DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the claims filed on 01/11/2024.
Application No: 18/578560
Claim Objections
Claim 31 (and similarly other dependent claims 35, 36, 41 and 42 ) is objected to because of the following informalities. Claim has multiple logical “OR” statements, which make claim very broad without determining which path is executing to product the invention. It is recommended to submit the claim with small steps and limitations separated with semi-colons; and limiting use of multiple “OR” statements.
Claim 37 (and similarly claim 44) is objected to because of the following informalities. It is not clear that claim 37 is an independent claim or a dependent claim because claims 37 is “A method performed by a network node”, and similarly, the independent claim 27 is also “A method performed by a network node”. Appropriate correction is recommended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-36 and 43 are rejected under 35 U. S. C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (US 20200229135 A1) in view of DREVON et al. (EP 3046382 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Ozturk teaches a method performed by a network node ([0215], e.g. FIG. 17 shows a flowchart illustrating a method 1700 that supports coordination and transmission of joint paging in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The operations of method 1700 may be implemented by a base station 105 or its components as described herein. For example, the operations of method 1700 may be performed by a communications manager as described with reference to FIGS. 10 through 13), the method comprising:
receiving, from another network node, an indication of a type of, capability of, configuration of, and/or feature supported by a wireless communication device to be paged ([0135], e.g. At 405, base station 105-f may coordinate with a second base station (e.g., base station 105-g) to define a configuration for a joint paging area for idle mode paging, inactive mode paging, or both. For example, base station 105-f and base station 105-g may exchange capability information, channel configuration, or both. In some cases, such as where base station 105-f is the primary base station and base station 105-g is a secondary base station for the paging area, base station 105-f may receive a suggested modification to at least one of the one or more joint paging parameters (i.e. receiving, from another network node, an indication of a type of, capability of, configuration of). The primary base station may decide on the final joint paging area configuration after coordinating with neighbors (e.g., over an Xn interface) and transmit the configuration to base station 105-g. In some cases, other base stations 105 (not shown) may also be included and the joint paging area, and these other base stations 105 may coordinate with base station 105-f and base station 105-g to determine the joint paging area configuration (I.e. supported by a wireless communication device to be paged));
making a paging decision based on the received indication ([0215], e.g. FIG. 17 shows a flowchart illustrating a method 1700 that supports coordination and transmission of joint paging in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The operations of method 1700 may be implemented by a base station 105 or its components as described herein. For example, the operations of method 1700 may be performed by a communications manager as described with reference to FIGS. 10 through 13. In some examples, a base station may execute a set of instructions to control the functional elements of the base station to perform the functions described below. Additionally or alternatively, a base station may perform aspects of the functions described below using special-purpose hardware (I.e. making a paging decision based on the received indication)).
Ozturk teaches techniques a wireless communications system may employ joint paging techniques. Multiple base stations may coordinate to determine joint paging parameters for a joint paging area. …. The base stations in the joint paging area may communicate over backhaul links. A user equipment (UE) in the joint paging area may be provided the joint paging parameters and monitor for paging messages based on the joint paging configuration. However Ozturk differs from the claimed invention in not specifically and clearly describing wherein
controlling paging of the wireless communication device according to the paging decision.
However, in the analogous field of endeavor, DREVON teaches wherein
controlling paging of the wireless communication device according to the paging decision ([0024], e.g. the MME should be able to decide whether to page the UE in one or several steps depending on existing knowledge such as the subscription profile (i.e. controlling paging of the wireless communication device according to the paging decision), the service for which the UE is paged, etc.; both Core Network awareness of cells i.e. which cell is controlled by which RAN entity and Core Network unawareness of cells should be supported: the MME is currently unaware of cells and only knows the eNB level; but another type of Core Network Serving Node may know the cell level (for example a 2G-SGSN knows the cell the UE/MS is camping on when the UE/MS is in READY state "In READY state, the SGSN MM context corresponds to the STANDBY MM context extended by location information for the subscriber on the cell level"); the chance to reach the UE in the first place should be enhanced, while minimizing the number of cells the UE is paged; paging the UE under cells for which the UE has no capability to camp on (e.g. not supported frequency band) should be avoided (i.e. controlling paging user device in a cell)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the method of DREVON within the method of Ozturk. The motivation to combine references is that the combined method provides that
there is a need for optimization of such paging mechanism, in particular to reduce paging load on radio interface and/or on CN entities such as MMEs/SGSNs, in particular for Machine Type Communications (MTC), and/or for low-mobility or stationary UEs, and/or for UEs with restricted radio capabilities and/or for RAN entities such as eNBs with a large number of cells, and/or for CN entities such as MMEs/SGSNs controlling a large number of cells. More generally, there is a need to improve performances of such systems (See DREVON [0007]).
