DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/25/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 01/18/2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment also filed on 01/18/2024. Claims 1-8 are pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otani et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2020/0033825 A1) in view of Takahama et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2020/0240110 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Otani et al discloses a detection device (figure 22, a sensor 10; paragraphs 0184-0189) comprising: a sensor unit that acquires information related to movement of a movable portion provided in a movable body (paragraphs 0187-0189, “…sensor detecting a movement state”),and transmits the acquired information related to movement by data communication (paragraph 0190)using a wireless communication unit; 0163power supply means that supplies electric power to the sensor unit (paragraph 0163, “…plug type connector 110 is disposed inside the opening 122. The connector 110 has a plurality of arranged pins. A socket type connector is connected to the connector 110, and transmission and reception of electric signals such as the supply of power to the sensor module 10”); and a case member that accommodates the wireless communication unit, the sensor unit, and the power supply means (figure 18-19, a wireless communication unit (i.e., a communication section), the sensor unit (i.e., sensor module 10), and the power supply means (i.e., a battery 423) in a case 403; paraphs 0174 0175).
Otani et al does not disclose transmits the acquired information related to movement by data communication using a wireless communication unit
Takahama et al discloses transmitting acquired sensor information related to movement by data communication using a wireless communication unit (paragraph 0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Takahama et al in to the apparatus of Otani et al, such that the sensor data could be transmitted using a wireless communication unit in order to transmit the sensor data remote device comfortably as taught by Takahama et al (paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 2, Otani et al in view of Takahama et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Otani et al discloses wherein the sensor unit is mounted on a substrate disposed inside the case member (figure 15, the sensor module 10; paragraph 0162, “…sensor devices are mounted on the circuit substrate 100”)
Regarding claim 3, Otani et al in view of Takahama et al discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Otani et al discloses wherein the case member includes a first wall portion facing the substrate (figure 15, a first wall (i.e., an inner case 120 ); paragraph 0162), a second wall portion surrounding the power supply means (paragraph 0163), and an opening portion associated with the first wall portion (figure 15, opening 122; paragraph 0162) , and a cover member is disposed on the second wall portion in such a way as to close the opening (figure 15, an outer case 140; paragraph 0162)
Regarding claim 4, Otani et al in view of Takahama et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Otani et al discloses wherein the power supply means includes a battery serving as a power source for supplying the electric power, and a battery case that accommodates the battery (paragraph 0175).
Regarding claim 5, Otani et al in view of Takahama et al discloses the apparatus of claim 2. Otani et al discloses wherein the substrate and the power supply means are disposed inside the case member in such a way as to overlap each other (paragraph 0163)
Regarding claim 6, Otani et al in view of Takahama et al discloses the apparatus of claim 5. Otani et al discloses Otani et al discloses the detection device further comprising a holding member , wherein the substrate and the power supply means is held by the holding member (figure 15, a holding member (i.e., an annular buffer material 130), paragraphs 0162-0163, “…The sensor module 10 has a configuration in which the circuit substrate 100 is mounted inside the outer case 140 via the annular buffer material 130.” The substrate (i.e., substrate 100 ) is held by the holding member (i.e., the annular buffer material 130):
Otani et al does not disclose the holding member interposed between the substrate and the power supply means. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the holding member interposed between the substrate and the power supply means, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 7, Otani et al in view of Takahama et al discloses the apparatus of claim 6. Otani et al discloses wherein the holding member is formed with a positioning portion for positioning and fixing an outer peripheral portion of the substrate (paragraph 0162).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otani et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2020/0033825 A1) in view of Takahama et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2020/0240110 A1) further in view of Lim et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2017/0101307 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Otani et al in view of Takahama et al discloses the apparatus of claim 3. Otani et al discloses wherein the cover member includes a mounted portion to be placed on the second wall portion (figure 15, a top side of the outer case 140; paragraph 0163), and one of the second wall portion and the mounted portion is formed with a recess portion (figure 15, a bottom side of the outer case 140; paragraph 0163), the other thereof is formed with a projection portion entering into the recess portion (paragraph 0162, “…sensor module 10 has a configuration in which the circuit substrate 100 is mounted inside the outer case 140”).
Otani et al of Takahama et al does not disclose an airtight member is disposed in an empty space to be formed between the recess portion and the projection portion.
Lim et al discloses airtight member is disposed in an empty space (paragraphs 0122-0123).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Lim et al in to the apparatus of Otani et al in view of Takahama et al, such that an airtight member could be disposed in an empty space to be formed between the recess portion and the projection portion in order to prevent the device enclosed as taught by Lim et al (paragraph 0123).
Conclusion
/FATUMA G SHERIF/ Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649