Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 18, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on January 18, 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Examiner Comments
The Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraphs, or figures in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1).
As per claim 1, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses an electromechanical transformer device comprising: an oscillating suspension element (EWPT system 1100 on a meandering suspension of a EWPT receiver 1103; paragraph [0104] and Figure 11), wherein the oscillating suspension element comprises a platform and one or more suspension arms (EWPT receiver 1103 comprises a double-clamped (to the anchor base) meandering titanium suspension with a center platform with clamped arms of the meandering beams; paragraph [0105] and Figure 11), wherein the one or more suspension arms are attached to a respective side of the platform (arms of the meandering beams attach to the anchor base; paragraph [0105] and Figure 11), wherein the oscillating suspension element further comprises a frame (arms of the meandering beams attach to a frame; paragraph [0105] and Figure 11); at least one piezoelectric element attached to the one or more suspension arms of the oscillating suspension element (two piezo-ceramic patches attached to the clamped arms; paragraph [0105]); a piezoelectric transducer port coupled to the at least one piezoelectric element (each piezo-ceramic patch constitutes a unimorph transducer connected in series; paragraph [0107]); a permanent magnet attached to the platform of the oscillating suspension element (laterally magnetized square permanent magnet mounted to the center platform; paragraph [0105]); a coil electrodynamically coupled with the permanent magnet and attached to the frame of the oscillating suspension element (a laterally magnetized square permanent magnet mounted to the center platform (on the side opposite to the piezo-ceramic patches) via a spacer; paragraph [0105] and Figure 11; the EWPT receiver 1103 can be placed on a top surface (at the center) of a 3D printed plastic cover that covers a transmitter coil; paragraph [0135] and Figure 15]); and an electrodynamic transducer port coupled to the coil (on the opposite side, two piezo-ceramic patches, each 5x1x0.127 mm3, diced from a large PZT-5A sheet with sputtered Nickel electrodes and poled through thickness (Piezo.com, MA, USA), were bonded to the arms of the meandered beam using silver epoxy (EO-21M-5, EpoxySet Inc., RI, USA) to form a series electrical connection between two unimorph piezo-ceramic transducers; paragraph [0134] and Figure 14; the EWPT receiver 1103 can be placed on a top surface (at the center) of a 3D printed plastic cover that covers a transmitter coil; paragraph (0135] and Figure 15]).
As per claim 2, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 1, wherein the at least one piezoelectric element comprises two piezoelectric elements connected in series (each piezo-ceramic path constitutes a unimorph transducer and the piezos can be connected electrically in series; paragraph [0107]).
As per claim 3, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 1, wherein the permanent magnet comprises a laterally-magnetized, square permanent magnet (laterally magnetized square permanent magnet mounted to the center platform; paragraph [0105]).
As per claim 5, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 1, wherein an input signal source is connected to the electrodynamic transducer port and an external load is connected to the piezoelectric transducer port (electrical circuit model for the EWPT system 1100 with a power source supplies an ac voltage and ac current to a transmitter coil, where the electrodynamic transduction between transmitter and receiver; paragraphs [0116-0117]), wherein the electromechanical transformer device comprises a step-up transformer (power amplifier 1015 connected to transmitter coil 1009; paragraphs [0102-0103]), wherein the electromechanical transformer device is configured to induce an electromagnetic force on the permanent magnet when an input signal is applied to the coil (alternating current can be supplied to a transmitter coil which generates a magnetic field; paragraph [0108]) such that electromagnetic force causes the permanent magnet to oscillate, causing a strain on the oscillating suspension element that is converted into electricity via a direct piezoelectric effect (torsional oscillation is induced due to torque on the receiver magnet, where this motion generates dynamic stresses on the piezo-ceramic elements which generates voltage by the piezoelectric effect; paragraph [0108]).
As per claim 6, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 1, wherein an input signal source is connected to the piezoelectric transducer port and an external load is connected to the electrodynamic transducer port (electrical circuit model for the EWPT system 1100 with a power source supplies an ac voltage and ac current to a transmitter coil, where the electrodynamic transduction between transmitter and receiver; paragraphs [0116-0117]), wherein the electromechanical transformer device comprises a step-down transformer (voltage V induced in the receiver coil of the EWPT, wherein there is a reduction in voltage due to low operation frequency; paragraph [0041]), wherein the electromechanical transformer device is configured to generate a mechanical strain (an equivalent inertial force acts on the piezoelectric element that can cause developing strain in the piezo-material; paragraph [0118]) when an input signal is applied to the at least one piezoelectric element that stimulates a motion on the permanent magnet and causes a flux change in the coil that induces an electromotive force in the coil (voltage V induced in the receiver coil is counterbalanced in EWPT by flux change of the coil produced by the mechanically moving permanent magnet for transmitting power; paragraph [0041)).
As per claim 7, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 1, wherein the device achieves a mechanical quality factor of at least 25 (Table 2 depicts mechanical quality factor Q is 72; Table 2).
As per claim 8, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 7, wherein the device achieves a mechanical quality factor of at least 50 (Table 2 depicts mechanical quality factor Q is 72; Table 2).
