DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10, 12 and 14- 22 are presented for examination. Claims 11 and 13 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment/Response to Arguments
2. 2.1 The rejection under 101 has been withdrawn since applicant’s amendments and remarks are persuasive and overcome the rejection.
2.2 Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 06/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 14 and 19 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
I. Applicate argues that Hung fails to disclose amended limitations of claim 1, semiconductor wafer transfer comprising oblique insertionof a semiconductor wafer being transferred by the semiconductor wafer transfer into a wafer storage slot; however, newly found prior art, Huang et al. (CN110379735B), discloses semiconductor wafer transfer comprising oblique insertion (Abstract, wafer oblique insertion detection device) of a semiconductor wafer being transferred by the semiconductor wafer transfer into a wafer storage slot (Abstract, A plurality of slots for placing wafers are sequentially arranged on both sides of the crystal boat, and the ranging sensor is arranged on the crystal boat. Inside the bottom, the controller is connected with the ranging sensor, the ranging sensor points to the direction of placing the wafer inside the wafer boat, the controller stores the distance information of the wafer corresponding to each slot). As a result, the previous rejection has been withdrawn and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made, for claim 1, Hung et al. (US 20210193490 A1) in view of Huang (CN110379735B), see the rejection below.
II. Applicate argues that Hiyashi fails to disclose amended limitations of claim 4, analyzing the measured vibration using a sliding window and analyzing the vibration data in each window of vibration data to detect a collision or scratching of the semiconductor wafer during the transfer. However, Hiyashi discloses analyzing the measured vibration using a sliding window ([0092], Fig. 30-34 the frequency spectrum data) and analyzing the vibration data in each window of vibration data ([0094], Based on the voltage data for the intervals R1 and R2, obtained during transfer of a wafer W to a pair of slots 500, the control section 2 calculates the value “the later maximum amplitude−the earlier maximum amplitude=(c−d)−(a−b)” to detect the occurrence of rubbing between the fork 48 and a wafer W lying under the fork 48) to detect a collision or scratching of the semiconductor wafer during the transfer ([0069], [0080]-[0081],[0092], A process for detecting rubbing between a wafer W and the fork 48 upon transfer of a wafer W. Contact (collision and rubbing) occurs between the fork 48 and the wafer W of the slots 502 and a loud sound is generated especially by the collision of the pins 49 of the downwardly-moving fork with the wafer W. Accordingly, the later maximum amplitude (c−d) is larger than the earlier maximum amplitude (a−b); and determined in step S6 that the maximum amplitude difference falls outside of the acceptable range, then the control section 2 performs a Fourier transform on the voltage data, obtained upon the transfer of the wafer W to the slots 503, for the intervals R1 and R2 to determine the frequency spectrum (step S1)). As a result, the previous rejection for claim 14 has been maintained.
