Claims 1-12 and 17-20 are pending in Instant Application.
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of PCTCN2021108279 filed 07/23/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 1/19/2024, 7/29/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 ,7, 9-11 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung ("TB processing over multi-slot PUSCH", 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2105326, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 20210510 - 20210527 12 May 2021), and further in view of Kim ( US provisional 63/192546, filed 24 May 2021).
As per claim 1, Samsung disclose A method performed by a terminal device (see page 6, uplink transmission, generating the signal are performed by the UE), comprising:
encoding with code (see page 7, encoding using a mother code) on each code block, CB, of a Transport Block over Multiple Slots, TBoMS (see Fig.3, Fig.4, using the mother code to code TBoMS), wherein the TBoMS comprises multiple slots (see Fig.3, slots for the TOTs in Fig.3, the coded bits corresponding to one CB is mapped across the resources of more than one slot and coding/decoding, number of slot / multiple slot, for as TBoMS); and
performing rate matching on the code for each of the multiple slots of the TBoMS (see Fig.3, page 1, performing rate matching operation for multiple slots of the TBoMS), wherein a time unit of the rate matching is per slot in the TBoMS (see page 5, Option 1 and 3: "rate matched for each slot"; see figure at the bottom right of page 6, which shows that for each slot a different RV is used), and wherein the TBoMS comprises one or more CBs (see page 5, transmitting the encoded data within the TBoMS / a code block).
Although Samsung disclose encoding with code and performing rate matching on the code for each of the multiple slots of the TBoMS;
Samsung however does not explicitly disclose the encoding is performed with an low density parity check, LDPC, base graph;
Kim however disclose A method performed by a terminal device (see Fig.5, para. 0068-0070, encode/encoding a signal for transmission to a base station), comprising: encoding performed with an low density parity check, LDPC, base graph (see para. 0069-0070, 0073-0074, 0077-0079, encoding based on a LDCP base graph, see also Fig.4, para. 0067, FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating an example TBoMS. As illustrated in FIG. 4, a timeframe 410 includes one or more slots, see also Fig.5, para. 0068).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a method performed by a terminal device comprising: encoding is performed with an low density parity check, LDPC, base graph, as taught by Kim, in the system of Samsung, so that each CB is passed to an encoder (such as an encoder for turbo coding) and the encoder uses turbo coding in connection with CRC and polar code (for error correction) or low
density parity check code (LDPC) to encode data, see Kim, paragraphs 0001, 0064-0065.
As per claim 3, the combination of Samsung and Kim disclose the method according to claim 1.
Kim further disclose receiving a first indication indicating a first number of slots for a TBoMS transmission (see Fig.4, para. 0067, As illustrated in FIG. 4, a timeframe 410 includes one or more slots, the one or more slots are associated with a single TB for TBoMS, see also para. 0088); and determining a set of slots to be used for the TBoMS transmission based on the first indication and obtained TDD or FDD configuration information (see Fig.2B, para. 0046, Fig.9, para. 0082, 0085, At 902, the UE calculates a slot length for each UL slot of a plurality of UL slots. The slot length for each UL slot is associated with a plurality of rate matching output bits. Each UL slot includes a starting point for the plurality of rate matching output bits., and use frequency division duplexed (FDD) in which for a particular set of
subcarriers ( carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of sub carriers are dedicated for either DL or UL, or use time division duplexed (TDD) in which for a particular set of sub carriers ( carrier system bandwidth), subframes within the set of subcarriers are dedicated for both DL and UL).
As per claim 4, the combination of Samsung and Kim disclose the method according to claim 1.
Kim further disclose wherein the TBoMS comprises one CB (see para. 0066, Rate matching is performed over CBs and is performed after the CBs are turbo encoded. Rate matching output size is determined before starting the first slot PUSCH of the TBoMS).
As per claim 5, the combination of Samsung and Kim disclose the method according to claim 1.
Samsung further disclose wherein one or more of the followings applies: a same redundancy version, RV, is indicated or pre-determined for all CBs; a respective RV is indicated or pre-determined for each CB; a same RV pattern is indicated or pre-determined for all CBs, wherein an RV cycle according to the RV pattern is performed within a CB, or across CBs; a respective RV pattern is indicated or pre-determined for each CB; a same starting RV is indicated or pre-determined for all CBs according to the RV pattern; or a respective starting RV is indicated or pre-determined for each CB according to the RV pattern (see Fig.4, page 6, section 2.5, a respective starting RV is indicated or pre-determined for each CB according to the RV pattern).
As per claim 7, claim 7 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 9, claim 9 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 10, claim 10 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As per claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Kim also disclose A terminal device (Fig.1, US 104, para. 0043, Fig.3, a UE 350, para. 0054), comprising: one or more processors (see Fig.3, Controller/Processor 359); and one or more memories comprising computer program codes (see Fig.3, Memory 36, see para. 0057, the controller/processor 359 is associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data).
As per claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As per claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 5.
Claims 2, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung ("TB processing over multi-slot PUSCH", 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2105326, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 20210510 - 20210527 12 May 2021) in view of Kim ( US provisional 63/192546, filed 24 May 2021), and further in view of Huawei ("CR to 38.212 capturing the Jan18 ad-hoc and RAN1#92 meeting agreements", R1-1803553, 15 March 2018).
