DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to claim amendment filed on August 25, 2026 and wherein claims 1-3, and 7-9 being currently amended.
In virtue of this communication, claims 1-9 are currently pending in this Office Action.
The Office appreciates the explanation of the amendment and analyses of the prior arts, and however, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and MPEP 2145.
Response to Arguments
With respect to claim Interpretation under 35 USC §112(f), as set forth in the previous Office Action, the claim amendment, and argument (Remarks, page 11), have been fully considered and the argument is persuasive. Therefore, the Claim Interpretation for claims 1,8 under 35 USC § 112(f), as set forth in the previous Office Action, has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, Pages , filed on , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of SANTAVICCA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recite “a monitoring device including at least one second processor and memory and at least one sub-antenna different from the main antenna, and the at least one sub- antenna performing signal transmitting and signal receiving, wherein a first communication frame of the wireless communication, which is transmitted in a first direction from the vehicle device to the portable device …. the first processor and memory generate communication direction information including first direction information indicating that a communication direction is the first direction, and transmit the first communication frame, which includes the communication direction information with the generated first direction information, via the main antenna …” is unclear. It is not clear “first communication frame” is transmitted via “sub- antenna” or “main antenna”. It is unclear what “sub- antenna performing signal transmitting” refer to. Transmitting the first communication frame or some else.
Claims 2-7 fail to remedy the deficiencies of the claim 1 and therefore, are rejected.
Claims 8 and 9 have similar issues with “a first communication frame”. Thus, they are rejected.
Claim 2 recite “… wherein the first processor and memory specify a position of the second communication device based on the detected reception strength…” is unclear. It is unclear what “the second communication device” refer to, does it refer to vehicle device, or portable device or monitoring device or some else. Thus, is rejected.
Claim 3 recite “…in the first communication device, the first processor and memory … in the second communication device, the at least one second processor and memory …” is unclear. It is unclear what “the first communication device” refer to, does it refer to vehicle device, or portable device or monitoring device or some else. It is unclear what “the second communication device” refer to, does it refer to vehicle device, or portable device or monitoring device or some else Thus, is rejected.
Claims 4-5 fail to remedy the deficiencies of the claim 3 and therefore, are rejected.
Claim 7 recite “… wherein the wireless communication between the first communication device and the second communication device is a wireless communication under Bluetooth Low Energy communication.” is unclear. It is unclear what “the first communication device” refer to, does it refer to vehicle device, or portable device or monitoring device or some else. It is unclear what “the second communication device” refer to, does it refer to vehicle device, or portable device or monitoring device or some else Thus, is rejected.
Claim 7 contains the trademark/trade name [ . Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe [ the wireless and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANTAVICCA et al. (US 20230078691 A1, hereinafter SANTAVICCA ) in view of STITT et al. (US 20190213145 A1, hereinafter STITT) and further in view of BLE_5.0 et al. (Bluetooth Specification Version 5.0, hereinafter BLE_5.0).
Claim 1: SANTAVICCA teaches A vehicle device used in a communication system, the communication system including the vehicle device (Fig. 1, element 20, 10a/b/c/d, Fig. 3, element 1) and a portable device (Fig. 1, element 2, Fig. 3, element 2), which perform wireless communication with one another in a bidirectional manner (Fig. 1, Fig. 5, Fig. 13, Fig. 16, Fig. 17, abstract), the vehicle device being mounted on a vehicle and comprising:
a vehicle communication unit (Fig. 1, element 20, Fig. 5, element 32, Fig. 2, element 20) including a first processor (Fig. 2, element 21, 22) and memory ([0050], “The BLE control module 20 may include a software algorithm stored on its memory and operable using its microprocessor 21 to enable the BLE control module 20 to know where the portable
device 2 is based on signals received from the portable device 2”) and a main antenna (Fig. 2, element 24) performing signal transmitting and signal receiving ([0044], the BLE control module 20 may use its antenna array 24 to communicate with the BLE transceiver of the portable device 2);
a monitoring device (Fig. 1, element 10a/b/c/d, Fig. 2, element 10) including at least one second processor (Fig. 2, element 11) and memory ([0042], “he BT system-on-chip 11 of the BLE proximity sensor 10 enables BLE master and slave nodes to be built and includes a radio frequency (RF) transceiver with a software integrated development environment, in-system programmable flash memory and other peripherals to interface with a wide range of sensors”) and at least one sub-antenna (Fig. 2, element 13, [0041], “the BLE proximity sensor 10 includes a BT system-on-chip 11, a voltage regulator 12,