As per claim 9, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 8, wherein the device achieves a mechanical quality factor of at least 100 (frequency response of the torsional rotation of the receiver using a dampening ratio corresponding to a Q-factor of 165; paragraph [00751).
As per claim 11, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 1, wherein the device achieves a resonance frequency that is 200 Hz or less (EWPT operates at low frequency 10-1000 Hz; paragraph [00411).
As per claim 12, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 11, wherein the device achieves a resonance frequency that is 2 kHz or less (EWPT operates at low frequency 10-1000 Hz; paragraph (0041]).
As per claim 13, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 12, wherein the device achieves a resonance
frequency that is 20 kHz or less (EWPT operates at low frequency 10-1000 Hz; paragraph (0041]).
As per claim 18, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 1, wherein the oscillating suspension element comprises a non-magnetic material (titanium suspension can be used or selected as the structure since it is not ferromagnetic so to not interfere with the magnetic fields; paragraphs [0105-01061).
As per claim 19, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 1, wherein dimensions of the oscillating suspension element, the permanent magnet, and the at least one piezoelectric element are configured to determine a frequency of operation of the electromechanical transformer device (resonant frequency can be designed through physical characteristics of the structure and the suspension including its shape and material characteristics; paragraph (00491).
As per claim 20, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 1, wherein the oscillating suspension element is physically restricted to only oscillate in a torsional rotation mode (the entire structure forms a resonant electromechanical transducer for power generation while oscillating torsionally; paragraph (01061).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) in view of Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1).
See the description of Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1), supra.
As per claim 4, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the coil comprises a square shaped electromagnetic coil.
However, Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1) discloses wherein the coil comprises a square shaped electromagnetic coil (e.g., first coil 1110 can be a square formed of electrically conducting material; paragraph (0077])
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electromechanical transformer device of Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) with the square shaped electromagnetic coil as taught by Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1) in order to be able to have a different shaped platform assembly, tailored for a specific use.
As per claim 14, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the device achieves an input/output voltage gain of at least 10.
However, Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1) discloses wherein the device achieves an input/output voltage gain of at least 10 (WPT system 1000 provides a voltage gain ranging between about 0.01 to about 100; paragraph (00671). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the electromechanical transformer device taught by Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) with the input/output voltage gain as taught by Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1) to gain the advantage of having a variable voltage gain between 0.01 'to about 100 for control over the transformers rate of voltage across varying systems.
As per claim 15, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) in view of Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 14.
Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) fails to disclose wherein the device achieves an input/output voltage gain of at least 20.
However, Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1) discloses wherein the device achieves an input/output voltage gain of at least 20 (WPT system 1000 provides a voltage gain ranging between about 0.01 to about 100; paragraph [00671). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the electromechanical transformer device taught by Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) with the input/output voltage gain as taught by Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1) to gain the advantage of having a variable voltage gain between 0.01 to about 100 for control over the transformers rate of voltage across varying systems.
As per claim 16, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) in view of Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 15. Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) fails to disclose wherein the device achieves an input/output voltage gain of at least 40.
However, Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1) discloses wherein the device achieves an input/output voltage gain of at least 40 (WPT system 1000 provides a voltage gain ranging between about 0.01 to about 100; paragraph (00671). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the electromechanical transformer device taught by Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) with the input/output voltage gain as taught by Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1) to gain the advantage of having a variable voltage gain between 0.01 to about 100 for control. over the transformers rate of voltage across varying systems.
As per claim 17, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) in view of Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 16. Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) fails to disclose wherein the device achieves an input/output voltage gain of at least 80. However, INDIGO discloses wherein the device achieves an input/output voltage gain of at least 80 (WPT system 1000 provides a voltage gain ranging between about 0.01 to about 100; paragraph [00671).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the electromechanical transformer device taught by Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) with the input/output voltage gain as taught by Tang (US 2021/0044150 A1) to gain the advantage of having a variable voltage gain between 0.01 to about 100 for control over the transformers rate of voltage across varying systems.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) in view of Arnold et al. (US 2020/0153280 A1).
See the description of Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1), supra.
As per claim 10, Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) discloses the electromechanical transformer device of claim 9. Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) fails to disclose wherein the device achieves a mechanical quality factor of at least 250.
However, Arnold et al. (US 2020/0153280 A1) discloses wherein the device achieves a mechanical quality factor of at least 250 (typical resonator having a Q of 1000; paragraph [0019]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the electromechanical transformer device of Arnold et al. (US 2021/0075266 A1) with the quality factor taught by Arnold et al. (US 2020/0153280 A1) to gain the advantage of having the highest quality product available for consumers.
Citation of Prior or Relevant Art on enclosed PTO-892
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited art made of record (see the enclosed PTO-892), not applied to the rejection of the claims, supra, each disclose aspects of the claimed invention, including piezoelectric/electrodynamic transducers/transformers utilizing magnets and piezoelectric elements. See attached PTO-892.
The best prior art has been applied to the claimed invention (see the rejection of the claims on the applied prior art, supra). However, if Applicant chooses to amend the claims in a manner to obviate the applied prior art, as noted in the rejection, supra, the Applicant is advised to not only carefully review the applied prior art for all it teaches and/or suggests, but also the cited prior art of record in order to obviate any potential rejections based on potential amendment(s); by doing so, compact prosecution on the merits can be enhanced.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J KLIMOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688