DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 06/03/2026.
Claims 39-42 and 45-57 are pending.
Claims 1-38 and 43-44 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated 06/03/2026 with respect to Claims 39-42 and 45-57 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant presented arguments that –
(A) Regarding claim 39, the cited portions of Li do not disclose that it determines a transceiving occasion, because Li's UE3 performing operations to wake up sensor nodes. (REMARKS, Page 9 of 11)
(B) Regarding claims 48 and 54, the Office Action points to Li's discussion of the UE3 "awakening" several sensor nodes. But, there is no specific transceiving occasion here, and there is certainly no suggestion here of a transceiving occasion being determined based on UE3's processing of the data that the Office Action equates to the "first level data" and "second level data" of the claims. (REMARKS, Page 10 of 11)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, and presents that –
Regarding argument (A) for claim 39, Li discloses-
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0060] When the UE3 has received the decision that it is accepted as the gateway element, the UE3 starts an awakening procedure for the sensor nodes of the WSN. As indicated in step S80, as one option, the UE3 sends a trigger message to the cluster head node in order to instruct it to awake the sensor nodes. If this is the case, the cluster head sends in step S90 a signal to the sensor nodes to end the idle mode and to become operational. Alternatively, the UE3 may send a signal to the sensor nodes directly in order to awake them (indicated by the dashed arrow at step S91).
[0061] When it is ensured that the sensor nodes are operational, i.e. have ended the idle mode (e.g. after a predetermined time has elapsed or after receiving a ready signaling from the WSN, or the like), the UE3 being selected as the gateway element transmits in step S100 topology information to the sensor nodes. The topology information informs the sensor nodes about the CH selection, i.e. about the identity of the cluster head with which the UE3 communicates. The topology information may be broadcasted by the UE3 or alternatively forwarded via the CH to which the UE3 has access.
It is construed that S91 and ready signal indicates a transceiving occasion by WSN.
See also [0062] In step S110, when the sensor nodes receives the topology information, they automatically change a network flow direction for example according to pre-defined routing table information (to be described later) and initiate the data traffic (i.e. send own sensor detection results or forward sensor detection results of other sensor nodes whose traffic flow towards the cluster head is directed via this sensor node.
See also Fig. 4 Box 413, and Fig. 5 Box 513 eNB Receives/Processes WSN Information transmitted by WSNs being forwarded/relayed by Gateway UE.
It is construed that eNB or network node, by selecting UE3 as gateway node and providing access assignment indication S70, initiates a protocol of awaking designated WSN for at least one transceiving occasion, prompting UE3 to transmit a trigger message to the WSN, causes reception of the trigger message by the WSN followed by transmission of awake or readiness message by the WSN as disclosed in [0060-0061], explicitly discloses controlling messages S70 with S91 initiated by eNB or network device for awaking, via UE3 gateway, at least one WSN or limited device for the at least one transceiving occasion of receiving a trigger message, getting awake and transmitting readiness indication, for further transceiving occasions by the WSN for WSN information as disclosed by Fig. 4 Box 413 and Fig. 5 Box 513.
Therefore amended claim 39 is anticipated by Li, and accordingly is rejected.
Regarding argument (B) for claims 48, and similarly claim 54, Li discloses-
[0052] the eNB sends in step S10 a request message to the available UEs, namely, UE1, UE2, UE3 in which they are requested to become information collectors for the WSN information. With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.
[0055] In step S30, UE2 and UE3 listen whether they receive a signaling, such as a beacon signal, from a cluster head node of the WSN in question. In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0060] When the UE3 has received the decision that it is accepted as the gateway element, the UE3 starts an awakening procedure for the sensor nodes of the WSN. As indicated in step S80, as one option, the UE3 sends a trigger message to the cluster head node in order to instruct it to awake the sensor nodes. If this is the case, the cluster head sends in step S90 a signal to the sensor nodes to end the idle mode and to become operational. Alternatively, the UE3 may send a signal to the sensor nodes directly in order to awake them (indicated by the dashed arrow at step S91).
