DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action regarding application number 18/578,752, filed January 12, 2024, is in response to the applicants arguments and amendments filed December 19, 2025. Claims 1 and 9 have been amended. Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The applicants arguments and amendments to the application have overcome some of the objections and rejections previously set forth in the Final action mailed October 29, 2025. Applicants amendments to claim 9 have overcome the previous rejections under 35 USC 112(a) and 112(b) in combination with the interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) by including structural language that performs the functions of a “navigation system”, therefore the interpretations and rejections are withdrawn. Applicants amendments to claims 1 and 9 have been deemed sufficient to overcome the previous 35 USC 103 rejections through the inclusion of “the driving tendency not reducing the SOC reduction amount below a predetermined threshold” therefore the rejections are withdrawn. However as this changes the scope of the claims, new art rejections have been made based on the changes in scope.
Additionally the applicants arguments have been fully considered but are not fully persuasive for the reasons seen below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 9, specifically the newly amended subject matter have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US 20170120892) in view of Saito (JP-2008279803) and further in view of Ogawa (US-20170088117).
Regarding claim 1, Kato teaches a regenerative control method (Paragraph [0015], "The control section (50) includes normal regeneration control means, enlarged regeneration control means and downslope prediction control means described below”)
for a hybrid vehicle equipped with a motor generator connected to drive wheels of the hybrid vehicle and a battery, the method comprising (Paragraph [0012-0013], "a vehicle driving source including an internal combustion engine (10) and an electric motor (12); and a battery (14) charged with electricity generated by the electric motor (12), the battery (14) supplying the electricity to the electric motor (12).")
detecting in advance a downhill road on a travel route for the hybrid vehicle (Paragraph [0018], "in particular, processes of steps 927 to 940) when the downslope prediction control means determines that a control execution downslope zone which satisfies a predetermined downslope zone condition exists on a scheduled traveling route of the hybrid vehicle")
performing an SOC reduction control in advance to lower an SOC of the battery in preparation for regeneration on the downhill road before starting on the downhill road (Paragraph [0020], "The situation that the downslope prediction control should be executed is a situation that it is desired that the battery charge amount decreases sufficiently before the hybrid vehicle arrives at the start position of the control execution downslope zone," here the system is performing SOC reduction control/battery charge amount decreasing to lower a charge amount/SOC of the battery before the vehicle arrives at the downslope start position)
switching between vehicle modes in accordance with a travel mode selected by a driver (Paragraph [0141], “It should be noted that the enlarged regeneration control is executed when a shift lever of the own vehicle is set at a drive-range (i.e., a D-range). As shown in FIG. 5, the absolute value of the braking torque with the shift lever being set at the D-range and the enlarged regeneration control being executed, that is, the absolute value of the enlarged regeneration braking torque TQmbk, is larger than the absolute value of the braking torque with the enlarged regeneration control being not executed, that is, the absolute value of the normal regeneration braking torque TQmbn,” here the system is using the shift lever as a driver input in order to switch between enlarged regeneration control and normal acceleration/deceleration control, while the system here is not explicitly teaching switching between executing or not executing SOC reduction amount in accordance to this input, the system is using a driver input to determine a vehicle travel mode from a plurality of modes)
among a plurality of travel modes that affect an amount of regeneration on the downhill road (Paragraph [0015], “The control section (50) includes normal regeneration control means, enlarged regeneration control means and downslope prediction control means described below.”)
