DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s admitted prior art (USPN 20240334229) paragraphs [0002-0061] and FIGs. 1-7K, hereafter AAP, in view of NPL titled “Efficient Algorithm to Reduce Power Consumption for EUTRA-New Radio Dual Connectivity RAN Parameter Measurements in 5G” by Jha et al, IEEE Xplore 10/13/2020, and Marupaduga (USPN 11064372 B1).
Regarding claim 1, AAP discloses
a 4G network node configured to interact with a terminal node and a 5G node, the network node comprising: (eNB/4G node interacting with UE and SgNB/5G node [0002-0012], FIG. 1
a processor (processor, FIG. 3 #62, (column 14 lines 21-67)
a memory that stores processor-executable instructions, wherein the processor interfaces with the memory to execute the processor-executable instructions whereby the network node is operable to: (memory, FIG. 3 #64, coupled with processor and storing program instructions to be executed by processor to perform (column 14 lines 21-67)
receive, from the terminal node, a B1 measurement report which references a 5G new radio (NR) cell (MeNB receives B1 measurement report from UE which contains information regarding SgNB cell [0003-0005, 0013-0015, 0058], FIGs. 1-4
receive at least one of the following: consecutive SgNB addition request rejections associated with the 5G NR cell or a predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell (MeNB receives consecutive SCG failures associated with SgNB [0024, 0025, 0041]
AAP does not expressly disclose predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell; upon receiving the predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell, transmitting to the terminal node a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, at least two parameters; (1) an offset value to be associated with the 5G NR cell and (2) a timer value indicating a period of time where the terminal node will not reference the 5G NR cell in a new B1 measurement report
Jha discloses predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell (predetermined number of SCG failures on NR cell (section III)
upon receiving the predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell, transmitting to the terminal node a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, at least two parameters: (after predetermined number of SGC failures, eNB transmits LTE RRC Reconfiguration message (Section III, FIG. 6)
(1) an offset value to be associated with the 5G NR cell and (fail timer with a pre-defined time of 5 seconds with NR frequency (Section III)
(2) a timer value indicating a period of time where the terminal node will not reference the 5G NR cell in a new B1 measurement report (block timer parameter represents a period of time UE not measuring NR frequency (Section III)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell; upon receiving the predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell, transmitting to the terminal node a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, at least two parameters; (1) an offset value to be associated with the 5G NR cell and (2) a timer value indicating a period of time where the terminal node will not reference the 5G NR cell in a new B1 measurement report” as taught by Jha into AAP’s system with the motivation to reduce UE’s power consumption associated with 5G measurements (Jha, Sections I-II)
Combined system of AAP and Jha does not expressly disclose transmitting to the terminal node a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message having at least two parameters:
Marupaduga discloses receive, from the 4G network node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message having at least two parameters 4G eNB transmitting RRC reconfiguration message to UE comprising multiple parameters (column 9 lines 24-43)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “transmitting to the terminal node a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message having at least two parameters” as taught by Marupaduga into combined system of AAP and Jha with the motivation to enable a 4G eNB to provide parameters to UE for implementation to connect to network in case of connection failure (Marupaduga, column 9 lines 24-43).
Regarding claim 5, AAP discloses
a method performed by a 4G network node which interacts with a terminal node and a 5G network node, the method comprising: (method performed by MeNB/4G node interacting with UE and SgNB/5G node [0002-0012], FIGs. 1-3
receiving, from the terminal node, a B1 measurement report which references a 5G new radio (NR) cell (MeNB receives B1 measurement report from UE which contains information regarding SgNB cell [0003-0005, 0013-0015, 0058], FIGs. 1-4
receiving at least one of the following: consecutive SgNB addition request rejections associated with the 5G NR cell or a predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell (MeNB receives consecutive SCG failures associated with SgNB [0024, 0025, 0041]
AAP does not expressly disclose predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell; upon receiving the predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell, transmitting to the terminal node a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, at least two parameters; (1) an offset value to be associated with the 5G NR cell and (2) a timer value indicating a period of time where the terminal node will not reference the 5G NR cell in a new B1 measurement report
Jha discloses predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell (predetermined number of SCG failures on NR cell (section III)
upon receiving the predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell, transmitting to the terminal node a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, at least two parameters: (after predetermined number of SGC failures, eNB transmits LTE RRC Reconfiguration message (Section III, FIG. 6)
(1) an offset value to be associated with the 5G NR cell and (fail timer with a pre-defined time of 5 seconds with NR frequency (Section III)
(2) a timer value indicating a period of time where the terminal node will not reference the 5G NR cell in a new B1 measurement report (block timer parameter represents a period of time UE not measuring NR frequency (Section III)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell; upon receiving the predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures associated with the 5G NR cell, transmitting to the terminal node a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, at least two parameters; (1) an offset value to be associated with the 5G NR cell and (2) a timer value indicating a period of time where the terminal node will not reference the 5G NR cell in a new B1 measurement report” as taught by Jha into AAP’s system with the motivation to reduce UE’s power consumption associated with 5G measurements (Jha, Sections I-II)
Combined system of AAP and Jha does not expressly disclose transmitting to the terminal node a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message having at least two parameters:
Marupaduga discloses receive, from the 4G network node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message having at least two parameters 4G eNB transmitting RRC reconfiguration message to UE comprising multiple parameters (column 9 lines 24-43)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “transmitting to the terminal node a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message having at least two parameters” as taught by Marupaduga into combined system of AAP and Jha with the motivation to enable a 4G eNB to provide parameters to UE for implementation to connect to network in case of connection failure (Marupaduga, column 9 lines 24-43).
