DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “and the second heat pipe is provided on the first surface of the substrate” found in at least claim 8, the “wherein the oscillating heat pipe comprises two or more evaporator portions” found in at least claims 10 and 11, the “second evaporator portion” found in at least claim 11, the “plurality of different working fluids” found in at least claim 12, the “one or more electrical connections between at least one electronic circuitry component and at least one photonic component” found in at least claim 13, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2010/0315787 A1).
Re. claim 1: Li discloses an apparatus comprising:
a substrate (120) comprising a first surface (top surface) and a second surface (bottom surface); (see fig. 1A; para. 0020-0023)
at least a first component (first 104B) and a second component (second 104B) each mounted on the first surface of the substrate; (see fig. 1A; para. 0017, 0023)
a plurality of heat transfer means (130) extending through the substrate from the first surface to the second surface; (see fig. 1; para. 0023-0026)
at least part of at least one heat pipe (304) provided on the second surface of the substrate and thermally connected (through 302) to the plurality of heat transfer means; and (see fig. 3; para. 0032-0034)
at least one temperature control means (104A, 308) configured to control temperature of at least one of the components. (see fig. 1, 3, 9; para. 0034-0037, 0049-0051)
Re. claim 2: Li discloses wherein the at least one temperature control means (104A, 308) comprises at least one of the following:
at least one thermoelectric cooler or at least one heater (104A) within the second component. (see fig. 1, 3, 9; para. 0034-0037, 0049-0051)
Re. claim. 3: Li discloses wherein the thermoelectric cooler is mounted on the first surface of the substrate. (the “thermoelectric cooler” limitation is optional because of “or” language from claim 2 and was not chosen)
Re. claim 4: Li discloses wherein the thermoelectric cooler is mounted within a cavity of the substrate. (the “thermoelectric cooler” limitation is optional because of “or” language from claim 2 and was not chosen)
Re. claim 5: Li discloses wherein the thermoelectric cooler is configured to reject heat into the at least one heat pipe. (the “thermoelectric cooler” limitation is optional because of “or” language from claim 2 and was not chosen)
Re. claim 6: Li discloses wherein the plurality of heat transfer means comprises thermal vias (130). (see fig. 1; para. 0023-0026)
Re. claim 15: Li discloses an electronic device (100) comprising one or more apparatus as claimed in claim 1. (see fig. 1; para. 0017-0020)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 9, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0053634 A1).
Re. claim 7: Li fails to disclose:
wherein the plurality of heat transfer means comprises portions of the at least one heat pipe embedded within the substrate.
However, Zhou discloses:
wherein the plurality of heat transfer means comprises portions of the at least one heat pipe (122) embedded within the substrate (110). (see fig. 1, 2; para. 0046-0053)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a heat transfer means of at least one oscillating heat pipe embedded within the substrate of Li as taught by Zhou. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to electrically insulate the heat pipe. (Zhou para. 0005)
Re. claims 9-10, and 12: Li fails to disclose:
wherein the at least one heat pipe comprises at least one oscillating heat pipe.
wherein the oscillating heat pipe comprises two or more evaporator portions.
wherein the oscillating heat pipe comprises a plurality of different working fluids.
However, Zhou discloses:
wherein the at least one heat pipe (122) comprises at least one oscillating heat pipe; (see fig. 1, 2; para. 0028-0029)
wherein the oscillating heat pipe comprises two or more evaporator portions (under 2 device stacks 130). (see fig. 1, 3; para. 0035, 0046, 0053)
wherein the oscillating heat pipe comprises a plurality of different working fluids (water, an alcohol, a ketone, a refrigerant). (see para. 0058-0059)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Li with the oscillating heat pipes and two device stacks taught by Zhou. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to provide more efficient and effective heat transfer. (Zhou para. 0033)
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Zhou as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Refai-Ahmed et al. (US 2012/0098119 A1).
Re. claim 11: Li and Zhou fail to disclose:
wherein the apparatus is configured so that at least one electronic circuitry component rejects heat into an evaporator portion of the oscillating heat pipe and at least one photonic component rejects heat into a second evaporator portion of the oscillating heat pipe.
However, Refai-Ahmed discloses:
wherein the apparatus is configured so that at least one electronic circuitry component (10 with semiconductor 15) rejects heat into an evaporator portion of the oscillating heat pipe and at least one photonic component (second 10 with optical component second 15) rejects heat into a second evaporator portion of the oscillating heat pipe. (see fig. 1-4; para. 0024-0026)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Li and Zhou with at least one photonic component taught by Refai-Ahmed to reject heat into a second portion of the oscillating heat pipe of Zhou. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to increase the thermal contact of the heat producing components in the device. (Refai-Ahmed para. 0012, 0025)
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Refai-Ahmed.
Re. claims 13-14: Li discloses:
one or more electrical connections between at least one electronic circuitry component (first 104B)
Li fails to disclose:
at least one photonic component wherein the one or more electrical connections are provided on the substrate; the second component comprises a photonic component.
Refai-Ahmed discloses:
at least one photonic component (15) wherein the one or more electrical connections (70) are provided on the substrate (20); the second component comprises a photonic component. (see fig. 1, 2; para. 0024-0028)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Li with at least one photonic component taught by Refai-Ahmed to connect it to the substrate of Li. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to increase the thermal contact of the heat producing components in the device. (Refai-Ahmed para. 0012, 0025)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re. claim 8: the limitations of “a first heat pipe and a second heat pipe where the first heat pipe is provided on the second surface of the substrate and thermally connected to the plurality of heat transfer means and the second heat pipe is provided on the first surface of the substrate and thermally connected to at least one of at least one electronic circuitry component” in combination with the remaining limitations in the claim cannot be found in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to place a heat pipe on both a first surface and a second surface of the substrate. Providing two heat pipes on opposite surfaces and connected to the electronic circuitry component would not have provided much benefit of additional heat transfer but would have increased the size and complexity of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mullen et al. (US 2006/0006525 A1) discloses a circuit board with thermal vias to transfer heat from a semiconductor. Hsieh et al. (US 2014/0015106 A1) discloses a semiconductor package with heat pipe heat dissipation.
July 11, 2026
/ADAM B DRAVININKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841