DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/12/2024, 05/16/2025, and 10/30/2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-25, 28-35 and 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 5597223 A) in view of Du (US 20160223783 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches a method (Fig. 9-11) comprising: setting a projector (Fig. 6A, 6B, 12, 25, 35, 37) in a theatre to emit projected light representing a projected image onto a screen (SC) in the theatre such that a light level of the projected light is at a target light level (col. 16, line 66-col. 7 line 18; col. 18, lines 24-67); setting a lens aperture element (111) in a projection lens (110) of the projector in the theatre to change an image contrast of the projected image; and in response to setting the lens aperture element (111), adjusting a setting for a light emitter (101-104)) in the projector (by controlling stop 104) such that the light level of the projected light is at the target light level (S207; col. 12, lines 1-18, col. 15, lines 24-45, col. 17, lines 33-60).
Watanabe does not explicitly teach replacing a lens aperture element (111).
Du teaches having replacing different lens aperture elements (102; Fig. 1, 2, 11; [0046], [0072], [0103]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Watanabe with Du; because it Du provides a more robust and durable aperture mechanism.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in adjusting the setting (by controlling stop 104) for the light emitter (101-104) to a maximum output for the target light level, and replacing the lens aperture element (111) to maintain the target light level (col. 24, lines 31-48 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the light level of the projected light is a level of projected light that is reflected off the screen (SC; col. 15, lines 24-45 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the light level of the projected light is a level of projected light that passes through an optical element (128 of Watanabe) that is external to the projection lens (110 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in replacing the lens aperture element (111 of Watanabe) to change image contrast of the projected image (Fig. 1, 2, 11; [0046], [0072], [0103] of Du).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the lens aperture element (111 of Watanabe; 102 of Du) is removable from the projection lens (Fig. 1, 2, 11 of Du).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in replacing the lens aperture element (111) includes replacing the lens aperture element (111) with a lens element that has an adjustable aperture setting that is continuously adjustable during projection (col. 17 line 61 – col. 18 line 7 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe inherently teaches the screen (SC) has a bidirectional reflectance distribution function that increases brightness from a location on the screen (SC) for at least one seat in an audience of the theatre.
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe teaches a projector (Fig. 6A, 6B, 12, 25, 35, 37) configured to be positioned in a theatre, the projector comprising: a light emitter (101-104)) configured to emit, toward a screen (SC) in the theatre, projected light that represents a projected image such that a light level of the projected light is at a target light level; a light controller (121) configured to: determine a difference between the light level and the target light level; determine a change to the light emitter (101-104)) based on the difference; and set a lens aperture element (111) based on the difference (Fig. 9-11; col. 12, lines 1-18, col. 15, lines 24-45, col. 17, lines 33-60); and a projection lens (110) that includes the lens aperture element (111).
Watanabe does not teach the lens aperture element being replaceable.
Du teaches the lens aperture element being replaceable (102; Fig. 1, 2, 11; [0046], [0072], [0103]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Watanabe with Du; because it Du provides a more robust and durable aperture mechanism.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the light level of the projected light being a level of projected light that is reflected off of the screen (SC; col. 15, lines 24-45 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the light level of the projected light is a level of projected light that passes through an optical element (128 of Watanabe) that is external to the projection lens (110 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the lens aperture element (111 of Watanabe) is replacing to change image contrast of the projected image (Fig. 1, 2, 11; [0046], [0072], [0103] of Du).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the lens aperture element (111 of Watanabe; 102 of Du) is removable from the projection lens (Fig. 1, 2, 11 of Du).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the lens aperture element (111) that is replaceable has an aperture setting that is continuously adjustable during projection (col. 17 line 61 – col. 18 line 7 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 17, Watanabe inherently teaches the screen (SC) has a bidirectional reflectance distribution function configured to increase brightness from a location on the screen (SC) for at least one seat in an audience of the theatre.
