DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Any references to applicant’s specification are made by way of applicant’s U.S. pre-grant printed patent publication.
This action is in response to the communication filed on 07/06/26 .
All objections and rejections not set forth below have been withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinberg, US 2006/0155720 A1 in view of KÜÇÜKEREN, “Data Access Layer Code Generator”.
Regarding claim 1, as best determined in view of the above noted deficiencies of clarity, Feinberg discloses:
A computer-implemented method comprising (e.g. Feinberg, claim 6):
receiving, by a processor (e.g. Feinberg, fig. 6:621; fig. 2:215), a request for a data access [layer class] (e.g. Feinberg, fig. 2:205; par. 13, 35, 36, 37 – customer provides a XML file, i.e. “a request”, for generating a data access layer class), the request indicating a stored procedure (e.g. Feinberg, par. 31, 37 – the customer’s XML file indicates a plurality of stored procedures) stored in a database for accessing data in the database (e.g. Feinberg, fig. 2:210; par. 31, 32 – the stored procedures are stored within the database).
Feinberg teaches a data access generator for generating data access layer classes. Feinberg does not appear to explicitly use the term “file” (i.e. a named collection of data) when characterizing the generated data access layer class.
However, Kucukeren also teaches a data access generator for generating data access layer classes. Furthermore, Kucukeren teaches that the data access layer classes generated by the generator are named collections of data, thus “files” (e.g. Kucukeren, pg. 31, 59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art recognize the teachings of Kucukeren that data access layer classes are files within the system of Feinberg, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by (i.e. a named collection of data) to distinguish one generated data access layer class from that of another.
Thus, the combination enables:
in response to the request for the data access file:
determining, by the processor, based on the stored procedure indicated in the request for the data access file, inputs required by the stored procedure (e.g. Feinberg, par. 37, 38 – i.e. determined parameters);
invoking, by the processor, the stored procedure to retrieve a data record stored in the database (e.g. Feinberg, par. 12, 30), the stored procedure comprising executable database operation instructions for accessing the data record in the database using the inputs required by the stored procedure (e.g. Feinberg, par. 12, 30, 38);
generating, by the processor, the data access file (e.g. Feinberg, fig. 2:220; par. 35) based on the stored procedure (e.g. Feinberg, fig. 2: 204…206 [Wingdings font/0xE0] 215 [Wingdings font/0xE0] 220), the data record retrieved by invoking the stored procedure, and the inputs required by the stored procedure (e.g. Feinberg, par. 12, 33, 42), the data access file including a mapping between a first property in an application associated with the database and a second property of the data record in the database (e.g. Feinberg, par. 5, 6, 38, 40 – 42), and the data access file further including instructions for invoking the stored procedure using the inputs required by the stored procedure to query the database for the data record (e.g. e.g. Feinberg, par. 12, 33, 42);
and in response to receiving a first request for the data record in the database (e.g. Feinberg, par. 28 – 30), translating, by the processor, the first request for the data record into a second request for the data record according to the mapping in the data access file, wherein the second request uses the instructions for invoking the stored procedure in the data access file to invoke the stored procedure to access the data record in the database (e.g. Feinberg, fig. 1:125; par. 12, 29, 30, 46).
Regarding claim 2, combination enables:
in response to an update to the stored procedure (e.g. Feinberg, par. 42, 43), retrieving, by the processor, a second data record from the database based on the updated stored procedure; generating, by the processor, an updated data access file based on the updated stored procedure and the second data record; and translating, by the processor, a third request for the data record in the database into a fourth request for the data record in the database using the updated data access file, wherein the fourth request uses the updated stored procedure to access the second data record in the database (e.g. Feinberg, par. 43). Herein, the data access layer is regenerated, using the same process as taught above, based upon the updated or new database records).
Regarding claim 3, combination enables:
further comprising receiving, by the processor, an indication of the update to the stored procedure from the database (e.g. Feinberg, par. 42, 43).
Regarding claim 4, combination enables:
further comprising periodically polling, by the processor, the database for the update to the stored procedure (e.g. Feinberg, par. 42, 43).
Regarding claim 5, combination enables:
wherein the update to the stored procedure is made by an administrator computer (e.g. Feinberg, par. 42, 43).
Regarding claim 6, combination enables:
wherein the stored procedure is configured to return data from one or more tables of the database based on one or more input parameters (e.g. Feinberg, par. 3, 30, 46).
Regarding claim 7, combination enables:
wherein the first request comprises an application programming interface (API) call (e.g. Feinberg, par. 11, 30, 33, 44, 45; fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, combination enables:
wherein the second request uses a calling code of the data access file to call the stored procedure (e.g. Feinberg, par. 11, 30, 33, 44, 45; fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, combination enables:
wherein the first request comprises a database operation … (e.g. Feinberg, par. 12, 30, 31, 46 – identified database operation). Feinberg does not appear to explicitly teach that the data access request comprises “an identifier of the database” to be accessed. However, Feinberg does teach that client’s within an organization make data access requests to a DBMS system that comprises a plurality of different databases (e.g. Feinberg, par. 3 – 5, 55; fig. 7:760). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make requests that comprise an identifier of a database, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the need to identify which one of the plurality of databases (e.g. customer data vs. product data vs. organizational data, etc.) from which the client wishes to access data.
Regarding claim 10, combination enables:
wherein the data access file comprises a mapping between the database operation and the stored procedure (e.g. Feinberg, par. par. 12, 29, 30, 46).
Regarding claims 11 – 20, they are system claims essentially corresponding to the method claims above, and they are rejected, at least, for the same reasons. Furthermore because, Feinberg discloses: A system comprising: a database comprising a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium … a server comprising a processor … (e.g. Feinberg, fig. 5; fig. 6; fig. 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues or alleges essentially that:
…
… However, Feinberg is altogether silent as to determining, based on the stored procedure, the inputs required by the stored procedure. In Feinberg, the configuration information is provided externally by the user in the XML configuration file. Feinberg does not determine based on the stored procedure, what inputs the stored procedure requires. Instead, Feinberg relies on the user to specify this information in the configuration file. …
…
(Remarks, pg. 7, 8)
Examiner respectfully responds:
The examiner respectfully disagrees, at least, for any one of the reasons below:
First, Feinberg does teach that the user’s request, comprising the XML file, indicates which stored procedures are to be used for generating a data access file. However, Feinberg clearly and explicitly teaches that the necessary parameters for the identified stored procedures are gathered, i.e. determined, from the database of stored procedures (e.g. Feinberg, fig. 2:210; par. 37, 38).
Second, assuming arguendo, that Feinberg were to teach that the XML file was used when determining parameter information. The examiner points out that such determination of parameter information is performed within a vacuum - separate and distinct from the stored procedures indicated by the XML file - but it is clearly dependent upon (i.e. “based on”) the stored procedures identified within the XML file.
Conclusion
/JEFFERY L WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495