DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s arguments in the Response dated August 22, 2025 as part of the Request for Continued Examination directed to the rejection set forth in the Final Office Action dated May 22, 2025. Claims 1-15 are pending in the application and subject to examination as part of this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al., US 2014/0090953 A1 (hereinafter Johnson) in view of Jones et al., US 2003/0202690 A1 (hereinafter Jones).
Regarding Claim 1 (Previously Presented): Johnson discloses a system for visually providing electronic gaming machine feedback, comprising:
a mobile interface device (Johnson, a wireless communication bezel assembly; a consumer may touch (or bring into close proximity) a mobile phone enabled with near field communication (NFC) to the wireless communication module in the bezel assembly to initiate a wireless mobile payment [0018]), comprising:
a housing configured to couple to a cabinet that includes an electronic gaming machine, the housing including a feedback indicator projecting from an external surface of the cabinet, the feedback indicator separate from a bill validator and separate from an electronic gaming machine candle atop the electronic gaming machine (Johnson, a one-part bezel housing having a back plate that is connectable to the bill validator that is mounted within the transactional device cabinet and having a front portion attached to the back plate; the tongue of the front portion, when the door is shut on the cabinet, extends through a validator window in the door [0018]), and the feedback indicator positioned on a front portion of the gaming machine proximate to an electronic gaming machine display (Johnson, the cabinet door 212 fitting over the back plate 130 (which is then substantially hidden behind the door 212) and with the front portion 142 of the hollow tongue 140 containing the wireless communication module 150 and the respective front portion 122 of the casing 110 protruding through the validator window 220 [0112] and [Fig. 8]);
one or more illumination elements configured to illuminate the feedback indicator (Johnson, the bezel assembly includes at least one indicator light, wherein each of the at least one indicator lights is oriented to direct emitted light outward from at least one of the front portion and the hollow tongue [0025]) in a plurality of colors and/or blinking patterns (Johnson, in the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated; the LED board receives the signal and actuates the LED lights to flash blue while the communication is in progress; upon completion of the communication, the communication module 150 ceases to output the signal; upon cessation of the receipt of the signal, the LED board returns the LED lights back to the solid green color, indicating an idle state; if a transaction is successful, a positive response may be relayed to the customer; a signal may be sent to the LED board to actuate the LED lights to flash a different color, such as green, to provide this indication to the customer that the transaction has been credited or the information properly conveyed [0110]); and
a near-field communications component including an antenna positioned within the feedback indicator, said near-field communications component configured to communicatively link to a mobile device (Johnson, the wireless communication module 150 includes an antenna 154; the bezel housing 160 is configured with a forward-extending hollow tongue or protrusion 140 for at least partially enclosing the wireless communication module 150 [0086]; details of an exemplary wireless communication module 150 are presented in FIGS. 12 and 13. For example, one protocol that is commonly used for mobile wireless transactions is Near Field Communication (NFC) (ISO/IEC 14443, ISO/IEC 18092,FeliCa) [0102]; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated [0110]); and
wherein a peripheral controller is configured to control the feedback indicator by selectively illuminating the feedback indicator in a plurality of color and/or blinking pattern schemes (Johnson, in the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated; the LED board receives the signal and actuates the LED lights to flash blue while the communication is in progress; upon completion of the communication, the communication module 150 ceases to output the signal; upon cessation of the receipt of the signal, the LED board returns the LED lights back to the solid green color, indicating an idle state; if a transaction is successful, a positive response may be relayed to the customer; a signal may be sent to the LED board to actuate the LED lights to flash a different color, such as green, to provide this indication to the customer that the transaction has been credited or the information properly conveyed [0110]).
Johnson fails to explicitly disclose
lighting pattern based on one or more pre-established conditions related to identification of a counterfeit bill at the electronic gaming machine and/or player tracking data of a player and/or a mobile wallet account data of the player playing associated with said the electronic gaming machine.