Regarding claim 28, Ozturk in view of DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 27. DREVON further teaches wherein the paging decision is a decision as to at least one of any one or more of: whether the wireless communication device is, or is not, to be paged; whether the wireless communication device is, or is not, to be paged in a certain cell; in which one or more cells, if any, the wireless communication device is or is not to be paged; and whether to request another network node to page the wireless communication device ([0024], e.g. the MME should be able to decide whether to page the UE in one or several steps depending on existing knowledge such as the subscription profile (i.e. controlling paging of the wireless communication device according to the paging decision), …. the chance to reach the UE in the first place should be enhanced, while minimizing the number of cells the UE is paged; paging the UE under cells for which the UE has no capability to camp on (e.g. not supported frequency band) should be avoided (i.e. wireless communication device is, or is not, to be paged))..
The motivation to combine reference of DREVON within the method of Ozturk before the effective filing date of the invention is that the new method provides techniques that minimize the radio interface load issue is when the MME sends a Paging message to an eNB for a UE in idle mode, the eNB does not have a context for that UE and hence does not know the UE radio capabilities yet. The eNB therefore pages the UE over all the cells of that eNB even if the UE does not support the cell frequency band. Therefore, there is a need for optimization of paging mechanisms, in particular to reduce paging load, more generally to improve performances of such systems (See DREVON [0017])).
Regarding claim 29, Ozturk in view of DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 27. DREVON further teaches wherein the paging decision is a decision as to in which one or more cells, if any, the wireless communication device is or is not to be paged, and wherein said controlling comprises: paging the wireless communication device in one or more cells in which the wireless communication device is to be paged according to said decision; and/or refraining from paging the wireless communication device in one or more cells in which the wireless communication device is not to be paged according to said decision ([0024], e.g. the MME should be able to decide whether to page the UE in one or several steps depending on existing knowledge such as the subscription profile (i.e. controlling paging of the wireless communication device according to the paging decision), the service for which the UE is paged, etc.; both Core Network awareness of cells i.e. which cell is controlled by which RAN entity and Core Network unawareness of cells should be supported: the MME is currently unaware of cells and only knows the eNB level; but another type of Core Network Serving Node may know the cell level, …. paging the UE under cells for which the UE has no capability to camp on (e.g. not supported frequency band) should be avoided (i.e. the paging decision is a decision as to in which one or more cells, if any, the wireless communication device is or is not to be paged)).
The motivation to combine reference of DREVON within the method of Ozturk before the effective filing date of the invention is that the new method provides techniques that minimize the radio interface load issue is when the MME sends a Paging message to an eNB for a UE in idle mode, the eNB does not have a context for that UE and hence does not know the UE radio capabilities yet. The eNB therefore pages the UE over all the cells of that eNB even if the UE does not support the cell frequency band. Therefore, there is a need for optimization of paging mechanisms, in particular to reduce paging load, more generally to improve performances of such systems (See DREVON [0017])).
