DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (CN 203536484 U).
Re: claim 7, Shi et al. teaches an arrangement (Fig. 1) for fixing an energy storage device (3) on a vehicle frame (Abstract), the arrangement comprising: a part (Fig. 1 – 1, 2, 3, 4, 5) defining a guide groove (Annotated Fig. 1 – groove), the guide groove (Annotated Fig. 1 - groove) being configured to selectively, interlockingly engage (See Fig. 1) with one or more sliding blocks (Fig. 3 – 11) (Fig. 4 – 15); and one or more holders (2 & 5) fixed on the part (1, 2, 3, 4, 5) at least partially within the guide groove (Annotated Fig. 1 - grove), each of the one or more holders (2 & 5) being elastically deformable and configured to elastically deform when contacting a sliding block (Fig. 3 – 11) (Fig. 4 – 15) (See Note below).
It is noted that any material has some degree of elastic deformability and that the hemispherical bumps (7 & 9) located on the cited holders (2 & 5) cooperate with the slots (13 & 17) to fix the battery on the tabs (1 & 4), thus the holders are elastically deformable and are configured to do so when contacting a sliding block.
Re: claim 9, Shi et al. teaches further comprising a bar (Fig. 3 - 10) (Fig. 4 – 16) on which one or more sliding blocks (Fig. 3 – 11) (Fig. 4 – 15) are fixed.
Re: claim 10, Shi et al. teaches wherein the one or more holders (Fig. 1 – 2 & 5) are configured to elastically deform in a direction orthogonal to a course of the guide groove (Annotated Fig. 1 - groove) when contacting a sliding block (Fig. 3 - 11) (Fig. 4 – 15) (See Note below).
It is noted that any material has some degree of elastic deformability and that the hemispherical bumps (7 & 9) located on the cited holders (2 & 5) cooperate with the slots (13 & 17) to fix the battery on the tabs (1 & 4), thus the holders are elastically deformable and are configured to do so when contacting a sliding block in a direction orthogonal to a course of the guide groove.
Re: claim 11, Shi et al. teaches further comprising at least one cam (Fig. 2 – 6 & 8) fixed on the part (Fig. 1 – 1, 2, 3, 4, 5) within the guide groove (Annotated Fig. 1 – groove), the cam (Fig. 2 – 6 & 8) defining a stop portion (Annotated Fig. 2 – stop) and a slanted surface (Annotated Fig. 2 – slant), the stop portion (Annotated Fig. 2 – stop) being configured to limit displaceability of a first sliding block (Fig. 3 – 15) (See also Fig. 4 – 17) within the guide groove (Annotated Fig. 1 - groove) in a first direction (See Fig. 1), the slanted surface (Annotated Fig. 2 – slant) being configured to cause a second sliding block (Fig. 3 - 11) to slide at least partially orthogonally during displacement within the guide groove (203) in an opposite direction.
Re: claim 12, Shi et al. teaches wherein the cam (Fig. 2 – 6 & 8) is integrated as one piece with a holder of the one or more holders (Fig. 1 – 2 & 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. in view of Kameda et al. (US 20200247501 A1).
Re: claim 8, Shi et al. is silent on wherein the one or more holders each consists of an elastomer.
However, Kameda et al. teaches wherein the one or more holders (Fig. 18 – 62) each consists of an elastomer (Paragraph 0077 – “For example, an elastic member formed from an elastic resin such as a synthetic rubber or an elastomer can be provided on one of a portion of the second restriction 62 that contacts the battery unit 40 and a portion of the battery unit 40 that contacts the second restriction 62.”).
Shi et al. and Kameda et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of battery attachment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Shi et al.’s holders with those of Kameda et al.’s elastomer in order to provide the advantage of increased flexibility and durability of the holders.
The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Conclusion
/PHILIP C ADAMS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612