Jones teaches
a lighting pattern based on one or more pre-established conditions related to identification of a counterfeit bill at the electronic gaming machine and/or player tracking data of a player and/or a mobile wallet account data of the player playing associated with said the electronic gaming machine (Jones, the machine maintains a count of the total number of counterfeit documents; if this total reaches a certain threshold value, an alarm condition will be generated; the alarm condition may be handled, for example, by turning on a light on the machine or by alerting the central office [0438]).
Johnson discloses a bezel assembly for data reception, which is configured for use as a front face including a note insertion slot for a bill validator in a transactional device (Johnson [0013]). The bezel assembly for data reception includes a bezel housing with a forward-extending hollow protrusion and a data reception assembly (Johnson [0013]). The bezel assembly includes at least one indicator light, wherein each of the at least one indicator lights is oriented to direct emitted light outward from at least one of the front portion and the hollow tongue (Johnson [0025]).
In one example, indicator lights are LED lights electrically connected to an LED board (or multiple LED boards) (Johnson [0110]). In the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color (Johnson [0110]). When the consumer brings the mobile device near the wireless communication module of the bezel assembly, communication is initiated (Johnson [0110]). While the mobile device and the communication module are communicating, the communication module outputs a signal, such as a five-volt (5V) signal, to the LED board (Johnson [0110]). The LED board receives the signal and actuates the LED lights to flash blue while the communication is in progress (Johnson [0110]). Upon completion of the communication, the communication module ceases to output the signal (Johnson [0110]). Upon cessation of the receipt of the signal, the LED board returns the LED lights back to the solid green color, indicating an idle state (Johnson [0110]). If a transaction is successful, a positive response may be relayed to the customer (Johnson [0110]). A signal may be sent to the LED board to actuate the LED lights to flash a different color, such as green, to provide this indication to the customer that the transaction has been credited or the information properly conveyed (Johnson [0110]).
Jones teaches an image processing network for processing image files (Jones [Abstract]). Shortly after the images are captured by a remote capture unit, they are transmitted to a proof of deposit area within that unit (Jones [0124]). The remote capture unit additionally contains hardware and software to detect and process counterfeit documents (Jones [0124]). Jones further teaches wherein the machine maintains a count of the total number of counterfeit documents (Jones [0438]). If this total reaches a certain threshold value, an alarm condition will be generated; the alarm condition may be handled, for example, by turning on a light on the machine or by alerting the central office (Jones [0438]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the bezel assembly with indicator lights to identify a state of the device as disclosed by Johnson with turning on a light on a machine when an alarm condition is generated for counterfeit documents as taught by Jones in order to prevent illegal transactions.
Regarding Claim 3 (Original): Johnson further discloses wherein the one or more pre-established conditions include a condition of one or more peripherals connected to the electronic gaming machine (Johnson, when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated [0110]).
Regarding Claim 5 (Previously Presented): Johnson further discloses wherein said pre-established conditions relate to one or more of the following:
a status of (i) the electronic gaming machine, (ii) peripherals connected to the electronic gaming machine, (iii) player tracking information, (iv) mobile wallet information and (v) security information (Johnson, in the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated; the LED lights to flash blue while the communication is in progress [0110]).