Regarding claim 30, Ozturk in view of DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 27. DREVON further teaches wherein the paging decision is a decision as to whether to request another network node to page the wireless communication device ([0024], e.g. the MME shall keep the control of the overall paging strategy i.e. the MME should be able to decide whether to page the UE in one or several steps depending on existing knowledge such as the subscription profile, the service for which the UE is paged, etc. [ 0025] Embodiments of the invention introduce the idea of paging assistance from the radio access network, which may include at least one of: assisting the MME in determining relevant eNBs that the MME should send paging messages to, assisting the MME in providing to a relevant eNB a list of relevant cells in which the eNB should page the UE (I.e. the paging decision is a decision as to whether to request another network node to page)); and
wherein the method further comprises requesting, or refraining from requesting, the another network node to page the wireless communication device according to the decision ([0024], e.g. the chance to reach the UE in the first place should be enhanced, while minimizing the number of cells the UE is paged; paging the UE under cells for which the UE has no capability to camp on (e.g. not supported frequency band) should be avoided (i.e. refraining from requesting, the another network node to page)).
The motivation to combine reference of DREVON within the method of Ozturk before the effective filing date of the invention is that the new method provides techniques that minimize the radio interface load issue is when the MME sends a Paging message to an eNB for a UE in idle mode, the eNB does not have a context for that UE and hence does not know the UE radio capabilities yet. The eNB therefore pages the UE over all the cells of that eNB even if the UE does not support the cell frequency band. Therefore, there is a need for optimization of paging mechanisms, in particular to reduce paging load, more generally to improve performances of such systems (See DREVON [0017])).
Regarding claim 31, Ozturk in view of DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 27. DREVON further teaches wherein the paging decision is made based also on information indicating: whether or not wireless communication devices that have the type, capability, configuration, and/or feature indicated by said indication are allowed or able to camp on, access, or attempt access to one or more certain cells; and/or in which one or more cells wireless communication devices that have the type, capability, configuration, and/or feature indicated by said indication are, or are not, allowed or able to camp on, access, or attempt access ([0024], e.g. the chance to reach the UE in the first place should be enhanced, while minimizing the number of cells the UE is paged; paging the UE under cells for which the UE has no capability to camp on (e.g. not supported frequency band) should be avoided (i.e. feature indicated by said indication are, or are not, allowed or able to camp on)).
The motivation to combine reference of DREVON within the method of Ozturk before the effective filing date of the invention is that the new method provides techniques that minimize the radio interface load issue is when the MME sends a Paging message to an eNB for a UE in idle mode, the eNB does not have a context for that UE and hence does not know the UE radio capabilities yet. The eNB therefore pages the UE over all the cells of that eNB even if the UE does not support the cell frequency band. Therefore, there is a need for optimization of paging mechanisms, in particular to reduce paging load, more generally to improve performances of such systems (See DREVON [0017])).
Regarding claim 32, Ozturk in view of DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 27. Ozturk further teaches wherein receiving the indication comprises receiving a paging message that requests the network node to page the wireless communication device, wherein the indication is included in the paging message ([0020], e.g. include operations, features, means, or instructions for transmitting a capability message indicating a capability of the UE to receive joint paging, and receiving the joint paging message based on the capability message (i.e. indication is included in the paging message)).
Regarding claim 33, Ozturk in view of DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 32. Ozturk further teaches wherein the indication comprises, or is included in, a UE Radio Capability for Paging information element ([0020], e.g. include operations, features, means, or instructions for transmitting a capability message indicating a capability of the UE to receive joint paging, and receiving the joint paging message based on the capability message (i.e. indication is included in the capability message)).
Regarding claim 34, Ozturk in view of DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 27. DREVON further teaches wherein the indication indicates whether, or that, the wireless communication device to be paged is a Reduced Capability (RedCap) User Equipment (UE) ([0007], e.g. in particular to reduce paging load on radio interface and/or on CN entities such as MMEs/SGSNs, in particular for Machine Type Communications (MTC), and/or for low-mobility or stationary UEs, and/or for UEs with restricted radio capabilities (i.e. device to be paged is a Reduced Capability (RedCap) User Equipment (UE) ) and/or for RAN entities such as eNBs with a large number of cells (e.g. large or small or reduced number of cells), and/or for CN entities such as MMEs/SGSNs controlling a large number of cells).
