DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 02/21/2024 claims 1-4 are pending. Claim 1 is independent.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 6 is missing a label for the y-axis. To overcome this objection, amend Fig. 6 to add the label for the y-axis (i.e., vertical axis) as supported by the specification in lines 8-9 of page 8. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Management Apparatus for Determining a Priority for the Electric Power Supply to an Electric Power Trade Market”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: a use duration acquisition portion, an index acquisition portion, an allowable reference value acquisition portion, a determination portion, and a guideline reference value acquisition portion in claims 1 and 3.
In page 5 lines 1-6 of the applicant’s disclosure the use duration acquisition portion 121, the index acquisition portion 122, the allowable reference value acquisition portion 123, the determination portion 125, and the guideline reference value acquisition portion 124 within control part 120 as illustrated in Fig. 2 may be implemented using hardware such as ASIC (Application Specific Integrated Circuit), a PLD (Programmable Logic Device), or a FPGA (Field Programmable Gate Array).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claim 1 is directed towards an apparatus as identified in Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test outlined in MPEP 2106.
The claims recite receiving data, performing calculations, and making determinations based on the received data and calculations which are considered exceptions because the limitations fall under the methods of mental processes and mathematical concepts groupings of the abstract ideas as identified in Step 2A Prong One.
The limitations from claim 1 that are considered exceptions are the following:
“a use duration acquisition portion that acquires a use duration of a battery provided on a movable body”;
“an index acquisition portion that acquires an index indicating a degradation state of the battery”;
“an allowable reference value acquisition portion that acquires an allowable reference value which becomes a criterion of whether or not to allow a supply of electric power from the battery to an electric power trade market and is determined in accordance with the use duration of the battery”; and
“a determination portion that determines a priority for determining whether or not to supply electric power to the electric power trade market in accordance with the use duration of the battery, the index, and the allowable reference value”.
These limitations are considered abstract ideas because these could be done mentally by an individual with the aid of pen and paper to perform calculations in order to determine a priority for determining whether or not to supply electric power to the electric power trade market in accordance with the use duration of the battery, the index, and the allowable reference value.
These judicial exception are not integrated into a practical application because managing information using a memory device and a processor are generic structures with insignificant, extra-solution activities of receiving data, calculating data, and determining data does not make it practical as identified in Step 2A Prong Two.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the processor is only used to receive, calculate, and determine the abstract ideas with no additional practical use added as a limitation as identified in Step 2B.
Dependent claims 2-4 are rejected because they are only further the abstract idea without additional practical use or significant structure. The dependent claims further add to the abstract idea by providing additional details as to how the data is obtained or calculated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (USPGPN 20200384887; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) and cited in the Japanese Office Action using JP-2020195208-A), and further in view of Shiyama et al. (USPGPN 20190377029; identified by the applicant in the IDS and cited in the Japanese Office Action using JP-2018160074-A).
With respect to independent claim 1, Yokoyama teaches a management apparatus (Fig. 1; management device 100) comprising:
a use duration acquisition portion that acquires a use duration of a battery provided on a movable body (Fig. 1; ¶[08]; the management device 100 includes an acquisition unit configured to acquire remaining performance and information indicating a use period of the on-vehicle battery 310 in vehicle 300).
Yokoyama teaches an index acquisition portion that acquires an index indicating a degradation state of the battery ([¶[75]; “...a degree of influence caused by the deterioration of the on-vehicle battery 310...” is understood to be obtained by the management device 100 or a portion within).
Yokohama teaches an allowable reference value acquisition portion that acquires an allowable reference value which becomes a criterion of whether or not to allow a supply of electric power from the battery to an electric power trade market and is determined in accordance with the use duration of the battery (Fig. 6, steps S5-S7; ¶[92]; the system obtains a first threshold value and compares this to the remaining performance value of the battery in step S5 to determine whether to allow frequency regulation of charging from the grid and discharging to the grid in step S7 (e.g., allowing supply of electric power to an electric power trade market) or not allow by restricting V2G in step S6).
Yokohama teaches a determination portion that determines whether or not to supply electric power to the electric power trade market in accordance with the use duration of the battery, the index, and the allowable reference value (Fig. 6; as cited above the determination is made in step S5 considering the remaining performance and the first threshold value. It is understood the degree of influence regarding the state of deterioration of the battery is taken into consideration and compared with the threshold value as noted in ¶[75] “...a degree of influence caused by the deterioration of the on-vehicle battery 310 is equal to or less than a threshold value...”).
However, Yokohama fails to explicitly teach determining a priority.
Shiyama teaches determining a priority (¶[121-124]; the batteries are ranked by priority based on how their actual deterioration compares with a target and their usage).
Ranking the batteries allows for the system to prioritize certain batteries to better control their degradation over time. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have adapted Shiyama’s prioritization to Yokohama’s electric power system management device. The advantage of this being categorizing the batteries with similar performance and keeping usable items in service making it cheaper to maintain (see ¶[31] of Shiyama).
With respect to claim 2, Yokohama teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Yokohama teaches determined in accordance with a difference between the index and the allowable reference value (¶[75]; “...a degree of influence caused by the deterioration of the on-vehicle battery 310 is equal to or less than a threshold value...” the comparison determines a difference between the degree of influence and the threshold value).
With respect to claim 3, Yokohama teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Yokohama teaches a guideline reference value acquisition portion that acquires a guideline reference value which is determined in accordance with the use duration of the battery and is determined as a guideline of the degradation state of the battery which supplies electric power to the electric power trade market (Figs. 4 and 6, step S8; ¶[92-94] in step S8 the second threshold value is determined in accordance with the remaining performance of the battery which places the system to perform between the frequency control SOC and the lower limit SOC in order to curb deterioration when supplying power to the electric power grid).
However, Yokohama fails to explicitly teach wherein the priority is determined in accordance with a first value obtained by subtracting the allowable reference value from the index and a second value obtained by subtracting the allowable reference value from the guideline reference value.
As cited above, Yokohama teaches the first threshold value, the second threshold value, the remaining performance, and the degree of influence are compared using greater-than, less-than, or equal criteria. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to derive by subtraction the difference between the values given the values are evaluated using greater-than or less-than comparison. The advantage of this being turning a qualitative comparison into a quantitative one.
With respect to claim 4, Yokohama teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 3. Although, Yokohama fails to explicitly teach wherein the priority is a ratio of the first value to the second value, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to divide the values determined from subtraction in order to provide a normalized measure that may be expressed as a ratio. The advantage of this being the quantified comparison may be expressed as a percentage.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The additional prior art identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) were considered by the examiner, however, for examination purposes were not relied upon for citation purposes.
Nakamura (USPGPN 20220239101) is about a server that manages demand response for a power grid using multiple resources, including vehicles with batteries. The server receives data from a vehicle, such as battery state of charge and event history showing whether charging or discharging occurred. If the vehicle’s battery state changes but the server does not receive the expected history information, the server treats the wireless communication as unreliable.
Murayama (USPGPN 20140320062) describes a system for managing a fleet of shared electric vehicles. The system watches for signs that each vehicle’s battery is aging, such as mileage, internal resistance, or charge/discharge history use order. The system ranks the vehicles so that the less-degraded batteries are used sooner and the more-degraded batteries are used later.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859