antenna array 13 and a connector 14) different from the main antenna (Fig. 1, [0036], “the BLE proximity sensors 10a to 10d may be configured to transmit signals to a BLE transceiver of the portable device 2”, [0040], “BLE proximity sensors 10a to 10d may be disposed anywhere in the vehicle 1”), and the at least one sub- antenna performing signal transmitting and signal receiving ([0047], “Each of the BLE proximity sensors 10a to 10d
may transmit a Bluetooth discovery signal and/or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) signal to the portable device 2”), wherein a first communication frame of the wireless communication, which is transmitted in a first direction from the vehicle device to the portable device, is paired with a second communication frame of the wireless communication, which is transmitted in a second direction from the portable device to the vehicle device (Fig. 4, [0057], “an app running on the smartphone will communicate RSSI levels between the BLE proximity sensors 10 and calculate its location compared to a frame”, [0062], “localization may be used to facilitate Bluetooth pairing to a vehicle's infotainment system. For example, when a smartphone is in close proximity to an infotainment display in a vehicle, the Bluetooth pairing process is initiated between these two devices”);
wherein: the first processor and memory generate communication direction information including first direction information indicating that a communication direction is the first direction, and transmit the first communication frame, via the main antenna (Fig. 6, Fig. 13, element 132, [0180], “transmitting wireless signals from a plurality of wireless transmitters 31a-31d carried by a vehicle 32 at spaced apart locations”,[0039], “the BLE control module 20 can instruct the BLE proximity sensors 10a to 10d to operate, for how long to operate, at which frequency to operate”, [0040], “the BLE control module 20 and the BLE proximity sensors 10a to 10d may be disposed anywhere in the vehicle 1”, [0044], “the BLE control module 20 may use its antenna array 24 to communicate with the BLE transceiver of the portable device 2.The antenna array 24 may be a directional or omnidirectional antenna. The BLE control module 20 may establish a BLE connection between itself and the portable device 2, thereby allowing the portable device 2 to communicate with the BLE control module 20 when in proximity to the vehicle 1.”, [0050], “based on the signal strength of a communication received from the portable device 2, the BLE control module 20 may know if the portable device 2 is inside the vehicle 1 or outside the vehicle 2”);
the second portable device includes: a transmission reception antenna performing signal transmitting and signal receiving (Fig. 6, element 33, [0044], “the BLE control module 20 may use its antenna array 24 to communicate with the BLE transceiver of the portable device 2”, [0050], “based on the signal strength of a communication received from the portable device 2, the BLE control module 20 may know if the portable device 2 is inside the vehicle 1 or outside the vehicle 2” ); and a third processor and memory generating communication direction information ([0037], “The BLE proximity sensors 10a to 10d … may communicate signal strength coming from the portable device 2 as well as a time stamp of the signal coming from the portable
device 2.”), and transmitting the second communication frame, in response to receiving the first communication frame, including the first direction information via the transmission reception antenna (Fig. 6, element RSSI(A-D), [0115], “the portable or mobile device 33 will tensor (group together) RSSI values RSSI(A)-RSSI(D) that are reported between itself and all of the BLE transmitters 31a-31d at a single instance, and send these to the controller 34. The controller 34 then predicts the location of the end user equipped with the mobile
device 33 within a given zone around or in the vehicle 32… Once the location is predicted, this prediction is then sent back to the mobile device 33, and the process may repeat. In an example implementation, the RSSI values RSSI(A)-RSSI(D) are continuously reported between the mobile device 33 and the BLE transmitters 31a-31d, and an RSSI between the mobile device and the controller 34 is also reported”);
and the at least one sub-antenna receives an intercepted communication frame, which is one of the first communication frame and the second communication frame (Fig. 6, Fig. 13, [0180], “a controller 34 carried by the vehicle 32, wirelessly communicating with a portable device 33 moveable relative to the vehicle and configured to receive the wireless signals from the plurality of wireless transmitters 31a-31d, at Block 133 … determining a predicted zone the portable device 33 is located in from among a plurality of zones 70-77 relative to the vehicle 32 based upon the received wireless signals ”, [0047], “Each of the BLE proximity sensors 10a to 10d may transmit a Bluetooth discovery signal and/or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) signal to the
portable device 2”, [0042], “The BT system-on-chip 11 of the BLE proximity sensor 10 enables BLE master and slave nodes to be built and includes a radio frequency RF transceiver with a software integrated development environment”, [0037], “The BLE proximity sensors 10a to 10d can further communicate with each other … they may communicate signal strength coming from the portable device 2 as well as a time stamp of the signal coming from the portable device 2.”).
