DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because, as non-limiting examples, reference character “228” has been used to designate both mounts and inlet. Similarly, as a non-limiting example, reference character “306” has been used to designate both a motor and a fan. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites wherein the grommet is positioned between the grommet and the compartment which renders claim 10 indefinite. Claim 10 is interpreted such that the grommet is positioned between the airflow shroud and the compartment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9, 11-13, 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ottersten (WO 2021/194409).
Regarding claim 1,
Referring to Figs. 1b, 2a-2b, 3c Ottersten teaches an air handler system 101a comprising: a housing 101 comprising an inlet 103a and an outlet 103b and at least one air channel 103 positioned between the inlet and the outlet, the housing having a longitudinal axis (not labeled); a plurality of coils 104b disposed within the housing and configured to receive a first fluid and exchange thermal energy with the first fluid; and a fan assembly disposed within the housing, the fan assembly comprising: a fan 1 comprising a fan housing 2-3 including a front-side (e.g. the side at housing plate 2) and a backside (e.g. the side at housing plate 3) and fan blades 4 disposed within the fan housing, the fan blades configured to receive an airflow in a first direction (e.g. a direction perpendicular to axis A) and redirect at least a portion of the airflow to a second direction (e.g. a direction parallel to axis A) at least partially perpendicular to the first direction; a motor in mechanical communication with the fan blades of the fan and configured to cause the fan blades to rotate with respect to the housing, the motor coupled to the backside of the fan housing (e.g. as said fan assembly comprises a stator 5, and therefore must comprise a motor, not labeled); a fan controller 105 configured to control operation of the motor; and a fan enclosure 54 coupled to the backside of the fan and configured to house the motor and the fan controller (e.g. capable of housing the motor and the fan controller), wherein the fan assembly together with the at least one air channel is configured to cause the airflow to enter the inlet of the housing, traverse the plurality of coils, transition from the first direction to the second direction, and exit the outlet of the housing, the first direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the housing (see Fig. 3c).
Regarding claim 6,
Ottersten teaches wherein the fan is a backwards curved centrifugal fan (see Technical field, Disclosure of the invention, Figs. 4b-4d)
Regarding claim 7,
Ottersten teaches wherein the fan is a mixed flow fan (see Technical field).
Regarding claim 9,
Ottersten teaches one or more of a second plurality of coils configured to receive the first fluid, a compressor, or an expansion valve (e.g. wherein a HVAC system or heat pump is known to comprise said elements).
Regarding claims 11-13, 17-18, 20,
The subject matter of claims 11-13, 17-18, 20 are directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claims 1, 10 and has been addressed in the rejection of claims 1, 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ottersten in view of Heli (US 20150219117).
Regarding claim 2,
Ottersten does not teach wherein, coupled to the fan enclosure, one or more of an electric heating system or a hydronic heating system configured to transfer thermal energy to the airflow in the housing.
Heli, directed to a fan enclosure, teaches coupled to the fan enclosure, one or more of an electric heating system or a hydronic heating system (e.g. resistive heaters, see par. 2; or conductive heating layer 3) configured to transfer thermal energy to the airflow in a housing (see abstract, pars. 2-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Ottersten by Heli with the motivation of preventing undesirable low temperatures in the fan assembly or to optionally heat the air flowing through said fan (see Heli par. 2).
Regarding claim 4,
Ottersten as modified above teaches wherein the electric heating system comprises at least one electric resistive heating element having an annular shape.
Regarding claims 15-16,
The subject matter of claims 15-16 are directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claims 4 and has been addressed in the rejection of claim 4.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ottersten in view of Heli and Higuchi (CN 114135501).
Regarding claim 3,
Ottersten does not teach wherein the fan enclosure comprises one or more of thermal insulation or electric insulation.
Higuchi, directed to a centrifugal fan assembly, teaches wherein a fan enclosure comprises one or more of thermal insulation or electric insulation (e.g. insulation 42b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Ottersten by Higuchi with the motivation of preventing undesirable thermal transfer within the fan enclosure.
Regarding claim 5,
Ottersten as modified above teaches wherein the fan enclosure is metallic (see Higuchi, par. 30) and a connection between the electric heating system and the fan enclosure is thermally insulated (e.g. via insulation 42b).
Regarding claim 14,
The subject matter of claim 14 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claims 3 and has been addressed in the rejection of claim 3.
Claim(s) 8, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ottersten.
Regarding claims 8, 19
Ottersten does not teach a remote controller configured to cause the fan controller to adjust operation of the motor, wherein the fan controller is in wired communication with the motor, but the examiner takes official notice that the use of, and advantages of, remote controllers in wired communication with a motor would be well known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ottersten in view of Murakami (JP 2005186911).
Regarding claim 10,
Ottersten teaches an airflow shroud (not labeled, see Fig. 3c) connected to the housing and the fan assembly, the airflow shroud configured to direct airflow from the fan to the outlet of the housing, but does not teach a grommet, a compartment comprising a protection plate, and an airflow shroud connected to the housing and the fan assembly via the compartment, the airflow shroud configured to direct airflow from the fan to the outlet of the housing, wherein the grommet is positioned between the grommet and the compartment.
Murakami, directed to a fan mounting structure, teaches a grommet 10, a compartment 7 comprising a protection plate, and an airflow shroud 8 connected to a housing and a fan assembly via the compartment, the airflow shroud configured to direct airflow from the fan to the outlet of the housing, wherein the grommet 10 is positioned between the grommet and the compartment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Ottersten by Murakami with the motivation of damping sound and vibrations and preventing leaking of air (see Murakami pars. 8-9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. LOERCHER, Lin teaches an electronic housing for controllers and motors in a radial fan assembly. Mecozzi teaches a radial fan assembly wherein air flows around a motor.
/Steve S TANENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3763