS of Figures 1a-1b; each BS has a coverage area as shown by the dotted lines, and within each coverage area is a dead spot region with poor quality of service; Sections 0005-0007, 0007, 0009, 0010, 0033, and 0035) in a telecommunication network (network of Figures 1a-1b), the method comprising:
Determining that a connection between the UE and the telecommunication network (BS) is lost. Sections 0006, 0011-0013, 0031, 0041, 0043, 0048, 0049, and 0056: UE determines that there is a loss of connection between BS and UE due to increasing distance between UE and BS leading to poor signal quality of service and eventually loss of signal.
Determining (step 402) that the loss of connection is due to the UE entering the coverage hole.
UE has a loss of wireless connectivity with BS when UE is within the dead spot region. A location of a dead spot region within an expected route of UE is identified. UE identifies that it is in the dead spot region since UE passed through and sensed the dead spot region previously, and recorded the location coordinates of the dead spot region for future use. UE obtains its current location coordinates determined via GPS. UE then compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the dead spot region, in order to determine whether or not UE is in the dead spot region.
Estimating (step 402) the duration of the UE in the coverage hole based on (UE estimates the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region):
… the coverage area and the coverage hole (Figures 1a-1b: each BS has a coverage area as shown by the dotted lines, and within each coverage area is a dead spot region with poor quality of service; Sections 0005-0007, 0007, 0009, 0010, 0033, and 0035). UE estimates the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region based on the location coordinates of the dead spot region in the coverage area of BS.
And, any one or more of a location information (determined via GPS) or a time information (when UE enters the dead spot region and when UE exits the dead spot region) of the UE in the coverage area (Sections 0043-0046 and 0049-0051). UE obtains its current location coordinates determined via GPS. UE then compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the dead spot region, in order to determine the duration of UE in the dead spot region. UE compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the nearer end of the dead spot region to determine when UE enters the dead spot region. Later, UE compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the farther end of the dead spot region to determine when UE exits the dead spot region. So, UE can estimate the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region by calculating the difference between the time UE entered the dead spot region and the time UE exited the dead spot region. For example in Section 0050: UE estimates that it will be in the dead spot region from 11:53:04 am to 11:53:47 am. Refer to Sections 0005-0016 and 0025-0065.
…
Raghunathan et al do not disclose … estimating the duration of the UE in the coverage hole based on: a coverage map comprising the coverage area and the coverage hole, and any one or more of a location information or a time information of the UE in the coverage area. Raghunathan et al only disclose in Sections 0043-0046 and 0049-0051 wherein UE identifies that it is in the dead spot region since UE passed through and sensed the dead spot region previously, and recorded the location coordinates of the dead spot region for future use, but does not disclose a claimed “coverage map” indicating the dead spot region.
Barton et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Column 2 line 19 to Column 3 line 18, Column 5 lines 15-31, and Column 6 line 57 to Column 7 line 22 wherein the network creates a dark map for WLAN. The dark map comprises a map indicating coverage holes / dead spots in the coverage area of WLAN where WLAN lacks coverage for basic data traffic. UE uses the dark map to identify dead spots in the WLAN. Refer to Column 1 line 53 to Column 10 line 11. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … estimating the duration of the UE in the coverage hole based on: a coverage map comprising the coverage area and the coverage hole, and any one or more of a location information or a time information of the UE in the coverage area. One would have been motivated to do so to simplify the system by allowing UE to determine dead spot regions using a coverage map, thereby facilitating dead spot region mitigation.
Raghunathan et al and Barton et al do not disclose … wherein the estimated duration is used for initiating AN release procedures ...
Ke et al disclose in Figures 1-15, and Sections 0064, 0205-0231 wherein an UE, which is in an access network, transmits packets to eNB. If packets are not received from UE after a pre-set time period, since UE has moved out of the coverage of the access network, eNB releases the resources of UE. eNB releases the resources of UE by transmitting a resources release request to MME; then MME releases the resources of UE. Refer to Sections 0061-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the estimated duration is used for initiating AN release procedures … One would have been motivated to do so if the UE is out of coverage of the access network, AN resources are released, thereby saving resources.
