CTNF 18/581,676 CTNF 85789 DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4, 6-11 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grotsch et al. US 2013/0146919 A1 in view of Waqar et al. “Science Direct - Multilayer AR coatings of TiO2MgF2 for application in optoelectronic devices (Volume 136, May 2017, pages 564-572)” . Regarding claims 1, 4, 6-10 and 15-19, Grotsch discloses: A semiconductor light-emitting device (Fig. 5) comprising: a light emitting structure (10); a wavelength conversion member (40) arranged on an upper surface of the light emitting structure, the wavelength conversion member including a first surface (bottom of 40) in contact with the light emitting structure, a second surface (top of 40) opposite to the first surface, and a sidewall, wherein the first surface entirely covers the upper surface of the light emitting structure, and a portion of the sidewall adjacent to the first surface is slanted with respect to the first surface. Grotsch does not disclose: a coating layer arranged on the second surface of the wavelength conversion member, the coating layer including a first material layer and a second material layer alternately stacked on the second surface of the coating layer, wherein the first material layer comprises an oxide, and the second material layer comprises magnesium fluoride (MgF2), wherein the second material layer is arranged at an uppermost surface of the coating layer. Waqar discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which: a coating layer including a first material layer and a second material layer alternately stacked on the second surface of the coating layer, wherein the first material layer comprises an oxide, and the second material layer comprises magnesium fluoride (MgF2), wherein the second material layer is arranged at an uppermost surface of the coating layer (see Table 1. 10 layers – TiO2 for layers 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and MgF2 for layers 2, 4, 6, 8, 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the coating layer of Waqar on the second surface of the wavelength conversion member of Grotsch since such multilayer coatings provide high antireflection suitable for photovoltaic cells and optoelectronic devices (see Waqar; Abstract). (claim 4) Grotsch: Fig. 5. (claim 6) Waqar: Table 1. (claim 7) Waqar: Table 1. (claim 8) Waqar: Table 2. (claim 9) Waqar: Table 1. (claim 10) as in the combination of Grotsch/Waqar. (claim 15) Waqar: Table 1. (claim 16) Waqar: Table 1. (claim 17) Waqar: Table 2. (claim 18) Waqar: Table 2. (claim 19) Waqar: Table 2. Regarding claims 11, Grotsch discloses: A semiconductor light-emitting device (Fig. 5) comprising: a light emitting structure (10); a wavelength conversion member (40) arranged on an upper surface of the light emitting structure, the wavelength conversion member including a first surface (bottom of 40) in contact with the light emitting structure, a second surface (top of 40) opposite to the first surface, and a sidewall, wherein the first surface entirely covers the upper surface of the light emitting structure, and the sidewall includes a slanted surface slanted with respect to the first surface at a location adjacent to the first surface. Grotsch does not disclose: a coating layer arranged on the second surface of the wavelength conversion member, the coating layer including a first material layer and a second material layer alternately stacked on the second surface, wherein the first material layer comprises an oxide, the second material layer comprises magnesium fluoride (MgF2), and the second material layer is arranged at the uppermost surface of the coating layer, wherein the first material layer has a first refractive index, and the second material layer has a second refractive index, wherein the second refractive index is less than the first refractive index. Waqar discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which: the coating layer including a first material layer and a second material layer alternately stacked on the second surface, wherein the first material layer comprises an oxide, the second material layer comprises magnesium fluoride (MgF2), and the second material layer is arranged at the uppermost surface of the coating layer, wherein the first material layer has a first refractive index, and the second material layer has a second refractive index, wherein the second refractive index is less than the first refractive index (see Table 1. 10 layers – TiO2 for layers 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and MgF2 for layers 2, 4, 6, 8, 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the coating layer of Waqar on the second surface of the wavelength conversion member of Grotsch since such multilayer coatings provide high antireflection suitable for photovoltaic cells and optoelectronic devices (see Waqar; Abstract) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 3, 5, 12-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grotsch et al. US 2013/0146919 A1 in view of Waqar et al. “Science Direct - Multilayer AR coatings of TiO2MgF2 for application in optoelectronic devices (Volume 136, May 2017, pages 564-572)” in further view of Murazaki US 2024/0263070 A1 . Regarding claim 2, 3, 5 and 12-14, Grotsch/Waqar do not disclose: (claim 2) wherein the wavelength conversion member comprises: a base material layer; phosphors dispersed in the base material layer; and inorganic oxide particles dispersed in the base material layer, and wherein the inorganic oxide particles comprise oxide powder having an average particle size of about 1 micrometer to about 50 micrometers; (claim 3) wherein the base material layer comprises ceramic or glass, and wherein the phosphors are configured to convert light emitted by the light emitting structure and having a first wavelength into light having a second wavelength, wherein the second wavelength is greater than the first wavelength; (claim 5) further comprising: a reflection layer surrounding a sidewall of the light emitting structure and the sidewall of the wavelength conversion member, wherein the reflection layer contacts the portion of the sidewall of the wavelength conversion member; (claim 12) wherein the wavelength conversion member comprises: a base material layer; phosphors dispersed in the base material layer; and inorganic oxide particles dispersed in the base material layer, and wherein the inorganic oxide particles comprise oxide powder having an average particle size of about 1 micrometer to about 50 micrometers; (claim 13) wherein the base material layer comprises ceramic or glass, wherein the phosphors are configured to convert light emitted by the light emitting structure and having a first wavelength into light having a second wavelength, wherein the second wavelength is greater than the first wavelength, and wherein the first wavelength is about 400 nm to about 700 nm; (claim 14) further comprising a reflection layer surrounding a sidewall of the light emitting structure and the sidewall of the wavelength conversion member. Murazaki discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which: (claim 2) wherein the wavelength conversion member comprises: a base material layer (para 0064; resin); phosphors dispersed in the base material