Claim Status
Applicant’s amendments and remarks, filed 08/28/2026, are acknowledged.
Claims 4-11, 14-16, 19-21, 24, 26-42, and 46-57 are canceled.
Claims 1-3, 12-13, 17-18, 22-23, 25, and 43 are amended.
Claims 1-3, 12-13, 17-18, 22-23, 25, and 43-45 are pending.
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's group election with traverse of Group III, drawn to a cancer stem cell (CSC) tumor antigen peptide (TAP) comprising a nucleic acid encoding said CSC TAP” in the reply filed on 08/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 2 and 3 read on the Group III invention because they relate to a vaccine comprising a nucleic acid encoding the CSC TAP recited in claim 1. This is found persuasive, thus claims 2 and 3 are rejoined.
Claims 43-45 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/28/2026.
Applicant’s species election without traverse of the nucleotide sequence encoding the CSC TAP comprising RLQHEPPHPV (SEQ ID NO: 3) in the reply filed on 08/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Examiner has determined that Applicant’s species election is free of the prior art. As such, examiner extended the search to include all nonelected species.
As such, claims 1-3, 12-13, 17-18, 22-23, and 25 are pending examination and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2024, 03/04/2024, 06/20/2025, and 08/28/2026 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Notably, the disclosure statement filed lists a Search Report. The listing of the references cited in a Search Report itself is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, "the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper." Therefore, the references cited in the Search Report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information or any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the IDS, including all "statement" requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Note: If copies of the individual references cited on the Search Report are also cited separately on the IDS (and these references have not been lined-through) they have been considered.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Figs. 9G, 10C, 10E, and 10F. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Figs. 10G and 12D. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because the specification references color (e.g., see pg. 7, line 21; pg. 8, line 19), but no color drawings were filed. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the drawings (see Figs. 2A, 2B, 3, 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B, 9A, 11A-11D, and 12A) are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). Sequence identifiers for sequences (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Amended drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the specification (see tables on pages 18 and 19; page 20, line 10; page 23, line 28; Table 3A; page 65, last sentence; page 66, lines 4, 5, and 8; and, Table 4) are not identified by sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 20, line 29: “Clontrch” should read “Clontech”.
Page 40, line 15: “RNeasy” should read “RNEasy”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term QIFIKIT, xCell, Clontech, Promega, Invitrogen, Kisqali, Ibrance, Cellartis, Corning, TrypLE, Gibco, Alexa Fluor, BioLegend, Agilent, Dako, Bio-Rad, Qiagen, QuBit, RNEasy, BioAnalyzer, Nextseq, NEKTAR, Millipore, BioXcell, Sigma, Thermo Fisher, Spin-X, Costar, EMPORE, Phenomenex, BioIVT, and Miltenyi Biotec, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (see page 44, line 14; page 44, line 21; page 45, line 9; page 46, line 1; page 47, line 7; page 48, lines 32-33). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“IPMKIYLW)” should read “IPMKIYLW”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “said CSC TAP comprises one of the sequences defined in SEQ ID NO: 1-39”. The language is indefinite because it is unclear if the amino acid is limited to the full sequence of the SEQ ID NO., or if the amino acid sequence can be of any length as long as the SEQ ID NO is within the sequence. Also, the term “defined in” recited in claims 2 and 18 could refer to any two amino acids joined by a peptide bond that appears within the SEQ ID NO. As such, claims 2 and 18 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12-13, 17, 22-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bancel et al (US 2014/0147432 A1; publication date: 05/29/2014).
Bancel et al is drawn to compositions and methods for the preparation, manufacture and therapeutic use of polynucleotides, primary transcripts and modified mRNA (mmRNA) molecules (see Abstract). Bancel et al disclose that the polynucleotides, primary constructs or mmRNA described can be used in reprogramming induced pluripotent stem cells (iPS cells), which can directly track cells that are transfected compared to total cells in the cluster (see [0708]). Bancel et al disclose that the polynucleotides, primary constructs and mmRNA composition encodes for a differentiation factor that when expressed in the cancer cell, such as a cancer stem cell, will induce the cell to differentiate to a non-pathogenic or nonself-renewing phenotype or to induce the cell to enter a dormant cell phase (see [0865]). Bancel et al disclose that the primary construct may be within the 5’ UTR (see [0211]). Bancel et al disclose that the polynucleotide, primary construct, and mmRNA of the invention can be formulated using one or more liposomes, lipoplexes, or lipid nanoparticles (LNPs) (see [0504]). Bancel et al disclose that pharmaceutical compositions may include liposomes which may be formed to deliver mmRNA and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see [0507]-[0523]).
Bancel et al disclose that the primary constructs or mmRNA disclosed herein may encode one or more vaccines (see [0106]-[0107]). Bancel et al disclose that the LNP comprising the polynucleotide, primary construct, and mmRNA may be formulated for use in a vaccine (see [0526]). Bancel et al disclose that certain modified nucleosides, or combinations thereof, when introduced into the polynucleotides, primary constructs or mmRNA of the invention will activate the innate immune response which is useful as adjuvants (see [0816]).
Lastly, Bancel et al disclose of SEQ ID NO: 185611 which shares 100% identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 5 (see alignment). While Bancel et al does not explicitly disclose that this sequence binds to an HLA-B*07:02 molecule, the MPEP states that an invention that shares the same structure as a molecule taught in the art would inherently possess the same properties (see MPEP 2112.01).
As such, the teachings of Bancel et al anticipate the present invention.
Double Patenting
19/474,661
Claims 1-3, 12-13, 17-18, 22-23, and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 80-98 of copending Application No. 19/474,661 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The ‘661 application is drawn to a tumor antigen peptide (TAP) comprising or consisting of one of the amino acid sequences set forth in SEQ ID Nos: 1-50 (see claim 80). SEQ ID Nos: 148 and 470 of the ‘661 application share 100% identity with instant SEQ ID Nos: 59 and 29, respectively. The ‘661 application disclose that the TAP of claim 80 is encoded by a sequence located in a non-protein coding region of the genome or by a long non-coding RNA (see claim 82). The ‘661 application is drawn to the TAP of claim 82, wherein said non-protein coding region of the genome is an intergenic region or an intron (see claim 83). The ‘661 application is drawn to a nucleic acid encoding (i) the TAP of claim 80, (ii) a combination comprising at least two of the TAPs defined in claim 80; or (iii) a synthetic long peptide (SLP) comprising at least one of the amino acid sequences defined in claim 80 (see claim 86). The ‘661 application is drawn to a vesicle or particle comprising the nucleic acid of claim 86 wherein the vesicle is a lipid nanoparticle (see claims 88 and 89). The ‘661 application is drawn to a vaccine comprising (a) (i) the TAP of claim 80, (ii) a combination comprising at least two of the TAPs defined in claim 80; (iii) a synthetic long peptide (SLP) comprising at least one of the amino acid sequences defined in claim 80, or a nucleic acid encoding the TAP, combination, or SLP defined in (i)-(iii), and (b) an adjuvant (see claim 90).
The difference between the instant claims and the ‘661 application is that the ‘661 application is also drawn to a method of using the product. However, the Federal Circuit has held that obviousness-type double patenting exists for method claims that simply claim the disclosed use of a composition in the specification. See Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 1389 (2010). The instant application and the copending application are not divisional applications resulting from restriction, and therefore no protection under the provisions of 35 USC 121.
As such, the ‘661 application anticipates the present invention. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DANAYA L MIDDLETON/Examiner, Art Unit 1674
/VANESSA L. FORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1674