Raghunathan et al, Barton et al, and Ke do not disclose … wherein the estimated duration is used for initiating AN release procedures at an AMF. Ke et al only disclose in Figures 1-15, and Sections 0064, 0205-0231 wherein if packets are not received from UE after a pre-set time period, since UE has moved out of the coverage of the access network, eNB releases the resources of UE by transmitting a resources release request to MME.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0005, 0088-0114 wherein when UE moves out of the coverage of an access network, the NWDA function entity sends a resource release request message of UE to a control plane function entity, such as an MME or an AMF. The resource release request message includes an ID of a resource that needs to be released, the location of UE, and UE ID. MME or AMF then releases UE resources. Refer to Sections 0055-0243. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the estimated duration is used for initiating AN release procedures at an AMF. One would have been motivated to do so since an AMF or a MME can be used to release resources for UE in an access network when UE is out of coverage of the access network.
Referring to claim 18, Raghunathan et al, Ke et al, and Li et al do not disclose further comprising: creating the coverage map using the signal strength indicators obtained from a plurality of UE in the coverage area over time.
Barton et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Column 3 lines 39-45, Column 5 lines 50-67, and Column 6 lines 50-65 wherein stations reports their locations along with the strength of signals, such as RSSI, of the APs to a mapping server stations move (claimed “creating the coverage map using the signal strength indicators obtained from a plurality of UE in the coverage area over time”). Mapping server uses the location and signal strength information of the stations to generate a dark map indicating coverage holes / dead spots in the coverage area of WLAN. Other claimed signal strength “indicators” that station reports to mapping server to generate the dark map includes RSNI and SINR. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising: creating the coverage map using the signal strength indicators obtained from a plurality of UE in the coverage area over time. One would have been motivated to do so so that a coverage map indicating coverage holes can be generated based on signal strength indicators, which indicate when signal strength is low indicative of a coverage hole.
Referring to claim 19, Raghunathan et al disclose in Figures 1-5 further comprising:
Obtaining (step 402) the any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage area over time (location and time of UE when it enters the dead spot region, and location and time of UE when it exits the dead spot region; Sections 0043-0046 and 0049-0051).
Estimating (step 402) the duration of the UE in the coverage hole based on differences in the obtained any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage area over time (Sections 0043-0046 and 0049-0051). A location of a dead spot region within an expected route of UE is identified. UE identifies that it is in the dead spot region since UE passed through and sensed the dead spot region previously, and recorded the location coordinates of the dead spot region for future use. UE estimates the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region based on the location coordinates of the dead spot region in the coverage area of BS. UE obtains its current location coordinates determined via GPS. UE compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the nearer end of the dead spot region to determine when UE enters the dead spot region. Later, UE compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the farther end of the dead spot region to determine when UE exits the dead spot region. So, UE can estimate the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region by calculating the difference between the time UE entered the dead spot region and the time UE exited the dead spot region. For example in Section 0050: UE estimates that it will be in the dead spot region from 11:53:04 am to 11:53:47 am. Refer to Sections 0005-0016 and 0025-0065.
Referring to claim 20, Raghunathan et al disclose in Figures 1-5 further comprising:
Determining (step 402), based on the any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage area over time (location and time of UE when it enters the dead spot region, and location and time of UE when it exits the dead spot region; Sections 0043-0046 and 0049-0051), an expected set of any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage hole (expected location and expected time of UE when it enters the dead spot region, and expected location and expected time of UE when it exits the dead spot region) .
Estimating the duration of the UE in the coverage hole based on the determined expected set of any one or more of the location information or the time information. A location of a dead spot region within an expected route of UE is identified (since the method uses the expected route of UE, the location information and time information of UE in the dead spot region is also expected; claimed “expected set of any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage hole”). UE identifies that it is in the dead spot region since UE passed through and sensed the dead spot region previously, and recorded the location coordinates of the dead spot region for future use. UE estimates the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region (claimed “expected set of any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage hole”) based on the location coordinates of the dead spot region in the coverage area of BS. UE obtains its current location coordinates determined via GPS. UE compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the nearer end of the dead spot region to determine when UE enters the dead spot region. Later, UE compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the farther end of the dead spot region to determine when UE exits the dead spot region. So, UE can estimate the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region (“expected set of any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage hole”) by calculating the difference between the time UE entered the dead spot region and the time UE exited the dead spot region. For example in Section 0050: UE estimates that it will be in the dead spot region from 11:53:04 am to 11:53:47 am. Sections 0011, 0012, 0028, 0029, 0031, 0035, 0039, 0040, 0042, 0043, 0049, 0050-0052, 0056 and 0058 discloses an expected route of a vehicle, expected time of arrival at a dead spot, and time duration that the vehicle is expected to be in the dead spot which all read on the claimed “expected set of any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage hole”. Refer to Sections 0005-0016 and 0025-0065.
