DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Election
Applicant’s election with traverse of claims #1-20, corresponding to FIG. 8, in the reply filed on July 13, 2026 is acknowledged. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant because the species FIGS. 2-13, 15-20, 22 fall under the genus comprising a display panel having a substrate, light-emitting layer, and color filtering layer, while adding mutually exclusive characteristics such as a touch layer, different color filter structural aspects, etc… A serious burden exists if the species are not restricted because of different search strategies and queries. The Examiner has reconsidered the issue of generic claims and claims 1 and 20 are deemed generic.
The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Additionally, claims 3-7 are withdrawn by the Examiner for reading on at least non-elected species FIG. 6, which adds a fourth color sub-filter.
Additionally, claim 8 is withdrawn by the Examiner for reading on non-elected FIG. 15.
Additionally, claims 9-10 are withdrawn by the Examiner for reading on non-elected FIG. 16.
Additionally, claims 13-15 are withdrawn by the Examiner for reading on non-elected FIG. 18.
Additionally, claims 16-18 are withdrawn by the Examiner for reading on non-elected FIG. 22.
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 19, and 20 remain under examination in the instant application.
Specifications
The title is objected to because a more descriptive title is requested.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “black matrix” of claim 12 and “dummy light emitting unit” of claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Claims 2, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant, regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, it is unclear how “the color filtering layer comprises first regions located between two adjacent ones of the light-emitting units” (emphasis added) because only a single region is formed between two adjacent light-emitting units in elected FIG. 8.
Furthermore as to claim 2, there is a difference in the number of first regions in the limitation “wherein the color filtering layer comprises first regions located between two adjacent ones of the light-emitting units; along a first direction, at least overlapped color filter units of different colors are disposed in the first region” (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2)
Claims 1, 2, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0222572 A1), hereafter “Kim”.
As to claim 1, Kim teaches:
A substrate SUB1. See Kim, FIG. 2.
An array layer BUF located at a side of the substrate.
A light-emitting layer PDL located at a side of the array layer away from the substrate, the light-emitting layer comprising light-emitting units.
A color filtering layer CF1+CF2+CF3 located at a side of the light-emitting layer away from the substrate, the color filtering layer comprising color filter units CF1, CF2, CF3 that correspond to the light-emitting units.
Wherein the color filter units comprise a first-color color filter unit CF1 and a second-color color filter unit CF3, and the first-color color filter unit is located at a side of the second-color color filter unit adjacent to the substrate, and wherein the first-color color filter unit is a blue color filter unit.
As to claim 2, Kim teaches the color filtering layer comprises first regions (portions between L1, L2, L3) located between two adjacent ones of the light-emitting units; along a first direction (vertical), at least overlapped color filter units of different colors are disposed in the first region; and the first direction is a direction perpendicular to the substrate and pointing to a light exit surface of the display panel.
As to claim 20, Kim teaches:
A display apparatus (FIG. 1), comprising a display panel DD, wherein the display panel comprises: a substrate SUB1.
An array layer BUF located at a side of the substrate.
A light-emitting layer PDL located at a side of the array layer away from the substrate, the light-emitting layer comprising light-emitting units.
A color filtering layer CF1+CF2+CF3 located at a side of the light-emitting layer away from the substrate, the color filtering layer comprising color filter units CF1, CF2, CF3 that correspond to the light-emitting units.
Wherein the color filter units comprise a first-color color filter unit CF1 and a second-color color filter unit CF3, and the first-color color filter unit is located at a side of the second-color color filter unit adjacent to the substrate, and wherein the first-color color filter unit is a blue color filter unit.
Claims Allowable If Rewritten in Independent Form
Claims 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 19, prior art fails to teach the limitations of the dummy light-emitting unit.
No Prior Art Applied
No prior art has been applied to claims 11 and 12.
As to claim 11, Kim does not teach “the red color filter unit is located at a side of the green color filter unit away from the substrate” because Kim’s red color filter unit CF2 is located closer to the substrate than the green color filter unit CF3.
As to claim 12, Kim does not teach “wherein along the first direction, the black matrix overlaps the first region”.
Conclusion
/SUBERR L CHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893