DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 16-35 are pending, claims 1-15 having been cancelled, claims 16-26 and 31-33 having been withdrawn. Applicant's response filed April 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 27-30, 34 and 35 will be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 27-30, 34 and 35 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-30 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN114747989A to Chi (see machine translation) in view of WO2022/200524A2 to Schahpar et al. (see machine translation – where it is noted that the machine translation contains two different paragraph citations and the following rejections are citing to the un-bolded, bottom paragraph citations) and CN209404651U to Zhang et al. (see machine translation).
As to claim 27, Chi discloses a floor cleaning device comprising the washing method comprising: obtaining a washing instruction and controlling, based on the washing instruction, water supply to a washing tank of a floor cleaning device base station (see Chi paragraphs [0017]-[0020]).
Chi does not explicitly disclose controlling water supply to a cleaning member of a mobile cleaning robot based on the washing instruction comprising controlling a water supply valve of the cleaning member to be opening for supplying water to the cleaning member of the mobile cleaning robot. Schahpar discloses a similar floor cleaning device wherein both cleaning liquid located in a washing tank of a base station and cleaning liquid from a tank within the robot can also be used to clean a mobile cleaning portion of a cleaning robot (see Schahpar paragraphs [0067]-[0074], [0130], [0201]). Furthermore, Schahpar discloses that said cleaning liquid is supplied by controlling a water supply valve of the cleaning member to be opening for supplying water to the cleaning member (see Schahpar paragraph [0067] disclosing controlling valve 430 to supply water to the cleaning member). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Chi to include controlling water supply to a cleaning member of a mobile cleaning portion based on the washing instruction by controlling a water supply valve of the cleaning member to be opening for supplying water to the cleaning member of the mobile cleaning robot in order to improve cleaning of the cleaning member by using liquid from the interior of the robot to flush the cleaning member as disclosed by Schahpar. While Chi does not explicitly disclose one or more processors; and a memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to invoke a program or instructions stored in the memory to perform the washing method for the floor cleaning device, Chi is directed to a control method for a robotic vacuum cleaner system and is known in the art to use of robotic cleaners to use one or more processors; and a memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to invoke a program or instructions stored in the memory to perform the washing method for the floor cleaning device (see, e.g., Schahpar paragraph [0048]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the robot use processors and memory to invoke and carry out a steps for the robot to perform as is well known in the art (see, e.g., Schahpar paragraph [0048]).
Regarding the recitation “controlling a water supply valve of the washing tank to be opened for supplying water to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station,” Chi discloses that the water supply is controlled using a water pump (see Chi paragraphs [0017]-[0019]). Schahpar discloses that control of the water supply can be done by either a valve or a pump (see Schahpar paragraph [0067]). Furthermore, Zhang discloses a similar floor cleaning device base station wherein the water supply to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station is controlled using a water supply valve of the washing tank to be opened for supplying water to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station (see Zhang paragraph [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to control the water supply to the washing tank by controlling a water supply valve of the washing tank to be opened for supplying water to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station and the results would have been predictable (see MPEP 2143(I)(B) where simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another is prima facie obvious and it would have been prima facie obvious to use a water control valve instead of a pump as disclosed by Schahpar and Zhang).
As to claims 28-30, the combination of Chi, Schahpar and Zhang discloses that the method can further comprise: prior to said controlling, based on the washing instruction, the water supply to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station and to the cleaning member of the mobile cleaning portion, controlling water supply to a water tank of the floor cleaning device base station to reach a first predetermined water volume threshold and subsequent to said controlling the water supply to the water tank of the floor cleaning device base station to reach the first predetermined water volume threshold, controlling the water supply to a water tank of the mobile cleaning portion to reach a second predetermined water volume threshold (see Schahpar paragraphs [0057], [0073], [0156]-[0159] and [0197]-[0206] disclosing controlling the filling and/or of the robot tank and the base station tank to the appropriate amounts to ensure enough cleaning liquid is present while also preventing overflowing by using sensors to determine the appropriate water volume thresholds have been reached). Regarding claim 30, the combination of Chi and Schahpar further discloses controlling based on the washing instruction the water supply to the cleaning member of the mobile cleaning portion and controlling the water supply to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station subsequent to said controlling the water supply to the cleaning member of the mobile cleaning portion (see Schahpar paragraphs [0067]-[0074], [0130], [0201] regarding the controlling of the water supply to the cleaning member and paragraphs [0057], [0073], [0156]-[0159] and [0197]-[0206] regarding controlling the water supply to the washing tanks to clean, dispose of and refill).
