DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 9887252 B2, hereafter Park) in view of Shin et al. (2021/0202680), hereafter Shin.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (10) comprising a display area (DA) and a bezel area (NA) located around the display area (Fig. 1; Col. 3, line 66 – Col. 4, line 1); a plurality of light emitting elements (PX) located in the display area (Fig. 1; Col. 4, lines 4-5); at least one of the light emitting elements comprising an anode, an organic light emitting layer, and a cathode (OLED; Col. 4, lines 24-28) arranged sequentially in a direction away from the base substrate (Fig. 11; anode 221, layer 223, cathode 222); Col. 9, lines 5-8); a first power supply line structure (ELVSS) electrically connected to the cathode and located in the bezel area (Fig. 3; Col. 4, lines 28-29); where the first power supply line structure (160) has at least one first opening (170) (Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 53-4); the cathode comprising a bezel cathode located in the bezel area (Col. 1, lines 58-63), and the bezel cathode (310) has at least one second opening (170) (Fig. 11; Col. 10, lines 65 – Col. 11, line 2).
Park does not disclose the display substrate wherein the first power supply line structure comprises a plurality of first repetition units arranged in an array and connected to each other.
However, Shin discloses the first power line structure (VSS22) comprising a plurality of first repetition units (P) arranged in an array and connected to each other (Fig. 9, par. 0185).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park with the teachings of Shin to provide a power line structure comprising a plurality of repetition units connected in an array. Doing so provides the ability to optimize space and light.
Regarding claim 25, Park teaches a display device, comprising the display substrate according to claim 1 (Col. 1, lines 14-16).
Claims 3-6, 8-12, 15, 16, 18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Shin as applied to claims 2 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (10256277), hereafter Lin.
Regarding claim 3, neither Park nor Shin disclose the display substrate wherein each first repetition unit comprises: a first main body, a first connection bridge and a second connection bridge formed by extending from opposite sides of the first main body in a first direction, and a third connection bridge and a fourth connection bridge formed by extending from the opposite sides of the first main body in a second direction; and the first direction intersects with the second direction.
However, Lin discloses a display substrate wherein each first repetition unit comprises: a first main body (513), a first connection bridge and a second connection bridge (565) formed by extending from opposite sides of the first main body in a first direction, and a third connection bridge and a fourth connection bridge (567) formed by extending from the opposite sides of the first main body in a second direction; and the first direction intersects with the second direction (Fig. 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Shin with the teachings of Lin to provide a main body having four connection bridges extending therefrom. Doing so minimizes electromigration and voltage drop.
Regarding claim 4, Park and Shin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein each of the first connection bridge and the second connection bridge has a length in the first direction that is greater than a length in the second direction, and each of the third connection bridge and the fourth connection bridge has a length in the first direction less than a length in the second direction.
However, Lin discloses a display substrate wherein each of the first connection bridge and the second connection bridge (565) has a length in the first direction that is greater than a length in the second direction, and each of the third connection bridge and the fourth connection bridge (567) has a length in the first direction less than a length in the second direction (Fig. 5A; Col. 16, lines 5-9, 20-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Shin with the teachings of Lin by implementing bridges of the above dimensions in order to apply control signals to the respective electrodes to selectively activate the OLEDs of the pixel.
Regarding claim 5, Park and Shin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein a length of the first repetition unit in the first direction is substantially the same as a length of the first repetition unit in the second direction.
However, Lin discloses a display substrate wherein a length of the first repetition unit (500) in the first direction is substantially the same as a length of the first repetition unit in the second direction (Fig. 5A; Col. 16, lines 5-9, 20-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Shin with Lin by implementing repetition units of the above dimensions so that the current density is evenly distributed within the active regions of the repetition units.
Regarding claim 6, Park and Shin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein orthographic projections of the first main body, the first connection bridge, the second connection bridge, the third connection bridge, and the fourth connection bridge on the base substrate are all rectangular; or wherein the first connection bridge and the second connection bridge are substantially symmetrical with respect to a center line of the first main body in the first direction; and the third connection bridge and the fourth connection bridge are substantially symmetrical with respect to a center line of the first main body in the second direction.
However, Lin discloses a display substrate wherein orthographic projections of the first main body (513), the first connection bridge (565), the second connection bridge (565), the third connection bridge (567), and the fourth connection bridge (567) on the base substrate are all rectangular (Fig. 5A; Col. 16, lines 5-9, 20-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Shin with Lin by implementing bridges with rectangular shape in order to reduce unpredictable diffraction of light.
Regarding claim 8, Park and Shin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein the length of the third connection bridge in the first direction is determined by an equation dependent on the dimensions of the main body and connection bridges, the transmittance, and resolution.