determining at least a driving tendency of the driver in advance when traveling the downhill road (Paragraph [0120], “In particular, the assist control section 54 learns positions on the map where the brake pedal 65 is released with a high frequency on the basis of a history of a daily driving of the driver of the own vehicle”)
determining in advance an expected amount of regeneration and setting an SOC reduction amount to be higher when the expected amount of regeneration is greater while traveling on the downhill road and the SOC reduction control is being executed (Paragraph [0113], “In particular, the PM control section 51 sets a target charge amount SOCtgt to a value SOClow smaller than the target charge amount SOCtgt set in the normal acceleration/deceleration control and controls the operation of the engine 10 and activations of the first and second MGs 11 and 12.”) (Paragraph [0149], “the own vehicle arrives at the start position of the pre-downslope zone corresponding to the control execution downslope zone and thus, the execution of the downslope prediction control is started. In particular, the target charge amount SOCtgt is changed from the standard target value SOCstd to the low target value SOClow,” here the system is determining that a downslope zone is ahead and the amount of regeneration will be higher, the system is then switching the state of charge target to be lower indicating a higher reduction amount)
and setting the SOC reduction amount based on an amount of regeneration expected from the driving tendency (Paragraph [0113], “In particular, the PM control section 51 sets a target charge amount SOCtgt to a value SOClow smaller than the target charge amount SOCtgt set in the normal acceleration/deceleration control and controls the operation of the engine 10 and activations of the first and second MGs 11 and 12.”) (Paragraph [0149], “the own vehicle arrives at the start position of the pre-downslope zone corresponding to the control execution downslope zone and thus, the execution of the downslope prediction control is started. In particular, the target charge amount SOCtgt is changed from the standard target value SOCstd to the low target value SOClow,” here the system is determining that a downslope zone is ahead and the amount of regeneration will be higher, the system is then switching the state of charge target to be lower indicating a higher reduction amount).
However Kato does not explicitly teach switching between executing and not executing the SOC reduction control in accordance with a travel mode selected by a driver.
Saito teaches a charge control device for a hybrid vehicle which adjusts a battery state of charge depending on a driving environment including
switching between executing and not executing the SOC reduction control in accordance with a travel mode selected by a driver (Paragraph [0008-0009], “the charging control device further comprises a target storage rate changing means for changing the target storage rate in accordance with the driving mode desired by the driver and the driving environment of the vehicle. According to the configuration of the present invention, the target charge rate of the battery is set according to the driving mode desired by the driver and the driving environment of the vehicle, so that the target charge rate of the battery can be changed flexibly according to circumstances,” here the system is switching between executing the SOC adjustment amount based on a driving environment and driving mode selection by a driver).
Kato and Saito are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for controlling a state of charge of a hybrid vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include switching between executing and not executing the SOC reduction control in accordance with a travel mode selected by a driver of Saito in the regeneration control apparatus of Kato with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide increased flexibility to the driver to change the target charge of the battery according to circumstances (Paragraph [0009], “According to the configuration of the present invention, the target charge rate of the battery is set according to the driving mode desired by the driver and the driving environment of the vehicle, so that the target charge rate of the battery can be changed flexibly according to circumstances.”).
However the combination does not explicitly teach the driving tendency not reducing the SOC reduction amount below a predetermined threshold.
Ogawa teaches a control apparatus for a hybrid vehicle including an internal combustion engine, a motor, and a storage battery and which charges the storage battery with electric power generated as a result of regenerative braking including
the driving tendency not reducing the SOC reduction amount below a predetermined threshold (Paragraph [0007], “Therefore, during travel of the vehicle, the control apparatus of the vehicle maintains the remaining capacity SOC at a level between a predetermined remaining capacity upper limit and a predetermined remaining capacity lower limit.”)(Paragraph [0078], “However, when the remaining capacity SOC is less than a remaining capacity lower limit Smin, the ECU 40 executes “forced charging” by operating the engine 23 and causing the first motor 21 to generate electric power. As a result, the remaining capacity SOC becomes greater than the remaining capacity lower limit Smin.”) (See Figure 3 showing a plurality of thresholds including a downhill lower limit Sd and an absolute lower limit Smin) (Here which Ogawa does not teach the use of a driving tendency, the methodology of a predetermined absolute lower limit/threshold for the SOC amount can be combined with the system of Kato and Saito which teaches using the driving tendency to set an SOC reduction amount).
Kato, Saito, and Ogawa are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for controlling a state of charge of a hybrid vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include the driving tendency not reducing the SOC reduction amount below a predetermined threshold of Ogawa in the regeneration control apparatus of Kato and Saito with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent the deterioration of the storage battery by preventing the SOC from falling below a predetermined limit (Paragraph [0007], “Deterioration of the storage battery accelerates as a result of an increase in the remaining capacity SOC when the remaining capacity SOC is high and as a result of a decrease in the remaining capacity SOC when the remaining capacity SOC is low. Therefore, during travel of the vehicle, the control apparatus of the vehicle maintains the remaining capacity SOC at a level between a predetermined remaining capacity upper limit and a predetermined remaining capacity lower limit.”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kato, Saito, and Ogawa teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Kato further teaches wherein the travel modes that affect the amount of regeneration on the downhill road include a regenerative braking mode in which regenerative braking is performed during braking and a normal breaking mode in which friction braking is mainly performed during braking (Paragraph [0015], “The control section (50) includes normal regeneration control means, enlarged regeneration control means and downslope prediction control means described below.”) (Paragraph [0017], “The enlarged regeneration control means is configured to execute an enlarged regeneration control for applying an increased regeneration braking force which is the regeneration braking force larger than the regeneration braking force applied by the normal regeneration control to the at least one vehicle wheel”).
