DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application no. 2021109808 filed in CH on 07/30/2021. It is noted that the applicant has filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-9 and 17-19 objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 5-7, 9 and 17-19 recite the element "the UPF endpoint”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this element in the claim. Examiner advises applicant to change “the UPF endpoint” to “an UPF endpoint” to provide sufficient antecedent basis. Please note all dependent claims that depend on an independent/dependent claim that has been objected to are also objected. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 13, 16-18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Talebi Fard et al. (US 20200351984), Talebi Fard hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Talebi Fard teaches a method performed by a session management function, SMF, comprising: sending, to a user plane function, UPF, a first request for modifying a packet forwarding control protocol, PFCP, session for a protocol data unit, PDU, session associated with a multicast broadcast service, MBS, session, (Fig. 10, 19-21, 24-33 & ¶0212 - In an example, the new UPF 110 (intermediate) may send to SMF 160 an N4 session establishment response message 1030. ¶0294 - The SMF may sends the N4 session establishment/modification request to the UPF and may provide packet detection (e.g., PDR), forwarding (e.g., FAR), enforcement and reporting rules to be installed on the UPF for the PDU session. ¶0337 - At 3310, a user plane function (UPF) may receive, from a session management function (SMF), a session configuration message. The session configuration message may comprise a packet detection rule (PDR) for a group communication session. The PDR may comprise a multicast address mapped to a plurality of wireless devices associated with the group communication session. The PDR may comprise a forwarding rule for packets associated with the multicast address. Data packets comprising the multicast address may be received. Based on the PDR, the data packets may be sent to the plurality of wireless devices);
wherein the first request comprises an identification of the MBS session; (¶0288 - The group communication may comprise broadcast … The multicast information may comprise an identifier/identifiers/addresses of one or more wireless devices. Please also see ¶0252 and ¶0289);
and receiving, from the UPF, a first response to the first request (Fig. 10, 25, 31 & ¶0212 - In an example, the new UPF 110 (intermediate) may send to SMF 160 an N4 session establishment response message 1030. ¶0287 - An example FIG. 25 depicts a UPF that is configured based on the multicast information, and receives data for the group associated with the multicast information. The UPF may send a data notification that may comprise multicast information, multicast address, a PDR ID associated with the group, and/or the like to the SMF. ¶0290 - In an example embodiment, data notification may part of an N4 related procedure, PFCP session related procedure, N4 reporting to detection of arrival of packets, N4 reporting for detection of inactivity for PDU sessions of a group, and/or the like. Please also see ¶0330).
Re. Claims 4 and 16, Talebi Fard teaches Claims 1 and 13.
Talebi Fard further teaches the first request further comprises: a packet detection rule, PDR, for identifying the data of the MBS session; and a forwarding action rule, FAR, associated with the PDR (Fig. 10, 19-21, 24-33 & ¶0282 - The SMF allocates or retrieves the multicast information associated with the group and provide the multicast information to the UE members of the group. The SMF may provide the PDR, packet handling rules, and FAR to the UPF based on the multicast information. ¶0294 - The SMF may sends the N4 session establishment/modification request to the UPF and may provide packet detection (e.g., PDR), forwarding (e.g., FAR), enforcement and reporting rules to be installed on the UPF for the PDU session. Please also see ¶0333).
Re. Claims 5 and 17, Talebi Fard teaches Claims 1 and 13.
Talebi Fard further teaches the PDU session is the first PDU session joining the MBS session in the SMF; (Fig. 12-13, 18, 20 & ¶0237 - In an example, the UE 100, in order to establish a new PDU session, may generate a new PDU session ID … In an example, the PDU session establishment request message may contain SM PDU DN request container containing information for the PDU session authorization by the external DN. ¶0270 - In an example FIG. 18, a UE may establish a PDU session to join a group. Please also see ¶0291);
and wherein the first request indicates the UPF to allocate, for the MBS session, tunnel information about the UPF endpoint of a tunnel between the UPF and a multicast broadcast UPF, MB-UPF (Fig. 19 & ¶0212 - In case the UPF 110 may allocate CN tunnel info, the UPF 110 may provide DL CN tunnel info for the UPF 110 acting as PDU session anchor and UL CN tunnel info (e.g., CN N3 tunnel info) to the SMF 160. If the data forwarding indication may be received, the new (intermediate) UPF 110 acting as N3 terminating point may send DL CN tunnel info for the old (intermediate) UPF 110-2 to the SMF 160. ¶0269 - The SMF may send session establishment request to UPF2, including the allocated CN tunnel information and the allocated addresses for one to many data communication. The CN tunnel information may comprise the UPF2 address of the tunnel between UPF1 and UPF2 and the UPF2 address of N3 tunnel. UPF2 may acknowledge by sending Session establishment response message. The SMF may establish a group forwarding tunnel between UPF1 and UPF2, and may provide the UPF2 address of the tunnel between UPF1 and UPF2, as well as addresses for one to many data communication to UPF1).