Regarding Claim 6 (Previously Presented): Johnson discloses a system for visually providing gaming machine feedback, comprising:
a mobile interface device (Johnson, a wireless communication bezel assembly; a consumer may touch (or bring into close proximity) a mobile phone enabled with near field communication (NFC) to the wireless communication module in the bezel assembly to initiate a wireless mobile payment [0018]), comprising:
a housing including a button (Johnson, the manual input device 354 may be configured as engageable mechanical switches, capacitive switches, a keypad, a tactile touchpad, a touchscreen, or the like [0126] and [Fig. 15]) configured to project from an external surface of an electronic gaming machine, the feedback indicator separate from a bill validator and separate from an electronic gaming machine candle atop the electronic gaming machine (Johnson, a one-part bezel housing having a back plate that is connectable to the bill validator that is mounted within the transactional device cabinet and having a front portion attached to the back plate; the tongue of the front portion, when the door is shut on the cabinet, extends through a validator window in the door [0018]), and the feedback indicator positioned on a front portion of the electronic gaming machine proximate to an electronic gaming machine display (Johnson, the cabinet door 212 fitting over the back plate 130 (which is then substantially hidden behind the door 212) and with the front portion 142 of the hollow tongue 140 containing the wireless communication module 150 and the respective front portion 122 of the casing 110 protruding through the validator window 220 [0112] and [Fig. 8]);
one or more illumination elements configured to illuminate the feedback indicator (Johnson, the bezel assembly includes at least one indicator light, wherein each of the at least one indicator lights is oriented to direct emitted light outward from at least one of the front portion and the hollow tongue [0025]) in multiple selective colors (Johnson, in the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated; the LED board receives the signal and actuates the LED lights to flash blue while the communication is in progress; upon completion of the communication, the communication module 150 ceases to output the signal; upon cessation of the receipt of the signal, the LED board returns the LED lights back to the solid green color, indicating an idle state; if a transaction is successful, a positive response may be relayed to the customer; a signal may be sent to the LED board to actuate the LED lights to flash a different color, such as green, to provide this indication to the customer that the transaction has been credited or the information properly conveyed [0110]);
a near-field communications component including an antenna positioned within the button, said near-field communications component configured to communicatively link to a mobile device (Johnson, the wireless communication module 150 includes an antenna 154; the bezel housing 160 is configured with a forward-extending hollow tongue or protrusion 140 for at least partially enclosing the wireless communication module 150 [0086]; details of an exemplary wireless communication module 150 are presented in FIGS. 12 and 13. For example, one protocol that is commonly used for mobile wireless transactions is Near Field Communication (NFC) (ISO/IEC 14443, ISO/IEC 18092,FeliCa) [0102]; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated [0110]); and
wherein a peripheral controller is configured to control the feedback indicator by selectively illuminating the feedback indicator in a plurality of color schemes (Johnson, in the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated; the LED board receives the signal and actuates the LED lights to flash blue while the communication is in progress; upon completion of the communication, the communication module 150 ceases to output the signal; upon cessation of the receipt of the signal, the LED board returns the LED lights back to the solid green color, indicating an idle state; if a transaction is successful, a positive response may be relayed to the customer; a signal may be sent to the LED board to actuate the LED lights to flash a different color, such as green, to provide this indication to the customer that the transaction has been credited or the information properly conveyed [0110])
Johnson fails to explicitly disclose a lighting pattern based on one or more pre-established conditions related to identification of a counterfeit bill at the electronic gaming machine and/or player tracking data of a player and/or a mobile wallet account data of the player playing the electronic gaming machine.
Jones teaches a lighting pattern based on one or more pre-established conditions related to identification of a counterfeit bill at the electronic gaming machine and/or player tracking data of a player and/or a mobile wallet account data of the player playing the electronic gaming machine (Jones, the machine maintains a count of the total number of counterfeit documents; if this total reaches a certain threshold value, an alarm condition will be generated; the alarm condition may be handled, for example, by turning on a light on the machine or by alerting the central office [0438]).
As recited above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the bezel assembly with indicator lights to identify a state of the device as disclosed by Johnson with turning on a light on a machine when an alarm condition is generated for counterfeit documents as taught by Jones in order to prevent illegal transactions.
Regarding Claim 8 (Original): Johnson further discloses wherein the one or more pre-established conditions include a condition of one or more peripherals connected to the electronic gaming machine (Johnson, when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated [0110]).
Regarding Claim 10 (Previously Presented): Johnson further discloses wherein said pre-established conditions relate to one or more of the following:
a status of (i) the electronic gaming machine, (ii) peripherals connected to the electronic gaming machine (Johnson, in the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated; the LED lights to flash blue while the communication is in progress [0110]), (iii) player tracking information, (iv) mobile wallet information and (v) security information.