III. Applicate argues that Hung fails to disclose amended limitations of claim 19, disposed on a base of the wafer transfer robot. However, Hiyashi discloses such limitations in the Abstract, Par. [0091], [0093], a vibration sensor is attached to the transport robot 44)., As a result, the previous rejection has been withdrawn and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made, for claim 19, Hung et al. (US 20210193490 A1) in view of Hiyashi (US 20150340258 A1). See the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2.1. Claim(s) 14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiyashi (US 20150340258 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Hiyashi discloses measuring vibration of a component during a transfer of a semiconductor wafer (Abstract, [0091],[0093], a vibration sensor is attached to the transport robot 44 and a detection section for detecting rubbing between a substrate and the support based on a detection signal from a vibration sensor which detects a solid-borne sound, propagating through the substrate holding tool, and outputs the detection signal);
analyzing the measured vibration to detect a collision or scratching of the semiconductor wafer during the transfer (Abstract, [0006], [0062], detecting collision of a wafer with a substrate mounting section in the substrate storage container based on the vibration acceleration or the frequency component of vibration detected by the vibration sensor; and 4B indicates scratches on the wafer W caused by rubbing). A substrate transport apparatus for detecting with high accuracy rubbing between a substrate held in a substrate holding tool, and a support which transports a substrate); In addition, Hiyashi discloses analyzing the measured vibration using a sliding window ([0092], Fig. 30-34 the frequency spectrum data) and analyzing the vibration data in each window of vibration data ([0094], Based on the voltage data for the intervals R1 and R2, obtained during transfer of a wafer W to a pair of slots 500, the control section 2 calculates the value “the later maximum amplitude−the earlier maximum amplitude=(c−d)−(a−b)” to detect the occurrence of rubbing between the fork 48 and a wafer W lying under the fork 48) to detect a collision or scratching of the semiconductor wafer during the transfer ([0069], [0080]-[0081],[0092], A process for detecting rubbing between a wafer W and the fork 48 upon transfer of a wafer W. Contact (collision and rubbing) occurs between the fork 48 and the wafer W of the slots 502 and a loud sound is generated especially by the collision of the pins 49 of the downwardly-moving fork with the wafer W. Accordingly, the later maximum amplitude (c−d) is larger than the earlier maximum amplitude (a−b); and determined in step S6 that the maximum amplitude difference falls outside of the acceptable range, then the control section 2 performs a Fourier transform on the voltage data, obtained upon the transfer of the wafer W to the slots 503, for the intervals R1 and R2 to determine the frequency spectrum (step S1)); and
performing at least one remedial action in response to the detection of the collision or scratching of the semiconductor wafer (Fig. 12 and Fig. 18, [0068], [0074], the alarm output section 27 outputs an alarm when it is determined that rubbing has occurred between a wafer W and the fork 48. A predetermined sound or display image may be used as the alarm. The fork 48 continues to move deeper into the container body 5 and stops at a predetermined position. The fork 48 then moves downward a predetermined distance and, after the back surface of the wafer W is transferred to the support portions 51 of the slots 502, moves backward (FIG. 15). The fork 48 exits the container body 5 and stops at a predetermined position).
Regarding claim 16, Hiyashi discloses the vibration of the component is measured using an accelerometer ([0006], detecting collision of a wafer with a substrate mounting section in the substrate storage container based on the vibration acceleration or the frequency component of vibration detected by the vibration sensor).
Regarding claim 17, Hiyashi discloses performing the transfer of the semiconductor wafer using a wafer transfer robot (Abstract, [0059], The transport robot 44 can transfer a wafer W, through the open transport opening 33, between the slots 500 of the carrier C and the processing block 52. The components of the transport robot 44 are driven by not-shown motor), and wherein the measuring comprises measuring vibration of the wafer transfer robot (Abstract, [0069], a vibration sensor which detects a solid-borne sound, propagating through the substrate holding tool, and outputs the detection signal).
Regarding claim 18, Hiyashi discloses receive control data relating to the semiconductor wafer transfer from an associated semiconductor wafer transfer apparatus, determining, from the control data ([0048] The coating/developing apparatus 1 is provided with a control section 2. The control section 2 is a computer which sends control signals to components of the coating/developing apparatus 1 to control the components so that they perform transport of a wafer W in the carrier C and in the apparatus 1, transport of a wafer W between the blocks, operations on a wafer W in the blocks);
determining a stage of the transfer of the semiconductor wafer at a time of the detection of the collision or scratching of the semiconductor wafer (abstract, [0006], [0009], the mechanism configured to transfer a substrate to/from the substrate holding tool; a lifting mechanism for moving the support up and down with respect to the substrate holding tool; a sound amplifying section for amplifying a contact sound generated by contact between a substrate held in the substrate holding tool and the support; and a detection section for detecting rubbing between a substrate and the support based on a detection signal from a vibration sensor which detects a solid-borne sound. detecting collision of a wafer with a substrate mounting section in the substrate storage container based on the vibration acceleration or the frequency component of vibration detected by the vibration sensor); and
classifying the collision or scratching of the semiconductor wafer based at least in part based on the determined stage of the semiconductor wafer transfer at the time of the detection of the collision or scratching (4B indicates scratches on the wafer W caused by rubbing) of the semiconductor wafer ([0062], [0063], [0080], [0090]-[0091], the air layer 4A decreases the solid-borne sound generated upon collision between the fork 48 and the wafer W. When the fork 48 then moves backward and rubs against the wafer W, the fork 48 moves as if sliding on the air layer 4A lying between the fork 48 and the surface of the wafer W. Thus, no large frictional force is generated between the fork 48 and the surface of the wafer W, and therefore a soft solid-borne sound is generated (FIG. 9) and 4B indicates scratches on the wafer W caused by rubbing).
