DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/16/2024, 4/19/2024, 6/26/2024, & 8/7/2025, were filed before the first office action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of 35 USC 103 rejection is made in view of The combination of Harries and Williams, wherein Williams has been added to cure the deficiencies of Harries. Accordingly, this action has been reset to a Non-Final Office action.
Response to Amendment
The previous 112b rejections to claim and 10 have been removed in view of the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 is rejected for the indefinite language that neither elaborates on the computation/determination of the loss, nor on how the determination of this loss affects the navigation of the machine-learned interface navigation model. In line with the wording of the present claim 20, the masking operation may not have any effect at all.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 9, 11-14, and 16-19, and 21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harries et al. ("DRIFT: Deep Reinforcement Learning for Functional Software Testing", 33rd Deep Reinforcement Learning Workshop (NeurIPS 2019), 12/8/2019, pages 1-10, XP093006546, Vancouver Canada, DOI: 10.48550/arxiv.2007.08220, URL:https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/uploads/prod/2020/02/DRIFT_26_CameraReadySubmission_NeurlPS_DRL.pdf), in view of Williams et al. (US 20070033172 A1, published: 2/8/2007).
Claim 1. (Currently Amended): Harries teaches a computing system configured to navigate user interfaces using machine learning, the computing system comprising: one or more processors; and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that collectively store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform operations, the operations comprising (this computing system performs a method, which is referred to as Deep Reinforcement Learning for Functional Software Testing (DRIFT) as can be seen from the title and the abstract. This method is described in more detail in section 3 on pages 2-6. Its computer- implementation follows e.g., from "PyTorch" in the second paragraph of section 4 on page 6 [Harries]):
obtaining, by the computing system, user interface data descriptive of a user interface that comprises a plurality of user interface elements ("UITree" in the first two paragraphs of section 3.1 and FIG. 1 [Harries]);
generating, by the computing system and based on the user interface data, a plurality of element embeddings respectively for the plurality of user interface elements (the first two paragraphs of the subsection, "Modeling the state using Graph Neural Networks" of section 3.2 on page 4, from which it follows that the element embeddings are represented as respective element embedding vectors [Harries]);
processing, by the computing system, the plurality of element embeddings with a machine-learned interface navigation model to generate a selected action as an output of the machine-learned interface navigation model ("and then apply the graph neural network" in first paragraph of subsection "Modeling the state using Graph Neural Networks: of section 3.2 on page 4. Also the third paragraph spanning pages 4 and 5 [Harries]),
wherein the machine-learned interface navigation model selects the selected action from a predefined action space comprising a plurality of predefined candidate actions (paragraph spanning page 5 and 6 [Harries]); and
performing, by the computing system, the selected action on the user interface (paragraph spanning page 5 and 6 [Harries]).
Harries does not teach wherein the machine-learned interface navigation model is further configured to receive data descriptive of a query as an input alongside the plurality of element embeddings, wherein the query indicates a desired result of machine interaction with the user interface.
However, Williams teaches wherein the machine-learned interface navigation model is further configured to receive data descriptive of a query as an input alongside the plurality of element embeddings, wherein the query indicates a desired result of machine interaction with the user interface (by highlighting various commands and user interface elements as the user enters query text, and by providing additional distinctive highlighting in response to navigation within the menu containing search results, the present invention provides the user with a quick mechanism for learning how to find commands and other user interface elements [Williams, 0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the machine-learned element embedded user interface invention of Harries to include the icon recognition model features of Williams.
One would have been motivated to make this modification for both novice and advanced users to navigate a user interface, and for providing a mechanism that avoids the need for users to memorize the location of commands in a user interface (Williams, 0006).
Claim 21, having similar elements to claim 1, is likewise rejected.
Claim 3. (Currently Amended): The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computing system of claim 12. Harries further teaches wherein the query does not reference any of the plurality of predefined candidate actions (the query input is a scalar reward. This reward does not reference any of the plurality of predefined actions. [Harries, par. 3, section 2, pg. 2).
Claim 4. (Currently Amended): The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computing system of claim 1. Harries further teaches wherein the query comprises a single instruction, and wherein the computing system is configured to perform a plurality of actions from the predefined action space in response to single instruction (the agent has a policy 'Pi' which selects an action given the state Pi(a|s) = P[A = a|S = s]. The action is passed to the environment, and the state is updated using the transition function 7 [Harries, Section 2, paragraph beginning with Reinforcement Learning, pg. 2]).
Claim 6: The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computing system of claim 1. Harries further teaches wherein the user interface data comprises structural metadata descriptive of a structure of the user interface ("UITree" [Harries, first 2 paragraphs of section 3.1, pg. 1, FIG. 1]).