[0061] When it is ensured that the sensor nodes are operational, i.e. have ended the idle mode (e.g. after a predetermined time has elapsed or after receiving a ready signaling from the WSN, or the like), the UE3 being selected as the gateway element transmits in step S100 topology information to the sensor nodes. The topology information informs the sensor nodes about the CH selection, i.e. about the identity of the cluster head with which the UE3 communicates. The topology information may be broadcasted by the UE3 or alternatively forwarded via the CH to which the UE3 has access.
It is construed that UEs, including UE3, get notified by S10 as first level data to measure WSNs and reports measurement results along with accessing request to awake WSN as indicated by S50, in response UE gets WSN accessing right to awake WSN by S70 as the second level data to transmit a trigger message for receiving and transmitting ready signal or a first transceiving by WSN indicating awake))
See also [0062] In step S110, when the sensor nodes receives the topology information, they automatically change a network flow direction for example according to pre-defined routing table information (to be described later) and initiate the data traffic (i.e. send own sensor detection results or forward sensor detection results of other sensor nodes whose traffic flow towards the cluster head is directed via this sensor node.
See also Fig. 4 Box 413, and Fig. 5 Box 513 eNB Receives/Processes WSN Information transmitted by WSNs being forwarded/relayed by Gateway UE.
It is construed that UE3 being selected as gateway node got access assignment indication S70 or a controlling right, initiates a protocol of transmission of a trigger message to WSN or control message, reception of the trigger message (S80->S90 or S91) by the WSN followed by transmission of awake or readiness message as transceiving occasion by the WSN as disclosed in [0060-0061], explicitly discloses UE3 controlling the WSN or the at least one limited device to be awake for the least one transceiving occasion, for further subsequent transceiving occasions by the WSN for WSN information as disclosed by Fig. 4 Box 413 and Fig. 5 Box 513.
Therefore claim 48 and similarly claim 54 are is anticipated by Li, and accordingly are rejected.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 39-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by Li et al. (US 20160212684 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LI’).
Regarding claim 39, LI teaches a method, in a network device (Fig. 2, eNB), for scheduling transmissions in a network comprising at least one limited device (Fig. 2 Sensors/WSN), a leader device (Fig. 2 UE1…UE3) and the network device (Fig. 2 eNB, cluster based sensor network information collection mechanism,
[0048] With regard to FIG. 2, an example of an embodiment of the invention is described for explaining the initialization and configuration of beacon cluster based sensor network information collection mechanism.), wherein the method comprises:
linking the at least one limited device to the leader device (
Fig. 2 S10, [0052] Specifically, when referring to FIG. 2, the eNB sends in step S10 a request message to the available UEs, namely, UE1, UE2, UE3 in which they are requested to become information collectors for the WSN information. With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.
(eNB or network device associating or linking WSN or limited device with UEs as leader as information collectors for the WSN information));
obtaining first level data for the at least one limited device (
[0052] With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.
(Obtaining first level data of the WSN by eNB is implicit from information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected)
Alternately, see [0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.
(It can be also construed that accessing requests from UEs for WSNs is a second level data and WSN measurement results based on WSN Beacons from UE2 and UE3 for comparison to consider suitability as gateway for WSNs as first level data));
obtaining second level data (
[0052] In step S30, UE2 and UE3 listen whether they receive a signaling, such as a beacon signal, from a cluster head node of the WSN in question. In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.
(Construed that accessing requests and Beacon measurement results from UEs for WSNs for comparison to consider suitability as gateway for WSNs as second level data, or alternately is a second level data and first level data respectively));
processing the first level data and second level data to determine at least one transceiving occasion (
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0060] the UE3 may send a signal to the sensor nodes directly in order to awake them (indicated by the dashed arrow at step S91).
[0061] When it is ensured that the sensor nodes are operational, i.e. have ended the idle mode (….. after receiving a ready signaling from the WSN)
(Construed that S91 and ready signal indicates a transceiving occasion bu WSN)); and
controlling the at least one limited device to be awake for the at least one transceiving occasion (
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0060] When the UE3 has received the decision that it is accepted as the gateway element, the UE3 starts an awakening procedure for the sensor nodes of the WSN. As indicated in step S80, as one option, the UE3 sends a trigger message to the cluster head node in order to instruct it to awake the sensor nodes. If this is the case, the cluster head sends in step S90 a signal to the sensor nodes to end the idle mode and to become operational. Alternatively, the UE3 may send a signal to the sensor nodes directly in order to awake them (indicated by the dashed arrow at step S91).