Referring to claim 23, Raghunathan et al disclose in Figures 1-5 a network entity (UE; the pending application 18/578041 discloses in the specification on page 4 lines 19-21 that the network entity can be a UE) arranged for operating in a telecommunication network (network of Figures 1a-1b) and arranged for estimating a duration when a UE is unreachable (loss of connection between BS and UE) caused by a coverage hole (dead spot region) in a coverage area of at least one access node (BS of Figures 1a-1b; each BS has a coverage area as shown by the dotted lines, and within each coverage area is a dead spot region with poor quality of service; Sections 0005-0007, 0007, 0009, 0010, 0033, and 0035) in a telecommunication network, configured to:
Determine that a connection between the UE and the telecommunication network (BS) is lost. Sections 0006, 0011-0013, 0031, 0041, 0043, 0048, 0049, and 0056: UE determines that there is a loss of connection between BS and UE due to increasing distance between UE and BS leading to poor signal quality of service and eventually loss of signal.
Determine (step 402) that the loss of connection is due to the UE entering the coverage hole.
UE has a loss of wireless connectivity with BS when UE is within the dead spot region. A location of a dead spot region within an expected route of UE is identified. UE identifies that it is in the dead spot region since UE passed through and sensed the dead spot region previously, and recorded the location coordinates of the dead spot region for future use. UE obtains its current location coordinates determined via GPS. UE then compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the dead spot region, in order to determine whether or not UE is in the dead spot region.
Estimate (step 404) the duration of the UE in the coverage hole based on (UE estimates the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region):
… the coverage area and the coverage hole (Figures 1a-1b: each BS has a coverage area as shown by the dotted lines, and within each coverage area is a dead spot region with poor quality of service; Sections 0005-0007, 0007, 0009, 0010, 0033, and 0035). UE estimates the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region based on the location coordinates of the dead spot region in the coverage area of BS.
And, any one or more of a location information (determined via GPS) or a time information (when UE enters the dead spot region and when UE exits the dead spot region) of the UE in the coverage area (Sections 0043-0046 and 0049-0051). UE obtains its current location coordinates determined via GPS. UE then compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the dead spot region, in order to determine the duration of UE in the dead spot region. UE compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the nearer end of the dead spot region to determine when UE enters the dead spot region. Later, UE compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the farther end of the dead spot region to determine when UE exits the dead spot region. So, UE can estimate the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region. For example in Section 0050: UE estimates that it will be in the dead spot region from 11:53:04 am to 11:53:47 am. Refer to Sections 0005-0016 and 0025-0065.
Raghunathan et al do not disclose … estimate the duration of the UE in the coverage hole based on: a coverage map comprising the coverage area and the coverage hole, and any one or more of a location information or a time information of the UE in the coverage area. Raghunathan et al only disclose in Sections 0043-0046 and 0049-0051 wherein UE identifies that it is in the dead spot region since UE passed through and sensed the dead spot region previously, and recorded the location coordinates of the dead spot region for future use, but does not disclose a claimed “coverage map” indicating the dead spot region.
Barton et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Column 2 line 19 to Column 3 line 18, Column 5 lines 15-31, and Column 6 line 57 to Column 7 line 22 wherein the network creates a dark map for WLAN. The dark map comprises a map indicating coverage holes / dead spots in the coverage area of WLAN where WLAN lacks coverage for basic data traffic. UE uses the dark map to identify dead spots in the WLAN. Refer to Column 1 line 53 to Column 10 line 11. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … estimate the duration of the UE in the coverage hole based on: a coverage map comprising the coverage area and the coverage hole, and any one or more of a location information or a time information of the UE in the coverage area. One would have been motivated to do so to simplify the system by allowing UE to determine dead spot regions using a coverage map, thereby facilitating dead spot region mitigation.
Raghunathan et al and Barton et al do not disclose … wherein the estimated duration is used for initiating AN release procedures ...