However Kato does not explicitly teach the SOC reduction control is executed in the regenerative braking mode, and the SOC reduction control is not performed in the normal braking mode.
Saito further teaches the SOC reduction control is executed in the regenerative braking mode, and the SOC reduction control is not performed in the normal braking mode (Paragraph [0008-0009], “the charging control device further comprises a target storage rate changing means for changing the target storage rate in accordance with the driving mode desired by the driver and the driving environment of the vehicle. According to the configuration of the present invention, the target charge rate of the battery is set according to the driving mode desired by the driver and the driving environment of the vehicle, so that the target charge rate of the battery can be changed flexibly according to circumstances,” here the system is switching between executing the SOC adjustment amount based on a driving environment and driving mode selection by a driver).
Kato and Saito are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for controlling a state of charge of a hybrid vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include the SOC reduction control is executed in the regenerative braking mode, and the SOC reduction control is not performed in the normal braking mode of Saito in the regeneration control apparatus of Kato with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide increased flexibility to the driver to change the target charge of the battery according to circumstances (Paragraph [0009], “According to the configuration of the present invention, the target charge rate of the battery is set according to the driving mode desired by the driver and the driving environment of the vehicle, so that the target charge rate of the battery can be changed flexibly according to circumstances.”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kato, Saito, and Ogawa teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Kato further teaches wherein the travel modes that affect the amount of regeneration on the downhill road include a D position for normal travel selected using a selection lever (Paragraph [0141], “It should be noted that the enlarged regeneration control is executed when a shift lever of the own vehicle is set at a drive-range (i.e., a D-range).”)
and at least one second shift position that increases a deceleration rate under regenerative braking compared to traveling in the D position (Paragraph [0142], “Further, as shown in FIG. 5, the absolute value of the enlarged regeneration braking torque TQmbk with the enlarged regeneration control being executed, is smaller than the absolute value of the regeneration braking torque TQmbb with the shift lever being set at a brake-range (i.e., a B-range). … As is known, when the acceleration pedal 35 is released, the braking torque provided from the engine 10 with the shift lever being set at the B-range is larger than the braking torque provided from the engine 10 with the shift lever being set at the D-range.”).
However Kato does not explicitly teach the SOC reduction control is executed in the second shift position.
Saito further teaches the SOC reduction control is executed in the second shift position (Paragraph [0008-0009], “the charging control device further comprises a target storage rate changing means for changing the target storage rate in accordance with the driving mode desired by the driver and the driving environment of the vehicle. According to the configuration of the present invention, the target charge rate of the battery is set according to the driving mode desired by the driver and the driving environment of the vehicle, so that the target charge rate of the battery can be changed flexibly according to circumstances,” here the system is switching between executing the SOC adjustment amount based on a driving environment and driving mode selection by a driver, this driving mode could reasonably be selected using the shift lever as described above in the Kato reference).
