DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/18/2024 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “A leader device”, “limited device” and network device’ in claims 54, 55, 56 and 57.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 39-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by Li et al. (US 20160212684 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LI’).
Regarding claim 39, LI teaches a method for scheduling transmissions in a network comprising at least one limited device (Fig. 2 Sensors/WSN), a leader device (Fig. 2 UE1…UE3) and a network device (Fig. 2 eNB, cluster based sensor network information collection mechanism,
[0048] With regard to FIG. 2, an example of an embodiment of the invention is described for explaining the initialization and configuration of beacon cluster based sensor network information collection mechanism.), wherein the method comprises:
linking the at least one limited device to the leader device (
Fig. 2 S10, [0052] Specifically, when referring to FIG. 2, the eNB sends in step S10 a request message to the available UEs, namely, UE1, UE2, UE3 in which they are requested to become information collectors for the WSN information. With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.
(eNB or network device associating or linking WSN or limited device with UEs as leader as information collectors for the WSN information));
obtaining first level data for the at least one limited device (
[0052] With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.
(Obtaining first level data of the WSN by eNB is implicit from information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected)
Alternately, see [0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.
(It can be also construed that accessing requests from UEs for WSNs is a first level data and measurement results from UEs for comparison to consider suitability as gateway for WSNs as second level data));
obtaining second level data (
[0052] In step S30, UE2 and UE3 listen whether they receive a signaling, such as a beacon signal, from a cluster head node of the WSN in question. In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
Alternately,
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.
(It can be also construed that accessing requests from UEs for WSNs is a first level data and measurement results from UEs for comparison to consider suitability as gateway for WSNs as second level data));
processing the first level data and second level data for determining at least one transceiving occasion (
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60); and
controlling the at least one limited device to be awake for the at least one transceiving occasion (
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0060] When the UE3 has received the decision that it is accepted as the gateway element, the UE3 starts an awakening procedure for the sensor nodes of the WSN. As indicated in step S80, as one option, the UE3 sends a trigger message to the cluster head node in order to instruct it to awake the sensor nodes. If this is the case, the cluster head sends in step S90 a signal to the sensor nodes to end the idle mode and to become operational. Alternatively, the UE3 may send a signal to the sensor nodes directly in order to awake them (indicated by the dashed arrow at step S91).
[0061] When it is ensured that the sensor nodes are operational, i.e. have ended the idle mode (e.g. after a predetermined time has elapsed or after receiving a ready signaling from the WSN, or the like), the UE3 being selected as the gateway element transmits in step S100 topology information to the sensor nodes. The topology information informs the sensor nodes about the CH selection, i.e. about the identity of the cluster head with which the UE3 communicates. The topology information may be broadcasted by the UE3 or alternatively forwarded via the CH to which the UE3 has access.
[0062] In step S110, when the sensor nodes receives the topology information, they automatically change a network flow direction for example according to pre-defined routing table information (to be described later) and initiate the data traffic (i.e. send own sensor detection results or forward sensor detection results of other sensor nodes whose traffic flow towards the cluster head is directed via this sensor node).
(eNB or network node by assigning UE3 as gateway node controlling the awaking and traffic flow or transceiving occasions of WSN via UE3)).
Regarding claim 40, LI teaches the method of claim 39, wherein processing the first level data and second level data for determining at least one transceiving occasion is performed by the network device and wherein obtaining second level data is performed by the network device and includes receiving second level data from the leader device (
See [0052, 0056-0058, 0060-0062] cited above for claim 1.
[0062] In step S110, when the sensor nodes receives the topology information, they automatically change a network flow direction for example according to pre-defined routing table information (to be described later) and initiate the data traffic).
Regarding claim 41, LI teaches the method of claim 40, wherein obtaining first level data includes one of:
receiving first level data from the at least one limited device (
[0052] In step S30, UE2 and UE3 listen whether they receive a signaling, such as a beacon signal, from a cluster head node of the WSN in question. In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
(It can be construed that accessing request or first level data from WSN or limited device received by eNB or network device via UE or leader deader));
receiving first level data for the at least one limited device from the leader device (
See [0056-0057]
(It can be also construed that accessing requests from UEs for WSNs is a first level data from UEs or leader device for comparison to consider suitability as gateway for WSNs as second level data)); and
retrieving stored first level data (
[0052] With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.