As to claim 34, the combination of Chi, Schahpar and Zhang discloses that the method can further comprise: controlling, in response to controlling the water supply to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station, the cleaning member of the mobile cleaning portion to rotate for being washed (see Chi paragraphs [0017]-[0020]).
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN114747989A to Chi (see machine translation) in view of WO2022/200524A2 to Schahpar et al. (see machine translation – where it is noted that the machine translation contains two different paragraph citations and the following rejections are citing to the un-bolded, bottom paragraph citations), CN209404651U to Zhang et al. (see machine translation) and CN113440075A to Liu et al.
As to claim 35, Chi discloses a floor cleaning device comprising the washing method comprising: obtaining a washing instruction and controlling, based on the washing instruction, water supply to a washing tank of a floor cleaning device base station (see Chi paragraphs [0017]-[0020]).
Chi does not explicitly disclose controlling water supply to a cleaning member of a mobile cleaning portion based on the washing instruction comprising controlling a water supply valve of the cleaning member to be opening for supplying water to the cleaning member of the mobile cleaning robot. Schahpar discloses a similar floor cleaning device wherein both cleaning liquid located in a washing tank of a base station and cleaning liquid from a tank within the robot can also be used to clean a mobile cleaning portion of a cleaning robot (see Schahpar paragraphs [0067]-[0074], [0130], [0201]). Furthermore, Schahpar discloses that said cleaning liquid is supplied by controlling a water supply valve of the cleaning member to be opening for supplying water to the cleaning member (see Schahpar paragraph [0067] disclosing controlling valve 430 to supply water to the cleaning member). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Chi to include controlling water supply to a cleaning member of a mobile cleaning portion based on the washing instruction by controlling a water supply valve of the cleaning member to be opening for supplying water to the cleaning member of the mobile cleaning robot in order to improve cleaning of the cleaning member by using liquid from the interior of the robot to flush the cleaning member as disclosed by Schahpar. While Chi does not explicitly disclose one or more processors; and a memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to invoke a program or instructions stored in the memory to perform the washing method for the floor cleaning device, Chi is directed to a control method for a robotic vacuum cleaner system and is known in the art to use of robotic cleaners to use one or more processors; and a memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to invoke a program or instructions stored in the memory to perform the washing method for the floor cleaning device (see, e.g., Schahpar paragraph [0048]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the robot use processors and memory to invoke and carry out a steps for the robot to perform as is well known in the art (see, e.g., Schahpar paragraph [0048]).
Schahpar further discloses that the base station can be incorporated into a clothes treatment device (see Schahpar paragraph [0129]-[0130]) and Liu discloses that it is known in the art that the base station can be located in a space below the clothes treatment device (see Liu Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the floor cleaning device into a clothes treatment device as disclosed by Schahpar/Liu in order to improve synergy (see Schahpar paragraphs [0129]-[0130]).
Regarding the recitation “controlling a water supply valve of the washing tank to be opened for supplying water to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station,” Chi discloses that the water supply is controlled using a water pump (see Chi paragraphs [0017]-[0019]). Schahpar discloses that control of the water supply can be done by either a valve or a pump (see Schahpar paragraph [0067]). Furthermore, Zhang discloses a similar floor cleaning device base station wherein the water supply to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station is controlled using a water supply valve of the washing tank to be opened for supplying water to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station (see Zhang paragraph [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to control the water supply to the washing tank by controlling a water supply valve of the washing tank to be opened for supplying water to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station and the results would have been predictable (see MPEP 2143(I)(B) where simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another is prima facie obvious and it would have been prima facie obvious to use a water control valve instead of a pump as disclosed by Schahpar and Zhang).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As discussed in the rejection above, Schahpar discloses that said cleaning liquid is supplied by controlling a water supply valve of the cleaning member to be opening for supplying water to the cleaning member (see Schahpar paragraph [0067] disclosing controlling valve 430 to supply water to the cleaning member). Further, as discussed in the rejection above, while Chi discloses that the water supply is controlled using a water pump (see Chi paragraphs [0017]-[0019]). Schahpar discloses that control of the water supply can be done by either a valve or a pump (see Schahpar paragraph [0067]). Furthermore, Zhang discloses a similar floor cleaning device base station wherein the water supply to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station is controlled using a water supply valve of the washing tank to be opened for supplying water to the washing tank of the floor cleaning device base station (see Zhang paragraph [0052]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714