Detailed Action
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Where the title is not descriptive of the invention claimed, the examiner should require the substitution of a new title that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Form paragraphs 6.11 and 6.11.01 may be used.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 21-23, 26, 27 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0305162), in view of Liff (CN 112563235) of record
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 6 of Ganesan discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic device, the method comprising: providing vertical interconnects (611) on a substrate bonding layer (616) covering an upper side of a first carrier (605); bonding a routing component bonding layer (adhesive 618) on a lower side of a routing component (100) to the substrate bonding layer covering the upper side of the first carrier; encapsulating the vertical interconnects and the routing component in a lower encapsulant (630); providing an upper substrate (617) to an upper side of the lower encapsulant such that a conductive structure of the upper substrate is coupled to upper sides of the vertical interconnects and to an upper side of the routing component; coupling a first electronic component and a second electronic component (114) to an upper side of the upper substrate; providing a second carrier (603) over the first electronic component and the second electronic component; exposing a lower side of the routing component and a lower side of each vertical interconnect (FIG. 6F) by removing the first carrier and the substrate bonding layer from the routing component and the vertical interconnects [0059]; and providing a lower substrate (606) to a lower side of the lower encapsulant such that a conductive structure of the lower substrate is coupled to the lower sides of the vertical interconnects.
Ganesan is silent with respect to the substrate bonding layer is “an inorganic layer”; and the routing component bonding layer is “an inorganic layer”.
FIG. 1 of Liff discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, wherein the substrate bonding layer (102) is an inorganic layer; and the routing component bonding layer (120) is an inorganic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ganesan, as taught by Liff, because such material substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values, MPEP 2144.06. For example, Hsiung (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0181092) discloses adhesive 308 can be organic or inorganic [0019]. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ganesan in the above manner for purpose of improving yield and reliability ([0017] of Liff).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 1 of Liff discloses bonding comprises forming a covalent bond between the routing component inorganic layer and the inorganic layer on the upper side of the first carrier.
Regarding Claim 5
With respect to “bonding occurs at temperatures ranging from approximately 25° C. to approximately 400° C”, said temperature is related to the formation of chemical bonds. For example, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0233971 to Terao teaches a heating temperature of approximately 80° C. to approximately 250° C [0183]. When the temperature is low, no sufficient chemical bonds would be formed. When the heating temperature is raised higher than the upper limit, the effect is not improved corresponding to the increase in the heating temperature. Therefore, said temperature is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific temperature therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 6 of Ganesan discloses encapsulating the first electronic component and the second electronic component in an upper encapsulant (619) prior to providing the second carrier (603).
Regarding Claim 21
FIG. 6 of Ganesan discloses the providing the lower substrate to the lower side of the lower encapsulant results in an upper side of the lower substrate directly contacting a lower side of the lower encapsulant.
Regarding Claim 22
FIG. 6 of Ganesan discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic device, the method comprising: providing a first carrier (605) comprising a first carrier upper side and a first carrier layer (616), wherein the first carrier layer comprises a first carrier layer upper side, a first carrier lower side directly on the first carrier upper side, and a first carrier layer lateral side that extends from the first carrier layer upper side to the first carrier layer lower side; providing vertical interconnects (611) over the first carrier upper side; bonding, to the first carrier layer, a routing component (100) comprising a routing component lower side and a routing component layer (adhesive 618) on the routing component lower side such that a lower side of the routing component layer is directly bonded to the first carrier layer upper side; encapsulating the vertical interconnects and the routing component in a lower encapsulant (630); providing an upper substrate to an upper side of the lower encapsulant such that a conductive structure of the upper substrate (617) is coupled to upper sides of the vertical interconnects and to an upper side of the routing component; coupling a first electronic component and a second electronic component (114) to an upper side of the upper substrate; providing a second carrier (603) over the first electronic component and the second electronic component; removing the first carrier from the routing component and the vertical interconnects; and providing a lower substrate (606) to a lower side of the lower encapsulant such that a conductive structure of the lower substrate is coupled to lower sides of the vertical interconnects.
Ganesan is silent with respect to the first carrier inorganic layer is “inorganic”; and the routing component layer is “inorganic”.
FIG. 1 of Liff discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, wherein the first carrier inorganic layer (102) is an inorganic layer; and the routing component layer (120) is an inorganic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ganesan, as taught by Liff, because such material substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values, MPEP 2144.06. For example, Hsiung (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0181092) discloses adhesive 308 can be organic or inorganic [0019]. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ganesan in the above manner for purpose of improving yield and reliability ([0017] of Liff).
Regarding Claim 23
FIG. 1 of Liff discloses bonding comprises forming a covalent bond between the routing component inorganic layer and the inorganic layer on the upper side of the first carrier.