Regarding claim 18, Watanabe teaches a method (Fig. 9-11) comprising: determining a difference between a light level of projected light in a theatre and a target light level, the projected light being emitted by a projector in the theatre and representing a projected image (col. 16, line 66-col. 7 line 18; col. 18, lines 24-67); determining an adjustment to a lens aperture element (111) of a projection lens (110) in the projector based on the difference between the light level and the target light level and to adjust image contrast of the projected image on a screen (SC); determining an adjustment (by controlling stop 104) to a light emitter (101-104)) in the projector based on the difference between the light level and the target light level; and outputting the adjustment (S207; col. 12, lines 1-18, col. 15, lines 24-45, col. 17, lines 33-60).
Watanabe does not teach the lens aperture element (111) is replaceable.
Du teaches the lens aperture element being replaceable (102; Fig. 1, 2, 11; [0046], [0072], [0103]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Watanabe with Du; because it Du provides a more robust and durable aperture mechanism.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the light level of the projected light is a level of projected light that is reflected off of the screen (SC; col. 15, lines 24-45 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the light level of the projected light is a level of projected light that passes through an optical element (128 of Watanabe) that is external to the projection lens (110 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in determining the adjustment to the lens aperture element (111) includes determining the adjustment of a replaceable aperture element such that the projected light reflected by the screen (SC) is set to the target light level (col. 24, lines 31-48 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the lens aperture element (111 of Watanabe; 102 of Du) is removable from the projection lens (Fig. 1, 2, 11 of Du).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the lens aperture element (111) that is replaceable has includes an aperture setting that is continuously adjustable during projection (col. 17 line 61 – col. 18 line 7 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 24, Watanabe inherently teaches the screen (SC) has a bidirectional reflectance distribution function that increases brightness from a location on the screen (SC) for at least one seat in an audience of the theatre.
Regarding claim 28, Watanabe teaches a light controller (121; Fig. 6A, 6B, 12, 25, 35, 37) comprising: a light meter (128) configured to measure light levels of projected light in a theatre and that represents a projected image, the projected light being emitted from a projector (Fig. 6A, 6B, 12, 25, 35, 37) in the theatre; a processor (MP); and a non-transitory memory (SM) including instructions that are executable by the processor (MP) for causing the processor (MP; col. 16, lines 34-39) to: receive, from the light meter (128), a first light level; determine a difference between the first light level and a target light level; determine an adjustment to a lens aperture element (111) of a projection lens (110) in the projector based on the difference between the first light level and the target light level and to adjust image contrast of the projected image on a screen (SC) in the theatre; and output the adjustment of the replaceable lens aperture element (111; col. 12, lines 1-18, col. 15, lines 24-45, col. 17, lines 33-60).
Watanabe does not teach the lens aperture element being replaceable.
Du teaches the lens aperture element being replaceable (102; Fig. 1, 2, 11; [0046], [0072], [0103]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Watanabe with Du; because it Du provides a more robust and durable aperture mechanism.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the light levels of the projected light are levels of projected light that are reflected off of the screen (SC; col. 15, lines 24-45 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the light levels of the projected light are levels of projected light that pass through an optical element (optics in 128 of Watanabe) that is external to the projection lens (110 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the instructions are further executable by the processor (MP of Watanabe) for causing the processor (MP of Watanabe) to determine the adjustment to the replaceable lens aperture element (111 of Watanabe; 102 of Du) such that the projected light reflected by the screen (SC) is set to the target light level (col. 16, lines 34-39 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the replaceable lens aperture element (111 of Watanabe; 102 of Du) is removable from the projection lens (Fig. 1, 2, 11 of Du).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in the replaceable lens aperture element (111) has an aperture setting that is continuously adjustable during projection (col. 17 line 61 – col. 18 line 7 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 34, Watanabe inherently teaches the screen (SC) has a bidirectional reflectance distribution function that increases brightness from a location on the screen (SC) for at least one seat in an audience of the theatre.
Regarding claims 10, 25 and 35, Watanabe further teaches the lens aperture element (111) in a first projection lens (110) having different shapes and sizes (Fig. 7A-8C; col. 14 line 64 – col. 15 line 11). On the other hand, Du teaches have an array of different apertures (102, 103; Fig. 1, 2, and 11). The combination of Watanabe and Du consequently results in a first lens aperture element in a first projection lens has a first aperture with a first shape and a second lens aperture element in a second projection lens has a second aperture with a second shape, and wherein the first lens aperture element has a first light loss and the second lens aperture element has a second light loss, and wherein the first light loss is different from the second light loss based on a/the difference between the first shape and the second shape.