Regarding Claim 11 (Previously Presented): Johnson discloses a system for visually providing feedback associated with an electronic gaming machine, a player of the electronic gaming machine or a casino, comprising:
a mobile interface device (Johnson, a wireless communication bezel assembly; a consumer may touch (or bring into close proximity) a mobile phone enabled with near field communication (NFC) to the wireless communication module in the bezel assembly to initiate a wireless mobile payment [0018]), comprising:
a housing including a feedback indicator configured to project from an external surface of the electronic gaming machine, said feedback indicator separate from a bill validator and separate from a gaming machine candle atop the electronic gaming machine (Johnson, a one-part bezel housing having a back plate that is connectable to the bill validator that is mounted within the transactional device cabinet and having a front portion attached to the back plate; the tongue of the front portion, when the door is shut on the cabinet, extends through a validator window in the door [0018]), and the feedback indicator positioned on a front portion of the electronic gaming machine proximate to an electronic gaming machine display (Johnson, the cabinet door 212 fitting over the back plate 130 (which is then substantially hidden behind the door 212) and with the front portion 142 of the hollow tongue 140 containing the wireless communication module 150 and the respective front portion 122 of the casing 110 protruding through the validator window 220 [0112] and [Fig. 8]);
one or more illumination elements within said housing configured to illuminate the feedback indicator (Johnson, the bezel assembly includes at least one indicator light, wherein each of the at least one indicator lights is oriented to direct emitted light outward from at least one of the front portion and the hollow tongue [0025]) in multiple unique colors (Johnson, in the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated; the LED board receives the signal and actuates the LED lights to flash blue while the communication is in progress; upon completion of the communication, the communication module 150 ceases to output the signal; upon cessation of the receipt of the signal, the LED board returns the LED lights back to the solid green color, indicating an idle state; if a transaction is successful, a positive response may be relayed to the customer; a signal may be sent to the LED board to actuate the LED lights to flash a different color, such as green, to provide this indication to the customer that the transaction has been credited or the information properly conveyed [0110]); and
a near-field communications component including an antenna positioned within the feedback indicator, said near-field communications component configured to communicatively link to a mobile device (Johnson, the wireless communication module 150 includes an antenna 154; the bezel housing 160 is configured with a forward-extending hollow tongue or protrusion 140 for at least partially enclosing the wireless communication module 150 [0086]; details of an exemplary wireless communication module 150 are presented in FIGS. 12 and 13. For example, one protocol that is commonly used for mobile wireless transactions is Near Field Communication (NFC) (ISO/IEC 14443, ISO/IEC 18092,FeliCa) [0102]; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated [0110]); and
wherein a peripheral controller is configured to illuminate the feedback indicator in:
(i) one static color from the multiple unique colors or (ii) a blinking pattern in one or more colors from the multiple unique colors, the one static color and/or pattern (Johnson, in the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated; the LED board receives the signal and actuates the LED lights to flash blue while the communication is in progress; upon completion of the communication, the communication module 150 ceases to output the signal; upon cessation of the receipt of the signal, the LED board returns the LED lights back to the solid green color, indicating an idle state; if a transaction is successful, a positive response may be relayed to the customer; a signal may be sent to the LED board to actuate the LED lights to flash a different color, such as green, to provide this indication to the customer that the transaction has been credited or the information properly conveyed [0110]).
Johnson fails to explicitly disclose a lighting pattern related to one or more of
(i) identification of a counterfeit bill at the electronic gaming machine;
(ii) player tracking data; and (iii) mobile wallet account data.
Jones teaches
(i) identification of a counterfeit bill at the electronic gaming machine (Jones, the machine maintains a count of the total number of counterfeit documents; if this total reaches a certain threshold value, an alarm condition will be generated; the alarm condition may be handled, for example, by turning on a light on the machine or by alerting the central office [0438]);
(ii) player tracking data; and (iii) mobile wallet account data.