Regarding claim 22, Hiyashi discloses the measuring comprises measuring vibration of a base of the wafer transfer robot ([0084], The vibration sensor 11 can vibrate also due to causes other than rubbing between a wafer W and the fork 48. Such other causes may include vibration noise from a motor(s) that drives a component(s) of the transport robot 44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
4.1 Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US 20210193490 A1) in view of Huang (CN110379735B).
Regarding claim 1, Hung discloses a semiconductor wafer transfer monitoring apparatus (Fig. 1, monitor 12) operative in conjunction with an associated semiconductor wafer transfer apparatus ([0017],[0018], combination of the wafer transfer robot 102, the one or more wafer lifts 106, the one or more processing tanks 108, the processing module 110, the monitor 112, and the optical sensor 114 may be components of wafer processing systems), the semiconductor wafer transfer monitoring apparatus comprising:
a vibration sensor (vibration sensors 104) operatively connected to measure vibration data of a component of the associated semiconductor wafer transfer apparatus during a semiconductor wafer transfer performed by the associated semiconductor wafer transfer apparatus ([0031]-0032], one or more vibration sensors 104 are attached to the wafer transfer robot 102. ] The vibration sensor 104 is configured to detect vibrations of the wafer transfer robot 102. Although the vibration sensor 104 may detect vibrations of the wafer transfer robot 102 any time during operation of the wafer transfer robot 102, the vibrations detected after the wafer transfer robot 102 removes (i.e., collects) the wafers 120 from the wafer lift 106); and
an electronic processor programmed (processing module 110) to analyze the measured vibration data to detect a problem with the semiconductor wafer transfer [0033], ([0038], [0050], process the signals received from the vibration sensor 104 for display as a time series, the processing module 110 may generate a frequency spectrum of the time series and analyze the frequency spectrum or a combination of the frequency spectrum and the time series. A microprocessor or CPU that processes the detected vibrations to generate electrical signals, such as current, voltage or magnetic signals), and
to perform at least one remedial action in response to detection of the problem with the semiconductor wafer transfer (Fig. 4, [0040], [0046], [0051], [0052], determining condition of wafers during processing of the wafers, operation of the wafer lift 106 and wafer transfer robot 102 is stopped, and an operator may check the processing tank 108 for any wafers, or portions of wafers, that are missing from the wafer transfer robot 102, adjust positioning of any incorrectly held wafers on the wafer transfer robot 102, remove and/or replace nay cracked or broken wafers from the wafer transfer robot 102, replace any contaminated chemical baths 118 or other solutions held in the processing tanks 108, and/or replace all the wafers being currently processed with a new batch of wafers and repeating one or more of the processing procedures), but Hung fails to disclose semiconductor wafer transfer comprising oblique insertion of a semiconductor wafer being transferred by the semiconductor wafer transfer into a wafer storage slot.
However, Hunag discloses semiconductor wafer transfer comprising oblique insertion (Abstract, wafer oblique insertion detection device) of a semiconductor wafer being transferred by the semiconductor wafer transfer into a wafer storage slot (Abstract, A plurality of slots for placing wafers are sequentially arranged on both sides of the crystal boat, and the ranging sensor is arranged on the crystal boat. Inside the bottom, the controller is connected with the ranging sensor, the ranging sensor points to the direction of placing the wafer inside the wafer boat, the controller stores the distance information of the wafer corresponding to each slot).