Kato and Saito are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for controlling a state of charge of a hybrid vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include teaches the SOC reduction control is executed in the second shift position of Saito in the regeneration control apparatus of Kato with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide increased flexibility to the driver to change the target charge of the battery according to circumstances (Paragraph [0009], “According to the configuration of the present invention, the target charge rate of the battery is set according to the driving mode desired by the driver and the driving environment of the vehicle, so that the target charge rate of the battery can be changed flexibly according to circumstances.”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kato, Saito, and Ogawa teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Kato further teaches wherein when executing the SOC reduction control, the SOC reduction amount is set larger as deceleration of regenerative braking that occurs on a downhill road becomes larger when executing the SOC reduction control, the SOC reduction amount is set larger so as to be greater in conditions involving a higher deceleration rate under regenerative braking (Paragraph [0113], “In particular, the PM control section 51 sets a target charge amount SOCtgt to a value SOClow smaller than the target charge amount SOCtgt set in the normal acceleration/deceleration control and controls the operation of the engine 10 and activations of the first and second MGs 11 and 12.”) (Paragraph [0149], “the own vehicle arrives at the start position of the pre-downslope zone corresponding to the control execution downslope zone and thus, the execution of the downslope prediction control is started. In particular, the target charge amount SOCtgt is changed from the standard target value SOCstd to the low target value SOClow,” here the system is determining that a downslope zone is ahead and the amount of regeneration will be higher, the system is then switching the state of charge target to be lower indicating a higher reduction amount).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kato, Saito, and Ogawa teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Kato further teaches wherein the driving tendency of the driver is learned from past driving operation amounts and vehicle acceleration rates on downhill roads (Paragraph [0120], “In particular, the assist control section 54 learns positions on the map where the brake pedal 65 is released with a high frequency on the basis of a history of a daily driving of the driver of the own vehicle. Then, the assist control section 54 stores or learns or registers the learned positions as deceleration end positions Pend, respectively in the back-up RAM of the assist control section 54. Further, the assist control section 54 stores or learns or registers the own vehicle speed V acquired upon arrival of the own vehicle at each of the deceleration end positions Pend as a deceleration end vehicle speed Vend in the back-up RAM of the assist control section 54 in association with the corresponding deceleration end position Pend.”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kato, Saito, and Ogawa teaches the method as discussed above in claim 1, Kato further teaches wherein the driving tendency of the driver is learned from data on past amounts of regeneration on downhill roads (Paragraph [0120], “In particular, the assist control section 54 learns positions on the map where the brake pedal 65 is released with a high frequency on the basis of a history of a daily driving of the driver of the own vehicle. Then, the assist control section 54 stores or learns or registers the learned positions as deceleration end positions Pend, respectively in the back-up RAM of the assist control section 54. Further, the assist control section 54 stores or learns or registers the own vehicle speed V acquired upon arrival of the own vehicle at each of the deceleration end positions Pend as a deceleration end vehicle speed Vend in the back-up RAM of the assist control section 54 in association with the corresponding deceleration end position Pend.”) (Paragraph [0130], “(Paragraph [0120], “In particular, the assist control section 54 learns positions on the map where the brake pedal 65 is released with a high frequency on the basis of a history of a daily driving of the driver of the own vehicle. Then, the assist control section 54 stores or learns or registers the learned positions as deceleration end positions Pend, respectively in the back-up RAM of the assist control section 54. Further, the assist control section 54 stores or learns or registers the own vehicle speed V acquired upon arrival of the own vehicle at each of the deceleration end positions Pend as a deceleration end vehicle speed Vend in the back-up RAM of the assist control section 54 in association with the corresponding deceleration end position Pend.”).”) (Paragraph [0132], “The assist control section 54 calculates a distance D4 that the own vehicle is braked only by the regeneration braking torque by subtracting the first and second distances D1 and D2 from the third distance D3 (D4=D3−D1−D2). The distance D4 will be referred to as “the fourth distance D4”,” here the system is recording and storing the vehicle speed, acceleration, deceleration, and stop positions using past driving data and using that information in order to calculate past amounts of regeneration).
Regarding claim 9, Kato teaches a regenerative control device for a hybrid vehicle (Paragraph [0015], "The control section (50) includes normal regeneration control means, enlarged regeneration control means and downslope prediction control means described below”)
equipped with a motor generator connected to a drive wheel of the hybrid vehicle, and a battery, the regenerative control device comprising (Paragraph [0012-0013], "a vehicle driving source including an internal combustion engine (10) and an electric motor (12); and a battery (14) charged with electricity generated by the electric motor (12), the battery (14) supplying the electricity to the electric motor (12).")
a navigation system configured to detect a downhill road on a travel route for the hybrid vehicle in advance (Paragraph [0018], "in particular, processes of steps 927 to 940) when the downslope prediction control means determines that a control execution downslope zone which satisfies a predetermined downslope zone condition exists on a scheduled traveling route of the hybrid vehicle") (Paragraph [0067], “The assist control section 54 is electrically connected to the acceleration pedal operation amount sensor 31, the vehicle speed sensor 32, a brake sensor 61, a navigation device 80, a display device 81 and an own vehicle sensor 83.”)