The motivation to combine reference of DREVON within the method of Ozturk before the effective filing date of the invention is that the new method provides techniques that minimize the radio interface load issue is when the MME sends a Paging message to an eNB for a UE in idle mode, the eNB does not have a context for that UE and hence does not know the UE radio capabilities yet. The eNB therefore pages the UE over all the cells of that eNB even if the UE does not support the cell frequency band. Therefore, there is a need for optimization of paging mechanisms, in particular to reduce paging load, more generally to improve performances of such systems (See DREVON [0017])).
Regarding claim 35, Ozturk in view of DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 34. DREVON further teaches wherein making the decision comprises making the decision to: page the wireless communication device in a cell served by the network node if the indication indicates the wireless communication device is a RedCap UE and if RedCap UEs are allowed or able to camp on, access, or attempt access in the cell; or refrain from paging the wireless communication device in a cell served by the network node if the indication indicates the wireless communication device is a RedCap UE and if RedCap UEs are not allowed or able to camp on, access, or attempt access in the cell ([0024], e.g. the chance to reach the UE in the first place should be enhanced, while minimizing the number of cells the UE is paged; paging the UE under cells for which the UE has no capability to camp on (e.g. not supported frequency band) should be avoided (i.e. feature indicated by said indication are, or are not, allowed or able to camp on)).
The motivation to combine reference of DREVON within the method of Ozturk before the effective filing date of the invention is that the new method provides techniques that minimize the radio interface load issue is when the MME sends a Paging message to an eNB for a UE in idle mode, the eNB does not have a context for that UE and hence does not know the UE radio capabilities yet. The eNB therefore pages the UE over all the cells of that eNB even if the UE does not support the cell frequency band. Therefore, there is a need for optimization of paging mechanisms, in particular to reduce paging load, more generally to improve performances of such systems (See DREVON [0017])).
Regarding claim 36, Ozturk in view of DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 34. DREVON further teaches wherein making the decision comprises making the decision to: request another network node to page the wireless communication device in a cell served by the another network node if the indication indicates the wireless communication device is a RedCap UE and if RedCap UEs are allowed or able to camp on, access, or attempt access in the cell; or refrain from requesting another network node to page the wireless communication device in a cell served by the another network node if the indication indicates the wireless communication device is a RedCap UE and if RedCap UEs are not allowed or able to camp on, access, or attempt access in the cell ([0024], e.g. the chance to reach the UE in the first place should be enhanced, while minimizing the number of cells the UE is paged; paging the UE under cells for which the UE has no capability to camp on (e.g. not supported frequency band) should be avoided (i.e. feature indicated by said indication are, or are not, allowed or able to camp on)).
The motivation to combine reference of DREVON within the method of Ozturk before the effective filing date of the invention is that the new method provides techniques that minimize the radio interface load issue is when the MME sends a Paging message to an eNB for a UE in idle mode, the eNB does not have a context for that UE and hence does not know the UE radio capabilities yet. The eNB therefore pages the UE over all the cells of that eNB even if the UE does not support the cell frequency band. Therefore, there is a need for optimization of paging mechanisms, in particular to reduce paging load, more generally to improve performances of such systems (See DREVON [0017])).
