Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18, depends from claim 17. The preamble of claim 17 recites “the busbar assembly in combination with..”, whereas the preamble of Claim 18, recites “the combination of claim 17. Since Claim 18 depends from Claim 17, the preambles should be should be consistent. Examiner suggests Claim 17 to recite “In combination comprising: the busbar assembly of Claim 1 and further including an electrical connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Daamen et al. (US 9,337,597).
Regarding Claim 1, Daamen et al. discloses a busbar assembly comprising:
a first rigid and elongated conductive busbar (300, see mark-up below);
a second rigid and elongated conductive busbar (400);
an insulator (part of 110, 120) sandwiched between first portions (310, 410) of the busbars; and a signal connector (120 with contacts) sandwiched between second portions (320, 325 or 315; 420, 425 or 415) of the busbars, the signal connector comprising an insulative housing (120) and a conductive signal terminal (124-133) mounted therein.
[AltContent: textbox (425)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (420)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (415)][AltContent: textbox (325)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (320)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (315)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (410)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (310)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (40010)][AltContent: textbox (300)]
Regarding Claim 2, Daamen discloses the busbar assembly of claim 1, wherein each second portion (320, 325) has a first section (320) extending from the first portion and a second section (325) extending from the first section, wherein at least one of the first sections (320) is angled relative to the respective first portion (310) and to the respective second section.
Regarding Claim 8, Daamen discloses the busbar assembly of claim 1, wherein each second portion (320, 325; 420, 425) has a first section (320; 420) extending from the first portion (310; 410) and a second section (325; 425) extending from the first section, wherein the first section (320; 420) is angled relative to the first portion (310; 410) and to the second section in each busbar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daamen et al. (US 9,337,597).
Regarding Claims 3, 9, and 11, Daamen et al. discloses the claimed invention. However, Daamen does not disclose the first portion and the second section parallel to each other. Though the second portion (315) is substantially parallel to the first portion (310). It would have been matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have the second portion parallel to the first portion, to properly interface the mating connector to the busbar.
Regarding Claims 4 and 10, Daamen et al. discloses the busbar assembly of claim 2, wherein the at least one first section (320) is angled relative to the first portion (310) at an angle of about forty-five (45) degrees to about ninety (90) degrees.
Regarding Claim 5, Daamen et al. discloses the busbar assembly of claim 4. However, Daamen does not disclose the first portion and the second section are parallel to each other. Note that a small portion of second section (end tip of 325) could be taken as being parallel to the first portion (310). It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the rat before the filing date of the invention to make second section parallel to the to properly interface with a mating connector to the busbar.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 12, 13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daamen et al. (US 9,337,597) in view of Horning et al. (US 20230114958).
Regarding Claim 7, Daamen discloses the busbar assembly of Claim 1. Daamen also discloses the signal connector (120) includes a plurality of signal terminals (124-133) mounted in the insulative housing (Claim 7, 13), the electrical connector comprises an insulative housing (110, 120, 110, figure 1), electrical signal contacts (124-133; fig. 1) mounted the housing, first power contacts (113) mounted within the housing on one side of the signal contacts, and second power contacts (113) mounted within the housing on the opposite side of the signal contacts (Claim 18). However, Daamen does not disclose the signal connector further includes a cable coupled to the signal terminal (claim 6, 7, 12, 13), in combination including a mating connector (Claim 17).
Horning et al. discloses a cable (206, fig. 2) connected to a connector; a mating connector (104, figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention, to connect a cable coupled to the signal terminal and also connect the assembly to a mating connector, in Daamen as suggested by Horning et al. so as to transfer the signal to an external device, and to connect the connector to a mating connector to add functionality.
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daamen et al. (US 9,337,597) in view of Horning et al. (US 11177599).
Regarding Claims 14-16, Daamen discloses the claimed invention except for a lock, the lock comprising a projection extending into insulative housing and into an opening of the busbar, the first and second projection extending to the first and second busbars. Horning ‘599, in figure 3, 10, discloses a lock comprising a first and second projections (stems of 220), busbars (300, 400), housing (206, 208); first and second openings (figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to use a lock in Daamen, and provide appropriate openings in the busbars and the housing, as suggested by Horning ‘599, so as to make electrical assembly mechanically strong.
Claim(s) 19 and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daamen et al. (US 9,337,597) in view of Horning (US 20230114958, Horning ‘958) and Horning et al. (US 11177599, Horning ‘599).
As discussed above, Daamen discloses a busbar assembly comprising: first and second rigid and elongated conductive busbars (310, 410) , each busbar having a first portion (310) and a second portion (320, 325) extending therefrom, each second portion having a first section (320) extending from the first portion and a second section (325) extending from the first section, the first portions (310, 410) being parallel to each other, the second sections being parallel to each other (see mark-up above) and parallel to the first sections, the first section being angled relative to the first portion and to the second section in each busbar; an insulator (part of housing 120) sandwiched between first portions of the busbars; and a signal connector (120) sandwiched between second portions of the busbars, the signal connector comprising an insulative housing, a plurality of conductive signal terminals (124-0133) mounted in the insulative housing. See rejection above for details. Daamen does disclose a plurality of cables coupled to the signal terminals, the insulative housing being affixed to the busbars by a lock. Horning ‘958, disclose a cable connected to the connector (i.e. there will be plurality of cables for a plurality of terminals), and Horning ‘599 discloses a lock.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to provide a cable for each of the signal terminal as suggested by Horning ‘958 and also use lock, as suggested by Horning ‘599, so as to transfer the signals to an external device and to make the assembly mechanically strong.
For Claim 20, Daamen, Horning ‘958 and Horning ‘599 discloses claimed invention. Horning ‘958 also discloses a mating connector 104. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a mating connector, to the modified assembly of Daamen, and provide a mating connector, so as to ass functionality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chevassus More et al. (US 6,203,343) is cited for cale connection to a busbars system; Keay et al. (US 6,234,842) is cited for screw type lock system.
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834