layer (paras 0063-0064; phosphor); and inorganic oxide particles (para 0064; two or more types of oxide phosphors) dispersed in the base material layer, and wherein the inorganic oxide particles comprise oxide powder having an average particle size of about 1 micrometer to about 50 micrometers (para 0114); (claim 3) wherein the base material layer comprises ceramic or glass (para 0063), and wherein the phosphors are configured to convert light emitted by the light emitting structure and having a first wavelength into light having a second wavelength, wherein the second wavelength is greater than the first wavelength (i.e. para 0035); (claim 5) further comprising: a reflection layer (90) surrounding a sidewall of the light emitting structure (10) and the sidewall of the wavelength conversion member (52), wherein the reflection layer contacts the portion of the sidewall of the wavelength conversion member; (claim 12) wherein the wavelength conversion member comprises: a base material layer (para 0064; resin); phosphors dispersed in the base material layer (paras 0063-0064; phosphor); and inorganic oxide particles (para 0064; two or more types of oxide phosphors) dispersed in the base material layer, and wherein the inorganic oxide particles comprise oxide powder having an average particle size of about 1 micrometer to about 50 micrometers (para 0114); (claim 13) wherein the base material layer comprises ceramic or glass (para 0063), wherein the phosphors are configured to convert light emitted by the light emitting structure and having a first wavelength into light having a second wavelength, wherein the second wavelength is greater than the first wavelength, and wherein the first wavelength is about 400 nm to about 700 nm (i.e. para 0035); (claim 14) further comprising a reflection layer (90) surrounding a sidewall of the light emitting structure (10) and the sidewall of the wavelength conversion member (52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to surround the light emitting structure of Grotsch/Waqar with the reflection layer and composition of the wavelength conversion member of Murazaki to determine a specific light source capable of near infrared light ranges such as those required in analytical instruments for medical use or food products. Regarding claims 20, Grotsch discloses: A semiconductor light-emitting device (Fig. 5) comprising: a light emitting structure (10) including a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (13), an active layer (12), and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (13), wherein the light emitting structure is configured to emit light having a wavelength range of about 400 nm to about 700 nm (para 0050); a wavelength conversion member (40/48) arranged on an upper surface of the light emitting structure, the wavelength conversion member including a first surface (bottom of 40) in contact with the light emitting structure, a second surface (top of 48) opposite to the first surface, and a sidewall, wherein a first portion of the sidewall adjacent to the first surface is slanted with respect to the first surface and a second portion of the sidewall adjacent to the second surface extends vertically with respect to the second surface. Grotsch does not disclose: a coating layer arranged on the second surface of the wavelength conversion member, the coating layer including a first material layer and a second material layer alternately stacked on the second surface, wherein the first material layer comprises an oxide, the second material layer comprises magnesium fluoride (MgF2), the first material layer and the second material layer function as a distributed Bragg reflector (DBR), and the second material layer is arranged at the uppermost surface of the coating layer, and a reflection layer surrounding a sidewall of the light emitting structure and the sidewall of the wavelength conversion member, wherein the wavelength conversion member comprises: a base material layer; phosphors dispersed in the base material layer; and inorganic oxide particles dispersed in the base material layer. Waqar discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which: a coating layer arranged on the second surface of the wavelength conversion member, the coating layer including a first material layer and a second material layer alternately stacked on the second surface, wherein the first material layer comprises an oxide, the second material layer comprises magnesium fluoride (MgF2), the first material layer and the second material layer function as a distributed Bragg reflector (DBR), and the second material layer is arranged at the uppermost surface of the coating layer (see Table 1. 10 layers – TiO2 for layers 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and MgF2 for layers 2, 4, 6, 8, 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the coating layer of Waqar on the second surface of the wavelength conversion member of Grotsch since such multilayer coatings provide high antireflection suitable for photovoltaic cells and optoelectronic devices (see Waqar; Abstract). Grotsch/Waqar do not disclose: a reflection layer surrounding a sidewall of the light emitting structure and the sidewall of the wavelength conversion member, wherein the wavelength conversion member comprises: a base material layer; phosphors dispersed in the base material layer; and inorganic oxide particles dispersed in the base material layer. Murazaki discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which: a reflection layer (90) surrounding a sidewall of a light emitting structure (10) and the sidewall of the wavelength conversion member (52), wherein the wavelength conversion member comprises: a base material layer (para 0064; resin); phosphors dispersed in the base material layer (paras 0063-0064; phosphor); and inorganic oxide particles dispersed in the base material layer (para 0064; two or more types of oxide phosphors) (Fig. 3B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to surround the light emitting structure of Grotsch/Waqar with the reflection layer and composition of the wavelength conversion member of Murazaki to determine a specific light source capable of near infrared light ranges such as those required in analytical instruments for medical use or food products. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERROL V FERNANDES whose telephone number is (571)270-7433. The examiner can normally be reached on 9-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Britt Hanley can be reached on 571-270-3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ERROL V FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, AU 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/581,676 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/581,676 Page 3 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/581,676 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/581,676 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/581,676 Page 6 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/581,676 Page 7 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/581,676 Page 8 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/581,676 Page 9 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/581,676 Page 10 Art Unit: 2893