Ke et al disclose in Figures 1-15, and Sections 0064, 0205-0231 wherein an UE, which is in an access network, transmits packets to eNB. If packets are not received from UE after a pre-set time period, since UE has moved out of the coverage of the access network, eNB releases the resources of UE. eNB releases the resources of UE by transmitting a resources release request to MME; then MME releases the resources of UE. Refer to Sections 0061-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the estimated duration is used for initiating AN release procedures … One would have been motivated to do so if the UE is out of coverage of the access network, AN resources are released, thereby saving resources.
Raghunathan et al, Barton et al, and Ke do not disclose … wherein the estimated duration is used for initiating AN release procedures at an AMF. Ke et al only disclose in Figures 1-15, and Sections 0064, 0205-0231 wherein if packets are not received from UE after a pre-set time period, since UE has moved out of the coverage of the access network, eNB releases the resources of UE by transmitting a resources release request to MME.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0005, 0088-0114 wherein when UE moves out of the coverage of an access network, the NWDA function entity sends a resource release request message of UE to a control plane function entity, such as an MME or an AMF. The resource release request message includes an ID of a resource that needs to be released, the location of UE, and UE ID. MME or AMF then releases UE resources. Refer to Sections 0055-0243. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the estimated duration is used for initiating AN release procedures at an AMF. One would have been motivated to do so since an AMF or a MME can be used to release resources for UE in an access network when UE is out of coverage of the access network.
Referring to claim 25, refer to the rejection of claim 18.
Referring to claim 26, refer to the rejection of claim 19.
Referring to claim 27, refer to the rejection of claim 20.
Referring to claim 35, Raghunathan et al, Barton et al, and Li et al do not disclose wherein the release procedures are initiated if the estimated duration is above a threshold duration.
Ke et al disclose in Figures 1-15, and Sections 0064, 0205-0231 wherein an UE, which is in an access network, transmits packets to eNB. If packets are not received from UE after a pre-set time period (claimed “if the estimated duration is above a threshold duration”), since UE has moved out of the coverage of the access network, eNB releases the resources of UE. eNB releases the resources of UE by transmitting a resources release request to MME; then MME releases the resources of UE. Refer to Sections 0061-0323. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the release procedures are initiated if the estimated duration is above a threshold duration. One would have been motivated to do so if packets are not received within a pre-set time, then UE is out of coverage of the access network and AN resources are released, thereby saving resources.
Claims 17 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110167128 to Raghunathan et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 10820263 to Barton et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170215224 to Ke et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190357298 to Li et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20070182631 to Berlinsky et al.
Referring to claim 17, Raghunathan et al disclose in Figures 1-5 further comprising:
Estimating the any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage area based on signal strength ... Sections 0005-0007, 0027-0029, 0033, 0034, 0039, 0048, and 0058: within the dead spot region, signal quality is low and signal strength is low. Sections 0043-0046 and 0049-0051: When UE determines that the signal quality is low, that the signal strength is low, or that there is no signal strength, UE identifies that it is in a dead spot region and identifies the location and time of when it is in the dead spot region. UE then records the location coordinates of the dead spot region for future use.
Receiving, from a GPS (vehicle sensor data 22), the any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage area. Sections 0027, 0043-0045, 0049, and 0056: UE uses a GPS in vehicle sensor data 22 to determine the time and location coordinates of the dead spot region and to determine the time and location coordinates of the current location of UE. Refer to Sections 0005-0016 and 0025-0065.
Raghunathan et al do not disclose … estimating the any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage area based on signal strength indicators …
Barton et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Column 3 lines 39-45, Column 5 lines 50-67, and Column 6 lines 50-65 wherein stations reports their locations along with the strength of signals, such as RSSI (claimed “signal strength indicators”), of the APs to a mapping server stations move. Mapping server uses the location and signal strength information of the stations to generate a dark map indicating coverage holes / dead spots in the coverage area of WLAN. Other claimed signal strength “indicators” that station reports to mapping server to generate the dark map includes RSNI and SINR. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … estimating the any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage area based on signal strength indicators … One would have been motivated to do so so that a coverage map indicating coverage holes can be generated based on signal strength indicators, which indicate when signal strength is low indicative of a coverage hole.
Raghunathan et al, Barton et al, Ke et al, and Li et al do not disclose … receiving, from a location server in the telecommunication network, the any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage area.
Berlinsky et al disclose in Figures 1-3 and Sections 0016-0020 and 0026-0032 wherein a location server in the network of Figures 1, 3 determines the location of UE using GPS satellites. Location server determines the coordinates of the location of UE using GPS and transmits the location coordinates to UE. Refer to Sections 0016-0032. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … receiving, from a location server in the telecommunication network, the any one or more of the location information or the time information of the UE in the coverage area. One would have been motivated to do so that UE can receive its GPS location from a location server, thereby facilitating location determination of UE.