[0061] When it is ensured that the sensor nodes are operational, i.e. have ended the idle mode (e.g. after a predetermined time has elapsed or after receiving a ready signaling from the WSN, or the like), the UE3 being selected as the gateway element transmits in step S100 topology information to the sensor nodes. The topology information informs the sensor nodes about the CH selection, i.e. about the identity of the cluster head with which the UE3 communicates. The topology information may be broadcasted by the UE3 or alternatively forwarded via the CH to which the UE3 has access.
[0062] In step S110, when the sensor nodes receives the topology information, they automatically change a network flow direction for example according to pre-defined routing table information (to be described later) and initiate the data traffic (i.e. send own sensor detection results or forward sensor detection results of other sensor nodes whose traffic flow towards the cluster head is directed via this sensor node.
See also Fig. 4 Box 413, and Fig. 5 Box 513 eNB Receives/Processes WSN Information transmitted by WSNs being processed/forwarded/relayed by Gateway UE.
(Construed that eNB or network node, by selecting UE3 as gateway node and providing access assignment indication S70, initiates a protocol of awaking designated WSN for at least one transceiving occasion, prompting UE3 to transmit a trigger message to the WSN, causes reception of the trigger message by the WSN followed by transmission of awake or readiness message by the WSN as disclosed in [0060-0061], explicitly discloses controlling messages S70 with S91 initiated by eNB or network device for awaking, via UE3 gateway, at least one WSN or limited device for the at least one transceiving occasion of receiving a trigger message, getting awake and transmitting readiness indication, for further transceiving occasions by the WSN for WSN information as disclosed by Fig. 4 Box 413 and Fig. 5 Box 513)).
Regarding claim 40, LI teaches the method of claim 39, wherein obtaining second level data is includes receiving second level data from the leader device (
See Fig. 2 S50 Accessing Request + Beacon Measurement Result Report from UE2 and UE3, and [0052, 0056-0058] cited above for claim 1.).
Regarding claim 41, LI teaches the method of claim 40, wherein obtaining first level data includes one of:
receiving first level data from the at least one limited device (
[0052] In step S30, UE2 and UE3 listen whether they receive a signaling, such as a beacon signal, from a cluster head node of the WSN in question. In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
(Construed that WSN Beacon measurement result as the first level data from WSN or limited device received by eNB or network device received via UE2 and UE3 or a potential leader device));
receiving first level data for the at least one limited device from the leader device (
See [0056]
(Construed that WSN Beacon measurement result as the first level data from WSN or limited device received by eNB or network device from UE2 and UE3 or a potential leader device)); and
retrieving stored first level data (
[0052] With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.
(Obtaining first level data of the WSN by eNB from retrieved stored data is implicit from information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected)).
Regarding claim 42, LI teaches the method of claim 40, wherein:
controlling the at least one limited device to be awake includes controlling the at least one limited device to be awake or includes transmitting the determined at least one transceiving occasion to the leader device so as to permit the leader device controlling the at least one limited device to be awake (
See Fig. 2 S70 from eNB to UE3 followed by from UE3 S80[Wingdings font/0xE8]S90 or S91,
See [0058, 0060-0062] eNB selects and sends message to UE3 as selected gateway for UE3 to trigger awake WSNs and to provide topology information for traffic flow direction).
Regarding claim 45, LI teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the at least one limited device and the leader device are linked based on mobility measurements and/or based on a determined commonality (
See Fig. 2, S30 [Wingdings font/0xE8] S40 [Wingdings font/0xE8] S50, [0052, 0055-0056]).
