DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perrino (EP3842400A1 - corresponding U.S PG Pub 20230015398A1 used for citations), Guynn (U.S Patent 9272953B2), and in view of Kinuthia (U.S PG Pub 20030159624A1).
Regarding claim 1, Perrino, drawn also to the art of a dry mortar composition and a dry cementitious tile adhesive (Abstract), discloses a dry mortar composition wherein 10-50 wt.% of cementitious binder is present and 20-75 wt. % aggregate, and wherein the binder is Portland cement and may comprise a pozzolanic binder especially slag and fly ash (claims 1 & 7). Perrino also discloses the slag and fly ash to be present in a range of 0.5-20 wt.%. [0039]. Perrino has not explicitly disclosed a biomass ash in the range as claimed, however, this is known from Guynn.
Guynn, drawn also to the art of high-strength cement and SCM (i.e. ashes) blends (Abstract), discloses a dry mortar composition with Portland cement less than 60% (claim 13) and SCM more than 40% (claim 13) in a binder mix are mixed with aggregate (claim 18 & 20), discloses the SCM being biomass ash (claim 4). The ranges as disclosed by Guynn form overlapping and encompassing ranges with the instantly claimed ranges (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the composition of Perrino, with the biomass ash in the weight range as disclosed by Guynn, to arrive at the instant invention, in order to have improved workability and improved set time and reduced shrinkage (Column 2, lines 10-22).
With regards to the biomass ash being a wood ash or being from waste of paper and pulp, this is further known from Kinuthia.
Kinuthia, drawn also to the art of a cement composition (Abstract), discloses a binder composition of 30-70wt% biomass ash [0048] obtained from wood (paper – [0007]) or paper/pulp [0042-0043] and 25wt% of cement [0049], and discloses the aggregate to binder ratio being 1:3 (binder mix to aggregate ratio is 1:3) [0053].
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the composition of Perrino and Guynn, with the biomass ash being as claimed, as disclosed by Kinuthia, to arrive at the instant invention, in order to have a cementitious composition less detrimental to the environment [0013].
Regarding claims 2, 4, 9, 17-18, the combination of Perrino, Guynn, and Kinuthia have disclosed the weight ranges and ratios for the biomass ashes and cement and the biomass ashes and cement weight range as part of the whole concrete mixture as claimed (see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claims 3 & 16, Perrino discloses slag or fly ash being present in the claimed range [0039].
Regarding claim 5, Perrino discloses the cement being CEM 1 [0034].
Regarding claims 6 & 20, Perrino as modified by Guynn and Kinuthia discloses the biomass ash being a wood ash (obtained from paper i.e. wood – see [0007] & [0042-0043] of Kinuthia).
Regarding claims 8 & 21, Kinuthia has disclosed the biomass ash having a chemical content as claimed [0045-0046]
Regarding claim 10, Perrino discloses the aggregates being dolomitic [0049].
Regarding claims 11-12, Perrino discloses an accelerator and redispersible polymer powder being a part of the composition [0067].
Regarding claims 13-15, Perrino discloses the composition in use as a tile adhesive and discloses the steps of applying water to form a paste and then applying the paste to a substrate and then applying a tile (Title; [0094-0097 & 0109-0110].
Regarding claim 19, Guynn discloses the SCM or biomass ash having a D50 in the range of 10um to 30 um (claims 1, 11-12). The range disclosed by Guynn forms an overlapping and encompassing range and thus obviates the range (MPEP 2144.05(I)) It is also noted that such a limitation merely amounts to a change in size limitation and that a change in size is obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.04 IV (A)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see RCE, filed 09/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Perrino, and Cook have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Perrino, Guynn, and Kinuthia.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the references of Cook, Rajamma, and Dodgen have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ABHISHEK A PATWARDHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746