Referring to claim 24, refer to the rejection of claim 17.
Claims 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110167128 to Raghunathan et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 10820263 to Barton et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170215224 to Ke et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190357298 to Li et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20140142868 to Biduad et al.
Raghunathan et al, Barton et al, Ke et al, and Li et al do not disclose wherein the step of estimating the duration of the UE comprises: estimating, using a machine learning algorithm, the duration of the UE in the coverage hole.
Biduad et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0043, 0051 wherein machine learning software and reference data of landscapes in different weather conditions are used to predict signal strength to maintain maximum connectivity and reduce time spent in wireless dead zones. So, a machine learning algorithm is used to determine UE time spent in dead zones in order to reduce the time spent in the dead zones. Refer to Sections 0038-0151. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the step of estimating the duration of the UE comprises: estimating, using a machine learning algorithm, the duration of the UE in the coverage hole. One would have been motivated to do so to simplify the estimation of the duration of UE in the coverage hole, since a machine learning algorithm learns patterns to make predictions.
Claims 22 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110167128 to Raghunathan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20200178052 to Pattan et al.
Referring to claim 22, Raghunathan et al disclose in Figures 1-5 a method for exposing a duration when a UE is unreachable (loss of connection between BS and UE) caused by a coverage hole (dead spot region) in a coverage area of at least one access node (BS of Figures 1a-1b; each BS has a coverage area as shown by the dotted lines, and within each coverage area is a dead spot region with poor quality of service; Sections 0005-0007, 0007, 0009, 0010, 0033, and 0035) in a telecommunication network (network of Figures 1a-1b), the method comprising:
Obtaining (step 402) an estimated duration of the UE in the coverage hole (Sections 0043-0046 and 0049-0051). A location of a dead spot region within an expected route of UE is identified. UE identifies that it is in the dead spot region since UE passed through and sensed the dead spot region previously, and recorded the location coordinates of the dead spot region for future use. UE estimates the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region based on the location coordinates of the dead spot region in the coverage area of BS. UE obtains its current location coordinates determined via GPS. UE compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the nearer end of the dead spot region to determine when UE enters the dead spot region. Later, UE compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the farther end of the dead spot region to determine when UE exits the dead spot region. So, UE can estimate the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region by calculating the difference between the time UE entered the dead spot region and the time UE exited the dead spot region. For example in Section 0050: UE estimates that it will be in the dead spot region from 11:53:04 am to 11:53:47 am.
Transmitting (step 404) the estimated duration of the UE in the coverage hole … in the telecommunication network (Sections 0043-0046 and 0049-0051). UE broadcasts a signal to at least one other vehicle that is in a vicinity of UE. The signal includes an identification of a time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region, and an identification of the content provider. For example: the signal specifies the time period that UE expects to be in the dead spot region as from 11:53:04 am to 11:53:47 am and also specifies the content provider. Refer to Sections 0005-0016 and 0025-0065.
Raghunathan et al do not disclose … transmitting the estimated duration of the UE in the coverage hole over a T8 interface from a SEAL location management server to a SCEF in the telecommunication network.
Pattan et al disclose in Figures 1-24 and Sections 0080, 0082, 0085, 0088, 0092, 0173, 0186, 0187, 0189, 0200-0203, 0228, and 0238 wherein a SEAL provides location management of UEs since the SEAL includes a list of users in geographic locations. UE can also inform the SEAL about parameters such as the scaling of the network resources requirement of a particular UE service. Figure 17 and Sections 0151-0160 and 0203-0206: The mobility of UEs allow UEs to move geographically while the coverage of the edge is restricted, which makes the applications requiring service continuity while running on edge exposed to the UE's mobility. The SEAL provides mobility handling when UEs are deployed over the edge by transferring the context of the group communication within one edge to another edge depending on the mobility of the plurality of UEs to provide seamless mobility of the group communication from one edge to the next. Section 0199: the SEAL communicates over a T8 interface with a SCEF, wherein the SCEF exposes network capabilities securely to third-party applications so that they can communicate securely with the network. Refer to Sections 0070-0265. Although Pattan et al do not specifically disclose the claimed “transmitting the estimated duration of the UE in the coverage hole over a T8 interface from a SEAL location management server to a SCEF in the telecommunication network”, Pattan et al disclose that the SEAL and SCEF provides mobility handling when UEs are deployed over the edge when coverage is restricted. So, depending on the duration of the time UEs are out of coverage, the SEAL and SCEF can provide mobility handling to provide seamless mobility of UE communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmitting the estimated duration of the UE in the coverage hole over a T8 interface from a SEAL location management server to a SCEF in the telecommunication network. One would have been motivated to do so since, depending on the duration of the time UEs are out of coverage, the SEAL and SCEF can provide mobility handling to provide seamless mobility of UE communication.