As recited above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the bezel assembly with indicator lights to identify a state of the device as disclosed by Johnson with turning on a light on a machine when an alarm condition is generated for counterfeit documents as taught by Jones in order to prevent illegal transactions.
Regarding Claim 12 (Original): Jones further teaches wherein the security concern is counterfeit currency (Jones, the machine maintains a count of the total number of counterfeit documents; if this total reaches a certain threshold value, an alarm condition will be generated; the alarm condition may be handled, for example, by turning on a light on the machine or by alerting the central office [0438]).
Claims 2, 7, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson, in view of Jones, and further in view of Paulsen et al., US 2004/0053663 A1 (hereinafter Paulsen).
Regarding Claims 2 (Previously Presented) and 7 (Previously Presented): Johnson, as modified, discloses the invention as recited above. Johnson, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose a user interface for entering the plurality of color and/or blinking pattern schemes for the peripheral controller to follow.
Paulsen teaches a user interface for entering the plurality of color and/or blinking pattern schemes for the peripheral controller to follow (Paulsen, in one embodiment, the method wherein the step of programming the processor may further include the steps of providing a user input panel, choosing the combination of lights and colors to be displayed, sending an electrical signal to the processor, signaling an I/O interface, signaling the coding and buffering system, signaling a pulse width modulator in order to control a current driver in order to control the LEDs according to the combination chosen by the user; the method wherein the steps of automatically triggering the first customized illumination pattern may occur via sending an electrical signal to the processor, signaling an I/O interface, signaling a coding and buffer system, signaling a pulse width modulator in order to control the current driver, in order to control the LEDs according to the combination chosen by the user [0010]).
Johnson discloses a bezel assembly for data reception, which is configured for use as a front face including a note insertion slot for a bill validator in a transactional device (Johnson [0013]). The bezel assembly for data reception includes a bezel housing with a forward-extending hollow protrusion and a data reception assembly (Johnson [0013]). The bezel assembly includes at least one indicator light, wherein each of the at least one indicator lights is oriented to direct emitted light outward from at least one of the front portion and the hollow tongue (Johnson [0025]).
In one example, indicator lights are LED lights electrically connected to an LED board (or multiple LED boards) (Johnson [0110]). In the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color (Johnson [0110]). When the consumer brings the mobile device near the wireless communication module of the bezel assembly, communication is initiated (Johnson [0110]). While the mobile device and the communication module are communicating, the communication module outputs a signal, such as a five-volt (5V) signal, to the LED board (Johnson [0110]). The LED board receives the signal and actuates the LED lights to flash blue while the communication is in progress (Johnson [0110]). Upon completion of the communication, the communication module ceases to output the signal (Johnson [0110]). Upon cessation of the receipt of the signal, the LED board returns the LED lights back to the solid green color, indicating an idle state (Johnson [0110]). If a transaction is successful, a positive response may be relayed to the customer (Johnson [0110]). A signal may be sent to the LED board to actuate the LED lights to flash a different color, such as green, to provide this indication to the customer that the transaction has been credited or the information properly conveyed (Johnson [0110]).
Paulsen teaches an improved external visual indicator, such as a candle or a visual display panel provided for a gaming machine having lights such as LEDs which are programmable via a processor of the gaming machine (Paulsen [Abstract]). The reprogrammability of the illumination sequence and colors of the candle or visual display panel may provide for the promotion of bonusing and to aid in the servicing of gaming machines (Paulsen [Abstract]). Any assortment of colors of LEDs and combinations thereof may be provided and programmed via the processor of the gaming machine (Paulsen [Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the bezel assembly with indicator lights to identify a state of the device as disclosed by Johnson with the user input panel that allows users to choose the combination of lights and colors to be displayed by an external visual indicator as taught by Paulsen in order to customize the lighting signals of the gaming machine.
