Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the patent application filed on June 11, 2026. Claims 1-4 & 6-8 are currently pending.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims on June 11, 2026 have overcome the specification objection, the 35 USC 112(a) rejection, and the prior art rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 1-4, filed June 11, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-4 & 6-8 under 35 USC 102 & 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2022/0010519 A1 to Izumikawa.
In the interview filed July 27, 2026, the applicant requested the examiner to propose potential allowable subject matter in the specification. However, the examiner is unable to find any potential allowable subject matter after looking at the specification and drawings.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. JP2023-044478, filed on March 20, 2023.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
No action the part of the applicant is required at this time.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0010519 A1, to Izumikawa.
Regarding Claim 1, Izumikawa discloses An excavator ([0027] & Fig. 1, Izumikawa discloses an excavation machine (i.e. excavator)) comprising: a lower traveling body ([0028], Izumikawa discloses a lower traveling body);
an upper rotating body that is rotatably mounted on the lower traveling body ([0029], Izumikawa discloses an upper revolving body which installed on the lower traveling body);
an attachment that is attached to the upper rotating body, and includes a boom, an arm, and a bucket ([0030], Izumikawa discloses an attachment with a boom, arm, and a bucket); and
a controller configured to generate a target surface, based on a current value of an angle of the bucket, each time the angle of the bucket changes as the bucket moves ([0144] & Fig. 8A, Izumikawa discloses a target surface TS which changes from the horizontal part HS to the tilt part SL (i.e. based on current value of an angle of the bucket) as the bucket changes angle (i.e. change as the bucket moves)), and
derive, based on data on the generated target surface, a target trajectory that the bucket follows to move along the generated target surface ([0113], Izumikawa discloses deriving the target trajectory based on target surface data).
Regarding Claim 2, Izumikawa discloses The excavator according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: generate a primary command value for moving a primary element among the boom, the arm, and the bucket included in the attachment, in accordance with an operation by an operator (0115]- [0119], Izumikawa discloses an operator performing an operation (i.e. primary command) allowing the boom, arm and bucket to move); and
generate a secondary command value for moving a secondary element among the boom, the arm, and the bucket included in the attachment, in accordance with movement of the primary element, such that a working part of the bucket moves along the target surface ([0148] & Fig. 8b, Izumikawa discloses a series of control values (i.e. secondary command) of the teeth (i.e. working part) of the bucket moving along the target surface).
Regarding Claim 3, Izumikawa discloses The excavator according to claim 1, wherein the target surface is a plane having a certain angle relative to a back surface of the bucket that serves as a reference plane ([0122] & [0144], Izumikawa discloses reference points, Pa & Pb, which is the back face of the bucket used to determine the position (i.e. angle) relative to the target surface (i.e. plane)wherein the target surfaces are generated from the control reference points Pa & Pb).
Regarding Claim 4, Izumikawa discloses The excavator according to claim 3, wherein the controller is further configured to set the target surface based on the certain angle and the angle of the bucket that is observed when an operation that commands setting of the target surface is received ([0124], Izumikawa discloses when the switch NS is being pressed and the left operation level, 26L, is being operated, the target surface is derived from point Pa on the teeth of the bucket).
Regarding Claim 7, Izumikawa discloses The excavator according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to move a working part of the bucket along a preset design surface in response to determining that the working part of the bucket is within a certain distance from the preset design surface, the preset design surface being different form the target surface ([0144] & Fig. 8A, Izumikawa discloses that when a bucket is moving along the target surface, HS, and senses a new surface (i.e. target working surface), SL, the bucket changes its course to move along the new target working surface).
Regarding Claim 8, Izumikawa discloses The excavator according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to generate a plane having a certain angle relative to a reference plane of the bucket and set the generated plane as the target surface ([0152], When determining the target surface, Izumikawa discloses positioning a shovel on a horizontal plane and calculates control values, PaL and PbL which are used to determine if the shovel is on a tilted plane (i.e. having a certain angle to the reference plane of the bucket)).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0010519 A1, to Izumikawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2012/0315120 A1, to Hyder.
Regarding Claim 6, as shown above, Izumikawa discloses The excavator according to claim 3,
However, Izumikawa does not specifically disclose wherein the controller is further configured to acquire the certain angle entered from a touch panel.
Hyder, directed to the same problem, teaches wherein the controller is further configured to acquire the certain angle entered from a touch panel ([0057], Hyder teaches a touch display which an angle of a bucket can be manually input).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to modify the target surface setting excavator of Izumikawa with the angle input display of Hyder in order to control the bucket angle on any plane (Hyder [0057]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T DOWLING/Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669