Referring to claim 29, Raghunathan et al disclose in Figures 1-5 a network entity (UE; the pending application 18/578041 discloses in the specification on page 4 lines 19-21 that the network entity can be a UE) for exposing a duration when a UE is unreachable (loss of connection between BS and UE) caused by a coverage hole (dead spot region) in a coverage area of at least one access node (BS of Figures 1a-1b; each BS has a coverage area as shown by the dotted lines, and within each coverage area is a dead spot region with poor quality of service; Sections 0005-0007, 0007, 0009, 0010, 0033, and 0035) in a telecommunication network (network of Figures 1a-1b), configured to:
Obtain (step 402) an estimated duration of the UE in the coverage hole (Sections 0043-0046 and 0049-0051). A location of a dead spot region within an expected route of UE is identified. UE identifies that it is in the dead spot region since UE passed through and sensed the dead spot region previously, and recorded the location coordinates of the dead spot region for future use. UE estimates the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region based on the location coordinates of the dead spot region in the coverage area of BS. UE obtains its current location coordinates determined via GPS. UE compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the nearer end of the dead spot region to determine when UE enters the dead spot region. Later, UE compares its current location coordinates with the location coordinates of the farther end of the dead spot region to determine when UE exits the dead spot region. So, UE can estimate the time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region by calculating the difference between the time UE entered the dead spot region and the time UE exited the dead spot region. For example in Section 0050: UE estimates that it will be in the dead spot region from 11:53:04 am to 11:53:47 am.
Transmit (step 404) the estimated duration of the UE in the coverage hole … in the telecommunication network (Sections 0043-0046 and 0049-0051). UE broadcasts a signal to at least one other vehicle that is in a vicinity of UE. The signal includes an identification of a time period during which UE is expected to be in the dead spot region, and an identification of the content provider. For example: the signal specifies the time period that UE expects to be in the dead spot region as from 11:53:04 am to 11:53:47 am and also specifies the content provider. Refer to Sections 0005-0016 and 0025-0065.
Raghunathan et al do not disclose … transmitting the estimated duration of the UE in the coverage hole over a T8 interface from a SEAL location management server to a SCEF in the telecommunication network.
Pattan et al disclose in Figures 1-24 and Sections 0080, 0082, 0085, 0088, 0092, 0173, 0186, 0187, 0189, 0200-0203, 0228, and 0238 wherein a SEAL provides location management of UEs since the SEAL includes a list of users in geographic locations. UE can also inform the SEAL about parameters such as the scaling of the network resources requirement of a particular UE service. Figure 17 and Sections 0151-0160 and 0203-0206: The mobility of UEs allow UEs to move geographically while the coverage of the edge is restricted, which makes the applications requiring service continuity while running on edge exposed to the UE's mobility. The SEAL provides mobility handling when UEs are deployed over the edge by transferring the context of the group communication within one edge to another edge depending on the mobility of the plurality of UEs to provide seamless mobility of the group communication from one edge to the next. Section 0199: the SEAL communicates over a T8 interface with a SCEF, wherein the SCEF exposes network capabilities securely to third-party applications so that they can communicate securely with the network. Refer to Sections 0070-0265. Although Pattan et al do not specifically disclose the claimed “transmitting the estimated duration of the UE in the coverage hole over a T8 interface from a SEAL location management server to a SCEF in the telecommunication network”, Pattan et al disclose that the SEAL and SCEF provides mobility handling when UEs are deployed over the edge when coverage is restricted. So, depending on the duration of the time UEs are out of coverage, the SEAL and SCEF can provide mobility handling to provide seamless mobility of UE communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmitting the estimated duration of the UE in the coverage hole over a T8 interface from a SEAL location management server to a SCEF in the telecommunication network. One would have been motivated to do so since, depending on the duration of the time UEs are out of coverage, the SEAL and SCEF can provide mobility handling to provide seamless mobility of UE communication.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110167128 to Raghunathan et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 10820263 to Barton et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170215224 to Ke et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190357298 to Li et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20190215700 to Sofuoglu et al.