(Obtaining first level data of the WSN by eNB from retrieved stored data is implicit from information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected)).
Regarding claim 42, LI teaches the method of claim 40, wherein:
controlling the at least one limited device to be awake includes the network device controlling the at least one limited device to be awake or includes the network device transmitting the determined at least one transceiving occasion to the leader device and the leader device controlling the at least one limited device to be awake (
See [0058, 0060-0062] eNB selects and sends message to UE3 as selected gateway for UE 3 to trigger awake WSNs and to provide topology information for traffic flow direction).
Regarding claim 43, LI teaches the method of claim 39, wherein:
processing the first level data and second level data for determining at least one transceiving occasion is performed by the leader device, and obtaining second level data is performed by the leader device determining the second level data (
see [0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.
(It can be also construed that accessing requests from UEs for WSNs is a first level data and measurement results from UEs for comparison to consider suitability as gateway for WSNs as second level data)).
Regarding claim 44, LI teaches the method of claim 43, wherein:
controlling the at least one limited device to be awake includes the leader device controlling the at least one limited device to be awake or includes the leader device transmitting the determined at least one transceiving occasion to the network device and the network device controlling the at least one limited device to be awake (
See [0058-0062] cited above for claim 1.
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0059] As indicated by a dashed arrow in connection with step S70, the eNB may also inform the not-selected UE2 about the decision, whereupon UE2 may terminate the processing.
[0060] When the UE3 has received the decision that it is accepted as the gateway element, the UE3 starts an awakening procedure for the sensor nodes of the WSN. As indicated in step S80, as one option, the UE3 sends a trigger message to the cluster head node in order to instruct it to awake the sensor nodes. If this is the case, the cluster head sends in step S90 a signal to the sensor nodes to end the idle mode and to become operational. Alternatively, the UE3 may send a signal to the sensor nodes directly in order to awake them (indicated by the dashed arrow at step S91).
[0061] When it is ensured that the sensor nodes are operational, i.e. have ended the idle mode (e.g. after a predetermined time has elapsed or after receiving a ready signaling from the WSN, or the like), the UE3 being selected as the gateway element transmits in step S100 topology information to the sensor nodes. The topology information informs the sensor nodes about the CH selection, i.e. about the identity of the cluster head with which the UE3 communicates. The topology information may be broadcasted by the UE3 or alternatively forwarded via the CH to which the UE3 has access.
[0062] In step S110, when the sensor nodes receives the topology information, they automatically change a network flow direction for example according to pre-defined routing table information (to be described later) and initiate the data traffic (i.e. send own sensor detection results or forward sensor detection results of other sensor nodes whose traffic flow towards the cluster head is directed via this sensor node).).
Regarding claim 45, LI teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the at least one limited device and the leader device are linked based on mobility measurements and/or based on a determined commonality (
See [0052, 0055-0056]).
Regarding claim 46, LI teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the first level data comprises one or more taken from a group comprising mobility measurements for the limited device, receive and transmit occasions/time windows that are needed at specific times, estimated amount of data to be transmitted/received, transmission/reception characteristics, operator/supported frequency bands/access methods, supported Radio Access Technologies, preferred Low/Mid/High band, storage capacity limits, and/or strict transmission/reception periods (
[0036] Since a direct communication between the eNB acting as the sink of the local sensor network and the sensor nodes for transmitting the sensor data may not be possible, e.g. because of the distance between the WSN and the eNB, changing communication properties etc., the communication network device in the form of e.g. the UE acts as an information collector and as a relay so that the transmission link efficiency can be improved. Furthermore, examples of embodiments of the invention provide a suitable mechanism to set the topology of local sensor network, i.e. an internal routing of information flow between the sensor nodes, in accordance with the location of the mobile gateway (e.g. the UE) in relation to the sensor network, as described below.
[0040] once a communication network element like a UE decides that it is willing to collect WSN information and thus to access a WSN beacon cluster head, it senses which cluster head nodes can be reached. For example, regular signaling sent by a cluster head, such as a beacon transmission from a beacon cluster head in the WSN, is tried to receive.