Claim 9: The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computing system of claim 1. Harries further teaches wherein processing, by the computing system, the plurality of element embeddings with the machine-learned interface navigation model to generate the selected action further comprises processing, by the computing system, the plurality of element embeddings with the machine-learned interface navigation model to further generate an element index and an argument as an output of the machine-learned interface navigation model, wherein the element index identifies one of the plurality of user interface elements as a target of the selected action ("node identified", "action type" [Harries, fourth paragraph of section 3.1, pg. 3]).
Claim 11: The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computing system of claim 1. Harries further teaches wherein the machine-learned interface navigation model comprises: a first attention model configured to perform self-attention on the plurality of element embeddings to generate a plurality of first intermediate embeddings; a second attention model configured to perform attention between a query embedding and the plurality of first intermediate embeddings to generate one or more second intermediate embeddings ([Harries, paragraphs spanning pgs. 4-5, and paragraphs that follow]); and one or more prediction heads configured to process the one or more second intermediate embeddings to generate one or more predictions, the one or more prediction heads comprising at least an action prediction head configured to select the selected action from the plurality of predefined candidate actions (Examiner's Official Notice: in the field it is common practice to try out different structures for a neural network at hand, and neural networks, in particular so-called Transformers, whose structure is characterized by an attention mechanism, are frequently encountered).
Claim 12: The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computing system of claim 1. Harries further teaches wherein the machine-learned interface navigation model comprises a reinforcement learning agent ([Harries, last paragraph of section 1, pg. 2]).
Claim 13. (Currently Amended): Harries teaches a computer-implemented method to train a machine-learned interface navigation model to navigate interfaces, the method comprising (algorithm 1 on page 5. In the last paragraph of section 1 of page 2, the interface navigation model is referred to as agent. The method's computer-implementation follow from "PyTorch" in the second paragraph of section 4 on page 6 [Harries]):
obtaining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices, user interface data descriptive of a user interface that comprises a plurality of user interface elements ("UITree" in the first two paragraphs of section 3.1 and FIG. 1 [Harries]);
generating, by the computing system and based on the user interface data, a plurality of element embeddings respectively for the plurality of user interface elements (the first two paragraphs of the subsection, "Modeling the state using Graph Neural Networks" of section 3.2 on page 4, from which it follows that the element embeddings are represented as respective element embedding vectors [Harries]);
processing, by the computing system, the plurality of element embeddings with the machine-learned interface navigation model to generate a selected action as an output of the machine-learned interface navigation model ("and then apply the graph neural network" in first paragraph of subsection "Modeling the state using Graph Neural Networks: of section 3.2 on page 4. Also the third paragraph spanning pages 4 and 5 [Harries]),
wherein the machine-learned interface navigation model selects the selected action from a predefined action space comprising a plurality of predefined candidate actions (paragraph spanning page 5 and 6 [Harries]);
determining, by the computing system, a reward based at least in part on the selected action ("get_reward" in algorithm 1 [Harries, pg. 5]); and
modifying, by the computing system, one or more values of one or more parameters of the machine-learned interface navigation model based at least in part on the reward ("train(batch, …)" in algorithm 1 [Harries, pg. 5]).
Claim 14. (Currently Amended): The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13. Williams further teaches wherein the query corresponds to a user utterance (voice command [Williams, 0049]).
Claim 16: The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13. Harries further teaches wherein: processing, by the computing system, the plurality of element embeddings with the machine-learned interface navigation model to generate the selected action further comprises processing, by the computing system, the plurality of element embeddings with the machine-learned interface navigation model to further generate an element index and an argument as an output of the machine-learned interface navigation model, wherein the element index identifies one of the plurality of user interface elements as a target of the selected action; and performing, by the computing system, the selected action comprises performing the selected action on the identified user interface element in accordance with the argument ("node identified" and "action type" [Harries, section 3.1, fourth paragraph, pg. 3]).
Claim 17: The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13. Harries further teaches wherein the user interface data comprises augmented user interface data generated by performance of one or more augmentation operations on existing user interface training data ([Harries, section 3.1, second paragraph, pg. 3]; Examiner's Note: GUIs, which are obtained from other GUIs, by performing one or more augmentation operations on the former are frequently encountered ).
Claim 18: The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 17. Harries further teaches wherein the one or more augmentation operations comprise: modifying texts or locations of one or more user interface elements that have been classified as irrelevant ([Harries, section 3.1, second paragraph, pg. 3]; Examiner's Note: GUIs, which are obtained from other GUIs, by performing one or more augmentation operations on the former are frequently encountered ).