Regarding claim 46, LI teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the first level data comprises one or more taken from a group comprising mobility measurements for the limited device, receive and transmit occasions/time windows that are needed at specific times, estimated amount of data to be transmitted/received, transmission/reception characteristics, operator/supported frequency bands/access methods, supported Radio Access Technologies, preferred Low/Mid/High band, storage capacity limits, and/or strict transmission/reception periods (
[0036] Since a direct communication between the eNB acting as the sink of the local sensor network and the sensor nodes for transmitting the sensor data may not be possible, e.g. because of the distance between the WSN and the eNB, changing communication properties etc., the communication network device in the form of e.g. the UE acts as an information collector and as a relay so that the transmission link efficiency can be improved. Furthermore, examples of embodiments of the invention provide a suitable mechanism to set the topology of local sensor network, i.e. an internal routing of information flow between the sensor nodes, in accordance with the location of the mobile gateway (e.g. the UE) in relation to the sensor network, as described below.
[0040] once a communication network element like a UE decides that it is willing to collect WSN information and thus to access a WSN beacon cluster head, it senses which cluster head nodes can be reached. For example, regular signaling sent by a cluster head, such as a beacon transmission from a beacon cluster head in the WSN, is tried to receive.
[0055] In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
(Since UE2 and UE3 receive the regular or periodic beacons from WSNs identify WSN from beacons and prepare measurement report of WSNs and sends accessing request, it is construed that beacon reception, identification and measurement indicates at least one or more of relative mobility measurements for the WSN limited device, receive and transmit occasions/time windows that are needed at specific times, ….. , transmission/reception characteristics, operator/supported frequency bands/access methods, supported Radio Access Technologies between UEs and WSNs for the UEs as first level data)).
Regarding claim 47, LI teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the second level data comprises one or more taken from a group comprising mobility measurements for the leader device, network load, base station location, base station capability, third party apps data, map data, road planning maps, train track maps, time schedules, previous measurements and/or data regarding past interactions with the network (
[0036] Since a direct communication between the eNB acting as the sink of the local sensor network and the sensor nodes for transmitting the sensor data may not be possible, e.g. because of the distance between the WSN and the eNB, changing communication properties etc., the communication network device in the form of e.g. the UE acts as an information collector and as a relay so that the transmission link efficiency can be improved. Furthermore, examples of embodiments of the invention provide a suitable mechanism to set the topology of local sensor network, i.e. an internal routing of information flow between the sensor nodes, in accordance with the location of the mobile gateway (e.g. the UE) in relation to the sensor network, as described below.
[0040] once a communication network element like a UE decides that it is willing to collect WSN information and thus to access a WSN beacon cluster head, it senses which cluster head nodes can be reached. For example, regular signaling sent by a cluster head, such as a beacon transmission from a beacon cluster head in the WSN, is tried to receive.
[0052] Specifically, when referring to FIG. 2, the eNB sends in step S10 a request message to the available UEs, namely, UE1, UE2, UE3 in which they are requested to become information collectors for the WSN information. With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.
[0053] In step S20, the UEs UE1, UE2 and UE3 decide whether they are capable to be a gateway element and if are willing to become an information collector for the eNB. This decision may be based, for example, on a current work-load of the UE …..
[0055] In step S30, UE2 and UE3 listen whether they receive a signaling, such as a beacon signal, from a cluster head node of the WSN in question. In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB
(Since UE2 and UE3 receive the regular or periodic beacons from WSNs and prepare measurement report of WSNs identifying WSN cluster heads for the eNB, it is construed that the second level data for the eNB comprises at least mobility measurements for the leader device, network load, base station location, base station capability).
Regarding claim 48, LI teaches a method for a leader device (Fig. 2 UE 1…3, Fig. 4 UE 40,
[0077] The UE 40 may comprise a processing function or processor 41, such as a CPU ….. The processor 41 may comprise further portions dedicated to specific processings as described below. Portions for executing such specific processings may be also provided as discrete elements or within one or more further processors, for example. Reference signs 42 denote transceiver or input/output (I/O) units connected to the processor 41. The I/O units 42 may be used for communicating with other network elements, such as the eNB 50, or local sensor network elements, such as the cluster heads.) operating in a network for scheduling transmissions, said network comprising at least one limited device (Fig. 2 Sensors/WSN), said leader device (Fig. 2 UE3, ) and a network device (Fig. 2 eNB), wherein the method comprises the leader device:
obtaining second level data by determining second level data, determining at least one transceiving occasion based on second level data and first level data for the at least one limited device (
[0052] the eNB sends in step S10 a request message to the available UEs, namely, UE1, UE2, UE3 in which they are requested to become information collectors for the WSN information. With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.
