DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Grassi fails to teach a receiving part as claimed but does not specifically point out why the cited receiving part (stationary part 62 of support arm 60 – figure 4) of Grassi fails to meet the claimed limitations. The claim requires “a receiving part between the hooked holding profile and the holding element of the flower-box holder and closable around a lower end portion of a roller shutter”. It is first noted that the “roller shutter” is not a claimed part of the device and is not required by the claim. With respect to the term “closable” the claim will be interpreted as best understood (see below under 35 USC 112). As best understood, the part of Grassi (stationary part 62 of support arm 60 – figure 4) is between the hooked holding part profile (at brackets 30 less arm 60) and the holding element (64) and is capable of receiving a window shutter if the device is mounting to a window ledge (in gap between 50 and 64 capable of receiving a shutter – figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires “a receiving part between the hooked holding profile and the holding element of the flower-box holder and closable around a lower end portion of a roller shutter” and it is not clear what is required by the limitation “closable” which would seem to require a moving or locking closure part or feature which is not consistent with the specification of the receiving part and further, as written, it is not even clear if the “and closable” limitation is referring to the receiving part. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11 and 13 recite “the flower box” in such a manner that it is unclear if the flower box is being positively claimed as part of the flower-box holder device or not. If applicant is not desiring to positively claim the flower box it should be recited only in functional language limitations (e.g. “capable of”, “configured to”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites “the window frame profile” in such a manner that it is unclear if the window frame profile is being positively claimed as part of the flower-box holder device or not. If applicant is not desiring to positively claim the window frame profile it should be recited only in functional language limitations (e.g. “capable of”, “configured to”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-11, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Grassi (US 5,738,319).
Regarding claim 1, Grassi (hereafter “D1”) discloses a holder (20; title) for a flower box on a window frame (capable of use on a window frame – disclosed use on a fence top – col. 1, lines 4-7), the flower-box holder comprising a hooked holding profile (bracket 30 less support arm 60) that can be brought into engagement with a window frame profile (configured to hook over a top of a fence or similar and could function similarly at a window ledge), at least one holding element (movable portion 64 of support arm 60) that can be fixedly connected to the hooked holding profile (at 30 less 60) of the flower-box holder and that can hold at least one flower box (col. 3, line 56 – col. 4, line 13), and a receiving part (stationary part 62 of support arm 60 – figure 4) between the hooked holding profile (at 30 less 60) and the holding element (64) of the flower-box holder (20) and that is closable around a lower end portion of a roller shutter associated with a window shutter frame (gap between 50 and 64 capable of receiving a shutter – figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses wherein the receiving part (62) is one piece with the hooked holding profile (col. 3, lines 61-63).
Regarding claim 3, D1 discloses wherein the receiving part (62) has a holding slot (detent 66 – figure 8) that can attach the holding element (64) to the receiving part (62) or to the hooked holding profile (col. 3, lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 4, D1 discloses wherein the holding element (64) is a holding bracket (64 is an L-shaped bracket as best seen in figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, D1 discloses wherein at least two holding brackets (64) are provided that are on both end portions of the hooked holding profile (considering the holding profile to comprise both members 30, two holding elements or brackets 64 are present on end portions; cross member 84 joins the members 30 such that it can be considered a single holding profile).
Regarding claim 10, D1 discloses further comprising an edge protecting profile element (cross member 84) between the hooked holding profile (bracket 30 less support arm 60) or the receiving part (62) of the flower-box holder and the window frame profile (cross member 84 is used to abut the support surface of the fence or other support to which the holder is mounted, whereby the member 50 is prevented from touching the fence/support; the same function would exist when mounting to a window frame profile and thereby being configured to protect both the edge of both 50 and the window frame profile – figure 4; col. 4, lines 31-49).
Regarding claim 11, D1 discloses wherein the receiving part (62) is formed between an outer surface (outer surface of 50 faces toward the flower box as in figure 4) of the hooked holding profile (30 less 60) facing the flower box (22) and an outer surface (not indexed – see figure 4) of the flower box (22) facing the hooked holding profile (left facing surface of 22 in figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grassi (US 5,738,319).
Regarding claims 8-9, D1 does not teach a height-adjustment device between the hooked holding profile on the one side and the holding element on the other that can vary the vertical spacing between an upper edge of the hooked holding profile and a support surface of the holding element.
D1 does teach horizontal adjustment devices with use of sliding slot and wingnut (42) means, slot and teeth arrangement (figure 7), and detent and notch (66/70) means (figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify D1 in light of the desire of D1 to incorporate adjustability by adding a vertical/height adjustment arrangement similar to the detent/teeth and notch locking horizontal adjustment feature, by making the leg member (50) into two overlapping leg members having the teeth and corresponding notch.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grassi (US 5,738,319) in view of Emsa GmbH (DE 202015104529).
Regarding claim 12, D1 does not teach at least one securing element on the hooked holding profile of the flower-box holder and that can grip around an upper edge of the outer surface of a flower box facing the hooked holding profile.
The document to Emsa GmbH teaches a flower box holder (100) comprising a securing hook element (40) which is configured to hook over the top of a mounted flower box ([0015] – translation discloses securing hook 40 over top of a flower box).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add a hook element arrangement as taught by Emsa GmbH, attached to the hooked holding profile of D1 for the purpose of securing the tops of flower boxes.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grassi (US 5,738,319) in view of Lippert (EP 1645180).
Regarding claim 13, D1 discloses a projection (74) but does not teach the projection accommodated in an accommodating recess in a bottom panel of the flower box (22) between the proximal and the distal end portions of the holding part.
Lippert teaches a flower box support (figure 3) and a flower box (1) having an accommodating recess (10) for receiving projection (16) of the support holding the flower box in place.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to utilize a flower box similar to that taught by Lippert with D1 for securing the flower box in place by use of the projection and recess arrangement.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grassi (US 5,738,319) in view of Rosser et al. (US 7,229,056).
Regarding claim 14, D1 discloses wherein the hooked holding profile (30 less 60) has a U-shaped recess (formed by hook portion at 52, 36, 32, 38, 34 – figure 3) made of a connecting bar (at top portion 32) and two vertical legs (at 34 and 52) projecting at right angles from the connecting bar for the purpose of engaging with the window frame profile (configured for engaging a window frame profile), the outer vertical leg (34) forming the end of the hooked holding profile which would be placed on a window frame profile side.
D1 does not teach the vertical outer leg on its free end having a bend that is smaller, in comparison to the corresponding dimension of the connecting bar parallel to the connecting bar.
Rosser et al. teaches a flower holder support (arm 16) comprising a hooked end portion having a downward vertical leg (short portion 26) with a bent in end portion providing clearance for the vertical leg from a mounted object (support 22) (figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add the inward bent portion taught by Rosser et al. to the end of the outer vertical leg of D1 for the purpose of providing spacing to the mounted object (fence/window).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK D HAWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631