DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 19 recites a “computer-readable recording medium”, however, such medium is not limited to non-transitory media according to the applicant’s specification (page 26, 4th-5th paragraphs), therefore, the claim is directed to a program/software per se, and the claim as a whole is non-statutory. The examiner suggests amending claim 19 to explicitly recite “non-transitory computer-readable recording medium” or equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Renne (UPDATED How to quickly hollow and base models for printing, published 04/29/2020 via YouTube), link provided by the applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Renne discloses:
obtaining three-dimensional intraoral data that is data from scanning an object (see fig 1 below, obtaining 3D intraoral data by scanning an object);
generating a base, based on the three-dimensional intraoral data (see fig 2 below, generating teeth model including a base, by refining the 3D intraoral data);
generating, based on the base, a cylinder that penetrates through a wall of the base (see fig 3 below, generating and positioning cylinders such that each cylinder penetrates through at least one wall of the base);
generating a drain hole by deleting data corresponding to the cylinder from teeth model data including the base (see fig 4 below, generating holes by deleting data from the base of the teeth model where the cylinders lie, thereby generating a final teeth model; wherein the holes are drain ports for resin); and
displaying the teeth model data in which the drain hole is generated (see fig 4 below, displaying the final teeth model).
Fig.1, captured at 0:17
Fig. 2, captured at 5:30
Fig. 3, captured at 7:03
Fig. 4, captured at 7:40
Regarding claim 2, Renne further discloses: wherein the generating of the cylinder comprises receiving a user input with respect to a number of cylinders, a diameter of the cylinder, and a distance from the base to the cylinder (see fig 5-7 below, the number of cylinders, the dimensions of the cylinders, and the position of the cylinders relative to the base are all subjectively determined by the user).
Fig. 5, captured at 5:55
Fig. 6 captured at 6:02
Fig. 7 captured at 6:54
Regarding claim 3, Renne further discloses: wherein the generating of the cylinder comprises determining a position of the cylinder, based on a number of cylinders and a distance from the base to the cylinder (see fig 5-7 above, the position of the cylinders is subjectively determined by the user, and may be based on the number of cylinders and distance from the base).
Regarding claim 8, Renne further discloses: obtaining a teeth region including teeth in the three-dimensional intraoral data, wherein the generating of the drain hole comprises, based on whether or not the cylinder overlaps the teeth region, deleting data corresponding to the cylinder (see fig 2 above, the 3D intraoral data includes teeth regions; and see fig 4, deleting data where the cylinders lie, wherein the cylinders do not overlap with the teeth region).
Regarding claim 9, Renne further discloses: obtaining the teeth model data including the base, by generating mesh data extending from a boundary of the three-dimensional intraoral data to the base (see fig 1-7 above, Renne discloses using Meshmixer, a well-known 3D mesh editor).
Regarding claims 10-12 and 17-19, Renne discloses everything claimed as applied above (see rejection of claims 1-3, 8, and 9).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 9-12, 18, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-10, 12, and 20 of copending application Lee et al. (18/851786). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses:
obtaining three-dimensional intraoral data that is data from scanning an object (see Lee claim 1, “obtaining 3-dimensional oral cavity data by scanning an oral cavity including teeth”);
generating a base, based on the three-dimensional intraoral data (see Lee claim 1, “generating a base based on the 3-dimensioal oral cavity data”);
generating, based on the base, a cylinder that penetrates through a wall of the base (see Lee claim 1, “generating, based on a reference curve of the base, one or more cylinders that pass through a wall of the base”);
generating a drain hole by deleting data corresponding to the cylinder from teeth model data including the base (see Lee claim 1, “generating one or more drain holes by deleting data corresponding to the one or more cylinders from teeth model data including the base”); and
displaying the teeth model data in which the drain hole is generated (see Lee claim 7, “displaying the teeth model data in which the one or more drain holes are generated”).
Regarding claim 2, Lee further discloses: wherein the generating of the cylinder comprises receiving a user input with respect to a number of cylinders, a diameter of the cylinder, and a distance from the base to the cylinder (see Lee clam 9, “receiving a user input regarding a number of the one or more cylinders, diameters of the one or more cylinders, and distances from a reference surface of the base to the one or more cylinders”).
Regarding claim 3, Lee further discloses: wherein the generating of the cylinder comprises determining a position of the cylinder, based on a number of cylinders and a distance from the base to the cylinder (see Lee claim 10, “wherein the generating of the one or more cylinders further comprises determining positions of the one or more cylinders, based on the number of the one or more cylinders and the distances from the reference surface of the base to the one or more cylinders”).
Regarding claim 9, Lee further discloses: obtaining the teeth model data including the base, by generating mesh data extending from a boundary of the three-dimensional intraoral data to the base (see Lee claim 8, “obtaining the teeth model data by generating mesh data extending from an edge of the 3-dimensional oral cavity data to the base”).
Claims 10-12, 18, and 19 recite subject matter similar to claims 1-3 and 9, therefore, are also rejected in view of Lee’s claims 1 and 7-10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Narcisse et al. (EP3673863A1) discloses deleting non-essential data of an intraoral 3D model prior to 3D printing, for reducing printing burden.
Chavez et al. (USPAPN 2020/0306017) discloses a 3D intraoral model with hollow cylinders.
/SJ Park/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675