Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/13/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/20/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/01/2026 has been entered. Independent Claims 59, 65, 72, and 85 have been amended. Dependent claims 61, 67, 74, and 87 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims are new and have been entered. Claims 59-76 and 84-91 are still pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 59, 65, 72, and 85, under 35 USC § 103, are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specified challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 59, 61, 63-65, 69-72, 76, 84-85, and 89-91 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turtinen (Pub. No.: US 20220312530 A1, hereafter “Turtinen”) in view of Lee (Pub. No.: US 20230217498 A1, hereafter “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 59, Claim 65, Claim 72, and Claim 85
Turtinen teaches a Method, Distributed Unit, and Central Unit Comprising
A method performed by a distributed unit (Turtinen Fig. 4: gNB, with the gNB node containing a distributed node, see Fig. 1: 195 and ¶0083) of a radio network node (Turtinen Fig. 1: 170, RAN node) that is split into a centralized unit (Turtinen Fig. 4: Anchor gNB) and one or more distributed units (Turtinen Fig. 4: gNB) in a radio access network (Turtinen Fig. 1: 100, wireless network; Turtinen teaches a gNB unit within a RAN-type network, which the network contains an Anchor gNB, see Fig. 1, Fig. 4, and ¶0083), the method comprising: receiving an indication (Turtinen Fig. 4: 420) that a wireless device (Turtinen Fig. 4: UE) is a Reduced Capability (RedCap) User Equipment (UE) (Turtinen ¶0166: Msg3 may include id of UE, which may be a RedCap UE; Turtinen teaches a gNB receiving information from a UE that shows that the UE is a RedCap UE, see Fig. 4 and ¶0166);
Turtinen does not explicitly teach
transferring an initial layer 3 message from the distributed unit to the centralized unit by transmitting, from the distributed unit to the centralized unit, a transfer message that includes: A first information element (IE) that contains the initial layer 3 message; and a second IE that includes information indicating that the wireless communication device is a RedCap UE.
However, Lee teaches
transferring (Lee ¶0075: initial RRC connection) an initial layer 3 message (Lee ¶0075: RRC connection, see page 5, 3rd paragraph of applicant’s specification which states that a layer 3 message can be a UL RRC MESSAGE) from the distributed unit (Lee ¶0075: RedCap UE) to the centralized (Lee Fig. 12: 200, e.g. a base station) unit by transmitting, from the distributed unit to the centralized unit, a transfer message that includes: A first information element (IE) that contains the initial layer 3 message (Lee ¶0075: RRC connection; Lee teaches at least an initial RRC setup for a RedCap UE with a base station); and a second IE (Lee ¶0075: UE Capability Report message, examiner’s note, the report message is based on the RRC connection, see ¶0075) that includes information indicating that the wireless communication device is a RedCap UE (Lee ¶0075: UE Capability Report message; Lee teaches a UE capability report message in response to, at least in part, based on the RRC connection message, see Fig. 12 and ¶0075).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Turtinen by way of Lee, to include an element that teaches at least an initial RRC setup for a RedCap UE with a base station and a UE capability report message in response to, at least in part, based on the RRC connection message, as taught by Lee in Fig. 12 and ¶0075, to combine a known element with another known element for an expected result, to reduce energy usage by enabling a receiving UE to inform the base station how to optimize with the known capabilities of a RedCap UE.
Claim 72 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art, Turtinen teaches
communication circuitry (Turtinen Fig. 1: 158); and processing circuitry configured to (Turtinen Fig. 1: 196; Turtinen teaches communication circuitry coupled with a processor, see Fig. 1):
Regarding Claim 61, Claim 67, Claim 74, and Claim 87
Turtinen in view of Lee teaches the Method, Distributed Unit, and Central Unit as explained above in Claim 59. Lee teaches
wherein the transfer message is an INITIAL UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message (Lee ¶0075: RRC connection, see ¶0075).
