Attorney Docket Number: F23-1035US001/590287.515
Filling Date: 02/21/24
Priority Date: 02/28/23 (not perfected)
Inventor: Seo et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2014/0203301 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses a display device (Figs. 1-7), comprising: a substrate BS (Paras. 39, 40) including a display area DA (Para. 41) and a non-display area NDA (Para. 41) adjacent to the display area DA, the display area DA including a subpixel PE1, PE2 (Paras. 135, 141); a gate driving circuit GIC (Paras. 12, 42-43) disposed in the non-display area NDA, the gate driving circuit GIC generating a gate signal (inherent) and including a plurality of blocks CML, GIC (Para. 74); a first transistor GIC (left one) disposed in the gate driving circuit GIC and including a first active layer SM (Para. 87), a first gate electrode GE, a first source electrode SE, and a first drain electrode DE; and a second transistor GIC (right one) disposed in the gate driving circuit GIC and including a second active layer SM, a second gate electrode GE, a second source electrode SE, and a second drain electrode DE, wherein each of the first drain electrode DE, the second drain electrode DE, the first source electrode SE, and second source electrode SE extends along a first direction (X-direction, Fig. 6) , wherein the first drain electrode DE, G1C (left transistor) is positioned at one side of the first gate electrode GE in a second direction (Y-direction, consider thickness direction) crossing the first direction (X-direction), and the first source electrode SE is positioned at an opposite side of the first gate electrode GE in the second direction (Y-direction), wherein the second drain electrode DE , G1C (right transistor, Fig. 6) is positioned at one side of the second gate electrode GE in the second direction (Y-direction, thickness direction), and the second source electrode SE is positioned at an opposite side of the second gate electrode GE in the second direction (Y-direction), and wherein the gate driving circuit G1C (Fig. 1) is disposed at one side of the display area DA in the first direction (X-direction).
Regarding claim 21, Kim further discloses the display device according to claim 19, further comprising: a signal line CML (Para. 74) disposed in the gate driving circuit GIC and extending along a second direction (Y-direction, Fig. 2); and a connection line PP (Para. 42) electrically connecting the signal line CML and the first drain electrode DE, wherein an extension direction of the connection line PP is parallel to the first direction (X-direction, slanted parallel).
Regarding claim 22, Kim further discloses the display device according to claim 21, wherein the first direction (X-direction) is perpendicular to the second direction (Y-direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2014/0203301 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Kim does not explicitly disclose the display device according to claim 19, further comprising a light emitting diode in the subpixel and over the substrate.
However, Kim discloses color filter CF (Para. 58) in the subpixel PE1, PE2 and over the substrate BS. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain the light from LED to the CR in order to get different color light from the LED device through CF (Para. 58).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2014/0203301 A1) in view of Cho et al (US 2019/0165079 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Kim does not explicitly disclose the display device according to claim 19, wherein the first active layer includes a first channel region and first source and drain regions at both sides of the first channel region, and the second active layer includes a second channel region and second source and drain regions at both sides of the second channel region, wherein a first channel length direction is a direction connecting the first drain region and the first source region and passing through the first channel region, and a second channel length direction is a direction connecting the second drain region and the second source region and passing through the second channel region, and wherein the first channel length direction and the second channel length direction are in the second direction.
However, Kim discloses two gate driving transistors with two sources, two drains and two gates G1C (Fig. 6).
Also, Cho discloses a channel length direction 154d (middle, Fig. 2, Para. 65) is a direction connecting the drain region 154d (left portion) and the source region 154d (left portion) and passing through the first channel region 154d (middle). Cho teaches the above modification is used to reduce resistance of the device (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain “a first channel length direction is a direction connecting the first drain region and the first source region and passing through the first channel region, and a second channel length direction is a direction connecting the second drain region and the second source region and passing through the second channel region, and wherein the first channel length direction and the second channel length direction are in the second direction” to reduce resistance of the device (Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argue:
Kim fail to disclose the claimed feature of "wherein the first drain electrode is positioned at one side of the first gate electrode in a second direction crossing the first direction, and the first source electrode is positioned at an opposite side of the first gate electrode in the second direction, wherein the second drain electrode is positioned at one side of the second gate electrode in the second direction, and the second source electrode is positioned at an opposite side of the second gate electrode in the second direction, and wherein the gate driving circuit is disposed at one side of the display area in the first direction."
Examiner Responds:
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees about the above arguments. The claim 19 does not explicitly define the definition of the 2nd direction. Examiner interprets the drain 2nd direction is the Y-direction which is thickness direction in Kim reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15, 17 and 18 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817