[0055] In step S30, UE2 and UE3 listen whether they receive a signaling, such as a beacon signal, from a cluster head node of the WSN in question. In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0060] the UE3 may send a signal to the sensor nodes directly in order to awake them (indicated by the dashed arrow at step S91.
[0061] When it is ensured that the sensor nodes are operational, i.e. have ended the idle mode (…. after receiving a ready signaling from the WSN …),
(Construed that UEs, including UE3, get notified by S10 to measure WSNs, measures WSN Beacons as first level data and reports measurement results along with accessing request to awake WSN to eNB as indicated by S50 as second level data, in response UE gets WSN accessing right to awake WSN by S70 to transmit a trigger message and receive awake ready signal by WSN or a first transceiving occasion for the at least one limited device)); and
controlling the at least one limited device to be awake for the least one transceiving occasion (
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0060] When the UE3 has received the decision that it is accepted as the gateway element, the UE3 starts an awakening procedure for the sensor nodes of the WSN. As indicated in step S80, as one option, the UE3 sends a trigger message to the cluster head node in order to instruct it to awake the sensor nodes. If this is the case, the cluster head sends in step S90 a signal to the sensor nodes to end the idle mode and to become operational. Alternatively, the UE3 may send a signal to the sensor nodes directly in order to awake them (indicated by the dashed arrow at step S91).
[0061] When it is ensured that the sensor nodes are operational, i.e. have ended the idle mode (e.g. after a predetermined time has elapsed or after receiving a ready signaling from the WSN, or the like), the UE3 being selected as the gateway element transmits in step S100 topology information to the sensor nodes. The topology information informs the sensor nodes about the CH selection, i.e. about the identity of the cluster head with which the UE3 communicates. The topology information may be broadcasted by the UE3 or alternatively forwarded via the CH to which the UE3 has access.
[0062] In step S110, when the sensor nodes receives the topology information, they automatically change a network flow direction for example according to pre-defined routing table information (to be described later) and initiate the data traffic (i.e. send own sensor detection results or forward sensor detection results of other sensor nodes whose traffic flow towards the cluster head is directed via this sensor node.
See also Fig. 4 Box 413, and Fig. 5 Box 513 eNB Receives/Processes WSN Information transmitted by WSNs being forwarded/relayed by Gateway UE.
(Construed that UE3 being selected as gateway node got access assignment indication S70 or a controlling right, initiates a protocol of transmission of a trigger message to WSN or control message, reception of the trigger message (S80->S90 or S91) by the WSN followed by transmission of awake or readiness message as transceiving occasion by the WSN as disclosed in [0060-0061], explicitly discloses UE3 controlling the WSN or the at least one limited device to be awake for the least one transceiving occasion, for further subsequent transceiving occasions by the WSN for WSN information as disclosed by Fig. 4 Box 413 and Fig. 5 Box 513)).
Regarding claim 49, LI teaches the method of claim 48, wherein determining the at least one transceiving occasion based on second level data and first level data for the at least one limited device includes:
transmitting second level data to the network device, and receiving the at least one transceiving occasion (
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
[0057] The eNB processes the received accessing requests and measurement results in order to decide whether and which one of the UEs sending the accessing request is suitable for becoming a gateway element. As indicated above, more than one UE may be selected as a gateway.
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0059] As indicated by a dashed arrow in connection with step S70, the eNB may also inform the not-selected UE2 about the decision, whereupon UE2 may terminate the processing.
[0060] When the UE3 has received the decision that it is accepted as the gateway element, the UE3 starts an awakening procedure for the sensor nodes of the WSN. As indicated in step S80, as one option, the UE3 sends a trigger message to the cluster head node in order to instruct it to awake the sensor nodes. If this is the case, the cluster head sends in step S90 a signal to the sensor nodes to end the idle mode and to become operational. Alternatively, the UE3 may send a signal to the sensor nodes directly in order to awake them (indicated by the dashed arrow at step S91).).