However, Lin teaches that lengths of connection bridges (565 and 567) have specific dimensions so that current density of current passing through electrodes is evenly distributed for each main body (513), thus reducing size is not viable to increase transmittivity (Col. 16, lines 25-33). Rather, increasing pixels (i.e., resolution) is another option (Col. 16, lines 45-50). Given the knowledge that length must be optimized dependent on transmittance and resolution, In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) provides, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Shin with Lin by calculating the optimum length of the third connection bridge to improve the transmittance throughout the device.
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses a display substrate wherein the bezel cathode (222) is located on a side of the first power supply line structure (160) away from the base substrate (10) (Fig. 11; Col. 9, lines 5-8).
Neither Park nor Lin disclose an orthographic projection of a connection area between the bezel cathode and the first power supply line structure on the base substrate is within an orthographic projection of the first main body of the first power supply line structure on the base substrate.
However, Shin discloses an orthographic projection of a connection area between the bezel cathode (140) and the first power supply line (VSS22) structure on the base substrate (111) is within an orthographic projection of the first main body (P) of the first power supply line structure on the base substrate (Fig. 9-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Lin with Shin by implementing an orthographic projection reflecting the above configuration in order to reduce resistance by placing power lines.
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses an overlapping region between the bezel cathode (140) and the first power supply line structure (VSS22).
Park and Lin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein the bezel cathode comprises: a plurality of second repetition units; the plurality of second repetition units arranged in the first direction are connected to each other.
However, Shin discloses a display substrate wherein the bezel cathode comprises: a plurality of second repetition units (P); the plurality of second repetition units arranged in the first direction are connected to each other (P1/2/3) (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Lin with Shin by including a plurality of second repetition units connected to each other in order to direct the flow of communication.
Park and Shin further fail to disclose an orthographic projection of the first repetition units on the base substrate comprising an orthographic projection of the second repetition units on the base substrate.
However, Lin discloses an orthographic projection of the first repetition units (565/567) on the base substrate comprises an orthographic projection of the second repetition units (513) on the base substrate (Fig. 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Shin with Lin by implementing repetition units with an orthographic projection of the above configuration in order to optimize space and increase communication speed.
Regarding claim 11, Park and Lin fail to disclose a display substrate according to claim 10, wherein each second repetition unit comprises a second main body, a fifth connection bridge and a sixth connection bridge formed by extending from opposite sides of the second main body in the first direction.
However, Shin discloses a second repetition unit comprising a second main body (P1), a fifth connection bridge (P2) and a sixth connection bridge (P2) formed by extending from opposite sides of the second main body in the first direction (Fig. 3, 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Lin with Shin by implementing a second repetition unit with two bridges on opposite sides in order to direct the flow of communication.
Regarding claim 12, Park and Lin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein the fifth connection bridge and the sixth connection bridge are substantially symmetrical with respect to a center line of the second repetition unit in the first direction; or orthographic projections of the second main body, the fifth connection bridge, and the sixth connection bridge on the base substrate are all rectangular; or the second repetition unit further comprises: a seventh connection bridge and an eighth connection bridge formed by extending from opposite sides of the second main body in the second direction; and the plurality of second repetition units are connected in a mesh.
However, Shin discloses display substrate wherein the fifth connection bridge(P2) and the sixth connection bridge (P2) are substantially symmetrical with respect to a center line of the second repetition unit in the first direction (Fig. 3, 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Lin with Shin by implementing symmetric connection bridges in order to balance the reflection of light.
Regarding claim 15, Park and Lin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein the cathode comprises a display cathode located in the display area, the display cathode comprises: a plurality of third repetition units arranged in an array; shape, size and connection relationship of the third repetition units of the display cathode are substantially the same as shape, size and connection relationship of the second repetition units of the bezel cathode.
However, Shin discloses display substrate wherein the cathode comprises a display cathode located in the display area (DA), the display cathode comprises: a plurality of third repetition units arranged in an array (P1/2/3, Fig. 3); shape, size and connection relationship of the third repetition units of the display cathode are substantially the same as shape, size and connection relationship of the second repetition units of the bezel cathode (NDA2, Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Lin with Shin by implementing third repetition units in the display area with commensurate configuration, shape, size, and connections as the second repetition units in the bezel area in order to minimize space usage, increase communication speed, and direct the flow of communication.
Regarding claim 16, Park and Lin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein each third repetition unit comprises a third main body, a ninth connection bridge and a tenth connection bridge formed by extending from opposite sides of the third main body in the first direction; or the display substrate further comprises: a plurality of auxiliary electrodes located in the display area and electrically connected to the plurality of third repetition units of the display cathode, the plurality of auxiliary electrodes are electrically connected to the first power supply line structure of the bezel area via a first connection line.