Re. Claims 6 and 18, Talebi Fard teaches Claims 1 and 13.
Talebi Fard further teaches the first response comprises: tunnel information about the UPF endpoint of a tunnel between the UPF and an MB- UPF; (Fig. 12-13, 18-20 & ¶0212 - In an example, the new UPF 110 (intermediate) may send to SMF 160 an N4 session establishment response message 1030. In case the UPF 110 may allocate CN tunnel info, the UPF 110 may provide DL CN tunnel info for the UPF 110 acting as PDU session anchor and UL CN tunnel info (e.g., CN N3 tunnel info) to the SMF 160. If the data forwarding indication may be received, the new (intermediate) UPF 110 acting as N3 terminating point may send DL CN tunnel info for the old (intermediate) UPF 110-2 to the SMF 160. ¶0214 - In an example, if the new intermediate UPF 110 may be added for the PDU session, the (PSA) UPF 110-3 may begin to send the DL data to the new I-UPF 110 as indicated in the DL tunnel information) and a first indicator indicating whether the tunnel information is newly allocated (¶0250 - If CN tunnel info is allocated by the UPF, the CN tunnel info may be provided to SMF 160).
Re. Claim 13, Talebi Fard teaches a method performed by a user plane function, UPF, comprising: receiving, from a session management function, SMF, a first request for modifying a packet forwarding control protocol, PFCP, session for a protocol data unit, PDU, session associated with a multicast broadcast service, MBS, session, (Fig. 10, 19-21, 24-33 & ¶0210 - In an example, the SMF 160 may send to the UPF 110 (e.g., new intermediate UPF 110) an N4 session establishment request 1030. ¶0294 - The SMF may sends the N4 session establishment/modification request to the UPF and may provide packet detection (e.g., PDR), forwarding (e.g., FAR), enforcement and reporting rules to be installed on the UPF for the PDU session. ¶0337 - At 3310, a user plane function (UPF) may receive, from a session management function (SMF), a session configuration message. The session configuration message may comprise a packet detection rule (PDR) for a group communication session. The PDR may comprise a multicast address mapped to a plurality of wireless devices associated with the group communication session. The PDR may comprise a forwarding rule for packets associated with the multicast address. Data packets comprising the multicast address may be received. Based on the PDR, the data packets may be sent to the plurality of wireless devices);
wherein the first request comprises an identification of the MBS session; (¶0288 - The group communication may comprise broadcast … The multicast information may comprise an identifier/identifiers/addresses of one or more wireless devices. Please also see ¶0252 and ¶0289);
and sending, to the SMF, a first response to the first request (Fig. 10, 25, 31 & ¶0212 - In an example, the new UPF 110 (intermediate) may send to SMF 160 an N4 session establishment response message 1030. ¶0287 - An example FIG. 25 depicts a UPF that is configured based on the multicast information, and receives data for the group associated with the multicast information. The UPF may send a data notification that may comprise multicast information, multicast address, a PDR ID associated with the group, and/or the like to the SMF. ¶0290 - In an example embodiment, data notification may part of an N4 related procedure, PFCP session related procedure, N4 reporting to detection of arrival of packets, N4 reporting for detection of inactivity for PDU sessions of a group, and/or the like. Please also see ¶0330).
