DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s arguments/remarks and amendments filed on 07/23/2026. Claims 11, and 22-24 have been amended. Claims 1-10 have been previously cancelled. No Claims have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 11-30 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-27, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uhl DE 10115050 B4 (the examiner has provided an English translation on 07/15/2025 and is relying upon, hence Uhl) in view of Meersman et al US 2020/0066828 A1 (hence Meersman).
In re claim 11, Uhl discloses a display device, in particular for a means of transport (Paragraph 0001) and teaches the following:
A display system (Paragraph 0009), comprising: a display apparatus including a flexible screen film and a screen carrier to which the flexible screen film is fastened, the screen carrier including a first carrier portion, the screen carrier having a first inherent rigidity in at least the first carrier portion, and the first carrier portion being bendable and/or foldable (Fig.1, #2, #7, and Paragraph 0023); a housing including a housing interior space for at least partially receiving the display apparatus and a housing opening (Fig.1, and Paragraph 0014); a drive device configured to move the display apparatus, in response to a control signal, through the housing opening between a first use position, in which at least the first carrier portion is arranged in the housing interior space, and at least one further use position, in which the first carrier portion at least partially projects from the housing interior space (Paragraphs 0011, 0013, 0023, 0026, 0029 and Fig.2); parallel guide rails arranged fixedly with respect to the housing and being of curved shape in the housing interior space, the parallel guide rails to define a movement path which is curved in the housing interior space and which leads through the housing opening out of the housing interior space and into the housing interior space (Paragraphs 0017 “guide rails are attached to the two opposite sides of the screen to ensure uniform bending of the screen during movement”, 0023, and 0025); and guide elements mounted to be movable along a respective one of the guide rails and arranged on a rear side of the first carrier portion, said rear side facing away from the flexible screen film, wherein a respective guide element is in form-fitting engagement with its respective guide rail in relation to transverse directions transverse to the movement path, such that, during a movement of the display apparatus along the movement path, the display apparatus, at least in the region of the first carrier portion along the guide rails, is retained in relation to the transverse directions on the guide rail (Paragraphs 0018, 0023)
However, Uhl doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
wherein the screen carrier has stiffening elements along the rear side which also extend between the guide rails and are supported by the guide rails in the event of an operating force acting on the screen film, and wherein there is a region of the first inherent rigidity between in each case two stiffening elements
Nevertheless, Meersman discloses tiled displays (Abstract) and teaches the following:
wherein the screen carrier has stiffening elements along the rear side which also extend between the guide rails and are supported by the guide rails in the event of an operating force acting on the screen film, and wherein there is a region of the first inherent rigidity between in each case two stiffening elements (Fig.2A, #102, Paragraph 0118, and 0120, Fig.9, #940 and Paragraphs 0144-0145, and 0168)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Uhl reference to include the rigid substrate or the plurality of truss, as taught by Meersman, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to block or cancel the flexure of the display (Meersman, Paragraph 0168).
In re claim 12, Uhl teaches the following:
wherein a first portion of the respective guide rail is within the housing interior space and a second portion of the respective guide rail is outside the housing interior space and extends away from the housing opening, and the portion projecting from the housing interior space is of rectilinear shape (Paragraph 0017, Fig.1)
In re claim 13, Uhl teaches the following:
wherein the respective guide rail has a concavely curved profile along the first portion (Fig.1 and Fig.2 and Paragraph 0025)
In re claim 14, Uhl teaches the following:
wherein the respective guide rail has a circular-arc-shaped profile along the first portion (Fig.1 and Fig.2 and Paragraph 0025)
In re claims 15-17, Uhl teaches the following:
wherein the first carrier portion at least partially has a rear honeycomb structure and/or lamellae, wherein the honeycombs and/or lamellae are of elongate shape and their longitudinal extent direction runs parallel to an axis of curvature oriented perpendicularly in relation to the movement path (Fig.1, #7, #8, #9, and Paragraph 0023)
In re claims 18-21, Uhl teaches the following:
wherein the screen carrier has a second carrier portion with a second inherent rigidity which is greater than the first inherent rigidity, wherein, in the first use position of the display apparatus, the second carrier portion at least partially extends outside the housing interior space away from the housing opening (Paragraph 0023)
In re claims 22-24, the combination of Uhl and Meersman discloses the claimed invention as recited above but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
a dimension of the stiffening elements, measured along the movement path, is less than one third of a dimension of the region of the first inherent rigidity located between said stiffening elements
At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to set a dimension of the stiffening elements less than one third of a dimension of the region of first inherent rigidity because Applicant has not disclosed that doing so provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected that the combination of Uhl and Meersman, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well because both would perform the same function of adding rigidity to a flexible screen element.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the combination of Uhl and Meersman to obtain the invention as specified in claims 22-24 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior arts.
In re claims 25-27, Uhl teaches the following:
wherein the respective guide rail is enclosed, at least in certain regions, between a first limb and a second limb, arranged oppositely to the first limb, of the respective guide element in such a way that the first limb engages behind the respective guide rail and the second limb spaces the respective guide rail and the rear side of the first carrier portion apart from one another (Paragraph 0025)
In re claim 29, Uhl teaches the following:
wherein the drive device has at least one pivot arm to move the first carrier portion along the movement path and is configured to pivot the pivot arm about an axis of rotation by a rotary motor (Paragraph 0025)
In re claim 30, Uhl teaches the following:
A motor vehicle having a display system as claimed in claim 11 (Paragraph 0009)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the guide rails run along the back of the screen holder, not along its edges) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Uhl Paragraph 0017 discloses “guide rails are attached to the two opposite sides of the screen to ensure uniform bending of the screen during movement”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., preventing the screen carrier from shifting at an angle relative to the direction of travel) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, Uhl discloses said guide elements as recited above in Paragraph 0018 “stabilizing means” that engages with the rubberized roller and in Paragraph 0023 and Fig.1, “tensioning structure elements 8” and “tensioning element 9” that are guided by the drive wheel 12.
With respect to applicant’s argument/remarks with respect to claim 12 and that Uhl does not disclose a rectilinear guide section projecting away from the housing opening, the examiner respectfully disagrees with that statement. The portion of the guide rail outside the compartment reads on a rectilinear guide section projecting away from the housing opening as disclosed in Fig.1-Fig.3.
With respect to applicant’s argument/remarks with respect to claims 15-17 and that Uhl does not disclose a honeycomb and/or lamellae, the examiner respectfully disagrees with that statement. As shown in Fig.1, the elements of the flexible frame 7 in the form on a honeycomb and/or lamellae structure.
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s arguments/remarks, filed on 07/23/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 28 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 28 has been withdrawn.
With respect to applicant’s argument/remarks with respect to claim 29 and that Uhl does not disclose the drive device has at least one pivot arm, the examiner respectfully disagrees with that statement. As recited above, Paragraph 0025 discloses the drive gear for extending the display and as shown in Fig.1, the drive gear has a plurality of pivot arms, i.e. each triangular shape on the circumference of the drive gear is a pivot arm that rotates about an axis of rotation of the drive gear.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAMI KHATIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669