However, Shin discloses a display substrate further comprising: a plurality of auxiliary electrodes (115) located in the display area (DA) and electrically connected to the plurality of third repetition units (P) of the display cathode (140), the plurality of auxiliary electrodes are electrically connected to the first power supply line structure (VSS22) of the bezel area (NDA2) via a first connection line (VSSL) (Fig. 2, 3, 4, 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Lin with Shin by providing a plurality of auxiliary electrodes connected to the third repetition units and first power supply line structure to enhance conductive capacity for uniform communication.
Regarding claim 18, Park and Lin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein the first connection line extends in the second direction, the first connection line is electrically connected to the first main body of the first power supply line structure; the bezel cathode is provided on a side of the first connection line away from the base substrate, and an orthographic projection of the first connection line on the base substrate overlaps with the orthographic projection of the bezel cathode on the base substrate; or each auxiliary electrode comprises: a first sub-auxiliary electrode disposed in a same layer as the first power supply line structure, and a second sub-auxiliary electrode disposed in a same layer as the anode of the light emitting element, the first sub-auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to the second sub-auxiliary electrode; and the third repetition unit is electrically connected to the second sub-auxiliary electrode and the first sub-auxiliary electrode.
However, Shin discloses a display substrate wherein the first connection line (VSSL) extends in the second direction, the first connection line is electrically connected to the first main body (P1) of the first power supply line structure (VSS22); the bezel cathode (140) is provided on a side of the first connection line away from the base substrate (111), and an orthographic projection of the first connection line on the base substrate overlaps with the orthographic projection of the bezel cathode on the base substrate (Fig. 4, 9); or each auxiliary electrode comprises: a first sub-auxiliary electrode (115) disposed in a same layer as the first power supply line structure (VSS22), and a second sub-auxiliary electrode (115) disposed in a same layer as the anode of the light emitting element (120), the first sub-auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to the second sub-auxiliary electrode; and the third repetition unit (P1/2/3) is electrically connected to the second sub-auxiliary electrode and the first sub-auxiliary electrode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Lin with Shin by implementing a connection line configuration and auxiliary electrode design as above to create light shielding and avoid voltage drops.
Regarding claim 20, Park and Lin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein in the display area, the plurality of first sub-auxiliary electrodes are arranged in an array and connected by a fourth connection line and a fifth connection line; the plurality of second sub-auxiliary electrodes are arranged in an array; an orthographic projection of the second sub-auxiliary electrodes on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the first sub-auxiliary electrodes on the base substrate.
However, Shin discloses a display substrate wherein in the display area (DA), the plurality of first sub-auxiliary electrodes (115) are arranged in an array and connected by a fourth connection line (VDD1-1) and a fifth connection line (VDD1-2) (par. 0111); the plurality of second sub-auxiliary electrodes are arranged in an array; an orthographic projection of the second sub-auxiliary electrodes on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the first sub-auxiliary electrodes on the base substrate (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Lin with Shin by configuring the sub-auxiliary electrodes as above in order to balance potential across the device.
Regarding claim 21, Park and Shin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein orthographic projections of the first sub-auxiliary electrodes and the second sub-auxiliary electrodes on the base substrate are all rectangular.
However, Lin discloses a display substrate wherein orthographic projections of the first sub-auxiliary electrodes (565/567)) and the second sub-auxiliary electrodes (513) on the base substrate are all rectangular (Fig. 5A; Col. 16, lines 5-9, 20-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Shin with Lin by implementing sub-auxiliary electrodes with a rectangular shape in order to reduce unpredictable diffraction of light.
Regarding claim 22, Park and Lin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein the bezel area comprises an upper bezel provided with a second power supply line structure, the second power supply line structure comprises a plurality of fourth repetition units arranged in an array.
However, Shin discloses display substrate wherein the bezel area (NDA2) comprises an upper bezel provided with a second power supply line structure (VSS22), the second power supply line structure comprises a plurality of fourth repetition units arranged in an array (P) (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Lin with the teachings of Shin by providing a second power supply line structure with a plurality of fourth repetition units. Doing so allows optimization of space and capturing of light.
Park and Shin fail to disclose a display substrate wherein the shape, size and connection relationship of the fourth repetition units are substantially the same as the shape, size and connection relationship of the first repetition units; the orthographic projection of the second repetition units on the base substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the fourth repetition units on the base substrate.