Regarding claim 43, Ozturk teaches a network node comprising: communication circuitry; and processing circuitry ([0215], e.g. FIG. 17 shows a flowchart illustrating a method 1700 that supports coordination and transmission of joint paging in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The operations of method 1700 may be implemented by a base station 105 (i.e. a method performed by a network node circuitry) or its components as described herein. For example, the operations of method 1700 may be performed by a communications manager as described with reference to FIGS. 10 through 13), configured to:
receive, from another network node, an indication of a type of, capability of, configuration of, and/or feature supported by a wireless communication device to be paged ([0135], e.g. At 405, base station 105-f may coordinate with a second base station (e.g., base station 105-g) to define a configuration for a joint paging area for idle mode paging, inactive mode paging, or both. For example, base station 105-f and base station 105-g may exchange capability information, channel configuration, or both. In some cases, such as where base station 105-f is the primary base station and base station 105-g is a secondary base station for the paging area, base station 105-f may receive a suggested modification to at least one of the one or more joint paging parameters (i.e. receiving, from another network node, an indication of a type of, capability of, configuration of). The primary base station may decide on the final joint paging area configuration after coordinating with neighbors (e.g., over an Xn interface) and transmit the configuration to base station 105-g. In some cases, other base stations 105 (not shown) may also be included and the joint paging area, and these other base stations 105 may coordinate with base station 105-f and base station 105-g to determine the joint paging area configuration (I.e. supported by a wireless communication device to be paged));
make a paging decision based on the received indication [0215], e.g. FIG. 17 shows a flowchart illustrating a method 1700 that supports coordination and transmission of joint paging in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The operations of method 1700 may be implemented by a base station 105 or its components as described herein. For example, the operations of method 1700 may be performed by a communications manager as described with reference to FIGS. 10 through 13. In some examples, a base station may execute a set of instructions to control the functional elements of the base station to perform the functions described below. Additionally or alternatively, a base station may perform aspects of the functions described below using special-purpose hardware (I.e. making a paging decision based on the received indication)).
Ozturk teaches techniques a wireless communications system may employ joint paging techniques. Multiple base stations may coordinate to determine joint paging parameters for a joint paging area. …. The base stations in the joint paging area may communicate over backhaul links. A user equipment (UE) in the joint paging area may be provided the joint paging parameters and monitor for paging messages based on the joint paging configuration. However Ozturk differs from the claimed invention in not specifically and clearly describing wherein
control paging of the wireless communication device according to the paging decision.
However, in the analogous field of endeavor, DREVON teaches wherein
control paging of the wireless communication device according to the paging decision ([0024], e.g. the MME should be able to decide whether to page the UE in one or several steps depending on existing knowledge such as the subscription profile (i.e. controlling paging of the wireless communication device according to the paging decision), the service for which the UE is paged, etc.; both Core Network awareness of cells i.e. which cell is controlled by which RAN entity and Core Network unawareness of cells should be supported: the MME is currently unaware of cells and only knows the eNB level; but another type of Core Network Serving Node may know the cell level (for example a 2G-SGSN knows the cell the UE/MS is camping on when the UE/MS is in READY state "In READY state, the SGSN MM context corresponds to the STANDBY MM context extended by location information for the subscriber on the cell level"); the chance to reach the UE in the first place should be enhanced, while minimizing the number of cells the UE is paged; paging the UE under cells for which the UE has no capability to camp on (e.g. not supported frequency band) should be avoided (i.e. controlling paging user device in a cell)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the method of DREVON within the method of Ozturk. The motivation to combine references is that the combined method provides that
there is a need for optimization of such paging mechanism, in particular to reduce paging load on radio interface and/or on CN entities such as MMEs/SGSNs, in particular for Machine Type Communications (MTC), and/or for low-mobility or stationary UEs, and/or for UEs with restricted radio capabilities and/or for RAN entities such as eNBs with a large number of cells, and/or for CN entities such as MMEs/SGSNs controlling a large number of cells. More generally, there is a need to improve performances of such systems (See DREVON [0007]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(1) The claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 37-42 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by DREVON et al. (EP 3046382 A1)).
Regarding claim 37, DREVON teaches a method performed by a network node, the method comprising: transmitting, to another network node, an indication of a type of, capability of, configuration of, and/or feature supported by a wireless communication device to be paged ([0025], e.g. Embodiments of the invention introduce the idea of paging assistance from the radio access network, which may include at least one of: assisting the MME in determining relevant eNBs (i.e. another network node ) that the MME should send paging messages to, assisting the MME in providing to a relevant eNB a list of relevant cells in which the eNB should page the UE).
