DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-9 are pending in this application filed on February 20, 2024
Response to Amendments
Drawings
3. Drawings have been amended. However, they are insufficient to overcome the objection as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 1 has been amended. Corresponding rejection is withdrawn.
Drawings
5. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Claim 1 requires the ground end of the first inverter of the word line driver to be connected with an external ground voltage (VSS). However, Figure 1 shows the ground end of the first converter connected to WL_VSS. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 2, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2013/0010531 (“Huang”).
8. With respect to claim 1, Huang discloses a static random-access memory (FIG. 3), comprising
a sleep mode control module (320) and a memory cell array module (310),
wherein each row of the memory cell array module comprises M memory cells (311-31K) and one word line driver (FIGs. 7A, 7B), M being a positive integer;
the sleep mode control module comprises
a word line drive power supply module, and the word line drive power supply module comprises a power switch transistor (FIG. 7A, 808);
the word line driver comprises a first inverter (FIG. 7B, 830) and a second inverter (840);
the first inverter has an input end for connecting with a word line decode signal (DEC) (ZSEL), an output end connected with an input end of the second inverter (WLB), a power end connected with an external operating power supply (VDD) (VDD), and a ground end connected with an external ground voltage (VSS) (see FIGs. 7A and 7B, NGWLS is connected to GND via 806);
the second inverter has an output end connected with a word line (WL) of the M memory cells of the corresponding row (WL), a power end connected with a word line drive internal voltage node (WL_VDD) (NGWLD), and a ground end connected with the external ground voltage (VSS) (GND);
the power switch transistor (FIG. 7A, 808) of the word line drive power supply module of the sleep mode control module has one end connected with the word line drive internal voltage node (WL_VDD) (NGWLD) and the other end connected with the external operating power supply (VDD) (VDD); and
after the static random-access memory enters a sleep mode, a sleep logic enable signal controls the power switch transistor of the word line drive power supply module to be off, so that the power end of the second inverter is disconnected from the external operating power supply (VDD), in which case no power is supplied to the second inverter of the word line driver (paragraph [0051]); when the static random-access memory returns to a normal operating mode, the sleep logic enable signal controls the power switch transistor of the word line drive power supply module to be on, so that a power end of the word line driver is connected with the external operating power supply (VDD) to restore power supply to the second inverter of the word line driver (paragraph [0050]).
9. With respect to claim 2, Huang discloses the static random-access memory according to claim 1,
wherein the second inverter (FIG, 7B, 840) comprises a first drive PMOS transistor (Pd1) (818) and a first drive NMOS transistor (Nd1) (820);
a gate end of the first drive PMOS transistor (Pd1) and a gate end of the first drive NMOS transistor (Nd1) are short-connected to act as the input end of the second inverter (WLB);
a drain end of the first drive PMOS transistor (Pd1) and a drain end of the first drive NMOS transistor (Nd1) are short-connected to act as the output end of the second inverter (WL);
a source end of the first drive NMOS transistor (Nd1) acts as the ground end of the second inverter (GND); and a drain end of the first drive PMOS transistor (Pd1) acts as the power end of the second inverter (NGWLD).
10. With respect to claim 7, Huang discloses the static random-access memory (FIG. 2) according to claim 1, wherein
the memory cell comprises a zeroth transmission NMOS transistor (NPG0) (212), a first transmission NMOS transistor (NPG1) (214), a zeroth pull-up PMOS transistor (PPU0) (202), a first pull-up PMOS transistor (PPU1) (206), a zeroth pull-down NMOS transistor (NPD0) (204), and a first pull-down NMOS transistor (NPD1) (208);
a gate end of the zeroth transmission NMOS transistor (NPG0) and a gate end of the first transmission NMOS transistor (NPG1) are short-connected to the word line (WL), and a drain end of the zeroth transmission NMOS transistor and a drain end of the first transmission NMOS transistor (NPG1) are connected with complementary bit lines (BL, BLB) (see FIG. 2);
a source end of the zeroth pull-up PMOS transistor (PPU0) and a source of the first pull-up PMOS transistor (PPU1) are jointly connected with the external operating power supply (VDD), a drain end of the zeroth pull-up PMOS transistor (PPU0), a drain end of the zeroth pull-down NMOS transistor (NPD0), a gate end of the first pull-up PMOS transistor (PPU1), and a gate end of the first pull-down NMOS transistor (NPD1) are short-connected to a source end of the zeroth transmission NMOS transistor (NPG0), and a gate end of the zeroth pull-up PMOS transistor (PPU0), a gate end of the zeroth pull-down NMOS transistor (NPD0), a drain end of the first pull-up PMOS transistor (PPU1), and a drain end of the first pull-down NMOS transistor (NPD1) are short-connected to a source end of the first transmission NMOS transistor (NPG1); and the zeroth pull-down NMOS transistor (NPD0) and the first pull-down NMOS transistor (NPD1) are short-connected to act as a ground end (VSSCORE) of the memory cell (see FIGs. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
Huang discloses all of the limitations of the parent claim 1 as discussed above. Huang discloses K memory cells, where K represents any number teaching the limitation of claim 9 “wherein M is 8, 16, 32, or 64.” To the extent Huang does not specifically mention a specific number of cells, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to chose a specific number of cells, such as 8, 16, 32, and 64 as a matter of design choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 3-6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Woo H Choi/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3992