DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending. Note that, the preliminary amendment filed January 18, 2024, has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP8-231478. Note that, an English Language Machine translation has been provided for this reference along with the original document.
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, ‘478 teaches the use of compounds of General Formula (I),
wherein General Formula (II) suggests compounds which are the same as recited by independent, instant claim 1. ‘478 teaches that in the quaternary ammonium salt represented by the general formula (1) of the present invention, R1, R2 and R3 each represent an alkyl group or a hydroxyalkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, specifically, methyl, ethyl, etc. R4 and R5 each represent a linear or branched alkyl group or alkenyl group having 7 to 35 carbon atoms which may be substituted with a hydroxyl group. Specifically, nonyl, undecyl, tridecyl, pentadecyl, heptadecyl, etc. Moreover, it is preferable that R4 and R5 are the same, and n is an integer of from 1 to 6, m is from 0 to 20, and X represents an anionic group, preferably a halogen atom, sulfate, a carboxylate optionally substituted with a hydroxyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms or an alkyl sulfate having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, more preferably Cl or CH3SO4. See paras. 3-8. These compounds can be used as textile softeners or conditioning agents for the hair. See paras. 1-3.
Note that, with respect to instant claims 1-9 which recite various mixture of compounds of Formula (I), ‘478 clearly suggests the use of various compounds corresponding to General Formula (I), and it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose…[T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.06.
‘478 does not teach, with sufficient specificity, mixtures of compounds of Chemical Formula 1 having the specific substituents as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to formulate mixtures of compounds of Chemical Formula 1 having the specific substituents as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of ‘478 suggest mixtures of compounds of Chemical Formula 1 having the specific substituents as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grainger et al (US 2004/0058848) in view of JP8-231478.
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Grainger et al teach a concentrated, aqueous fabric softening composition comprising: (a) an ester-linked quaternary ammonium fabric softening material comprising at least one monoester linked component and at least one tri-ester linked component, the material being derived from fatty groups having an iodine value of from 0 to 3; and (b) an ester-linked quaternary ammonium fabric softening material comprising at least one monoester linked component and at least one tri-ester linked component, the material being derived from fatty groups having an iodine value of from 20 to 140. See paras. 22-24. It is preferred that the compositions further comprise a nonionic surfactant. Typically these can be included for the purpose of stabilizing the compositions. Suitable nonionic surfactants include addition products of ethylene oxide and/or propylene oxide with fatty alcohols, fatty acids and fatty amines. See paras. 71-75. The compositions of the invention preferably comprise one or more perfumes. See para. 98. It is useful, though not essential, if the compositions comprise one or more polymeric viscosity control agents (i.e., rheology modifiers). Suitable polymeric viscosity control agents include nonionic and cationic polymers, such as hydrophobically modified cellulose ethers (e.g. Natrosol Plus, ex Hercules), cationically modified starches (e.g. Softgel BDA and Softgel BD, both ex Avebe). A particularly preferred viscosity control agent is a copolymer of methacrylate and cationic acrylamide available under the tradename Flosoft 200 (ex SNF Floerger). Co-active softeners for the cationic surfactant may also be incorporated in an amount from 0.01 to 20% by weight, more preferably 0.05 to 10%, based on the total weight of the composition. See para. 104.
The compositions may also contain one or more optional ingredients conventionally included in fabric conditioning compositions such as pH buffering agents, perfume carriers, fluorescers, colourants, hydrotropes, antifoaming agents, antiredeposition agents, polyelectrolytes, enzymes, optical brightening agents, pearlescers, antishrinking agents, anti-wrinkle agents, anti-spotting agents, antioxidants, sunscreens, anti-corrosion agents, drape imparting agents, preservatives, anti-static agents, ironing aids and dyes. See para. 112. The composition is preferably used in the rinse cycle of a home textile laundering operation, where, it may be added directly in an undiluted state to a washing machine, e.g. through a dispenser drawer or, for a top-loading washing machine, directly into the drum. See para. 132.
Grainger et al do not teach the specific mixture of quaternary ammonium compounds of Formula I or a composition containing a mixture of quaternary ammonium compounds of Formula I, perfume ingredients, a cosoftener, a nonionic surfactant, and/or a rheology modifier in addition to the other requisite components of the composition as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
‘478 is relied upon as set forth above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the specific mixture of quaternary ammonium compounds of Formula I as recited by instant claim 1 in the composition taught by Grainger et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, because ‘478 teaches the use of the specific mixture of quaternary ammonium compounds of Formula I as recited by instant claim 1 as a textile softener and further, Grainger et al teach the use of co-softening agents in general.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition containing a mixture of quaternary ammonium compounds of Formula I, perfume ingredients, a cosoftener, a nonionic surfactant, and/or a rheology modifier in addition to the other requisite components of the composition as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of Grainger et al in view of ‘478 teach a composition containing a mixture of quaternary ammonium compounds of Formula I, perfume ingredients, a cosoftener, a nonionic surfactant, and/or a rheology modifier in addition to the other requisite components of the composition as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/December 30, 2025