Regarding claim 50, LI teaches the method of claim 49, further comprising:
receiving first level data for the at least one limited device, and transmitting first level data to the network device (
See Fig. 2 S30[Wingdings font/0xE8]S40[Wingdings font/0xE8]S50, [0055-0057] Beacon reception and WSN identification and measurement reporting to eNB by UE2 and UE3).
Regarding claim 51, LI teaches the method of claim 48, wherein determining the at least one transceiving occasion based on second level data and first level data for the at least one limited device includes:
receiving first level data for the at least one limited device, and processing the first level data and second level data to determine the at least one transceiving occasion (
[0040] once a communication network element like a UE decides that it is willing to collect WSN information and thus to access a WSN beacon cluster head, it senses which cluster head nodes can be reached. For example, regular signaling sent by a cluster head, such as a beacon transmission from a beacon cluster head in the WSN, is tried to receive.
See also [0055-0060]
[0061] When it is ensured that the sensor nodes are operational, i.e. have ended the idle mode (….. after receiving a ready signaling from the WSN ….), the UE3 being selected as the gateway element transmits in step S100 topology information to the sensor nodes. The topology information informs the sensor nodes about the CH selection, i.e. about the identity of the cluster head with which the UE3 communicates. The topology information may be broadcasted by the UE3 or alternatively forwarded via the CH to which the UE3 has access.
[0062] In step S110, when the sensor nodes receives the topology information, they automatically change a network flow direction for example according to pre-defined routing table information (to be described later) and initiate the data traffic (i.e. send own sensor detection results or forward sensor detection results of other sensor nodes whose traffic flow towards the cluster head is directed via this sensor nod3
See also Fig. 4 Box 413, and Fig. 5 Box 513 eNB Receives/Processes WSN Information transmitted by WSNs being processed/forwarded/relayed by Gateway UE.).
Regarding claim 52, LI teaches the method of claim 51, wherein receiving first level data for the at least one limited device includes receiving first level data from the at least one limited device (
[0055] In step S30, UE2 and UE3 listen whether they receive a signaling, such as a beacon signal, from a cluster head node of the WSN in question. In step S40, the UEs UE2 and UE3 receive a beacon signal transmission from at least one of the cluster heads, e.g. CH 25 of FIG. 1.
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.) or
receiving first level data from the network device (
[0052] Specifically, when referring to FIG. 2, the eNB sends in step S10 a request message to the available UEs, namely, UE1, UE2, UE3 in which they are requested to become information collectors for the WSN information. With this request message, also information concerning the WSN from which information is to be collected is included, in order to enable the UEs to determine which WSN is meant.).
Regarding claim 53, LI teaches the method of claim 51, wherein controlling the at least one limited device to be awake for the least one transceiving occasion includes transmitting the determined at least one transceiving occasion to the network device (
[0056] Then, in step S50, after having created a report on measurements based on the received beacon signal from the cluster head, UE2 and UE3 sends an accessing request including the report on the measurement results to the eNB, including an identification of the cluster head node whose signaling forms the basis of the measurement.
[0058] In the example of FIG. 2, the eNB decides that only UE3 is suitable for becoming a gateway node. Therefore, it sends in step S70 a message to UE3 informing it about the gateway allocation decision taken in the processing in step S60.
[0060] When the UE3 has received the decision that it is accepted as the gateway element, the UE3 starts an awakening procedure for the sensor nodes of the WSN. As indicated in step S80, as one option, the UE3 sends a trigger message to the cluster head node in order to instruct it to awake the sensor nodes.
See also Fig. 4 Box 413, and Fig. 5 Box 513 eNB Receives/Processes WSN Information transmitted by WSNs being processed/forwarded/relayed by Gateway UE. ).
Regarding claim 54, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 48, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 48.
Regarding claim 55, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 49.
Regarding claim 56, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 50.
Regarding claim 57, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 51.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pang et al. (US 20180376355 A1), describing SERVICE OPTIMIZATION PROCESSING METHOD, DEVICE, AND SYSTEM
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413