Re. Claim 23, Talebi Fard teaches a method performed by a session management function, SMF, comprising: sending, to a user plane function, UPF, a first request for establishing a first packet forwarding control protocol, PFCP, session for a multicast broadcast service, MBS, session, (Fig. 10, 19-21, 24-33 & ¶0210 - In an example, the SMF 160 may send to the UPF 110 (e.g., new intermediate UPF 110) an N4 session establishment request 1030. ¶0294 - The SMF may sends the N4 session establishment/modification request to the UPF and may provide packet detection (e.g., PDR), forwarding (e.g., FAR), enforcement and reporting rules to be installed on the UPF for the PDU session. ¶0337 - At 3310, a user plane function (UPF) may receive, from a session management function (SMF), a session configuration message. The session configuration message may comprise a packet detection rule (PDR) for a group communication session. The PDR may comprise a multicast address mapped to a plurality of wireless devices associated with the group communication session. The PDR may comprise a forwarding rule for packets associated with the multicast address. Data packets comprising the multicast address may be received. Based on the PDR, the data packets may be sent to the plurality of wireless devices);
wherein the first request comprises an identification of the MBS session; (¶0288 - The group communication may comprise broadcast … The multicast information may comprise an identifier/identifiers/addresses of one or more wireless devices. Please also see ¶0252 and ¶0289);
and receiving, from the UPF, a first response to the first request (Fig. 10, 25, 31 & ¶0212 - In an example, the new UPF 110 (intermediate) may send to SMF 160 an N4 session establishment response message 1030. ¶0287 - An example FIG. 25 depicts a UPF that is configured based on the multicast information, and receives data for the group associated with the multicast information. The UPF may send a data notification that may comprise multicast information, multicast address, a PDR ID associated with the group, and/or the like to the SMF. ¶0290 - In an example embodiment, data notification may part of an N4 related procedure, PFCP session related procedure, N4 reporting to detection of arrival of packets, N4 reporting for detection of inactivity for PDU sessions of a group, and/or the like. Please also see ¶0330).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7-8, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi Fard, and further in view of Li et al. (US 20240179802), Li hereinafter.
Re. Claims 2 and 14, Talebi Fard teaches Claims 1 and 13.
Yet, Talebi Fard does not explicitly teach the first request further comprises information required for receiving data of the MBS session via multicast transport.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly teaches the first request further comprises information required for receiving data of the MBS session via multicast transport (Fig. 2 (Please see SMF/UPF & MB-SMF/MB-UPF), 3, 5, 7 & ¶0134 - In an embodiment, if multicast transport is used, the MB-SMF may send a multicast address for each area session ID to the SMF. ¶0135 - If multicast transport is used, the SMF may also send a multicast address of the corresponding area session ID to the NG-RAN. ¶0139 - In an embodiment, if the multicast transport is used, the MB-SMF may send the multicast address to the NG-RAN via the AMF according to the received area session ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Talebi Fard. The motivation would be because the invention relates to methods, systems, and devices for establishing the MBS session, and in particular to methods, systems, and devices for establishing the MBS session in separate MBS areas (¶0006, Li).
Re. Claims 7 and 19, Talebi Fard teaches Claims 1 and 13.
Yet, Talebi Fard does not explicitly teach the first response comprises: a second indicator indicating whether the UPF has joined a multicast group for the MBS session without allocating tunnel information about the UPF endpoint of a tunnel between the UPF and an MB-UPF.
However, in the analogous art, Li (2) explicitly teaches the first response comprises: a second indicator indicating whether the UPF has joined a multicast group for the MBS session without allocating tunnel information about the UPF endpoint of a tunnel between the UPF and an MB-UPF (Fig. 2 (Please see SMF/UPF & MB-SMF/MB-UPF), 3, 5, 7 & ¶0092 - For the multicast MBS session, the UE needs to join the multicast MBS session before receiving multicast service data. ¶0093 - FIG. 2 briefly illustrates how the UE joins the multicast MBS session. ¶0096 - In step 203, the UE sends a PDU session modification request (including the MBS session ID) to join the multicast MBS session. The MBS session ID indicates the multicast group the UE wants to join. ¶0097 - In step 204, the AMF invokes a Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext request service operation to forward the UE request to the SMF. ¶0098 - In step 205, according to the received MBS session ID, the SMF recognizes the request is an MBS session join request. The SMF authorizes the MBS session join request. If the SMF does not know which MB-SMF controls this MBS session, the SMF checks with the NRF to find the MB-SMF. ¶0105 - In addition, if a multicast transport mechanism is used for shared delivery, steps 209 to 212 are not performed. Examiner interprets step 209 (establishing the tunnel for downlink (DL) MBS transmissions) is not performed when multicast transport is used, therefore tunnel information is not allocated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li (2) to the teaching of Talebi Fard. The motivation would be because the invention relates to methods, systems, and devices for establishing the MBS session, and in particular to methods, systems, and devices for establishing the MBS session in separate MBS areas (¶0006, Li (2)).
