Election/Restrictions
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/23/2026. Applicant has elected Group II and Species Aiv, corresponding to claims 1 and 4-6. Invention Group I and Species Ai-iii, corresponding to 2-3 and 7-11, are withdrawn from further consideration.
Specification
The specification submitted 2/19/2024 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 2/19/2024 have been accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted up to this point have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the surface of the wafer solar cell” lacks a clear antecedent, so the examiner suggests the following language “the respective surface of the wafer solar cell”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hongming (US # 20210288208) in view of Chiu (US # 20140170804), Fellmeth (cited by applicant in the IDS dated 9/6/2024), and Hacke (US # 20080216887).
Regarding Claim 1, Hongming teaches a device (see Figs. 1-5 and corresponding text) for improving the ohmic contact between a front contact and a doped layer of a wafer solar cell (1) (intended use or function; [0001, 0010, 0032]), the wafer solar cell having a front (sun-facing side), a back (opposite the front), the front contact (grid 5, see Fig. 1), the doped layer (emitter layer) and a back contact (rear contact 3), the device comprising:
two contacting apparatuses, one for making electrical contact with the front contact (12) and the other for making electrical contact with the back contact ([0032]);
a voltage source ([0032]) having a pole for electrical connection to one of the contacting apparatuses and a further pole for electrical connection to the other of the contacting apparatuses ([0032];
and one point light source (13; [0033])
wherein the contacting apparatuses each have:
[withdrawn embodiments], or
Although Hongming discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the other point light source configured and designed to illuminate the back of the wafer solar cell, and wherein the contacting apparatuses each have: a braid or a network consisting of a multiplicity of electrically conductive wires.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Chiu is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a two-point-light-sources apparatus configured and designed to illuminate both the front and the back of the wafer solar cell ([0019, 21] upper light source 13, lower light source 15; see Fig. 1). Fellmouth further teaches that bifacial panel designs can also be improved on both sides with laser enhanced contact optimization (“LECO” improves both front boron emitter and back n-TOPCon).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the direction and quantity of light sources of Hongming with the additional lower light source suggested by Chiu would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Chiu would be to employ a point light source and an other point light source configured and designed to illuminate the back of the wafer solar cell. The rationale for this obvious modification is that an apparatus with dual-side with exposure provides improved contact quality in a bifacial solar panel designs (including the LECO teachings in Fellmouth).
Additionally, although Hongming in view of Chiu and Fellmouth discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein the contacting apparatuses each have: a braid or a network consisting of a multiplicity of electrically conductive wires.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Hacke is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches apparatus wherein contacting apparatuses each have: a braid or a network consisting of a multiplicity of electrically conductive wires ([0047-48]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the contacting apparatus of Hongming in view of Chiu and Fellmouth with the conductive braid suggested by Hacke would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Hacke would be to employ an apparatus wherein the contacting apparatuses each have: a braid or a network consisting of a multiplicity of electrically conductive wires. The rationale for this obvious modification is that the conductive braid decreases the risk of scratching the solar cell and the strands of the braid may be used to contact a small surface ([0047-48]).
Regarding Claim 4, Hacke, as applied to claim 1, teaches the device wherein the multiplicity of electrically conductive wires are formed from metal and/or a metal alloy ([0048, 51]).
Regarding Claim 5, Hacke, as applied to claim 1, teaches the device according to claim 4, wherein the multiplicity of electrically conductive wires are formed from semi-precious and/or precious metals ([0042, 49]).
Regarding Claim 6, Hongming especially in view of Fellmeth, as applied to claim 1, teaches the device wherein the front contact and the back contact have contact fingers arranged parallel to one another (Hongming [0021] describes contact-grid 5 with busbars 6 and fingers 7 running transverse; Fellmeth section 2 discloses fine-line screen-printed finger-grid structure on the front and rear surfaces), having a contact finger width oriented parallel to the surface of the wafer solar cell and perpendicular to a direction of extent of the contact fingers (Fellmeth section 2 describes finger width openings as 24 microns), and in that the wires of the multiplicity of wires each have a width smaller than the contact finger width (result-effective variable because Hongming is a design that requires light to reach the surface of the solar cell; Chiu and Hacke further teach that the wire diameter is a design parameter to be configured intentionally).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899