[0055] In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
(Since UE2 and UE3 receive the regular or periodic beacons from WSNs identify WSN from beacons and prepare measurement report of WSNs and sends accessing request, it is construed that beacon reception, identification and measurement indicates at least one or more of relative mobility measurements for the WSN limited device, receive and transmit occasions/time windows that are needed at specific times, ….. , transmission/reception characteristics, operator/supported frequency bands/access methods, supported Radio Access Technologies between UEs and WSNs for the UEs as first level data)).
Regarding claim 47, LI teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the second level data comprises one or more taken from a group comprising mobility measurements for the leader device, network load, base station location, base station capability, third party apps data, map data, road planning maps, train track maps, time schedules, previous measurements and/or data regarding past interactions with the network (
[0036] Since a direct communication between the eNB acting as the sink of the local sensor network and the sensor nodes for transmitting the sensor data may not be possible, e.g. because of the distance between the WSN and the eNB, changing communication properties etc., the communication network device in the form of e.g. the UE acts as an information collector and as a relay so that the transmission link efficiency can be improved. Furthermore, examples of embodiments of the invention provide a suitable mechanism to set the topology of local sensor network, i.e. an internal routing of information flow between the sensor nodes, in accordance with the location of the mobile gateway (e.g. the UE) in relation to the sensor network, as described below.
[0040] once a communication network element like a UE decides that it is willing to collect WSN information and thus to access a WSN beacon cluster head, it senses which cluster head nodes can be reached. For example, regular signaling sent by a cluster head, such as a beacon transmission from a beacon cluster head in the WSN, is tried to receive.
[0052] Specifically, when referring to FIG. 2, the eNB sends in step S10 a request message to the available UEs, namely, UE1, UE2, UE3 in which they are requested to become information collectors for the WSN information. With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.
[0053] In step S20, the UEs UE1, UE2 and UE3 decide whether they are capable to be a gateway element and if are willing to become an information collector for the eNB. This decision may be based, for example, on a current work-load of the UE …..
[0055] In step S30, UE2 and UE3 listen whether they receive a signaling, such as a beacon signal, from a cluster head node of the WSN in question. In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB
(Since UE2 and UE3 receive the regular or periodic beacons from WSNs and prepare measurement report of WSNs identifying WSN cluster heads for the eNB, it is construed that the second level data for the eNB comprises at least mobility measurements for the leader device, network load, base station location, base station capability).
Regarding claim 48, LI teaches a method for a leader device operating in a network for scheduling transmissions, said network comprising at least one limited device (Fig. 2 Sensors/WSN), said leader device (Fig. 2 UE 1…3) and a network device (Fig. 2 eNB), wherein the method comprises the leader device:
obtaining second level data by determining second level data, determining at least one transceiving occasion based on second level data and first level data for the at least one limited device (
[0052] With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.
[0055] In step S30, UE2 and UE3 listen whether they receive a signaling, such as a beacon signal, from a cluster head node of the WSN in question. In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.); and
controlling the at least one limited device to be awake for the least one transceiving occasion (
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0060] When the UE3 has received the decision that it is accepted as the gateway element, the UE3 starts an awakening procedure for the sensor nodes of the WSN. As indicated in step S80, as one option, the UE3 sends a trigger message to the cluster head node in order to instruct it to awake the sensor nodes. If this is the case, the cluster head sends in step S90 a signal to the sensor nodes to end the idle mode and to become operational. Alternatively, the UE3 may send a signal to the sensor nodes directly in order to awake them (indicated by the dashed arrow at step S91).
[0061] When it is ensured that the sensor nodes are operational, i.e. have ended the idle mode (e.g. after a predetermined time has elapsed or after receiving a ready signaling from the WSN, or the like), the UE3 being selected as the gateway element transmits in step S100 topology information to the sensor nodes. The topology information informs the sensor nodes about the CH selection, i.e. about the identity of the cluster head with which the UE3 communicates. The topology information may be broadcasted by the UE3 or alternatively forwarded via the CH to which the UE3 has access.