Re. Claim 8, Talebi Fard teaches Claim 6.
Talebi Fard further teaches when the first indicator indicates that the tunnel information is newly allocated, (Fig. 12-13, 18-20 & ¶0250 - If CN tunnel info is allocated by the UPF, the CN tunnel info may be provided to SMF 160);
Yet, Talebi Fard does not explicitly teach sending the tunnel information to an MB-SMF for establishing a multicast session distribution between the UPF and the MB-UPF.
However, in the analogous art, Li (2) explicitly teaches sending the tunnel information to an MB-SMF for establishing a multicast session distribution between the UPF and the MB-UPF (Fig. 2 (Please see SMF/UPF & MB-SMF/MB-UPF), 3, 5 & ¶0108 - In step 210, the AMF invokes a Nnbsmf_MBSSession_Create request (comprising MBS session ID, tunnel info) towards the MB-SMF according to the received MB-SMF ID. ¶0109 - In step 211, if the DL tunnel information is included, the MB-SMF configures the MB-UPF to transmit the MBS data for multicast towards the NG-RAN. The MB-SMF responds to the AMF through a Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create response. Fig. 7 & ¶0168 - At step 703 the MB-SMF responds to the AMF through a Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create response. If downlink tunnel information is included, the MB-SMF selects appropriate MB-UPF and configures MB-UPF to transmit the MBS data for multicast towards the NG-RAN. If the multicast transport is used, the MB-SMF may also include the multicast address for the MBS session in the response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li (2) to the teaching of Talebi Fard. The motivation would be because the invention relates to methods, systems, and devices for establishing the MBS session, and in particular to methods, systems, and devices for establishing the MBS session in separate MBS areas (¶0006, Li (2)).
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi Fard and Li, and further in view of Li et al. (US 20240172175), Li (2) hereinafter.
Re. Claims 3 and 15, Talebi Fard and Li teach Claims 2 and 14.
Talebi Fard further teaches the information required for receiving data of the MBS session via multicast transport comprises: a common downlink tunnel identifier, ID; (Fig. 10, 19-21, 24-33 & ¶0217 - In an example, the SMF 160 may send to the old UPF 110-2 an N4 session modification request 1045 (e.g., may comprise … new UPF 110 DL tunnel ID, and/or the like. Please also see ¶0289);
Yet, Talebi Fard and Li do not explicitly teach and a source specific multicast address, SSM.
However, in the analogous art, Li (2) explicitly teaches and a source specific multicast address, SSM (Fig. 6-8 & ¶0110 - The MBS Session ID may be formatted in one of the following: … 2) source specific IP multicast address (e.g., for MBS multicast session only). ¶0111 - UE 102 may obtain MBS Session ID via MBS service announcement. For MBS multicast Session, a source specific IP multicast address may be a globally unique identifier and may be assigned by 5GC or an external network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li (2) to the teachings of Talebi Fard and Li. The motivation would be because the invention describes methods, systems, and devices which may include a method of group paging performed during an MBS session activation procedure (¶0006, Li (2)).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi Fard, and further in view of Baek et al. (US 20240048946), Baek hereinafter.
Re. Claim 9, Talebi Fard teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Talebi Fard does not explicitly teach tunnel information about the UPF endpoint of a tunnel between the UPF and an MB-UPF has been received and stored previously by the SMF for the MBS session in the UPF; and wherein the first request comprises the tunnel information.
However, in the analogous art, Baek explicitly teaches tunnel information about the UPF endpoint of a tunnel between the UPF and an MB-UPF has been received and stored previously by the SMF for the MBS session in the UPF; (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0052 - In operation 207, the SMF may request the MB-SMF corresponding to the obtained MB-SMF ID, receiving information about the multicast service and multicast session (e.g., … endpoint information of the DL tunnel). ¶0123 - a multicast/broadcast session management function (MB-SMF) 114 for a UE 102 to join a multicast service may comprise creating (201) an MBS session having a MBS session ID for providing a multicast service, transmitting (613), to a network function (NF) repository function (NRF), a request message requesting to store an MB-SMF ID identifying the MB-SMF for the MBS session ID);
and wherein the first request comprises the tunnel information (¶0123 - …requesting (309 and 310) a multicast/broadcast user plane function (MB-UPF) to set a tunnel to be used to transfer data traffic for the MBS session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Baek to the teaching of Talebi Fard. The motivation would be because the invention relates to the field of a mobile communication system providing a data service through multicast/broadcast, and relates to a method and device for supporting a multicast service for a UE (¶0001, Baek).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi Fard, and further in view of Jia et al. (US 20220408162), Jia hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10, Talebi Fard teaches Claim 1.
