DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the election filed on 28 July 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 28 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hudson et al. (US 2022/0108651 A1; hereinafter Hudson).
In regards to claim 1, Hudson teaches, e.g. in figs. 4, a display device comprising:
a substrate (401) comprising:
a first well area (e.g. an instance of (380) in a pixel (433)); and
a second well area (e.g. another instance of (380) in another pixel (433)) spaced from the first well area (e.g. spaced the wells are in different respective pixels), the second well area having a voltage different from a voltage of the first well area (e.g. fig. 1B; [0036-0037]);
a first pixel circuit (e.g. fig. 1B; [0036]: e.g. (181a/182a1/182a2, etc.)) comprising:
a first transistor located on the first well area (figs. 4D; [0022]: multiple P-FETs on a single n-well); and
a second transistor located on the second well area (figs. 4D; [0022]: multiple P-FETs on a single n-well); and
a second pixel circuit (e.g. fig. 1B; [0036]: e.g. (181b/182b1/182b2, etc.)) comprising:
a third transistor located on the first well area (figs. 4D; [0022]: multiple P-FETs on a single n-well); and
a fourth transistor located on the second well area (figs. 4D; [0022]: multiple P-FETs on a single n-well).
In regards to claim 2, Hudson teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Hudson further teaches the limitations wherein the voltage of the first well area is higher than the voltage of the second well area ([0133]: bias).
In regards to claim 3, Hudson teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 2. Hudson further teaches the limitations wherein the first well area has a rectangular shape (figs. 4), and the second well area comprises:
a first portion extending in a first direction, and spaced from the first well area in a second direction crossing the first direction (fig. 4A: e.g. a quadrant of (380));
a second portion extending in the second direction, and spaced from the first well area in the first direction (e.g. fig. 4A: e.g. a diagonally spaced quadrant of (380)); and
a third portion in contact with the first portion and the second portion (fig. 4A: e.g. a quadrant of (380) connected the first and second diagonally opposed quadrants of (380)).
In regards to claim 4, Hudson teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 2. Hudson further teaches the limitations wherein each of the first transistor and the third transistor is a driving transistor of a corresponding pixel circuit (fig. 2E).
In regards to claim 5, Hudson teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 2. Hudson further teaches the limitations further comprising a third pixel circuit comprising:
a fifth transistor located on the first well area (figs. 4D; [0022]: multiple P-FETs on a single n-well); and
a sixth transistor located on the second well area (figs. 4D; [0022]: multiple P-FETs on a single n-well).
In regards to claim 6, Hudson teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 5. Hudson further teaches the limitations wherein the fifth transistor is a driving transistor (fig. 2E).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 7, Hudson teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claims 1 and 2. Hudson does not appear to teach, alone or in combination with other art, the limitations wherein the substrate further comprises:
a third well area having a structure corresponding to a mirror image of that of the first well area with respect to a first direction, the third well area having a voltage equal to the voltage of the first well area; and
a fourth well area having a structure corresponding to a mirror image of that of the second well area with respect to the first direction, the fourth well area having a voltage equal to the voltage of the second well area, and
wherein the display device further comprises:
a fourth pixel circuit comprising a seventh transistor located on the third well area, and an eighth transistor located on the fourth well area;
a fifth pixel circuit comprising a ninth transistor located on the third well area, and a tenth transistor located on the fourth well area; and
a sixth pixel circuit comprising an eleventh transistor located on the third well area, and a twelfth transistor located on the fourth well area.
The claims of the application at hand that depend from the claims that are objected to as allowable are objected to as well because they respectively depend, directly or indirectly, from the objected to claims of the application at hand. Therefore, the dependent claims in question incorporate the allowable limitations of the claims from which they depend.
Conclusion
CALVIN CHOI
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/CALVIN Y CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812