However, SANTAVICCA does not explicitly teach which is included in the paired communication frame, first communication frame includes the communication direction information with the generated first direction information,
Portable device including a third processor and memory,
second direction information indicating that the communication direction is the second direction,
monitoring device determines whether a transmission source of the intercepted communication frame is the vehicle device or the portable device based on the communication direction information included in the intercepted communication frame received by the at least one sub-antenna.
STITT, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches Portable device including a third processor and memory ([0052], “The portable device 10 may include a wireless communication chipset 11 connected to an antenna 13… The portable device 10 may also include application code 12 that is executable by the processor of the portable
device 10 and stored in a nontransitory computer-readable medium, such as a read-only memory ROM or a random-access memory RAM”).
SANTAVICCA and STITT are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of SANTAVICCA and the features of Portable device including a third processor and memory, as taught by STITT. Which is well known that mobile device or smartphone has processor and memory.
BLE_5.0, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches which is included in the paired communication frame (Page 1726, section 2.1, Page 1765-1766, section 4.14 and 4.15, disclose packet format for creating channel request and response, wherein “channel request packet” and “channel response packet” is properly interpreted as paired frames), first communication frame includes the communication direction information with the generated first direction information, second direction information indicating that the communication direction is the second direction (Page 2587, section 2.4, Page 2648, section 4.5.9, “For each connection the Link Layer has two parameters, transmitSeqNum and nextExpectedSeqNum, each one bit in size. The transmitSeqNum parameter is used to identify packets sent by the Link Layer. The nextExpectedSeqNum parameter is used by the peer to either acknowledge the last Data Channel PDU sent, or to request resending of the last Data Channel PDU sent”, Page 2649, Figure. 4.39, “Upon reception of a Data Channel PDU, the SN bit shall be compared to nextExpectedSeqNum. If the bits are different, then this is a resent Data Channel PDU, and nextExpectedSeqNum shall not be changed. If the bits are the same, then this is a new Data Channel PDU, and nextExpectedSeqNum may be incremented by one … Upon receiving a Data Channel PDU, if the NESN bit of that Data Channel PDU is the same as transmitSeqNum, then the last sent Data Channel PDU has not been acknowledged … If the NESN bit of the Data Channel PDU is different from transmitSeqNum, then the last sent Data Channel PDU has been acknowledged”, wherein transmitSeqNum is serving as the first indication, nextExpectedSeqNum is serving as the second indication),
monitoring device determines whether a transmission source of the intercepted communication frame is the vehicle device or the portable device based on the communication direction information included in the intercepted communication frame received by the at least one sub-antenna (Page 2649, Figure. 4.39, “Upon reception of a Data Channel PDU, the SN bit shall be compared to nextExpectedSeqNum. If the bits are different, then this is a resent Data Channel PDU, and nextExpectedSeqNum shall not be changed. If the bits are
the same, then this is a new Data Channel PDU, and nextExpectedSeqNum may be incremented by one … Upon receiving a Data Channel PDU, if the NESN bit of that Data Channel PDU is the same as transmitSeqNum, then the last sent Data Channel PDU has not been acknowledged … If the NESN bit of the Data Channel PDU is different from transmitSeqNum, then the last sent Data Channel PDU has been acknowledged”, wherein transmitSeqNum is serving as the first indication, nextExpectedSeqNum is serving as the second indication, and determining whether PDU is acknowledged or not is serving the same function as determining whether the intercepted communication frame is from the vehicle device or the portable device. Wherein the PDU with been acknowledged is reading as PDU from portable device, and PDU without been acknowledged is reading as PDU from vehicle device).
SANTAVICCA and BLE_5.0 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of SANTAVICCA and the features of constructing first indication frame, second indication frame and pairing method, as taught by BLE_5.0, in which The Link Layer acknowledgment and flow control scheme via transmitSeqNum and nextExpectedSeqNum is well known in the Bluetooth field (page 2648-2649).