Hung and Huang are analogous art. They relate to semiconductor manufacturing wafer transferring problem detecting.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify wafer oblique cutting detection device, taught by Huang, incorporated with detecting vibrations of a wafer transfer robot, taught by Hung, in order to obtain distance, then illustrates that wafer is tilted toward which direction, rotates one toward that direction so as to driving manipulator arm and incline Rake angle, it can the case where grabbing inclined wafer, and avoiding fragmentation.
Regarding claim 2, Hung discloses the at least one remedial action includes stopping the semiconductor wafer transfer being performed by the associated semiconductor wafer transfer apparatus (Fig. 4, [0052], determines that the condition of the wafers 120 include one or more wafers being cracked, broken, held incorrectly by the wafer transfer robot 102, and/or missing from the wafer transfer robot 102, then in step 408, the processing of wafers, including operation of the wafer lift 106 and wafer transfer robot 102 is stopped, and an operator may check the processing tank 108 for any wafers, or portions of wafers, that are missing from the wafer transfer robot).
Regarding claim 3, Hung the at least one remedial action includes outputting an alert indicating the problem ([0040], generates an alert signal for display on the monitor 112. The alert signal alerts an operator, thereby allowing the operator to halt the current fabrication processing steps such that missing wafers may be removed from processing tanks).
Regarding claim 5, Hung discloses the electronic processor is programmed to analyze the measured vibration data to detect the problem with the semiconductor wafer transfer by comparing the measured vibration data with reference vibration data representing successful semiconductor wafer transfer ([0038], the processing module 110 may process the signals received from the vibration sensor 104 for display as a time series, the processing module 110 may generate a frequency spectrum of the time series and analyze the frequency spectrum or a combination of the frequency spectrum and the time series. In other embodiments, the processing module 110 may analyze the processed signals in conjunction with signals or signal patterns stored in the memory of the processing module 110 to determine the condition of the wafers being processed and/or being held by the wafer transfer robot 102).
Regarding claim 6, Hung discloses the vibration sensor is operatively connected to measure vibration data of a wafer transfer robot of the associated semiconductor wafer transfer apparatus ([0017], [0043], Fig. 1, vibration signals for creating a table of vibrational signals or patterns of vibration signals in time or frequency space having the corresponding wafer conditions. The table may be stored in a memory of the processing module 110 or a memory external to the processing module 110. In another embodiment, the captured images may be used in combination with the vibrational signals to determine the condition of the wafers 120 on the wafer transfer robot 102 when the vibrational signals are not by themselves determinant of the condition (i.e., state) of the wafers 120).
Regarding claim 7, Hung discloses the vibration sensor is disposed on the wafer transfer robot ([0031], one or more vibration sensors 104 are attached to the wafer transfer robot 102), and the vibration sensor includes a wireless transmitter or transceiver configured to wirelessly transfer the measured vibration data to the electronic processor ([0031], [0044], one or more vibration sensors 104 are attached to the wafer transfer robot 102) includes: a wireless transceiver or transmitter configured to transmit the measurement of the vibration of the wafer transfer robot from the vibration sensor to the electronic processor (FIG. 1, [0039], the vibration sensor 104 may be communicatively coupled to the processing module 110 via a wired connection 132 and wireless communication).
Regarding claim 8, Hung discloses wherein the vibration sensor comprises an accelerometer (0032], [0049], the vibration sensor 104 is aa electromechanical sensor that may include gyroscopic components, piezoelectric components and/or accelerometer components).
