DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/18/2024.
Claims 1- 19 and 24 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 01/18/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 20240147472 A1), hereinafter “Wei”; and in further view of Choi et al. (US 20220368478 A1), hereinafter “Choi”.
Regarding claim 1, Wei teaches An Internet Access and Backhaul, IAB, node configured to communicate with a child IAB node, the IAB node, comprising [Wei: Abstract teaches of parent IAB DU providing beam communication for child IAB DU]:
processing circuitry configured to: determine at least one restricted beam for an IAB-distributed unit, IAB-DU, of a child IAB node, when operating in spatial division multiplexing, SDM [Wei: Fig.5; Par. 75- 85 teaches of using restricted beam for communication with child IAB] Par. 67 teaches IAB support SDM]; and
indicate the at least one restricted beam for configuring the child IAB node, the indication of the at least one restricted beam corresponding to a deactivation of a Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI state [Wei: Par. 110- 118 teaches indicating restricted beam with TCI report].
However, Wei does not teach TCI state, which would be available when operating in time division multiplexing, TDM.
Nevertheless, Choi, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches TCI state, which would be available when operating in time division multiplexing, TDM [Choi: Fig. 8; Par. 125- 140 teaches of determine TDM corresponding to TCI state]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Choi for performing multiplexing including TDM. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Choi in the Wei system in order to provided IAB node to receive configuration in TDM [Choi: Par. 016].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Wei in view of Choi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wei in view of Choi further teaches wherein the indication is communicated to the child IAB node [Wei: Fig. 4A-4B].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Wei in view of Choi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wei in view of Choi further teaches wherein the at least one restricted beam is configured to restrict selection to one of the at least one restricted beam [Wei: Fig. 5; Par. 80- 87 teaches restricted beam is configured to inform IAB].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Wei in view of Choi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wei in view of Choi further teaches wherein the indication of the at least one restricted beam is associated with at least one TCI state [Wei: Fig. 7 illustrate TCI activation]
Regarding claim 5, the combined Wei in view of Choi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wei in view of Choi further teaches wherein the indication is provided by signaling individually per carrier [Wei: Par. 70 teaches IAB configured the component carriers per IAB DU].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Wei in view of Choi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wei in view of Choi further teaches wherein the at least one restricted beam corresponds to a plurality of restricted beams to be applied to one of: a single carrier, subset of a plurality of carriers and the plurality of carriers [Wei: Par. 70].
Regarding claim 7, the combined Wei in view of Choi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wei in view of Choi further teaches Medium Access Control-Control Element, MAC-CE signaling [Wei: Par. 86 disclosed MAC CE;
at least one SSB index in MAC-CE signaling; and at least one Channel State Information-Reference Signal, CSI-RS, resource index in MAC-CE signaling [Wei: Par. 86 & 88 teaches of state of CSI-RS in MAC CE].
Regarding claim 8, the combined Wei in view of Choi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wei in view of Choi further teaches the restriction of the at least one restricted beam is configured to be disregarded by the child IAB node operating in TDM operation mode [Choi: Par. 56 teaches restricted beam is configured by child IAB node in FDM/ SDM and TDM]
Regarding claim 9, the combined Wei in view of Choi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wei in view of Choi further teaches wherein the indication is transmitted to a Donor IAB node [Wei: Par. 65- 68 disclosed donor node].
Regarding claim 10, the combined Wei in view of Choi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wei in view of Choi further teaches herein the processing circuitry is further configured to activate one of a TDM operation mode and SDM operation mode at the child IAB node, the at least one restricted beam being associated with the SDM operation mode and not the TDM operation mode [See Choi Par. 50- 60].
Regarding claim 11, the combined Wei in view of Choi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wei in view of Choi further teaches wherein the at least one restricted beam corresponds to at least one downlink beam used for communication from the child IAB node to a first IAB node [Wei: Par. 66 teaches of communication between child IAB and others nodes using uplink and downlink tables by IAB DU and MT].
Regarding claim 12, the combined Wei in view of Choi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wei in view of Choi further teaches wherein the at least one restricted beam allows the IAB-DU and IAB-Mobile Termination, IAB-MT, of the child IAB node to simultaneously use the same resources [Wei: Par. 69- 70 teaches of simultaneous communication and operation of IAB-DU and MT and child IAB node].
Regarding claim 13, Wei teaches An Internet Access and Backhaul, IAB, node, comprising: processing circuitry configured to [Wei: Fig. 1A]:
transmit a plurality of synchronization signal blocks, SSBs [Wei: Par. 78 teaches of sending SSBs and CSI-RS];
receive an indication associated with at least one restricted beam for an IAB-distributed unit, IAB-DU, of the IAB node [Wei: Fig.5; Par. 75- 85 teaches of using restricted beam for communication with child IAB] Par. 67 teaches IAB support SDM]; and
determine at least one IAB-DU beam for downlink transmission based at least on the indication associated with the at least one restricted beam [Wei: Par. 110- 118 teaches indicating restricted beam with TCI report].
However, Wei does not teach the indication of the at least one restricted beam being associated with at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, state.
Nevertheless, Choi, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches the indication of the at least one restricted beam being associated with at least one Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, state [Choi: Fig. 8; Par. 125- 140 teaches of determine TDM corresponding to TCI state]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Choi for performing multiplexing including TDM. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Choi in the Wei system in order to provided IAB node to receive configuration in TDM [Choi: Par. 016].
Regarding claim 14, the combined Wei in view of Choi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Wei in view of Choi further teaches wherein the indication is an explicit indication of the at least one restricted beam received from a parent IAB node [Wei: Par. 75- 85 teaches Parent IAB provide restricted beam to child IAB].
Regarding claim 15 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 16 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 17 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 18 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 19 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Regarding claim 24, Wei teaches A method implemented by an Internet Access and Backhaul, IAB, node that is configured to communicate with a child IAB node, the method comprising [Wei: Abstract teaches of parent IAB DU providing beam communication for child IAB DU]:
determining at least one restricted beam for an IAB-distributed unit, IAB-DU, of a child IAB node when operating in spatial division multiplexing, SDM [Wei: Fig.5; Par. 75- 85 teaches of using restricted beam for communication with child IAB] Par. 67 teaches IAB support SDM]; and
indicate the at least one restricted beam for configuring the child IAB node, the indication of the at least one restricted beam corresponding to a deactivation of a Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI state [Wei: Par. 110- 118 teaches indicating restricted beam with TCI report].
However, Wei does not teach TCI state, which would be available when operating in time division multiplexing, TDM.
Nevertheless, Choi, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches TCI state, which would be available when operating in time division multiplexing, TDM [Choi: Fig. 8; Par. 125- 140 teaches of determine TDM corresponding to TCI state]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Choi for performing multiplexing including TDM. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Choi in the Wei system in order to provided IAB node to receive configuration in TDM [Choi: Par. 016].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412