DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 7/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/8/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations “a plurality of electrodes disposed on the first main surface, a connection wire at least partially disposed on the at least one selected side surface, and a drive circuit disposed on the second main surface, wherein the plurality of electrodes are electrically connected to the plurality of light emitters, and the connection wire electrically connects the drive circuit with the electrodes” of claim 7, and “a drive circuit disposed at the second main surface and near an edge of the second main surface, wherein the encapsulation layer further includes a second sub- encapsulation portion covering the drive circuit” of claim 8, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamakawa (US 2014/0036499).
Regarding claim 1, Yamakawa discloses, in FIG. 19 and in related text, a display baseplate, comprising:
a backplate (7), wherein the backplate comprises a first main surface (top surface) and a second main surface (bottom surface) that are opposite to each other and not coplanar, and a plurality of side surfaces connected to the first main surface and the second main surface;
a plurality of light emitters (8) on the first main surface; and
an encapsulation layer (10), at least partially on the first main surface and covering the plurality of light emitters (see Yamakawa, [0067]).
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 2022/0165922).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses, in FIG. 8 and in related text, a display baseplate, comprising:
a backplate (60), wherein the backplate comprises a first main surface (top surface) and a second main surface (bottom surface) that are opposite to each other and not coplanar, and a plurality of side surfaces connected to the first main surface and the second main surface;
a plurality of light emitters (20) on the first main surface; and
an encapsulation layer (30), at least partially on the first main surface and covering (side surfaces of) the plurality of light emitters (see Li, [0035], [0049]).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses the display baseplate of claim 1.
Li discloses wherein the encapsulation layer (30) is black (see Li, [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 107331790; see copy with English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses, in FIG. 2 and in related text, a display baseplate, comprising:
a backplate (3), wherein the backplate comprises a first main surface (top surface) and a second main surface (bottom surface) that are opposite to each other and not coplanar, and a plurality of side surfaces connected to the first main surface and the second main surface;
a light emitter (4) on the first main surface; and
an encapsulation layer (2), at least partially on the first main surface and covering the plurality of light emitters (see Yang, page 16).
Yang discloses a light emitter.
Yang does not explicitly disclose a plurality of light emitters.
However, the limitation is merely duplication of parts and would have been found obvious unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960): Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See also, MPEP § 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches the display baseplate of claim 1.
Yang discloses wherein at least one side surface of the plurality of side surfaces is a selected side surface (for example, right side surface of backplate 1 in FIG. 2), and the encapsulation layer (2) comprises a first sub-encapsulation portion (2 on the right side surface of backplate 1) encapsulating the selected side surface (see Yang, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches the display baseplate of claim 2.
Yang discloses wherein the first sub-encapsulation portion (2 on the right side surface of backplate 1) and a part, on the first main surface, of the encapsulation layer (2) are integrated together (see Yang, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches the display baseplate of claim 2.
Yang discloses wherein a side surface of the first sub-encapsulation portion is an inclined surface, an included angle between the inclined surface and the first main surface is an acute angle; or wherein the side surface of the first sub-encapsulation portion is perpendicular to the first main surface (see Yang, FIG. 2, page 17).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7-9 are objected and would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the side surface of the first sub-encapsulation portion is an inclined surface, and a distance D1 between a light emitter closest to the side surface of the first sub-encapsulation portion and an edge of the first sub-encapsulation portion satisfies the following relational formula:D1 ≥ H* tan(arcsin
1
n
) +
H
t
a
n
θ
wherein H refers to a thickness of a part, on the first main surface, of the encapsulation layer, n indicates a reflective index of the encapsulation layer, and θ indicates an included angle between the inclined surface and the first main surface; in a case where the side surface of the first sub-encapsulation portion is perpendicular to the first main surface, a distance D2 between a light emitter closest to the first sub-encapsulation portion and the edge of the first sub-encapsulation portion satisfies the following relational formula: D2 ≥ H* tan(arcsin
1
n
) wherein, H refers to a thickness of a part, on the first main surface, of the encapsulation layer, n indicates a reflective index of the encapsulation layer” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 5.
The prior art of record, Yang, discloses wherein when the side surface of the first sub-encapsulation portion is an inclined surface, the included angle between the inclined surface and the first main surface is of 25° to 60°. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “the included angle between the inclined surface and the first main surface is greater than or equal to 85°” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 6.
The prior art of record, Li, discloses a plurality of electrodes disposed on the first main surface, wherein the plurality of electrodes are electrically connected to the plurality of light emitters. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “a connection wire at least partially disposed on the at least one selected side surface, and a drive circuit disposed on the second main surface, and the connection wire electrically connects the drive circuit with the electrodes” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 7.
The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “drive circuit disposed at the second main surface and near an edge of the second main surface, wherein the encapsulation layer further includes a second sub- encapsulation portion covering the drive circuit” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 8.
Conclusion
/SHIH TSUN A CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811