Regarding claims 2, 6, AAP discloses “the SgNB addition request rejections are received from the 5G network node in SgNBAdditionRequestReject messages; (SgNBAdditionRequestReject messages sent from SgNB to MeNB ([0013], FIG. 4
“and the SCG failures are received from the terminal node in RRC SCG FailureIndication messages” (SCG failures are provided by terminal in RRC SCG Failure Indication messages [0024], FIG. 3 #302
Regarding claims 4, 8, AAP discloses
the terminal node is an E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (EN-DC) User Equipment (UE); (terminal in dual connectivity with 4G and 5G nodes [0002], FIG. 1
the 4G network node is a Master eNodeB (MeNB); and, (enB being MeNB [0003], FIG. 1
the 5G network node is a SgNB (5G node being SgNB [0003], FIG. 1
Claims 9, 12, 14, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Jha in view of Marupaduga.
Regarding claim 9, Jha discloses
transmit to the 4G network node, a B1 measurement report which references a 5G New Radio (NR) cell (UE sends B1 measurement report to eNB which contains results for NR cell (Section III, FIGs. 2, 6)
receive, from the 4G network node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, least two parameters: (UE receives from eNB LTE RRC Reconfiguration message (Section III, FIG. 6)
(1) an offset value to be associated with the 5G NR cell has been associated with a predetermined number of consecutive SCG failures (fail timer with a pre-defined time of 5 seconds with NR frequency associated with predetermined number of SGC failures (Section III)
(2) a timer value indicating a period of time where the terminal node will not reference the 5G NR cell in a new B1 measurement report (block timer parameter represents a period of time UE not measuring NR frequency (Section III)
Jha does not expressly disclose receive, from the 4G network node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message having at least two parameters; a terminal node configured to interact with a 4G network node, the terminal node comprising: a processor; a memory that stores processor-executable instructions, wherein the processor interfaces with the memory to execute the processor-executable instructions whereby the network node is operable to
Marupaduga discloses a terminal node configured to interact with a 4G network node, the terminal node comprising: (UE interacting with 4G eNB and 5G eNB, comprising (column 3 lines 13-24)
a processor (processing unit, FIG. 4 #70, (column 15, lines 21-39)
a memory that stores processor-executable instructions, wherein the processor interfaces with the memory to execute the processor-executable instructions whereby the network node is operable to: (memory, FIG. 4 #72, coupled to processor and containing instructions to be executed by processor to perform (column 15, lines 21-39)
“receive, from the 4G network node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message having at least two parameters” 4G eNB transmitting RRC reconfiguration message to UE comprising multiple parameters (column 9 lines 24-43)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “receive, from the 4G network node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message having at least two parameters; a terminal node configured to interact with a 4G network node, the terminal node comprising: a processor; a memory that stores processor-executable instructions, wherein the processor interfaces with the memory to execute the processor-executable instructions whereby the network node is operable to” as taught by Marupaduga into Jha’s with the motivation to enable a 4G eNB to provide parameters to UE for implementation to connect to network for dual connectivity with gNB (Marupaduga, column 3 lines 13-24, column 9 lines 24-43).
Claim 14 is rejected based on similar ground(s) provided in claim 9.
Regarding claims 12, 17, Marupaduga discloses
the terminal node is an E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (EN-DC) User Equipment (UE); (UE in dual connectivity with 4G and 5G nodes (column 2 lines 59-67, column 3 lines 13-24)
the 4G network node is a Master eNodeB (MeNB); and, (enB being MeNB (column 3 lines 13-24)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 10, 11, 13, 15, 16, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pawar et al (USPN 11,051,186 B1) FIG. 1
/THAI NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469