DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action for US Patent Application No. 18/578342 by Yamamoto et al.
Claims 27-36 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 28-31 recite the limitation "resist pattern cleaning solution". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims because claim 27, from which claims 28-31 depend, recites a “resist pattern cleaning liquid” which differs from the recitation of a "resist pattern cleaning solution".
Double Patenting
Claims 27-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,680,053. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application and the claims of the patent recite analogous methods for manufacturing a resist pattern
Regarding claim 27 of the instant application, the issued patent recites (Claim 1) a method for manufacturing a resist pattern comprising applying a photosensitive resin composition on a substrate with or without one or more intervening layers, to form a photosensitive resin layer; exposing the photosensitive resin layer to radiation; developing the exposed photosensitive resin layer; and cleaning the developed layer with a resist pattern cleaning liquid comprising an alkylcarboxylic acid compound and a solvent, wherein the alkylcarboxylic acid compound is represented by the formula: A1-COOH, where A1 is C4-12 alkyl and the solvent comprises water.
Claim 1 of the patent differs from claim 27 of the instant application due to the claimed alkyl carbon group being a 4-12 carbon group compared to claim 27 of the instant application where the claimed alkyl carbon group is a 3-12 carbon group. However, the claims are not considered to be patentably distinct from each other because the 3-12 alkyl carbon group recited in claim 27 overlaps the 4-12 alkyl carbon group recited in claim 1 of the patent. Therefore, the claimed methods recited in the instant application and the patent are considered to be obvious with respect to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US Patent 8,361,237 B2), herein referred to as Wu.
Regarding claim 27, Wu teaches (Column 10, Lines 25-38 and Claim 2) a method for manufacturing a resist pattern comprising applying a photosensitive resin composition on a substrate (photoresist layer is coated on a substrate); exposing the photosensitive resin layer to radiation (using a photolithographic process to form a pattern defined in the photoresist layer); developing the exposed photosensitive resin layer (subjecting the patterned photoresist layer to a plasma etch); and cleaning the developed layer with a resist pattern cleaning liquid (using a wet clean formulation). Wu further teaches (Claim 2) contacting the resist pattern with a resist pattern cleaning liquid (wet clean formulation) that comprises an alkyl carboxylic acid (octanoic acid having 8 carbons) and a solvent comprising water (deionized water). The amount of octanoic acid present (acid content) in the wet clean formulation is greater than 0.84 weight percent and less than or equal to 2 weight percent. Since the weight percent of octanoic acid taught by Wu falls within the range of 0.01 to 10 mass percent (weight percent), the wet clean formulation taught by Wu anticipates the claimed range.
Regarding claim 28, Wu teaches (Claim 2) the wet clean formulation can include a nitrogen containing compound (amine selected from the group consisting of triethanol amine and N-methyl monoethanol amine).
Regarding claim 29, Wu teaches (Table 1) the content of the nitrogen containing compound (triethanol amine) in the wet clean formulation is 2.8 weight percent. Since the weight percent of triethanol amine taught by Wu falls within the range of 0.01 to 10 mass percent (weight percent), the triethanol amine content taught by Wu anticipates the claimed range.
Regarding claims 30 and 31, Wu teaches (Column 16, Lines 1-15) the wet clean formulation may further include a hydroxy containing compound (corrosion inhibitor additive) such as hydroxybenzotriazole. The amount of the corrosion inhibitor may be incorporated in the wet clean formulation in an amount of 0.1 to 5 weight percent. Since the weight percent of hydroxybenzotriazole taught by Wu falls within the range of 0.01 to 10 mass percent (weight percent), the hydroxybenzotriazole content taught by Wu anticipates the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Patent 8,361,237 B2), herein referred to as Wu, in view of Iida et al. (US 2020/0301283 A1), herein referred to as Iida.
Wu does not explicitly teach the limitations of claims 32-36. However, from the same field of technology, Iida recites a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device that includes forming a resist pattern.
In view of claim 32, Iida teaches [0088-0089, 0094] forming a resist film with a chemically amplified resist composition and employing an EUV exposure apparatus to expose the resist film with EUV wavelength light. At the time of the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a chemically amplified resist composition and an EUV lithographic exposure process because such resist compositions and EUV lithography are well known for producing desired nanometer features in a resist composition.
In view of claims 33 and 34, Iida teaches (Claim 14) manufacturing a semiconductor device with the claimed method of forming a resist pattern. With regard to the space size limitations recited in claim 33, since Iida teaches employing EUV wavelength light (with an approximate wavelength of 13 nm), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form features in the range on 10 nm to 30 because EUV lithographic processes are capable of forming such features.
In view of claims 35 and 36, Iida teaches [0102 and 0111] using the resist pattern as an etching mask and forming fine circuit patterns such as wiring patterns on a semiconductor substrate. At the time of the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further process the resist pattern as an etching mask and forming circuit patterns such as wiring patterns in order to optimize the feature density of a semiconductor wafer.
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724