However, Lin discloses that the shape, size and connection relationship of the fourth repetition units (565/567) are substantially the same as the shape, size and connection relationship of the first repetition units (Fig. 5A; Col. 16, lines 5-9; lines 20-1); the orthographic projection of the second repetition units on the base substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the fourth repetition units on the base substrate (Fig. 6A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Shin with Lin by implementing the fourth repetition units with the same configuration, shape, size, and connections as the first repetition units in order to minimize electromigration and voltage drop as well as to optimize space usage and increase communication speed.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Shin and Lin as applied to claims 22 above, and further in view of Zeng et al. (2019/0294848), hereafter Zeng.
Regarding claim 23, Park, Lin, and Zeng fail to disclose a display substrate wherein the display area is provided with a plurality of power supply connection blocks; the second power supply line structure is electrically connected to the power supply connection blocks of the display area through a second connection line; the second connection line has a straight part and a bent part, a plurality of data lines are provided on a side of the second connection line close to the base substrate, an orthographic projection of the second connection line on the base substrate does not overlap with an orthographic projection of the plurality of data lines on the base substrate, and an orthographic projection of a virtual extension line of the straight part of the second connection line on the base substrate overlaps with the orthographic projection of the data lines on the base substrate.
However, Shin discloses a display substrate wherein the display area is provided with a plurality of power supply connection blocks (PAD); the second power supply line structure (VSS21) is electrically connected to the power supply connection blocks of the display area through a second connection line (VSSL); a plurality of data lines (VDDL) are provided on a side of the second connection line close to the base substrate (111), an orthographic projection of the second connection line on the base substrate does not overlap with an orthographic projection of the plurality of data lines on the base substrate, and an orthographic projection of a virtual extension line of the straight part of the second connection line on the base substrate overlaps with the orthographic projection of the data lines on the base substrate (Fig. 5-8, par. 0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Lin and Zeng with Shin by providing power supply connection blocks and second supply line structure in the above configuration in order to supply a power source to the pixels.
Park, Shin, and Lin fail to disclose that the second connection line has a straight part and a bent part.
However, Zeng discloses that the second connection line has a straight part (3) and a bent part (32) (Fig. 5, par. 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Shin and Lin with Zeng by modifying connection line lengths in order to implement pitch matching.
Regarding claim 24, Park, Lin, and Zeng fail to disclose a display substrate wherein each power supply connection block comprises a first sub-power supply connection block and a second sub-power supply connection block which are stacked and electrically connected to each other, an orthographic projection of the first sub-power supply connection block on the base substrate has a shape of a strip extending in the second direction, and an orthographic projection of the second sub-power supply connection block on the base substrate comprises the orthographic projection of the first sub-power supply connection block on the base substrate.
However, Shin discloses a display substrate wherein each power supply connection block (VREFP, VDDP, VSSP) comprises a first sub-power supply connection block (VREF1-1, VDD1-1, VSS1-1) and a second sub-power supply connection block (VREF1-2, VDD1-2, VSS1-2) which are stacked and electrically connected to each other, an orthographic projection of the first sub-power supply connection block on the base substrate has a shape of a strip extending in the second direction, and an orthographic projection of the second sub-power supply connection block on the base substrate comprises the orthographic projection of the first sub-power supply connection block on the base substrate (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Park in view of Lin and Zeng with Shin by providing stacked sub-power supply connection blocks in the above configuration in order to minimize voltage drop, decrease inductance, and optimize space.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that Shin does not disclose, "the first power supply line structure comprises a plurality of first repetition units arranged in an array and connected to each other," it is evident that the elements provided in Shin do so. Specifically, the applicant argues that Shin fails to demonstrate these limitations on the basis that pixel and common power lines are arranged in parallel along only one axis, there are no repetition units, and no connection between adjacent power lines.
However, Fig. 9 (with reference to a magnified visual aid in Fig. 3) shows that along with parallel power lines in the X-direction, there exists an aspect of the power lines existing along the Y-direction as well. VSS22 of Fig. 9 is reflective of 41 in Fig. 16 of the instant application, and this is part of a broader connective series including VSSx and VDDx. This also shows repetition units, as defined by the applicant as a main body with four connection bridges, the first two perpendicular to the other two, which is represented by pixels, P, in Fig. 9 (and Fig. 3) underlying the cross-section of this power supply line structure. These repetition units can be seen to be connected to each other both via the bridges extending from the body as well as via the power lines themselves which participate in defining the units. These connections are also arranged in an array as defined generally by a repeating pattern of elements in two dimensions regardless of whether there is an immediate connection between the subsequently adjacent elements. Therefore, Shin evidently demonstrates a series of repetition units arranged in an array and connected to each other.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817