DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 01/10/2024 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 01/10/2024 and 01/10/2025.
Claims 1-13 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 12-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim 12 does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because that do not have a physical form, such as information a computer-readable medium per se (often referred to as “signal per se”) when claimed as a product without any structural recitations. See MPEP 2106.03(I). Claim 12 is explicitly directed to “ a computer-readable medium” which appears to encompass “a signal per se”.
Thus, 101 rejections will be applied if the claimed computer readable medium (even storage medium, for example) is not clearly defined to exclude non-statutory transitory media such as signals or transmission media. The 101 rejection can be overcome if the claim recites non-transitory media. In additional to the above 101 reasoning, claim 13 is also drawn to a because products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as "data per se") or a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitations. See MPEP § 2106.03(I). Claim 13 is explicitly directed to "A computer program comprising instructions" (emphasis added), which appears to encompass "a computer program per se."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20240172175 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20190261449 A1).
With regarding Claim 1, Li disclosed a method performed by at a session management function (SMF), comprising(See FIG. 7, and ¶[0065], [0142]. Disclosed SMF 174 performing MBS session activation procedures): receiving a session activation notification comprising a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) from a multicast/broadcast session management function (MB-SMF) (See FIG. 7, Step 212, ¶[0140]-[0142]. MB-SMF 173 sends MBS session activation request to SMF 174. Request includes Multicast Group ID(TMGI).); finding at least one user equipment (UE) that joined a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) session identified by the TMGI (See FIG. 7, Step 212, ¶[0140]-[0142]. Disclosed MB-SMF maintains a list of UEs that have joined the multicast group based on MBS session ID (TMGI). SMF determines UEs served by it.); and sending a MBS session notification request to an access and mobility function (AMF) (See FIG. 7, ¶[0140]-[0142]. Disclosed SMF 174 sends MBS session activation notification to serving AMF 172), wherein the MBS session notification request includes a list of the at least one UE (See ¶[0141]-[0144]. Disclosed Request message includes UE IDs and multicast ID (TMGI).), respective identifier of respective protocol data unit (PDU) session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE and the TMGI (See ¶[0168]-[0170]. Disclosed SMF-AMF signaling for PDU session management.).
Li may not explicitly disclose respective identifier of respective protocol data unit (PDU) session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE and the TMGI.
However, in analogous art, Kim disclose respective identifier of respective protocol data unit (PDU) session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE and the TMGI (See FIG. 9, ¶[0106]-[0110], [0126], [0156]. SMF transmits Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request to AMF which includes PDU Session IDs. And the PDU Session ID identifies the specific session context being updated/activated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim to Li. The respective identifier of respective identifier or respective PDU session associated to the MBS session included in the MBS session notification request of Li in the SMF-to-AMF signaling as taught by Kim in order to enable the AMF to efficiently correlate subsequent service requests with the appropriate PDU session, thereby simplifying AMF logic and reducing signaling ambiguity in group paging scenarios. The combination teaches the AMF receives the PDU Session ID early rather than late.
With regarding Claim 2, Li and Kim disclosed the method according to claim 1, wherein respective user plane for respective PDU session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE is not activated (See FIG. 7, and ¶[0121]-[0123], [0113], [0141]. Disclosed performing group paging during MBS session activation for UEs in CM-IDLE state, individual MBS traffic delivery where one PDU session is required to be associated with a multicast session. And the procedure targets a list of UEs joining the multicast group.).
With regarding Claim 3, Li and Kim disclosed the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Li may not explicitly disclose receiving a PDU session update session management context request for PDU session associated to the MBS session to be activated from the AMF; and sending a PDU session update session management context response to the AMF. However, in analogous art, Kim disclose receiving a PDU session update session management context request for PDU session associated to the MBS session to be activated from the AMF(See FIG. 9 and ¶[0126]-[0128] Disclosed that when a UE transmission from CM-IDLE to CM-CONNECTED the AMF transmits a Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request message to the SMF, the request is for the specific PDU Session that needs activation. Message may include PDU Session IDs to activate a User plane of the PDU Sessions. ); and
sending a PDU session update session management context response to the AMF (See FIG. 9 and ¶[0126]-[0128] Disclosed SMF sends response after receiving the request “afterwards, the remaining service request procedure shows SMF transmitting command/response back to AMF.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim to Li. Li teaches the MBS Group paging scenario where idle UEs responds with a Service Request ¶[0146], [0170]. Kim teaches that the standard Service Request procedure (When transition IDLE to Connected) inherently involves the AMF sending Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request message to the SMF to active the user plane. This combination yields Service Request signaling mechanism to Lis MBS scenario to ensure proper user plane activation for the associated PDU session.