the navigation system including a processor and a storage (Paragraph [0055], “Each of the control sections 51, 52, 53 and 54 has, as a main part, a microcomputer including a CPU, a ROM (or a memory), a RAM, a back-up RAM (or a non-volatile memory) and the like. The CPU of each of the control sections 51, 52, 53 and 54 is configured or programmed to execute instructions or programs stored in the ROMs of the control sections 51, 52, 53 and 54, respectively to realize various functions described later.”)
a travel mode selection switch configured for a driver to select from among a plurality of travel modes (Paragraph [0141], “It should be noted that the enlarged regeneration control is executed when a shift lever of the own vehicle is set at a drive-range (i.e., a D-range). As shown in FIG. 5, the absolute value of the braking torque with the shift lever being set at the D-range and the enlarged regeneration control being executed, that is, the absolute value of the enlarged regeneration braking torque TQmbk, is larger than the absolute value of the braking torque with the enlarged regeneration control being not executed, that is, the absolute value of the normal regeneration braking torque TQmbn,” here the system is using the shift lever as a driver input in order to switch between enlarged regeneration control and normal acceleration/deceleration control, while the system here is not explicitly teaching switching between executing or not executing SOC reduction amount in accordance to this input, the system is using a driver input to determine a vehicle travel mode from a plurality of modes)
the plurality of travel modes including travel modes having different amounts of regeneration on downhill roads (Paragraph [0015], “The control section (50) includes normal regeneration control means, enlarged regeneration control means and downslope prediction control means described below.”)
and a control unit configured to selectively execute an SOC reduction control that reduces an SOC of the battery in advance in preparation for regeneration on the downhill road before starting on the downhill road (Paragraph [0020], "The situation that the downslope prediction control should be executed is a situation that it is desired that the battery charge amount decreases sufficiently before the hybrid vehicle arrives at the start position of the control execution downslope zone," here the system is performing SOC reduction control/battery charge amount decreasing to lower a charge amount/SOC of the battery before the vehicle arrives at the downslope start position)
the control unit being configured to determine at least a driving tendency of the driver in advance when traveling the downhill road (Paragraph [0120], “In particular, the assist control section 54 learns positions on the map where the brake pedal 65 is released with a high frequency on the basis of a history of a daily driving of the driver of the own vehicle”)
determine in advance an expected amount of regeneration and setting an SOC reduction amount to be higher when the expected amount of regeneration is greater while traveling on the downhill road and the SOC reduction control is being executed (Paragraph [0113], “In particular, the PM control section 51 sets a target charge amount SOCtgt to a value SOClow smaller than the target charge amount SOCtgt set in the normal acceleration/deceleration control and controls the operation of the engine 10 and activations of the first and second MGs 11 and 12.”) (Paragraph [0149], “the own vehicle arrives at the start position of the pre-downslope zone corresponding to the control execution downslope zone and thus, the execution of the downslope prediction control is started. In particular, the target charge amount SOCtgt is changed from the standard target value SOCstd to the low target value SOClow,” here the system is determining that a downslope zone is ahead and the amount of regeneration will be higher, the system is then switching the state of charge target to be lower indicating a higher reduction amount)
and set the SOC reduction amount based on an amount of regeneration expected from the driving tendency (Paragraph [0113], “In particular, the PM control section 51 sets a target charge amount SOCtgt to a value SOClow smaller than the target charge amount SOCtgt set in the normal acceleration/deceleration control and controls the operation of the engine 10 and activations of the first and second MGs 11 and 12.”) (Paragraph [0149], “the own vehicle arrives at the start position of the pre-downslope zone corresponding to the control execution downslope zone and thus, the execution of the downslope prediction control is started. In particular, the target charge amount SOCtgt is changed from the standard target value SOCstd to the low target value SOClow,” here the system is determining that a downslope zone is ahead and the amount of regeneration will be higher, the system is then switching the state of charge target to be lower indicating a higher reduction amount).
