DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Dependent claim 6 recites “important object description information including at least one of a combination of an image and annotation data for designating an important object to be detected, a natural language for designating an important object to be detected, and data obtained by converting at least one of the combination and the natural language”. It is not clear what is meant by “converting at least one of the combination and the natural language”. It is not clear what this conversion is and the specification fails to describe or provide further guidance. It is also not clear what is meant by “at least one of a combination of an image and annotation data for designating an important object to be detected”. Annotation data might provide clues about the importance of an object to be detected such as by labeling the object and the corresponding importance, but it is not clear this combination of an image refers to. The specification fails to provide further clarification. Claims 7-10 depend from claim 6 and are therefore rejected for the same reason and for failing to further clarify the issues raised above.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-4 and 9-10 recite limitations “model configured to output inference data”, “information generation unit configured to generate”, “compressor configured to generate”, “preprocessing unit configured to execute”, “interface for setting”, “interface for instruction verification”, “an interface for acquiring” that been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it they use a generic placeholders “unit”, “interface”, “compressor” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the claim have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over D1.1
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach at least one computer including a processor, a storage device connected to the processor, and an interface connected to the processor (see fig. 1, ¶ 30); a model configured to output inference data indicating importance of each region of multi-dimensional data (see ¶¶ 215-216: importance degree map); a compression level information generation unit configured to generate compression level information including a parameter for determining a data amount for each region of the multi-dimensional data based on the inference data (see ¶¶ 215-216: adaptive compression based on importance degree map, implicitly related to encoding parameters such as bit amount) ; and a compressor configured to generate the compressed data in a data format having ensured compatibility with a transmission destination of compressed data by lossy compression using the compression level information (see ¶¶ 215-216: generating compressed data). D1 does not explicitly that the encoded data is in a format that is compatible with a transmission destination, however it is implicit that the data format is compatible with a destination device, for example, so that the data can be later decoded and used. Alternatively, Examiner takes Official Notice to the fact that before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it was extremely well known in the art to transmit encoded or compressed data to a transmission destination in a format that is compatible with the destination in order for the data to be useful at the target destination.
With regard to claim 2, D1 teach computer system according to claim 1, wherein the compression level information generation unit generates the compression level information for generating the compressed data in which a data amount of an important region is large and a data amount of an unimportant region is small based on the inference data (see ¶¶ 215-216: bit amount allocated based on importance degree map, implicit that data amount is large for more important region and vice versa).
With regard to claim 12, see discussion of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 and further in view of D2.2
With regard to claim 3, D1 teach computer system according to claim 2, but fails to explicitly teach further comprising: a preprocessing unit configured to execute a preprocess of processing the multi-dimensional data so as to reduce a calculation cost of the model, wherein the multi-dimensional data processed by the preprocessing unit is input to the model, however D2 teach the missing features (see ¶¶ 23, 50: downscaling image to perform lookahead analysis - block level statistics using down sampled frames and generating quantization parameters using the statistics). One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to incorporate known teachings of D2 in which quantization statistics are derived from down sampled images into the configuration of D1. In particular, it would have been obvious to generate statistics or in this case importance degree map based on down sampled image. The motivation would have been to reduce computational costs by down sampling the image prior to determining importance degree map.
Claims 4-5, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 US Publication No. 2020/0301595.
2 US Publication No. 2021/0306640.