As per claim 2, the combination of Samsung and Kim disclose the method according to claim 1.
The combination of Samsung and Kim however does not explicitly disclose wherein a rate matching output sequence length E.sub.r for an r-th CB is determined by:
where N.sub.L is a number of transmission layers that the transport block is mapped onto; Q.sub.m is a modulation order; G is a total number of coded bits available for transmitting the transport block; C′=C if CBGTI is not present in the DCI scheduling the transport block, C is a number of CBs for a TBoMS transmission, otherwise C′ is a number of scheduled CBs of the transport block; and M is a number of times that a CB is rate matched.
Huawei however disclose wherein a rate matching output sequence length E.sub.r for an r-th CB is determined by:
where N.sub.L is a number of transmission layers that the transport block is mapped onto; Q.sub.m is a modulation order; G is a total number of coded bits available for transmitting the transport block; C′=C if CBGTI is not present in the DCI scheduling the transport block, C is a number of CBs for a TBoMS transmission, otherwise C′ is a number of scheduled CBs of the transport block; and M is a number of times that a CB is rate matched (see pages 28-29, an almost identical rule for determining the rate matching output sequence length within the same parameters and the same meaning. The formula disclosed in Huawei merely differs from the claimed formula in that the claim further refers to a parameter M that represents to a number of times that the code block is rate matched. According to the teaching in the first sentence in section 5.4.2, the rate matching is defined per coded block. A skilled person would understand that in the disclosed formula, the operation of dividing the parameter G by the parameter C' apparently relates to the dividing operation of transmitting the transport block in divided manner using
multiple code blocks and rate matching is performed for each code block. The rate matching output
sequence lengths disclosed in Huawei relates to the sequence lengths for each coded block
after rate matching and the parameter M in the claimed formula represents the quantity of slots used for transmitting a code block. As a result, the claimed quantity C'·M represents the total number of slots used for transmitting the transport block).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a rate matching output sequence length E.sub.r for an r-th CB is determined by:
; where N.sub.L is a number of transmission layers that the transport block is mapped onto; Q.sub.m is a modulation order; G is a total number of coded bits available for transmitting the transport block; C′=C if CBGTI is not present in the DCI scheduling the transport block, C is a number of CBs for a TBoMS transmission, otherwise C′ is a number of scheduled CBs of the transport block; and M is a number of times that a CB is rate matched, as taught by Huawei, in the system of Samsung and Kim, to determine the rate matching output sequence length per slot, namely based on the quantity of slots used for transmitting the transport block.
For obtaining the sequence length per slot it is simply required to divide the total number of bits
by the total number of slots. Whether the parameter C' in Samsung is directly replaced by the total
quantity of slots, or instead replaced by an equivalent term, namely the quantity C' of code blocks
multiplied with the number M of slots used for each code block, merely
represents a mathematical variation without inventive merit, see Huawei, page 29-29.
As per claim 8, claim 8 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Second Rejection
Claims 1,7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung ("TB processing over multi-slot PUSCH", 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2105326, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 20210510 - 20210527 12 May 2021), and further in view of Nhan (US Pub. No.:2022/0321269).
As per claim 1, Samsung disclose A method performed by a terminal device (see page 6, uplink transmission, generating the signal are performed by the UE), comprising:
encoding with code (see page 7, encoding using a mother code) on each code block, CB, of a Transport Block over Multiple Slots, TBoMS (see Fig.3, Fig.4, using the mother code to code TBoMS), wherein the TBoMS comprises multiple slots (see Fig.3, slots for the TOTs in Fig.3, the coded bits corresponding to one CB is mapped across the resources of more than one slot and coding/decoding, number of slot / multiple slot, for as TBoMS); and
performing rate matching on the code for each of the multiple slots of the TBoMS (see Fig.3, page 1, performing rate matching operation for multiple slots of the TBoMS), wherein a time unit of the rate matching is per slot in the TBoMS (see page 5, Option 1 and 3: "rate matched for each slot"; see figure at the bottom right of page 6, which shows that for each slot a different RV is used), and wherein the TBoMS comprises one or more CBs (see page 5, transmitting the encoded data within the TBoMS / a code block).
Although Samsung disclose encoding with code and performing rate matching on the code for each of the multiple slots of the TBoMS;
Samsung however does not explicitly disclose the encoding is performed with an low density parity check, LDPC, base graph;
Nhan however disclose A method performed by a terminal device (see Fig.1, Fig.2, para. 0094-0095, user equipment (UE) 110 encode/encoding a signal for transmission to a base station), comprising: encoding performed with an low density parity check, LDPC, base graph (see Table 1, para. 0095-0097, encoding based on a LDCP base graph, see also Fig.3, para. 0099, 0100).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a method performed by a terminal device comprising: encoding is performed with an low density parity check, LDPC, base graph, as taught by Nhan, in the system of Samsung, so as to enable the use of LPDC base graph, see Nhan, paragraphs 0095-0096.
As per claim 7, claim 7 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP TS 38.212, Section 5.4.2 pages 30-32 and Section 6.2 .2, page 34, LDPC base graph selection.
ERICSSON ( "TB Processing over Multi-Slot PUSCH", 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2105653, 20210510 - 20210527 12 May 2021) - section 2.2, disclosed for example in the context of Fig. 3 that in one alternative, rate matching is performed for each slot on an individual basis.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469