Talebi Fard further teaches and receiving, from the UPF, a second response to the second request (Fig. 12-13, 18-20 & ¶0216 - In an example, the PSA UPF 110-3 (PSA) may send to the SMF 160 an N4 session modification response 1035);
Yet, Talebi Fard does not explicitly teach further comprising: sending, to the UPF, a second request for modifying the PFCP session for the PDU session, wherein the second request indicates the UPF to remove a PDR for identifying the data of the MBS session;
However, in the analogous art, Jia explicitly teaches further comprising: sending, to the UPF, a second request for modifying the PFCP session for the PDU session, (Fig. 8-11 & ¶0163 - The session management network element sends, to the user plane network element, … a packet forwarding control protocol (PFCP) session modification request, to add, to the mapped unicast QoS flow, a filter used to filter data of the multicast/broadcast service…The packet detection rule (PDR) may be, for example, a filter of the multicast service. ¶0170 - The correspondence may be carried in an eighth message, and the eighth message is … a PFCP session modification request);
wherein the second request indicates the UPF to remove a PDR for identifying the data of the MBS session; (Fig. 11 & ¶0349 - Optionally, after adding the UE to the multicast service, the SMF may delete a PDR defined for the multicast service associated with the PDU session of the UE, and delete the mapping relationship between a multicast QoS flow and a unicast QoS flow).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jia to the teaching of Talebi Fard. The motivation would be because the invention relates to the communication field, and more specifically, to a multicast service transmission method and apparatus in the communication field (¶0002, Jia).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi Fard and Jia, and further in view of Jia et al. (US 2023/0188949), Jia (2) hereinafter.
Re. Claim 11, Talebi Fard and Jia teach Claim 10.
Yet, Talebi Fard and Jia do not explicitly teach the second response comprises: a third indicator indicating whether a tunnel between the UPF and an MB-UPF is to be released.
However, in the analogous art, Jia (2) explicitly teach the second response comprises: a third indicator indicating whether a tunnel between the UPF and an MB-UPF is to be released (Fig. 1-3, 6-8 & ¶0276 - If the MB-UPF receives the notification for releasing the multicast session tunnel, the MB-UPF removes tunnel information related to the multicast session tunnel, for example, tunnel endpoint identification information, on a RAN side, of the multicast session tunnel between the MB-UPF and the RAN. Then, the MB-UPF sends the N4 session update response to the MB-SMF, and the MB-SMF receives the N4 session update response, and sends a response to a second message to the first SMF. Please also see ¶0310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jia (2) to the teaching of Talebi Fard. The motivation would be because the invention resolves a problem of how to maintain normal transmission of data of a multicast service to implement continuity of the multicast service when a multicast/broadcast session is activated and deactivated (¶0005, Jia (2)).
Re. Claim 12, Talebi Fard, Jia and Jia (2) teach Claim 11.
Yet, Talebi Fard and Jia do not explicitly teach further comprising: when the third indicator indicates that the tunnel is to be released, sending, to an MB-SMF, information about the release of the tunnel.
However, in the analogous art, Jia (2) explicitly teaches further comprising: when the third indicator indicates that the tunnel is to be released, sending, to an MB-SMF, information about the release of the tunnel (¶0276 - If the MB-UPF receives the notification for releasing the multicast session tunnel, the MB-UPF removes tunnel information related to the multicast session tunnel, for example, tunnel endpoint identification information, on a RAN side, of the multicast session tunnel between the MB-UPF and the RAN. Then, the MB-UPF sends the N4 session update response to the MB-SMF, and the MB-SMF receives the N4 session update response, and sends a response to a second message to the first SMF. Please also see ¶0310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jia (2) to the teaching of Talebi Fard. The motivation would be because the invention resolves a problem of how to maintain normal transmission of data of a multicast service to implement continuity of the multicast service when a multicast/broadcast session is activated and deactivated (¶0005, Jia (2)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ahmad et al. (US 2024/0251477) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 1-7 & ¶0001-¶0142.
Kim et al. (US 2023/0379942) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 1-10 & ¶0001-¶0362.
Jia et al. (US 2024/0080931) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 1-13 & ¶0001-¶0344.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465