Regarding claims 42-45, the combination of Watanabe, Miao and Du consequently teaches the lens aperture element (111 of Watanabe; 102 of Du) is removable in a theatre environment (Fig. 1, 2, 11 of Du).
Claims 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Miao (US 20200177854 A1) and in further view of Du.
Regarding claim 38, Watanabe teaches a system (Fig. 6A, 6B, 12, 25, 35, 37) comprising: a processor (MP); and a non-transitory computer-readable memory (SM) including instructions that are executable by the processor (MP) for causing the processor (MP) to: determine a light level for a projector; and determine, based on the light level, a lens aperture element (111) in a projection lens (110) of the projector to adjust image contrast of a projected image in projected light emitted by the projector (111; col. 12, lines 1-18, col. 15, lines 24-45, col. 17, lines 33-60).
Watanabe does not explicitly teach receiving theatre specifications for a theatre.
Miao teaches receiving theatre specifications for a theatre and adjust brightness accordingly ([0011], [0022]-[0025]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Watanabe with Miao; because it ensures the optimal brightness of the projected images to improve viewers’ experience.
Neither Watanabe nor Miao teaches the lens aperture element being replaceable.
Du teaches the lens aperture element being replaceable (102; Fig. 1, 2, 11; [0046], [0072], [0103]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Watanabe and Miao with Du; because it Du provides a more robust and durable aperture mechanism.
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Watanabe and Miao with Du consequently results in the theatre specifications comprise: size of a screen (SC) in a theatre; distance between the screen (SC) and the projector and, inherently, maximum light level for the projector.
Neither Watanabe, Miao, nor Du explicitly teaches the reflectivity of the screen (SC) being factor.
It is well known in the art that the screen reflectivity is a factor in brightness of the projected image.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have the screen reflectivity being a factor; because it is a matter of common sense.
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Watanabe, Miao and Du consequently teaches the projector is adapted to produce a target light level of projected light that reflects off of a screen (SC) in the theatre (col. 15, lines 24-45 of Watanabe).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Watanabe, Miao and Du consequently teaches the instructions are further executable by the processor (MP) for causing the processor (MP) to determine, based on the light level, a setting for a light emitter (101-104)) in the projector (col. 12, lines 1-18, col. 15, lines 24-45, col. 17, lines 33-60).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26, 27, 36, and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 26 and 36, the closest prior art references, Watanabe, Du, and Miao, do not teach, by themselves or in combination with one another: “determining the adjustment to the lens aperture element is based on a change of projected light reflected by the screen due to: a size of the screen displaying the projected light; an aspect ratio of the projected image; optical degradation of the lens aperture element that is replaceable; light reduction of a projection light source in the projector; light reduction received by the projection lens; light reduction from screen degradation; color stability of the projector; and brightness stability of the projector” (claim 26) and, similarly, “the instructions are further executable by the processor for causing the processor to determine the adjustment of the replaceable lens aperture element based on a change of projected light reflected by the screen due to: a size of the screen displaying the projected light; an aspect ratio of the projected image; optical degradation of the replaceable lens aperture element; light reduction of a projection light source in the projector; light reduction received by the projection lens; light reduction from screen degradation; color stability of the projector; and brightness stability of the projector” (claim 36). Furthermore, there is no teaching, suggestion or motivation in the prior art references to modify the references in such manner that results in the above claimed limitation/s; hence the invention as claimed by claims 26 and 36 is not obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Claims 27 and 37 depend on claims 26 and 36, respectively; hence they are also allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 20110007283 A1, US 20030067588 A1, US 20020021569 A1, and US 5113332 A, disclose removable apertures in optical systems. Patent documents, US 9888218 B1, US 8251517 B2, US 8287130 B2, US 20110199588 A1, US 7614753 B2, US 20070091435 A1, US 20070091433 A1, US 20070041092 A1, US 20060291049 A1, US 20050213846 A1, US 20060088275 A1, and US 6727489 B2, disclose brightness adjustment systems in projectors using sensors sensing reflected light from the screen.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882