Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species I (Fig. 2), Sub-species (Fig. 3a) claims 43-50 in the reply filed on 07/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) of unity of invention which are not found persuasive. The method of group II can be done manually without a movement device. The prior art of Van et al (US 2022/0216087 A1) talk about light and the set up can be moved manually under the light to transfer and release the chips. Also the claims directed towards apparatus (i.e. Group I) require a search in different CPC symbols. Therefore, since the claims of Group I and Group II require two separate searches in two separate fields, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Furthermore for the species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different subclasses or electronic resources or non patent language, or deploying different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species; and/or the species are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a movement device” in claim 43 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 43-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 43 recites in lines 8, 10 “the lifting element” has antecedent issues which should be “the light-conducting lifting element”.
Claim 43 in line 12 recites “after a transfer, release the connection through the transfer material again by the second laser pulse” but previously in line 10 defines the transfer material was melted which makes the claim unclear. Does the second laser pulse work on the already melted transfer material by the first laser pulse or the second laser pulse melts the transfer material again after solidifying in between applying first and second laser pulses? Appropriate correction is required.
Clam 43 recites “after a transfer” is indefinite as it is not clear what it transfer or where it transfer. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 44-50 are also rejected being dependent on rejected claim 43.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43-46, 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Van et al (US 2022/0216087 A1) in view of Xu et al (CN 206632522 U).
Regarding claim 43: Van teaches in Fig. 1A-1D about a transfer arrangement comprising:
a light generating device configured to generate a first laser light pulse and a second laser light pulse (as shown);
a light-conducting lifting element comprising a light emitting surface; and
a movement device which configured to:
move the light emitting surface of the light-conducting lifting element above a transfer area (upper surface of the component or portion of 20a where component get attached) of a component (11,12,13), and
move the lifting element in a vertical direction;
wherein the transfer arrangement is configured to:
connect the component to the lifting element 20 by a transfer material 20a melted by the first laser pulse in the transfer area [0027], and
after a transfer (Fig. 1C), release the connection through the transfer material again by the second laser pulse (Fig. 1D).
Van doesn’t explicitly show about a light generating device, a light-conducting lifting element comprising a light emitting surface, a movement device which configured to:
move the light emitting surface of the light-conducting lifting element.
Xu teaches in Fig. 1-2 about a light generating device 5, a light-conducting lifting element (51 +52+53+54) comprising a light emitting surface 55 (including a transfer material 56), a movement device 4 which configured to:
move the light emitting surface of the light-conducting lifting element.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify Van’s transfer arrangement’s light generating section to use a laser light generating device including a transfer material to weld the transfer material on a surface of a component according to the teachings of Xu and thereby to have better automation, accurate positioning and make connection in real time (Xu, abstract).
Regarding claim 44: Van teaches in [0033] wherein a duration of the first laser light pulse and/or the second laser light pulse is in a range from 1 ns to 500 ns ([0033] teaches short pulse of less than 1 ms).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have the feature as claimed with routine experiment and optimization since using shorter pulsed may cause a sufficiently fast temperature rise before the heat has time to dissipate
according to the teaching of Van ([0033]). In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Regarding claim 45: Xu teaches in Fig. 1-2 wherein an area of the light emitting surface is in a range of less than 75% of an area of the transfer area (the tip 55/56 is smaller than the surface of circuit board where the welding happens.
Regarding claim 46: Van teaches in Fig. 1B-1C wherein the transfer arrangement is configured to exert a force on the transfer area during generation of the first light pulse from the light-conducting lifting element (light would melt 20a to attach element 11 and would exert a force to separate from substrate 10).
Regarding claim 48: Xu teaches in Fig. 2 wherein a tip of the light-conducting lifting element comprises one of the following shapes: a hemispherical tip, a conical tip, a con-shaped tip, or an inwardly curved recess.
Regarding claim 49: Xu teaches in Fig. 2 wherein the light emitting surface is covered with the transfer material 56.
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Van et al (US 2022/0216087 A1) in view of Xu et al (CN 206632522 U) and further in view of Fukuoka et al. (JP 11103159 A)
Regarding claim 47: Van in view of Xu teaches a command and control circuit 4 connected to the one or more sensors and the movement device configured to control vertical movement in response to signals from the one or more sensors.
Van in view of Xu does not explicitly talk about further comprising: one or more sensors configured to detect a distance between a deposition area and the light emitting surface or values derived therefrom.
Fukuoka teaches in abstract about a sensor which detects the relative distance between a body part in the approach direction to the board and the movement part is provided.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have the feature as claimed in Van’s arrangement according to the teachings of Fukuoka and thereby to control the movement with high accuracy (Fukuoka, abstract).
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Van et al (US 2022/0216087 A1) in view of Xu et al (CN 206632522 U) and further in view of Bataresh et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0048967 A1)
Regarding claim 50: Van in view if Xu does not explicitly talk about further comprising a transfer material reservoir configured to supply the transfer material to the light emitting surface.
However to get solder material 56 in Xu’s device there would be a source reservoir to supply 56 and Bataresh teaches in [0033] about purging medium of liquid supply with the laser beam using a fiber optic cable.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have the feature as claimed in Van’s arrangement according to the teachings of Xu and Bataresh and thereby to have supply of melting/transfer material as necessary.
Conclusion
/Mohammed Shamsuzzaman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897