Regarding Claim 14 (Previously Presented): Johnson discloses a system comprising:
a machine comprising a:
a mobile interface device (Johnson, a wireless communication bezel assembly; a consumer may touch (or bring into close proximity) a mobile phone enabled with near field communication (NFC) to the wireless communication module in the bezel assembly to initiate a wireless mobile payment [0018]), comprising:
a housing including a feedback indicator configured to project from an external surface of the machine (Johnson, a one-part bezel housing having a back plate that is connectable to the bill validator that is mounted within the transactional device cabinet and having a front portion attached to the back plate; the tongue of the front portion, when the door is shut on the cabinet, extends through a validator window in the door [0018]);
one or more illumination elements configured to illuminate the feedback indicator in multiple unique colors (Johnson, referring now to FIG. 7, the front portion 122 of the bezel assembly for data reception 100 includes one or more illuminated indicator lights 170, 172, which may be integrated into any of the embodiments of the present invention, though the indicator lights 170, 172 are shown with the bezel of the first embodiment; the indicator lights 170, 172 are located to be visible to the consumer who is using the bezel assembly for data reception 100 and are configured to provide a signal or to convey additional information to the consumer about the transactional device or the wireless communication, to convey data concerning the bezel assembly 100 to technicians, to display an aesthetically pleasing graphic, and the like; the indicator lights may include base lighting elements 170 and/or hood lighting elements 172; the base lighting elements 170 are installed within the forward-extending hollow tongue 140; the base lighting elements 170 can be installed in any portion of the forward-extending hollow tongue 140, including the tongue sidewall 143 (as shown), the tongue top surface 144 and/or the tongue bottom surface 145; the hood lighting elements 172 are preferably assembled to the hood 126 [0107]; the indicator lights 170, 172 may be inset within the walls of the front portion 122 with the tops of the indicator light flush with the outer surface of the wall; they may protrude slightly above the outer surface of the wall; or they may be enclosed within the front portion 122 with only the glow viewable through the material of the front portion 122 [0108]; the indicator lights 170, 172 may be disposed in various areas of the front portion 122; the indicator lights 170, 172 may be of a single color or multiple colors, as preferred to provide the desired indication or indications to the consumer [0109]);
a near-field communications component including an antenna positioned within the feedback indicator, said near-field communications component configured to communicatively link to a mobile device (Johnson, the wireless communication module 150 includes an antenna 154; the bezel housing 160 is configured with a forward-extending hollow tongue or protrusion 140 for at least partially enclosing the wireless communication module 150 [0086]; details of an exemplary wireless communication module 150 are presented in FIGS. 12 and 13. For example, one protocol that is commonly used for mobile wireless transactions is Near Field Communication (NFC) (ISO/IEC 14443, ISO/IEC 18092,FeliCa) [0102]; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated [0110]); and
a peripheral controller configured to perform an illumination scheme comprising illuminating the feedback indicator in:
(i) one static color from the multiple unique colors or (ii) a blinking pattern of one or more colors from the multiple colors based on one or more pre-established conditions (Johnson, in the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated; the LED board receives the signal and actuates the LED lights to flash blue while the communication is in progress; upon completion of the communication, the communication module 150 ceases to output the signal; upon cessation of the receipt of the signal, the LED board returns the LED lights back to the solid green color, indicating an idle state; if a transaction is successful, a positive response may be relayed to the customer; a signal may be sent to the LED board to actuate the LED lights to flash a different color, such as green, to provide this indication to the customer that the transaction has been credited or the information properly conveyed [0110]).
Johnson fails to explicitly disclose
multiple machines connected via a network;
a lighting pattern based on one or more pre-established conditions related to identification of a counterfeit bill at the electronic gaming machine and/or player tracking data of a player and/or a mobile wallet account data of the player playing machine or use thereof; and
a user interface associated with the network, the user interface configured to facilitate an input of the pre-established conditions and the illumination scheme for use by the peripheral controller of each machine.
