DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 02/24/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9 and 14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification recites “centre” throughout the specification, it appears that each instance of “centre” should be changed to “center”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “the elements” in line 8, and in order to remain consistent should recite “the plurality of elements”.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites “centre” and should be changed to “center”.
Regarding claims 6-8, each of claims 6-8 recites “the code elements”, however claim 1 recites “the code comprising a plurality of elements” and in order to remain consistent “the code elements” should be changed to “the plurality of elements”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites “the radial direction”, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites “wherein the code elements extend with a linear centre line aligned to the radial direction from the first position to the second position”. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation, it is unclear if the claim is requiring the code elements to be linear and lines aligned to the radial direction from the first position to the second position. It is unclear how code elements extending in a radial direction from the first position on the storage portion to the second position on the flange can be linear.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites “their relative circumferential proportion”. It is unclear what “their” is referring to the plurality of code elements or something else.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bugnano US 2015/0297021.
Regarding claim 1, Bugnano discloses a container arranged for containing a precursor material for use with a machine for preparing a beverage, the container comprising a storage portion (body 2), a closing member (cover 6), a flange (5) connecting the storage portion and the closing member and a machine-readable code (projections 8 and recesses 9) storing preparation information for use with a preparation process performed by the machine, the code comprises a plurality of elements (projections 8), wherein the elements of the code extend from a first position on the storage portion (2) to a second position on the flange (5) (Fig. 1-4, [0053]-[0056])). The code is capable of being readable from the flange or the storage portion and the elements are capable of being read about an axis of rotation of the container.
Regarding claim 3, Bugnano discloses that the first position is at a base region of a cavity of the storage portion (it is noted that depending on the orientation of the cavity portion 4b can be considered a base region) (Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, it is noted that an axis of rotation of the container depends on the orientation in which the container is rotated, and the first position can be considered an axis of rotation of the container based on how the container of Bugnano is rotated.
Regarding claim 8, Bugnano discloses that the code elements (projections 8) extend continuously between the first and second positions (Fig. 1-4, [0053]-[0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bugnano US 2015/0297021 in view of Kruger US 2013/0129872.
Regarding claim 2, Bugnano discloses that the container is rotationally symmetric about an axis of rotation (Figs. 1-6).
Claim 2 differs from Bugnano in the recitation that the code is arranged along a virtual circular line that has a center at the axis of rotation.
Kruger discloses a machine-readable code that is similar to the code of Bugnano and the container of Kruger is rotationally symmetric about an axis of rotation. Kruger discloses that the machine readable code comprises a plurality of elements, the code is arranged along a virtual circular line that has a center at the axis of rotation (Figs. 19-22, [0009], [0010], [0024], [0025], [0081]-[0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bugnano such that the code is arranged along a virtual circular line that has a center at the axis of rotation as suggested by Kruger, as a matter of design choice, based on the desired shape of the container.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bugnano US 2015/0297021.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 differs from Bugnato in the recitation that the second position is specifically proximal or at an outer rim of the flange. However, the second position can be considered merely close to proximal the outer rim of the flange (See Fig. 3, Fig. 6) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 differs from Bugnano in the recitation that the code elements (8) extend with increasing circumferential width with radial distance, such that so their relative circumferential proportion does not change with distance, however this is seen to be a mere change in shape of the elements (8) of Bugnano (MPEP 2144.04.B)
Conclusion
/A.A/
Ashley AxtellExaminer, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792