Regarding claim 38, DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 37. DREVON further teaches wherein transmitting the indication comprises transmitting a paging message that requests the another network node to page the wireless communication device, wherein the indication is included in the paging message ([0019], e.g. consists in the serving eNB sending a UE CAPABILITY INDICATION message (i.e. indication is included in the paging message ) with a new UE Radio Capability for Paging information element, that is stored by the MME in the UE context, and then appended to next Paging messages to the eNBs: it allows the eNBs receiving the Paging messages to optimize the radio interface as they could for example page a low complexity UE with a specific transmission power (since such low complexity / low cost UEs are not planned with a very sensitive receiver). But this is limited to category 0 (low complexity) UEs.).
Regarding claim 39, DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 38. DREVON further teaches wherein the indication comprises, or is included in, a UE Radio Capability for Paging information element ([0019], e.g. consists in the serving eNB sending a UE CAPABILITY INDICATION message (i.e. Radio Capability is included in the paging message ) with a new UE Radio Capability for Paging information element).
Regarding claim 40, DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 37. DREVON further teaches wherein the indication indicates whether, or that, the wireless communication device to be paged is a Reduced Capability (RedCap) User Equipment (UE) ([0007], e.g. in particular to reduce paging load on radio interface and/or on CN entities such as MMEs/SGSNs, in particular for Machine Type Communications (MTC), and/or for low-mobility or stationary UEs, and/or for UEs with restricted radio capabilities (i.e. device to be paged is a Reduced Capability (RedCap) User Equipment (UE) ) and/or for RAN entities such as eNBs with a large number of cells (e.g. large or small or reduced number of cells), and/or for CN entities such as MMEs/SGSNs controlling a large number of cells).
Regarding claim 41, DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 37. DREVON further teaches wherein further comprising transmitting, to the another network node, information indicating: whether or not wireless communication devices that have the type, capability, configuration, and/or feature indicated by said indication are allowed or able to camp on, access, or attempt access to one or more certain cells; and/or in which one or more cells wireless communication devices that have the type, capability, configuration, and/or feature indicated by said indication are, or are not, allowed or able to camp on, access, or attempt access ([0024], e.g. the chance to reach the UE in the first place should be enhanced, while minimizing the number of cells the UE is paged; paging the UE under cells for which the UE has no capability to camp on (e.g. not supported frequency band) should be avoided (i.e. feature indicated by said indication are, or are not, allowed or able to camp on)).
Regarding claim 42, DREVON teaches all the limitations of claim 41. DREVON further teaches wherein the information indicates: whether or not wireless communication devices that are Reduced Capability (RedCap) User Equipments (UEs) are allowed or able to camp on, access, or attempt access to one or more certain cells; and/or in which one or more cells wireless communication devices that are RedCap UEs are, or are not, allowed or able to camp on, access, or attempt access ([0007], e.g. in particular to reduce paging load on radio interface and/or on CN entities such as MMEs/SGSNs, in particular for Machine Type Communications (MTC), and/or for low-mobility or stationary UEs, and/or for UEs with restricted radio capabilities (i.e. device to be paged is a Reduced Capability (RedCap) User Equipment (UE) ) and/or for RAN entities such as eNBs with a large number of cells (e.g. large or small or reduced number of cells), and/or for CN entities such as MMEs/SGSNs controlling a large number of cells).
Regarding claim 44, DREVON teaches network node comprising: communication circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to transmit, to another network node, an indication of a type of, capability of, configuration of, and/or feature supported by a wireless communication device to be paged ([0019], e.g. consists in the serving eNB sending a UE CAPABILITY INDICATION message (i.e. Radio Capability is included in the paging message ) with a new UE Radio Capability for Paging information element).
Prior Art Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent
to applicant’s disclosure.
RYU; Jinsook (US-20190075511-A1 - METHOD AND NETWORK DEVICE FOR RESPONDING TO REQUEST.
Wallentin; Pontus (US-10314006-B2) - Apparatus and methods for paging.
Chun; Sungduck (US-20220030548-A1) - METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING PAGING SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND APPARATUS THEREFOR.
KIM SEOKJUNG (WO-2021045464-A1) - METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR SUPPORT OF CU-DU SPLIT IN MT-EDT PROCEDURE IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM.
Conclusion
/MAHENDRA R PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645