Regarding claim 12, Hung discloses receive control data relating to the semiconductor wafer transfer from the associated semiconductor wafer transfer apparatus ([0042], [0044], processing module 110 is further configured to receive the wafer count signal from each wafer count sensor 116 and process the wafer count signal(s) for determining the number of the wafers being held by the wafer transfer robot 102);
determine, from the control data, a stage of the semiconductor wafer transfer at a time of the problem with the semiconductor wafer transfer ([0035]-[0037], 3A-FIG. 3C, a time series of vibrations of the wafer transfer robot 102 on the monitor 112 depicting a broken wafer being held by the wafer transfer robot 102. The collection event is indicated by the spike in the vibrations at t=t1, however, the pattern of spikes at time t>t1 indicate that a wafer being held by the wafer transfer robot 102 is broken); and
classify the problem with the semiconductor wafer transfer based at least in part on the determined stage of the semiconductor wafer transfer at the time of the problem with the semiconductor wafer transfer ([0007]-[0010, Fig.3A-Fig. 3C, illustrates a time series of vibrations of the wafer transfer robot as illustrated on the monitor, a broken wafer being held by the wafer transfer robot, and a wafer being missing from the wafer transfer robot. Then determining condition of wafers during processing of the wafers).
4.2 Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US 20210193490 A1) in view of Huang et al. (CN110379735B) further in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0130130 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hung and Huang disclose the limitation of claim 1, but fail to disclose the limitations of claim 4. However, Chen discloses the limitations of claim 4 as follow:
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the electronic processor is programmed to analyze the measured vibration data to detect the problem with the semiconductor wafer transfer by inputting the measured vibration data to an artificial intelligence (AI) algorithm trained to detect the problem with the semiconductor wafer transfer ([0050]-[0051], [0060], [0071], the signal processing circuitry 410 may calculate or generate a frequency spectrum for each received sensing signal (e.g., detected motions, vibrations, etc.) The defect prediction circuitry 420 or the machine learning circuitry 430 may analyze sensor data received from a plurality of different sensors of the semiconductor processing apparatus 10, training data to further train the machine learning model or artificial intelligence).
Chain, Huang and Hung are analogous art. They relate to semiconductor manufacturing wafer transferring problem detecting.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify sense motion-related parameters, taught by Chen incorporated with, the teaching of Huang and Hung, for preventing or reducing any damage from occurring to the semiconductor wafer being processed by automatically stopped based on the predicted irregular motions.
4.3 Claim(s) 9-10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US 20210193490 A1) in view of Huang et al. (CN110379735B) further in view of Hiyashi (US 20150340258 A1).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 21, Hung and Huang disclose the limitation of claim 1, but fail to disclose the limitations of claims 9-10 and 21. However, Hiyashi discloses the limitations of claims 9, 10 and 21 as follow:
Regarding claim 9, Hiyashi discloses the electronic processor is programmed to analyze the vibration data to detect the problem with the semiconductor wafer transfer comprising a collision of a semiconductor wafer being transferred by the semiconductor wafer transfer ([0006], [0075],[0091] a vibration sensor in a stage for a substrate storage container, and detecting collision of a wafer with a substrate mounting section in the substrate storage container based on the vibration acceleration or the frequency component of vibration detected by the vibration sensor. The vibration sensor 11 detects the solid-borne sound that propagates through the container body 5; therefore, there is no need to provide the vibration sensor 11 in the transport robot 44. Compared to the case where an acoustic sensor or a vibration sensor is attached to the transport robot 44 to detect an abnormal collision between the transport robot 44 and a wafer).
Regarding claim 10, Hiyashi discloses the electronic processor is programmed to analyze the vibration data to detect the problem with the semiconductor wafer transfer comprising formation of at least one scratch on a semiconductor wafer being transferred by the semiconductor wafer transfer ([0062], [0090], The vibration sensors 11 provided in the support pins 38 of each stage 32 detect the solid-borne sound and, based on the data acquired, the control section 2 determines whether or not rubbing between the fork 48 and a wafer W has occurred. The coating/developing apparatus 1 can thus detect the rubbing with high precision, making it possible to prevent a number of wafers W from being scratched).
Regarding claim 21, Hiyashi discloses the vibration sensor is disposed on a base of the wafer transfer robot (Abstract, [0091], [0093], a vibration sensor is attached to the transport robot 44).