Claim 19: The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13. Harries further teaches wherein determining, by the computing system, a reward based at least in part on the selected action comprises comparing, by the computing system, the selected action to a demonstration action that was included in a human demonstration (function call "episode_meets_objective(…)" in algorithm 1 [Harries, pg. 5]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harries et al. ("DRIFT: Deep Reinforcement Learning for Functional Software Testing", 33rd Deep Reinforcement Learning Workshop (NeurIPS 2019), 12/8/2019, pages 1-10, XP093006546, Vancouver Canada, DOI: 10.48550/arxiv.2007.08220, URL:https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/uploads/prod/2020/02/DRIFT_26_CameraReadySubmission_NeurlPS_DRL.pdf) and Williams et al. (US 20070033172 A1, published: 2/8/2007), and in further view of Chen ET AL: ("From UI Design Image to GUI Skeleton: A Neural Machine Translator to Bootstrap Mobile GUI Implementation", Proceedings of ICSE '18: 40th International Conference on Software Engineering, 27 May 2018 (2018-05-27), XP093006555, DOI: 10.1145/3180155.3180222 Retrieved from the Internet: URL:https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/stampPDF/getPDF.jsp? tp=&arnumber=8453135&ref=aHROCHM6Ly9pZWVIeHBsb3JILmIIZW Uub3JUnL2RvY3ViZW50LZgONTMxMzU=).
Claim 5: The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computing system of claim 1. Harries further teaches wherein: the user interface data comprises imagery that depicts the user interface; and generating, by the computing system, the plurality of element embeddings comprises one or more of the following: performing optical character recognition on the imagery; processing the imagery with an icon recognition model; and processing the imagery with an image detection model (as part of a disadvantageous modification of the system [Harries, third paragraph of section 3.1, pg. 3). Harries does not explicitly teach icon recognition model.
However, Chen teaches icon recognition model ([Chen, FIG. 3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the machine-learned element embedded user interface invention of the combination of Harries and Williams, to include the icon recognition model features of Chen.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to further narrow the machine-learned elements of Harries, with the narrower machine-learning of icon recognition. Such would improve said machine-learning by expanding its abilities.
Claim(s) 7, 8, and 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harries et al. ("DRIFT: Deep Reinforcement Learning for Functional Software Testing", 33rd Deep Reinforcement Learning Workshop (NeurIPS 2019), 12/8/2019, pages 1-10, XP093006546, Vancouver Canada, DOI: 10.48550/arxiv.2007.08220, URL:https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/uploads/prod/2020/02/DRIFT_26_CameraReadySubmission_NeurlPS_DRL.pdf) and Williams et al. (US 20070033172 A1, published: 2/8/2007), and in further view of Eskonen ET AL: ("Automating GUI Testing with Image-Based Deep Reinforcement Learning", 2020 IEEE International Conference on Autonomic Computing and Self-Organizing Systems (ACSOS), 1 August 2020 (2020-08-01), pages 160-167, XP093006561, DOI: 10.1109/ACSOS4961 4.2020.00038 ISBN: 978-1-7281-7277-4 Retrieved from the Internet: URL:https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/stampPDF/getPDF.jsp? tp=&arnumber=91 96452&ref=).
Claim 7: The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computing system of claim 1. Harries does not teach wherein the selected action comprises a macro action that comprises a sequence of two or more component actions.
However Eskonen teaches wherein the selected action comprises a macro action that comprises a sequence of two or more component actions (first paragraph on page 163 left column, and second paragraph on page 165 left column [Eskonen]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the machine-learned element embedded user interface invention of the combination of Harries and Williams, to include the macro action features of Eskonen.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the machine learning process of the former.
Claim 8: The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computing system of claim 7. Harries does not teach wherein the macro action comprises a focus and type action in which an argument is entered into a data entry field of the user interface.
However Eskonen teaches wherein the macro action comprises a focus and type action in which an argument is entered into a data entry field of the user interface (first paragraph on page 163 left column, and second paragraph on page 165 left column [Eskonen]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the machine-learned element embedded user interface invention of the combination of Harries and Williams, to include the macro action features of Eskonen.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the machine learning process of the former.
Claim 15: The combination of Harries and Williams, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13. Harries does not teach wherein the selected action comprises a macro action that comprises a sequence of two or more component actions.
However Eskonen teaches wherein the selected action comprises a macro action that comprises a sequence of two or more component actions (first paragraph on page 163 left column, and second paragraph on page 165 left column [Eskonen]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the machine-learned element embedded user interface invention of the combination of Harries and Williams, to include the macro action features of Eskonen.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the machine learning process of the former.
Conclusion
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172