Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Please see rejection below for addressing of Applicant’s arguments.
Further, Applicant has submitted two claim drafts.
Claim draft 1: This draft is seen in the actual claim draft, filed 7/21/2026, and has the following limitation in claim 1: “…an optically transparent material, which is coated using an optically transparent, electrically conductive layer; or…”
Claim draft 2: This draft is seen Applicant’s Remarks page 13, filed 7/21/2026, and has the following limitation in claim 1: “…an optically transparent material, which is coated [[using] ]]with an optically transparent, electrically conductive layer; OR…”
Examiner is unsure which version Applicant’s desire to move forward with. Please clarify in a future response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uzu (20190044016)
Regarding claim 1, Uzu teaches an device for improving the ohmic contact between a front side contact and a doped layer of a wafer solar cell, the wafer solar cell comprising a front side, a rear side, the front side contact, the doped layer and a rear side contact (please see fig. 1 and 3; further, please see par. 75-78), the device comprising:
a contacting unit (fig. 7A-7F: 91) for electrically contacting one of the front side or rear side contacts;
a further contacting unit (fig. 7A-7F: 92) for electrically contacting the other of the rear side or front side contacts;
a voltage source (fig. 7A-7F: 90) having one pole for electrical connection to the contact unit and another pole for electrical connection to the further contacting unit;
a point light source (fig. 7A-7F: 99) configured and designed to illuminate the front side or the rear side of the wafer solar cell;
wherein:
the further contacting unit comprises:
an optically transparent material (fig. 7E: 52), which is coated using an optically transparent, electrically conductive layer (par. 93 teaches 52 is a transparent electroconductive layer; please note that 52 is acting as part of the contacting unit by acting s a conduit to send electrical signals to the lower layers); or
an optically transparent material having a multiplicity of microscopically thin, electrically conductive wires, which are integrated into a surface of the optically transparent material (par. 58 teaches a second transparent electrode which is patterned); or
an optically transparent, electrically conductive material having a multiplicity of microscopically thin, electrically conductive wires which are integrated into a surface of the optically transparent, electrically conductive material (par. 81 teaches separation groove separating a first electrode 51 may be filled with an electroconductive material such as a conductive oxide, which are known to be transparent; all elements seen in figs. 4A-4F are microscopic).
Please note that multiple embodiments of prior art are used above. It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, at the time of filing to utilize these embodiments in combination since are related to similar fields of endeavor. Further, elements in embodiments, seen in fig. 4A-4F and 7A-7E, would allow for the creation of a more efficient PV, seen in fig. 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 3, Uzu teaches an device according to claim 1, wherein the multiplicity of microscopically thin, electrically conductive wires are aligned in parallel to one another and embedded as a grid or as a mesh in the surface of the transparent material (please see rejection for claim 1 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 5.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-15 allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818