Hiyashi, Huang and Hung are analogous art. They relate to semiconductor manufacturing wafer transferring problem detecting.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify detecting with high accuracy rubbing between a substrate held in a substrate holding tool, taught by Hiyashi incorporated with teaching of Huang and , Hung, as state above, in order to accurately determine the condition of wafers while being processed by a wafer processing system, such as determining if one or more wafers have been damaged and/or incorrectly positioned in, or missing from, components of the system designed to transfer/transport wafers during processing, so that processing can be stopped to avoid contamination and/or damage to other wafers being processed by the system and/or to avoid damage to components of the automated system itself.
4.4 Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiyashi (US 20150340258 A1) in view of Chen (US 2020/0130130 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Hiyashi discloses the limitation of claim 14, but fail to disclose the limitations of claim 15. However, Chen discloses the limitations of claim 15 as follow:
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses the analyzing comprises inputting the measured vibration to an artificial intelligence (AI) algorithm trained to detect the collision or scratching of the semiconductor wafer ([0018],[0050]-[0051], [0060]-[0061], [0071], scratch the wafer 160 during the polishing process and the signal processing circuitry 410 may calculate or generate a frequency spectrum for each received sensing signal (e.g., detected motions, vibrations, etc.) The defect prediction circuitry 420 or the machine learning circuitry 430 may analyze sensor data received from a plurality of different sensors of the semiconductor processing apparatus 10, training data to further train the machine learning model or artificial intelligence).
Chain and Hiyashi are analogous art. They relate to semiconductor manufacturing wafer transferring problem detecting.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify sense motion-related parameters, taught by Chen incorporated with detecting with high accuracy rubbing between a substrate held in a substrate holding tool taught by Hiyashi, for preventing or reducing any damage from occurring to the semiconductor wafer being processed by automatically stopped based on the predicted irregular motions.
4.5 Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US 20210193490 A1) in view of Hiyashi (US 20150340258 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Hung discloses a wafer transfer robot (a robot arm 1) configured to transfer semiconductor wafers between a wafer carrier and a semiconductor wafer processing or characterization tool ([0019]-[0021], The wafer transfer robot 102 is configured to hold one or more wafers 120, including a batch of wafers (not shown). The wafer transfer robot 102 is also configured to place the wafers 120 on the wafer lift 106, remove the wafers 120 from the wafer lift 106, and transport the wafers 120 from a location near one wafer lift (e.g., wafer lift 106) to a location near another wafer lift (not shown) for placing the wafers 120 on, and then removing the wafers 120 from, the other wafer lift);
a vibration sensor configured to measure vibration of the wafer transfer robot (abstract, [0031]-[0032], The vibration sensor 104 is attached to one arm 121 of the wafer transfer robot 102, and detecting vibrations of a wafer transfer robot, generating signals based upon the vibrations, and processing the signals for determining a condition of the wafers held by the wafer transfer robot); and
an electronic processor (the processing module 110) programmed to detect a problem with a transfer of a semiconductor wafer performed by the wafer transfer robot by analyzing vibration of the wafer transfer robot measured by the vibration sensor during the transfer ([0021], [0034], [0038], [0040], The processing module 110 may generate a frequency spectrum of the time series and analyze the frequency spectrum or a combination of the frequency spectrum and the time series, and the processing module 110 determines that the condition of wafers 120 being held by the wafer transfer robot 102 includes at least one wafer being cracked, broken, held incorrectly, and/or missing, the processing module 110 generates an alert signal for display on the monitor 112).
Regarding claim 20, Hung discloses the vibration sensor is disposed on the wafer transfer robot and the vibration sensor ([0031], [0044], one or more vibration sensors 104 are attached to the wafer transfer robot 102) includes: a wireless transceiver or transmitter configured to transmit the measurement of the vibration of the wafer transfer robot from the vibration sensor to the electronic processor (FIG. 1, [0039], the vibration sensor 104 may be communicatively coupled to the processing module 110 via a wired connection 132 and wireless communication).