Raghunathan et al, Barton et al, Ke et al, Li et al do not disclose wherein the UE entering the coverage hole comprises a RLF event and a failed RRC reestablishment.
Sofuoglu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Section 0027 wherein a UE enters a coverage hole when there is an RLF and after a failed RRC reestablishment. Refer to Sections 0024-0069. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the UE entering the coverage hole comprises a RLF event and a failed RRC reestablishment. One would have been motivated to do so since when UE enters a coverage hole, UE has no coverage and a RLF occurs after a failed RRC reestablishment.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110167128 to Raghunathan et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 10820263 to Barton et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170215224 to Ke et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190357298 to Li et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20190178514 to Sasaki et al.
Raghunathan et al, Barton et al, Ke et al, and Li et al do not disclose further comprising: adjusting the estimated duration by an average error of a prediction model, wherein the average error is based on differences between estimated durations and actual durations of UEs in coverage holes.
Sasaki et al disclose in Figures 1-25 and Sections 0197-0199, 0208-0210, 0219, 0220, 0226, 0227, 0234, and 0235 wherein the sensor frequency is adjusted based on an average error of a prediction model. When the difference between the first sensor predicted value and the actual measured value of the first sensor value, which is the absolute average error, is larger than a predetermined value, a frequency determination unit determines the first frequency higher than the current first frequency. When the difference between the first sensor predicted value and the actual measured value of the first sensor value, which is the absolute average error, is smaller than a predetermined value, the frequency determination unit determines the first frequency to maintain the current first frequency. So, the frequency is adjusted based on the absolute average error of a prediction model. Refer to Sections 0036-0256. Although Sasaki et al do not specifically disclose the claimed “adjusting the estimated duration by an average error of a prediction model, wherein the average error is based on differences between estimated durations and actual durations of UEs in coverage holes.”, Sasaki et al disclose a similar method of adjusting a parameter based on the average error of a prediction model, wherein the average error is based on the difference between an estimated value of the parameter and an actual value of the parameter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising: adjusting the estimated duration by an average error of a prediction model, wherein the average error is based on differences between estimated durations and actual durations of UEs in coverage holes. One would have been motivated to do so to adjust the estimated duration by an average error of a prediction model, wherein the average error is based on differences between estimated durations and actual durations of UEs in coverage holes, thereby increasing the accuracy of the estimated duration according to the average error.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20110167128 to Raghunathan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20200178052 to Pattan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20120303745 to Lo et al.
Raghunathan et al and Pattan et al do not disclose further comprising: obtaining a confidence level in the estimated duration, wherein the confidence level is transmitted with the estimated duration.
Lo et al disclose in Figures 1-20 and Sections 0064, 0083, and 0117 wherein a UE transmits a data set. Each data set includes a target area and additional parameters, such as a start time, an end time, a duration, a level of confidence the UE is present in the target area for the duration between the start and end times, and/or a level of confidence the UE is absent from the target area for the duration between the start and end times. Although Lo et al do not specifically disclose the claimed “confidence level in the estimated duration”, Lo et al disclose that a confidence level can be transmitted with a duration of time that the UE is not in the target area, which similar to the duration of time UE is out of coverage; Lo et al also disclose that a confidence level can be transmitted with other parameters, such as a duration. Refer to Sections 0029-0142. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising: obtaining a confidence level in the estimated duration, wherein the confidence level is transmitted with the estimated duration. One would have been motivated to do so so to indicate to the destination is informed of the confidence level of the duration, thereby facilitating processing of the duration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20100240346 to Jain et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0054-0073 a method of identifying a location of a dead spot region within an expected route of a vehicle and determining an expected time period that the vehicle will be disposed within the dead spot region in order to perform dead spot mitigation. Refer to Sections 0031-0083.
U.S. Publication No. 20170013406 to Oliver et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Sections 0049-0056 wherein a method that dynamically increases the size of the buffer prior to UE entering a dead zone; the method determines an amount of time for UE to reach the dead zone and directs UE to dynamically increase the size of the buffer after entering the dead zone. Refer to Sections 0014-0090.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
September 28, 2026