[0062] In step S110, when the sensor nodes receives the topology information, they automatically change a network flow direction for example according to pre-defined routing table information (to be described later) and initiate the data traffic (i.e. send own sensor detection results or forward sensor detection results of other sensor nodes whose traffic flow towards the cluster head is directed via this sensor node).
Regarding claim 49, LI teaches the method of claim 48, wherein determining the at least one transceiving occasion based on second level data and first level data for the at least one limited device includes:
transmitting second level data to the network device, and receiving the at least one transceiving occasion (
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0059] As indicated by a dashed arrow in connection with step S70, the eNB may also inform the not-selected UE2 about the decision, whereupon UE2 may terminate the processing.
[0060] When the UE3 has received the decision that it is accepted as the gateway element, the UE3 starts an awakening procedure for the sensor nodes of the WSN. As indicated in step S80, as one option, the UE3 sends a trigger message to the cluster head node in order to instruct it to awake the sensor nodes. If this is the case, the cluster head sends in step S90 a signal to the sensor nodes to end the idle mode and to become operational. Alternatively, the UE3 may send a signal to the sensor nodes directly in order to awake them (indicated by the dashed arrow at step S91).).
Regarding claim 50, LI teaches the method of claim 49, further comprising:
receiving first level data for the at least one limited device, and transmitting first level data to the network device (
See [0055-0057] Beacon reception and WSN identification).
Regarding claim 51, LI teaches the method of claim 48, wherein determining the at least one transceiving occasion based on second level data and first level data for the at least one limited device includes:
receiving first level data for the at least one limited device, and processing the first level data and second level data to determine the at least one transceiving occasion (
[0040] once a communication network element like a UE decides that it is willing to collect WSN information and thus to access a WSN beacon cluster head, it senses which cluster head nodes can be reached. For example, regular signaling sent by a cluster head, such as a beacon transmission from a beacon cluster head in the WSN, is tried to receive.
See also [0055-0061]
[0062] In step S110, when the sensor nodes receives the topology information, they automatically change a network flow direction for example according to pre-defined routing table information (to be described later) and initiate the data traffic (i.e. send own sensor detection results or forward sensor detection results of other sensor nodes whose traffic flow towards the cluster head is directed via this sensor nod).
Regarding claim 52, LI teaches the method of claim 51, wherein receiving first level data for the at least one limited device includes receiving first level data from the at least one limited device (
[0055] In step S30, UE2 and UE3 listen whether they receive a signaling, such as a beacon signal, from a cluster head node of the WSN in question. In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.) or
receiving first level data from the network device (
[0052] Specifically, when referring to FIG. 2, the eNB sends in step S10 a request message to the available UEs, namely, UE1, UE2, UE3 in which they are requested to become information collectors for the WSN information. With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.).
Regarding claim 53, LI teaches the method of claim 51, wherein controlling the at least one limited device to be awake for the least one transceiving occasion includes transmitting the determined at least one transceiving occasion to the network device (
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0060] When the UE3 has received the decision that it is accepted as the gateway element, the UE3 starts an awakening procedure for the sensor nodes of the WSN. As indicated in step S80, as one option, the UE3 sends a trigger message to the cluster head node in order to instruct it to awake the sensor nodes.).
Regarding claim 54, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 48, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 48.
Regarding claim 55, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 49.
Regarding claim 56, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 50.
Regarding claim 57, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 51.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Karabinis; P.D. (US 20230396971 A1), describing SYSTEMS/METHODS OF VEHICULAR SAFETY
Jamadagni et al. (US 11477635 B2), describing Method And System For Sensor Data Type Identification In A NB-IoT Network
Hunt et al. (US 20200344121 A1), describing REMOTE WIRELESS SENSORS AND SYSTEMS INCLUDING REMOTE WIRELESS SENSORS
Tang et al. (US 20200068580 A1), describing REMOTE COMMUNICATION APPARATUS, RELAY COMMUNICATION APPARATUS, BASE STATION, METHOD, AND RECORDING MEDIUM
Graefe et al. (US 20190132709 A1), describing SENSOR NETWORK ENHANCEMENT MECHANISMS
Qaderi et al. (US 20190059053 A1), describing METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR BATTERY LIFE IMPROVEMENT FOR LOW POWER DEVICES IN WIRELESS SENSOR NETWORKS
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413