DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Lactiplantibacillus plantarum for the species in the reply filed on February 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
4. Claims 1-8 are examined on the merits in regards to the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (CN 110734869 A – English translation).
This reference teaches a method for increasing the expression of autophagy-related genes by administering Lactobacillus plantarum (which is now reclassified as Lactiplantibacillus plantarum) to a subject. The reference teaches that increasing the expression of the gene increases autophagy in the subject. The reference teaches that the bacteria can be active or inactive (dead) (see pages 2 and 6 and claim 1, 3, and 5).
The reference does not specifically teach that induction of autophagy is in the intestine, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
6. Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu (Inflamm Bowel Dis. (August 2020 – published online March 2020), vol. 26, no. 8, pp. 1199-1211).
This reference teaches that Lactobacillus plantarum (which is now reclassified as Lactiplantibacillus plantarum) induces autophagy in the intestine. The reference teaches that a concentration of 109 (1 X 109) is useful for inducing autophagy. The reference teaches that the bacteria are administered to subjects (see page 1200, first and third paragraph and Discussion section).
7. Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 8 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toshimitsu (Nutrients (2020 – published online January 2020), vol. 12, no. 374, 14 pages).
This reference teaches administering a composition comprising 5 X 109 heat killed Lactobacillus plantarum (which is now reclassified as Lactiplantibacillus plantarum) to healthy subjects (see sections 2.2 and 2.3). The reference does not teach that the administration of the bacteria induces autophagy. However, applicant’s specification defines a subject in need of the induction of autophagy as any healthy subject (see paragraph 42). Thus, the reference teaches administering the same composition as claimed to the same subject as claimed. Therefore, the induction of autophagy would inherently have to occur in the reference method if applicant’s invention functions as claimed. Consequently, the reference is considered to properly anticipate the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (CN 110734869 A – English translation) in view of Toshimitsu (Nutrients (2020 – published online January 2020), vol. 12, no. 374, 14 pages).
The teachings of Lin are discussed above. The reference does not specifically teach administering the concentrations of bacteria claimed. However, as discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” In addition, Toshimitsu teaches that concentrations of 5 X 109 of heat killed L. plantarum are useful for administration to subjects (see abstract). Varying the concentration of an active within a pharmaceutical composition is not considered to be inventive unless the concentration is demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, there is no evidence that the claimed concentration of the bacteria produces an unexpected result. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameter, this optimization of ingredient concentration would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
The reference does not specifically teach that the bacteria are inactivated by heat killing. However, this means for inactivating bacteria is known in the art as demonstrated by Toshimitsu. Thus, the artisan would be motivated to use this well known procedure to produce the inactivated bacteria taught by Lin.
9. Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (Inflamm Bowel Dis. (August 2020 – published online March 2020), vol. 26, no. 8, pp. 1199-1211).
The teachings of Lu are discussed above. The reference does not specifically teach administering the concentrations of bacteria claimed. However, as discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Varying the concentration of an active within a pharmaceutical composition is not considered to be inventive unless the concentration is demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, there is no evidence that the claimed concentration of the bacteria produces an unexpected result. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameter, this optimization of ingredient concentration would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
10. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655