However Kato does not explicitly teach a control unit configured to selectively execute an SOC reduction control that reduces an SOC of the battery in advance in preparation for regeneration on the downhill road before starting on the downhill road in accordance with the travel mode selected by the driver.
Saito teaches a charge control device for a hybrid vehicle which adjusts a battery state of charge depending on a driving environment including
a control unit configured to selectively execute an SOC reduction control that reduces an SOC of the battery in advance in preparation for regeneration on the downhill road before starting on the downhill road in accordance with the travel mode selected by the driver (Paragraph [0008-0009], “the charging control device further comprises a target storage rate changing means for changing the target storage rate in accordance with the driving mode desired by the driver and the driving environment of the vehicle. According to the configuration of the present invention, the target charge rate of the battery is set according to the driving mode desired by the driver and the driving environment of the vehicle, so that the target charge rate of the battery can be changed flexibly according to circumstances,” here the system is switching between executing the SOC adjustment amount based on a driving environment and driving mode selection by a driver).
Kato and Saito are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for controlling a state of charge of a hybrid vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a control unit configured to selectively execute an SOC reduction control that reduces an SOC of the battery in advance in preparation for regeneration on the downhill road before starting on the downhill road in accordance with the travel mode selected by the driver of Saito in the regeneration control apparatus of Kato with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide increased flexibility to the driver to change the target charge of the battery according to circumstances (Paragraph [0009], “According to the configuration of the present invention, the target charge rate of the battery is set according to the driving mode desired by the driver and the driving environment of the vehicle, so that the target charge rate of the battery can be changed flexibly according to circumstances.”).
However the combination does not explicitly teach the driving tendency not reducing the SOC reduction amount below a predetermined threshold.
Ogawa teaches a control apparatus for a hybrid vehicle including an internal combustion engine, a motor, and a storage battery and which charges the storage battery with electric power generated as a result of regenerative braking including
the driving tendency not reducing the SOC reduction amount below a predetermined threshold (Paragraph [0007], “Therefore, during travel of the vehicle, the control apparatus of the vehicle maintains the remaining capacity SOC at a level between a predetermined remaining capacity upper limit and a predetermined remaining capacity lower limit.”)(Paragraph [0078], “However, when the remaining capacity SOC is less than a remaining capacity lower limit Smin, the ECU 40 executes “forced charging” by operating the engine 23 and causing the first motor 21 to generate electric power. As a result, the remaining capacity SOC becomes greater than the remaining capacity lower limit Smin.”) (See Figure 3 showing a plurality of thresholds including a downhill lower limit Sd and an absolute lower limit Smin) (Here which Ogawa does not teach the use of a driving tendency, the methodology of a predetermined absolute lower limit/threshold for the SOC amount can be combined with the system of Kato and Saito which teaches using the driving tendency to set an SOC reduction amount).
Kato, Saito, and Ogawa are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for controlling a state of charge of a hybrid vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include the driving tendency not reducing the SOC reduction amount below a predetermined threshold of Ogawa in the regeneration control apparatus of Kato and Saito with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent the deterioration of the storage battery by preventing the SOC from falling below a predetermined limit (Paragraph [0007], “Deterioration of the storage battery accelerates as a result of an increase in the remaining capacity SOC when the remaining capacity SOC is high and as a result of a decrease in the remaining capacity SOC when the remaining capacity SOC is low. Therefore, during travel of the vehicle, the control apparatus of the vehicle maintains the remaining capacity SOC at a level between a predetermined remaining capacity upper limit and a predetermined remaining capacity lower limit.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liang (US-20160325726) teaches determining a first engine cycling command based on route information and a second engine cycling command independent of route information including a minimum threshold for a SOC charge of the system. Li (US-20220363238) teaches methods and systems for a powertrain power management in a vehicle with an electric motor, and an engine including a minimum SOC charge limit that is set forth by the manufacturer. Park (US-10611361) teaches a hybrid vehicle, and a control method of a driving mode therefor includes steps of determining a traveling path, dividing the traveling path into a plurality of sections according to a driving condition, allocating a class corresponding to a driving condition of a corresponding section among a plurality of predetermined classes including using the driving tendencies of a driver to determine a Charge depleting or charge sustaining sections of a route.
/CHRISTOPHER GEORGE FEES/Examiner, Art Unit 3662