Claim 8 is a method of claim 1, is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 9 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 2: SANTAVICCA teaches the vehicle device according to claim 1, further comprising: a strength detector detecting a reception strength of a signal received by the at least one sub-antenna (Fig. 6, Fig. 13, element 133, 134, [0112], “A controller 34 is illustratively carried by the vehicle 32 and configured to wirelessly communicate with the portable device 33, determine a predicted zone the portable device is located in from among a plurality of zones relative to the vehicle 32 based upon the received wireless signals”, [0111], “the portable device 33 is moveable relative to the vehicle 32 and is configured to receive the wireless signals from the wireless transmitters 31a-31d”, [0115], “the portable or mobile device 33 will tensor (group together) RSSI values RSSI(A)-RSSI(D) that are reported between itself and all of the BLE transmitters 31a-31d at a single instance, and send these to the controller 34. The controller 34 then predicts the location of the end user equipped with the mobile device 33 within a given zone around or in the vehicle 32, based off of the RSSI values RSSI(A)-RSSI(D)”);
Wherein the first processor and memory specify a position of the second communication device based on the detected reception strength in response to the at least one second processor and memory determining that the transmission source of the communication frame received by the at least one sub-antenna is the second communication device (Fig. 6, element 35, Fig. 13, element 134, [0112], “A controller 34 is illustratively carried by the vehicle 32 and configured to wirelessly communicate with the portable device 33, determine a predicted zone the portable device is located in from among a plurality of zones relative to the vehicle 32 based upon the received wireless signals”, [0115], “the portable or mobile device 33 will tensor (group together) RSSI values RSSI(A)-RSSI(D) that are reported between itself and all of the BLE transmitters 31a-31d at a single instance, and send these to the controller 34. The controller 34 then predicts the location of the end user equipped with the mobile device 33 within a given zone around or in the vehicle 32, based off of the RSSI values RSSI(A)-RSSI(D)”, [0050], “based on the signal strength of a communication received from the portable device 2, the BLE control module 20 may know if the portable device 2 is inside the vehicle 1 or outside the vehicle 2”).
Claim 3: The combination of SANTAVICCA , STITT and BLE_5.0 teaches the vehicle device according to claim 1, wherein the communication frames paired with one another is defined as a pair frame (SANTAVICCA, Fig. 6, [0115], “the portable or mobile device 33 will tensor (group together) RSSI values RSSI(A)-RSSI(D) that are reported between itself and all of the BLE transmitters 31a-31d at a single instance, and send these to the controller 34 … the RSSI values RSSI(A)-RSSI(D) are continuously reported between the mobile device 33 and the BLE transmitters 31a-31d, and an RSSI between the mobile device and the controller 34 is also reported”, [0037], “The BLE proximity sensors 10a
to 10d can further communicate with each other … they may communicate signal strength coming from the portable device 2 as well as a time stamp of the signal coming from the portable device 2.”), the communication direction information includes current pair frame information and next pair frame information (STITT, Fig. 7A/B …G, [0078], “The protocol data unit portion 146 may include a header portion 150 (16 bits), which includes logical link identifier (LLID) bits, , a next expected sequence number (NESN) bit, a sequence number (SN) bit … The NESN and SN bits may represent a sequence number for acknowledgment and flow control. The MD bit may indicate whether the portable device 10 intends to send additional message packets 140 while the portable device 10
and the communication gateway 29 communicate via communication link 50”, wherein SN is serving as current pair frame information, and NESN is serving as serving as next pair frame information),
the current pair frame information indicates the pair frame, which includes the communication frame to be transmitted, the next pair frame information indicates the pair frame, which includes the communication frame to be received next time (BLE_5.0, page 2587, section 2.4, page 2648, section 4.5.9, “For each connection the Link Layer has two parameters, transmitSeqNum and nextExpectedSeqNum, each one bit in size. The transmitSeqNum parameter is used to identify packets sent by the Link Layer. The nextExpectedSeqNum parameter is used by the peer to either acknowledge the last Data Channel PDU sent, or to request resending of the last Data Channel PDU sent”),
in the first communication device, the first processor and memory generates, as the first direction information, the communication direction information in which the current pair frame information and the next pair frame information are equal to one another (BLE_5.0, page 2648, section 4.5.9, “The transmitSeqNum and nextExpectedSeqNum parameters shall be set to zero upon entering the Connection State”, page 2649, paragraph 3, “For each new Data Channel PDU that is sent, the SN bit of the Header shall be set to transmitSeqNum. If a Data Channel PDU is resent, then the SN bit shall not be changed”, Page 1765, section 4.14, “Once the channel has been configured, data packets flowing to the sender of the request shall be sent to this CID. Thus, the Source CID represents the channel endpoint on the device sending the request and receiving the response”),
and in the second communication device, the at least one second processor and memory generates, as the second direction information, the communication direction information in which the current pair frame information and the next pair frame information are different from one another (BLE_5.0, Page 2649, Fig. 4.39, paragraph 4, “Upon reception of a Data Channel PDU, the SN bit shall be compared to nextExpectedSeqNum. If the bits are different, then this is a resent Data Channel PDU, and nextExpectedSeqNum shall not be changed. If the bits are the same, then this is a new Data Channel PDU, and nextExpectedSeqNum may be incremented by one (see Section 4.5.9.1)”, Page 1767, section 4.16, “Move Channel request packets are sent to move an existing L2CAP channel from a physical link on one Controller to a physical link on another Controller”, wherein initiator CID is serving as the CID for the current pair frame, and Dest ID is serving as the CID for the next pair frame.). SANTAVICCA and STITT are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of SANTAVICCA and the features of the communication direction information includes current pair frame information and next pair frame information, as taught by STITT. Which is well known that BLE packet header includes NSEN and SN field (para [0077]).