Regarding Claim 63, Claim 76
Turtinen in view of Lee teaches the Method, Distributed Unit, and Central Unit as explained above in Claim 59. Turtinen further teaches
receiving the indication from the wireless communication device in a random access procedure (Turtinen Fig. 4: 410, MSG1, e.g. including a random access channel (RACH) preamble, see ¶0166), and wherein the information is transmitted to the central unit in response to receiving the indication from the wireless communication device (Turtinen Fig. 4: 425; Turtinen teaches the gNB transferring the initial context information to the Anchor gNB, which can include the RACH preamble, see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 64, Claim 71, Claim 84, and Claim 91
Turtinen in view of Lee teaches the Method, Distributed Unit, and Central Unit as explained above in Claim 59. Turtinen teaches
receiving (Turtinen Fig. 4: 430), from the centralized unit, a paging message that requests the distributed unit to page (Turtinen ¶0166: initial UE message, e.g. RRC connection Setup Request) a wireless communication device (Turtinen Fig. 4: UE), wherein the paging message includes information indicating that the wireless communication device to be paged is a RedCap UE (Turtinen ¶0166: transmits an initial context setup request, examiners note, this can include the initial context setup, which includes the RedCap information; Turtinen teaches the gNB receiving an initial UE message and transmitting that information to the Anchor gNB, see Fig. 4 and ¶0166); and paging the wireless communication device based on the information included in the paging message (Fig. 4: 435; Turtinen teaches the Anchor gNB responding in kind due to the paging request, see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 69 and Claim 89
Turtinen in view of Lee teaches the Method, Distributed Unit, and Central Unit as explained above in Claim 65. Turtinen teaches
responsive to receiving the information (Turtinen Fig. 4: 410), transmitting (Turtinen Fig. 4: 415), to another network node (Turtinen Fig. 3: AMF), an indication that the wireless communication device is a RedCap UE (Turtinen Fig. 4: 460, examiners note, this can include the initial context setup, which includes the RedCap information; Turtinen teaches the gNB node forwarding the initial context for a UE message to an AMF, which includes the RedCap information, see Fig. 3 and Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 70 and Claim 90
Turtinen in view of Lee teaches the Method, Distributed Unit, and Central Unit as explained above in Claim 69. Turtinen teaches
wherein the indication is transmitted in an INITIAL UE MESSAGE (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) and/or wherein the another network node implements an Access and Mobility Function (AMF) (Turtinen Fig. 3: AMF, see Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 60, 66, 73, and 86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turtinen (Pub. No.: US 20220312530 A1, hereafter “Turtinen”), in view of Lee (Pub. No.: US 20230217498 A1, hereafter “Lee”), further in view of Teyeb (Pub. No.: US 20230247495 A1, hereafter “Teyeb”).
Regarding Claim 60, Claim 66, Claim 73, and Claim 86
Turtinen in view of Lee teaches the Method, Distributed Unit, and Central Unit as explained above in Claim 59. Turtinen in view of Lee does not explicitly teach
wherein the information is transmitted over an F1 interface between the distributed unit and the centralized unit.
Teyeb teaches
wherein the information is transmitted over an F1 interface (Teyeb ¶0099: F1 interface) between the distributed unit (Teyeb ¶0099: sent by the gNB-DU) and the centralized unit (Teyeb ¶0099: to the gNB-CU; Teyeb teaches the information being sent over an F1 interface from a distributed unit to a centralized unit, see ¶0099).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Turtinen by way Lee and further by way of Teyeb, to include an element that teaches the information being sent over an F1 interface from a distributed unit to a centralized unit, as taught by Teyeb in ¶0099, to better improve backhaul cross-link interfaces for higher densification.
Claim(s) 62, 68, 75, and 88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turtinen (Pub. No.: US 20220312530 A1, hereafter “Turtinen”) in view of Lee (Pub. No.: US 20230217498 A1, hereafter “Lee”), further in view of Wei (Pub. No.: US 20240114569 A1, hereafter “Wei”).
Regarding Claim 62, Claim 68, Claim 75, and Claim 88
Turtinen in view of Lee teaches the Method, Distributed Unit, and Central Unit as explained above in Claim 59. Turtinen in view of Lee does not explicitly teach
wherein a RedCap UE is characterized by at least one of: a maximum bandwidth of 20 MHz in a first frequency range (FR1) and a maximum bandwidth of 100 MHz in a second frequency range (FR2); lack of support for carrier aggregation and lack of support for dual connectivity; or support of a maximum of 2 receive branches and/or a maximum of 2 downlink multiple- input multiple-output layers.
However, Wei teaches
wherein a RedCap UE (Wei ¶0083: RedCap UE) is characterized by at least one of: a maximum bandwidth of 20 MHz in a first frequency range (FR1) (Wei ¶0083: 20 MHz for FR1) and a maximum bandwidth of 100 MHz in a second frequency range (FR2) (Wei ¶0083: 100 MHz for FR2; Wei teaches a characterization of a RedCap UE with a maximum of 20 MHz for FR1, and 100 MHz for FR2, see ¶0083); lack of support for carrier aggregation and lack of support for dual connectivity (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim); or support of a maximum of 2 receive branches and/or a maximum of 2 downlink multiple- input multiple-output layers (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Turtinen in view of Lee by way of Wei, to include an element that teaches a characterization of a RedCap UE with a maximum of 20 MHz for FR1, and 100 MHz for FR2, as taught by Wei in ¶0083, to better improve the optimization of UE capabilities when the UE has a reduced antenna threshold from other elements.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415