4.5 Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US 20210193490 A1) in view of Hiyashi (US 20150340258 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Hung discloses a wafer transfer robot (a robot arm 1) configured to transfer semiconductor wafers between a wafer carrier and a semiconductor wafer processing or characterization tool ([0019]-[0021], The wafer transfer robot 102 is configured to hold one or more wafers 120, including a batch of wafers (not shown). The wafer transfer robot 102 is also configured to place the wafers 120 on the wafer lift 106, remove the wafers 120 from the wafer lift 106, and transport the wafers 120 from a location near one wafer lift (e.g., wafer lift 106) to a location near another wafer lift (not shown) for placing the wafers 120 on, and then removing the wafers 120 from, the other wafer lift);
a vibration sensor configured to measure vibration of the wafer transfer robot (abstract, [0031]-[0032], The vibration sensor 104 is attached to one arm 121 of the wafer transfer robot 102, and detecting vibrations of a wafer transfer robot, generating signals based upon the vibrations, and processing the signals for determining a condition of the wafers held by the wafer transfer robot); and
an electronic processor (the processing module 110) programmed to detect a problem with a transfer of a semiconductor wafer performed by the wafer transfer robot by analyzing vibration of the wafer transfer robot measured by the vibration sensor during the transfer ([0021], [0034], [0038], [0040], The processing module 110 may generate a frequency spectrum of the time series and analyze the frequency spectrum or a combination of the frequency spectrum and the time series, and the processing module 110 determines that the condition of wafers 120 being held by the wafer transfer robot 102 includes at least one wafer being cracked, broken, held incorrectly, and/or missing, the processing module 110 generates an alert signal for display on the monitor 112).
Hung fails to disclose a vibration sensor disposed on a base of the wafer transfer robot. However, Hiyashi discloses a vibration sensor disposed on a base of the wafer transfer robot ([0084], The vibration sensor 11 can vibrate also due to causes other than rubbing between a wafer W and the fork 48. Such other causes may include vibration noise from a motor(s) that drives a component(s) of the transport robot 44).
Hiyashi and Hung are analogous art. They relate to semiconductor manufacturing wafer transferring problem detecting.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify detecting with high accuracy rubbing between a substrate held in a substrate holding tool, taught by Hiyashi incorporated with determining condition of wafers during processing of the wafer, taught by Hung, in order to accurately determine the condition of wafers while being processed by a wafer processing system, such as determining if one or more wafers have been damaged and/or incorrectly positioned in, or missing from, components of the system designed to transfer/transport wafers during processing, so that processing can be stopped to avoid contamination and/or damage to other wafers being processed by the system and/or to avoid damage to components of the automated system itself.
Regarding claim 20, Hung discloses the vibration sensor is disposed on the wafer transfer robot and the vibration sensor ([0031], [0044], one or more vibration sensors 104 are attached to the wafer transfer robot 102) includes: a wireless transceiver or transmitter configured to transmit the measurement of the vibration of the wafer transfer robot from the vibration sensor to the electronic processor (FIG. 1, [0039], the vibration sensor 104 may be communicatively coupled to the processing module 110 via a wired connection 132 and wireless communication).
Citation Pertinent prior art
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khushnandan Rai discloses vibration signal can be generally denoted by a sine wave.
Aribowo et al. discloses vibration control of semiconductor wafer transfer by building an integrated tool of parameter identification and input shaping.
Piety -US 5943634A discloses an efficient vibration data collection, analysis, and storage system automates the analysis of time waveform data and optimizes use of available memory and minimizes data collection time by parameterizing the time domain vibration waveform produced by a vibration transducer attached to a machine.
Jacobsen -US 20080184800 A1 discloses analyzing the resonant frequency of vibratory wires within vibratory wire gauges.
Wu -US 20230191624 A1 discloses a wafer transfer robot, and more particularly to an end effector of a wafer transfer robot having embedded sensors.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIDEST WORKU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119