The motivation for combining SANTAVICCA and BLE_5.0 regarding claim 1 is also applied to claim 3.
Claim 4: The combination of SANTAVICCA ,STITT and BLE_5.0 teaches the vehicle device according to claim 3, wherein the current pair frame information and the next pair frame information are indicated by numerical values (STITT, Fig. 7A/B …G, [0078], “The protocol data unit portion 146 may include a header portion 150 (16 bits), which includes logical link identifier (LLID) bits, , a next expected sequence number (NESN) bit, a sequence number (SN) bit … The NESN and SN bits may represent a sequence number for acknowledgment and flow control. The MD bit may indicate whether the portable device 10 intends to send additional message packets 140 while the portable device 10 and the communication gateway 29 communicate via communication link 50”, wherein SN is serving as current pair frame information, and NESN is serving as serving as next pair frame information).
The motivation for combining SANTAVICCA and STITT regarding claim 3 is also applied to claim 4.
Claim 5: The combination of SANTAVICCA ,STITT and BLE_5.0 teaches the vehicle device according to claim 3, wherein the current pair frame information and the next pair frame information each is represented by 0 or 1 (STITT, Fig. 7A/B …G, [0078], “The protocol data
unit portion 146 may include a header portion 150 (16 bits), which includes logical link identifier (LLID) bits, , a next expected sequence number (NESN) bit, a sequence number (SN) bit … The NESN and SN bits may represent a sequence number for acknowledgment and flow control. The MD bit may indicate whether the portable device 10 intends to send additional message packets 140 while the portable device 10 and the communication gateway 29 communicate via communication link 50”, wherein SN is serving as current pair frame information, and NESN is serving as serving as next pair frame information
BLE_5.0, page 2587, section 2.4, page 2648, section 4.5.9, “For each connection the Link Layer has two parameters, transmitSeqNum and nextExpectedSeqNum, each one bit in size. The transmitSeqNum parameter is used to identify packets sent by the Link Layer. The nextExpectedSeqNum parameter is used by the peer to either acknowledge the last Data Channel PDU sent, or to request resending of the last Data Channel PDU sent”).
The motivation for combining SANTAVICCA and STITT regarding claim 3 is also applied to claim 5.
The motivation for combining SANTAVICCA and BLE_5.0 regarding claim 1 is also applied to claim 5.
Claim 6: The combination of SANTAVICCA, STITT and BLE_5.0 teaches the vehicle device according to claim 1, wherein the communication direction information is included in an unencrypted field of the communication frame (BLE_5.0, PAGE 2077, section 10.4, “The data signing is used for transferring authenticated data between two devices in an unencrypted connection. The data signing method is used by services that require fast connection set up and fast data transfer”, Page 2506, section 3.3.2, “AMP devices may choose to obtain the timebase of their peer through the timestamp field in 802.11 beacons and probe responses…After successful 802.11 (re)association, unencrypted security frames may be transmitted on the physical link”, Page 249, section 5.4.4, “Bluetooth LE supports the ability to send authenticated data over an unencrypted ATT bearer between two devices with a trusted relationship”).
The motivation for combining SANTAVICCA and BLE_5.0 regarding claim 1 is also applied to claim 6.
Claim 7: The combination of SANTAVICCA, STITT and BLE_5.0 teaches the vehicle device according to claim 1, wherein the wireless communication between the first communication device and the second communication device is Bluetooth Low Energy communication (SANTAVICCA, Fig.1, [0031], “FIG. 1 illustrates a system according to an exemplary embodiment in which BLE localization is used to locate and communicate with a portable device”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472