Paulsen teaches
multiple machines connected via a network (Paulsen, it is known that gaming machines may be connected through a local area network [0045]);
a user interface associated with the network, the user interface configured to facilitate the input of the pre-established conditions and illumination scheme for use by the peripheral controller of each machine (Paulsen, in one embodiment, the method wherein the step of programming the processor may further include the steps of providing a user input panel, choosing the combination of lights and colors to be displayed, sending an electrical signal to the processor, signaling an I/O interface, signaling the coding and buffering system, signaling a pulse width modulator in order to control a current driver in order to control the LEDs according to the combination chosen by the user; the method wherein the steps of automatically triggering the first customized illumination pattern may occur via sending an electrical signal to the processor, signaling an I/O interface, signaling a coding and buffer system, signaling a pulse width modulator in order to control the current driver, in order to control the LEDs according to the combination chosen by the user [0010]).
As recited above with respect to claims 2 and 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the bezel assembly with indicator lights to identify a state of the device as disclosed by Johnson with the user input panel that allows users to choose the combination of lights and colors to be displayed by an external visual indicator as taught by Paulsen in order to customize the lighting signals of the gaming machine.
Jones teaches
a lighting pattern based on one or more pre-established conditions related to identification of a counterfeit bill at the electronic gaming machine and/or player tracking data of a player and/or a mobile wallet account data of the player playing associated with said the electronic gaming machine (Jones, the machine maintains a count of the total number of counterfeit documents; if this total reaches a certain threshold value, an alarm condition will be generated; the alarm condition may be handled, for example, by turning on a light on the machine or by alerting the central office [0438]).
As recited above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the bezel assembly with indicator lights to identify a state of the device as disclosed by Johnson with turning on a light on a machine when an alarm condition is generated for counterfeit documents as taught by Jones in order to prevent illegal transactions.
Regarding Claim 15 (Previously Presented): Johnson further discloses wherein the pre-established conditions relate to (i) a status of each of the machines or an associated peripheral (Johnson, in the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color; when the consumer brings the mobile device 250 near the wireless communication module 150 of the bezel assembly 100, communication is initiated; the LED lights to flash blue while the communication is in progress [0110]); (ii) player tracking status; (iii) security concern and (iv) mobile wallet status.
Claims 4, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson, in view of Jones, and further in view of Brunnell et al., US 2012/0178528 A1 (hereinafter Brunnell).
Regarding Claims 4 (Original), 9 (Original), and 13 (Original): Johnson, as modified, discloses the invention as recited above. Johnson, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the peripheral controller is further configured to illuminate the feedback indicator in a particular color during a particular time of day.
Brunnell teaches wherein the peripheral controller is further configured to illuminate the feedback indicator in a particular color during a particular time of day (Brunnell, each of the emotive light controllers 164, 165, of FIGS. 1A and 1B, can be configured differently to process show numbers and frame numbers based on information such as ... a time of day ... or any other information that could relate to how and when to present light shows using the emotive lighting devices 190, 191 [0068]).
Johnson discloses a bezel assembly for data reception, which is configured for use as a front face including a note insertion slot for a bill validator in a transactional device (Johnson [0013]). The bezel assembly for data reception includes a bezel housing with a forward-extending hollow protrusion and a data reception assembly (Johnson [0013]). The bezel assembly includes at least one indicator light, wherein each of the at least one indicator lights is oriented to direct emitted light outward from at least one of the front portion and the hollow tongue (Johnson [0025]).
Brunnell teaches examples of controlling wagering game lighting content from multiple sources in a wagering game network (e.g., a casino network) (Brunnell [0059]). A wagering game server and a casino network lighting controller (e.g., a casino network emotive light controller) are connected to a communications network (Brunnell [0061]). The casino network emotive light controller can be connected to emotive lighting devices associated with (e.g., surrounding) the wagering game machines (Brunnell [0061]). The casino network emotive light controller can be connected to the emotive lighting devices via a dedicated casino-wide lighting network (e.g., included in the communications network(s)). However, the actual lighting devices used in conjunction with a lighting effect can be any lighting device that produces viewable light that can be seen by a casino patron (Brunnell [0085]). The lighting may be configuration to present a light show at a particular time of day (Brunnell [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the method of controlling wagering game lighting content in a wagering game network as taught by Brunnell to the bezel assembly with indicator lights as disclosed by Johnson in order to attract frequent play and hence increase profitability to the operator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states “Jones fails to disclose (i) any alert, light or otherwise, responsive to a single counterfeit bill being detected or (ii) color/blinking pattern scheme” (Response [p. 7]).