With regarding Claim 4, Li and Kim disclosed the method according to claim 3, wherein the PDU session update session management context response comprises N2 session management information comprising a MBS session identifier and associated quality of service (QOS) profiles (See FIG. 7 and ¶[0141]-[0144], [0155], [0166]. Disclosed AMF forwards MBS session context information to RAN node, AMF forwards the MBS session context information to the RAN node as well. The MBS session context includes Multicast Group ID (TMGI) AMF may include the group ID of the multicast group. MBS session context information may include Qos parameters.
Li may not explicitly disclose wherein the PDU session update session management context response.
However, in analogous art, Kim disclose wherein the PDU session update session management context response (See Fig. 9, ¶[0126]-[0127]. Disclosed Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request response as part of the Service request procedure.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim to Li. Li teaches the MBS Group Paging scenario where idle UEs respond with Service Request, triggering SMF notification to activate UP. Kim teaches confirm that UpdateSMContext is the standard message used to activate User Plane during service Request. This combination applies the conventional N2 SM information structure to MBS session activation context to ensure proper QoS handling for multicast data delivery.
With regarding Claim 5, Li and Kim disclosed a method performed by at an access and mobility function (AMF), comprising:
receiving a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) session notification request from a session management function (SMF) (See FIG. 7, and ¶[0142]-[0144]. Disclosed AMF performs methods for group paging. And SMF sends MBS session activation notification to AMF), wherein the MBS session notification request includes a list of at least one UE that joined a MBS session identified by a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI), respective identifier of respective protocol data unit (PDU) session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE and the TMGI (See FIG. 7, and ¶[0142]-[0144]. Disclosed Request includes UE IDs and multicast Group ID (TMGI);
when one or more UEs of at least one UE are in a connection management connected state, sending a MBS session notification response comprising a list of the one or more UEs in the connection management connected state to the SMF(See FIG. 2, ¶[0061], [0114], [0143]. Disclosed AMF responding with UE list for connected UEs, and confirm AMF determines CM state); and
when one or more UEs of at least one UE are in a connection management idle state, sending a paging request message to a radio access network node to paging the one or more UEs in the connection management idle state(FIG. 2, and ¶[0144]. AMF sends paging request to RAN for IDLE UEs.).
Li may not explicitly disclose respective identifier of respective protocol data unit (PDU) session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE and the TMGI; However, in analogous art, Kim disclose respective identifier of respective protocol data unit (PDU) session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE and the TMGI(See FIG. 9, and ¶[0107], [0158], [0126], [0117]. Disclosed SMF including PDU Session ID in messages to AMF to identify the session.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim to Li. Li teaches a method performed by an AMF, comprising receiving an MBS session notification request from an SMF including a list of UEs and TMGI. Further discloses determining CM state of UEs sending a response for connected UEs and sending a paging request for idle UEs. Kim teaches that in 5G session management signaling, the SMF includes a PDU Session ID in messages transmitted to the AMF to enable the AMF to identify the specific PDU session context, further teaches AMF handling based on CM state. This combination yields PDU Session IDs for session correlation to the MBS notification flow enabling the AMF to efficiently correlate subsequent Service Request with the appropriate PDU session without requiring special UE indications. With regarding Claim 6, Li and Kim disclosed the method according to claim 5, further comprising:
receiving a service request from an idle UE of the one or more UEs in the connection management idle state (See ¶[0170]. Disclosed When the UE is paged by a RAN node the UE may respond to the page by sending a service request to the AMF.);
Li may not explicitly disclose sending a PDU session update session management context request for the PDU session associated to the MBS session of the idle UE to be activated to the SMF based on the respective identifier of respective PDU session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE; and
receiving a PDU session update session management context response for activating the user plane of the PDU session associated to the MBS session of the idle UE from the SMF. However, in analogous art, Kim sending a PDU session update session management context request for the PDU session associated to the MBS session of the idle UE to be activated to the SMF based on the respective identifier of respective PDU session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE (See ¶[0126]-[0127]. Disclosed AMF transmits to SMF upon service request, the Request message includes PDU Session IDs.); and
receiving a PDU session update session management context response for activating the user plane of the PDU session associated to the MBS session of the idle UE from the SMF(See ¶[0126]-[0127]. Disclosed SMF responds to the request, the request is to activate a User plane of the PDU sessions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim to Li. Li teaches the MBS paging context and the Service Request triggered. Kim teaches the standard 3GPP mechanism for notifying SMF if UE state change via UpdateSMContext Request including PDU Session ID. The Combination yields MBS scenario and standard signaling ensures proper session correlation at the SMF.
With regarding Claim 7, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 7 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 3, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 8, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 8 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 1, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding Claim 9, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 9 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 2, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 10, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 10 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 5, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding Claim 11, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 11 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 6, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding Claim 12, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 12 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 1, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
With regarding Claim 13, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 13 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 1, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Conclusion
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468