One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant appears to stress that the alert must be for a single counterfeit bill.
Jones discloses wherein detection of a certain threshold value of counterfeit bills can initiate an alarm condition that causes a light on the machine to turn on (Jones [0438]). The examiner does not read Jones as limiting the alert condition to a specific number of counterfeit bills. It is clear that, in order to be able to provide an alert condition for a certain threshold value of counterfeit bills, the machine must keep track of each individual instance of counterfeit bills. Therefore, the “certain threshold value” could be set to one, two, three, or any other number desired by the game provider. The examiner interprets Jones to allow a light to light up for one or more counterfeit bills. It makes sense that a machine should alert a user that the bill that he just inserted is counterfeit immediately upon insertion into the bill slot, rather than alerting a user only once a plurality of counterfeit bills has been inserted.
Next, applicant argues:
The combination of Johnson and Jones fails to disclose a peripheral controller is configured to control the feedback indicator by selectively illuminating the feedback indicator in a plurality of color and/or blinking pattern schemes based on one or more pre-established conditions related to identification of a counterfeit bill at the electronic gaming machine and/or player tracking data of a player and/or a mobile wallet account data of the player playing the electronic gaming machine” (Response [pp. 7-8]).
The examiner disagrees.
Johnson discloses a bezel assembly for data reception, which is configured for use as a front face including a note insertion slot for a bill validator in a transactional device (Johnson [0013]). The bezel assembly includes at least one indicator light (Johnson [0025]). In one embodiment, indicator lights are LED lights that light up green or blue (Johnson [0110]). In the idle state the LED lights are lit to a solid green color (Johnson [0110]). When the consumer brings the mobile device near the wireless communication module of the bezel assembly, communication is initiated (Johnson [0110]). While the mobile device and the communication module are communicating, the LED lights to flash blue (Johnson [0110]). If a transaction is successful, a positive response may be relayed to the customer, such as a flashing green light (Johnson [0110]).
Therefore, Johnson discloses a peripheral controller is configured to control the feedback indicator by selectively illuminating the feedback indicator in a plurality of color (e.g., blue and green) and blinking pattern schemes (e.g., steady or flashing) based on one or more pre-established conditions (e.g., idle state, while communication is in progress, and successful transaction). Johnson does not, however, disclose a lighting pattern based on one or more pre-established conditions related to identification of a counterfeit bill at the electronic gaming machine and/or player tracking data of a player and/or a mobile wallet account data of the player playing associated with said the electronic gaming machine.
Jones teaches an image processing network for processing image files (Jones [Abstract]). Shortly after the images are captured by a remote capture unit, they are transmitted to a proof of deposit area within that unit (Jones [0124]). The remote capture unit additionally contains hardware and software to detect and process counterfeit documents (Jones [0124]). Jones further teaches wherein the machine maintains a count of the total number of counterfeit documents (Jones [0438]). If this total reaches a certain threshold value, an alarm condition will be generated; the alarm condition may be handled, for example, by turning on a light on the machine or by alerting the central office (Jones [0438]).
Since Johnson discloses a bezel with an insertion slot for a bill validator and also includes illuminating a feedback indicator in a plurality of color and blinking pattern schemes based on a plurality of pre-established conditions, it would have been obvious to combine it with Jones thereby allowing for a visual alert condition if a threshold value of counterfeit bills are detected.
The examiner maintains that the rejections of claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, and 14-15 under 35 USC 103 over Johnson in view of Jones are proper.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WERNER G GARNER/Primary Examiner, Art Uni