Regarding Claim 26
With respect to “bonding occurs at temperatures ranging from approximately 25° C. to approximately 400° C”, said temperature is related to the formation of chemical bonds. For example, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0233971 to Terao teaches a heating temperature of approximately 80° C. to approximately 250° C [0183]. When the temperature is low, no sufficient chemical bonds would be formed. When the heating temperature is raised higher than the upper limit, the effect is not improved corresponding to the increase in the heating temperature. Therefore, said temperature is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific temperature therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 27
FIG. 6 of Ganesan discloses encapsulating the first electronic component and the second electronic component in an upper encapsulant (619) prior to providing the second carrier (603).
Regarding Claim 31
FIG. 6 of Ganesan discloses the providing the lower substrate to the lower side of the lower encapsulant results in an upper side of the lower substrate directly contacting a lower side of the lower encapsulant.
Claims 3 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan and Liff, in view of Hirayama (CN 106783735) of record.
Regarding Claim 3
Ganesan as modified by Liff discloses Claim 1.
Ganesan as modified by Liff is silent with respect to “bonding comprises forming hydroxyl (OH) groups on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer”.
FIG. 1 of Hirayama discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, wherein bonding comprises forming hydroxyl (OH) groups on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ganesan, as taught by Hirayama. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ganesan in the above manner for purpose of improving sealing and tightness of the structure (Abstract of Hirayama).
Regarding Claim 24
FIG. 1 of Hirayama discloses bonding comprises forming hydroxyl (OH) groups on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer.
Claims 4 and 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan and Liff, in view of Oh (KR 102120897) of record.
Regarding Claim 4
Ganesan as modified by Liff discloses Claim 1.
Ganesan as modified by Liff is silent with respect to “generating hydrogen (H) on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer through plasma treatment; binding oxygen (O) particles separated during plasma treatment to the hydrogen (H) generated on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer; and inducing hydroxyl (OH) groups on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer”.
FIG. 2 of Oh discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, wherein generating hydrogen (H) on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer through plasma treatment; binding oxygen (O) particles separated during plasma treatment to the hydrogen (H) generated on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer; and inducing hydroxyl (OH) groups on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ganesan, as taught by Oh. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ganesan in the above manner for purpose of preventing peeling off due to thermal stress (text of Oh).
Regarding Claim 25
FIG. 2 of Oh discloses bonding comprises: generating hydrogen (H) on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer through plasma treatment; binding oxygen (O) particles separated during plasma treatment to the hydrogen (H) generated on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer; and inducing hydroxyl (OH) groups on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer.
Claims 7 and 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan and Liff, in view of Zhai (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0159180).
Regarding Claim 7
Ganesan as modified by Liff discloses Claim 1.
Ganesan as modified by Liff is silent with respect to “providing the upper substrate comprises coupling the conductive structure of the upper substrate to a routing component redistribution structure at the upper side of the routing component”.
FIG. 1 of Zhai discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, wherein providing the upper substrate (130) comprises coupling the conductive structure of the upper substrate to a routing component redistribution structure at the upper side of the routing component (110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ganesan, as taught by Zhai. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ganesan in the above manner for purpose of forming a multi-die packaging ([0003] of Zhai).
Regarding Claim 28
FIG. 1 of Zhai discloses providing the upper substrate (130) comprises coupling the conductive structure of the upper substrate to a routing component redistribution structure at the upper side of the routing component (110).
Claims 8 and 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan and Liff, in view of Yoo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0320043) of record.
Regarding Claim 8
Ganesan as modified by Liff discloses Claim 1.
Ganesan as modified by Liff is silent with respect to “coupling the conductive structure of the lower substrate to lower sides of routing component through-interconnects that extend through a routing component die”.
FIG. 4 of Yoo discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, wherein coupling the conductive structure of the lower substrate (100) to lower sides of routing component (200) through-interconnects (260) that extend through a routing component die.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ganesan, as taught by Yoo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ganesan in the above manner for purpose of providing a semiconductor package with increased electrical characteristics ([0004] of Yoo).
Regarding Claim 29
FIG. 4 of Yoo discloses coupling the conductive structure of the lower substrate (100) to lower sides of routing component (200) through-interconnects (260) that extend through a routing component die.
Claims 9 and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan and Liff, in view of Tsai (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0020834) of record.
Regarding Claim 9
Ganesan as modified by Liff discloses Claim 1, comprising coupling a lower side of the lower substrate (606) to an upper side of a base substrate (602).
Ganesan as modified by Liff is silent with respect to “providing external interconnects to a lower side of the base substrate”.
FIG. 1 of Tsai discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, comprising coupling a lower side of the lower substrate (PM2) to an upper side of a base substrate (PM3); and providing external interconnects (170) to a lower side of the base substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ganesan, as taught by Tsai. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ganesan in the above manner for purpose of electrical connection to a circuit carrier ([0042] of Tsai).
Regarding Claim 30
FIG. 1 of Tsai coupling a lower side of the lower substrate (PM2) to an upper side of a base substrate (PM3); and providing external interconnects (170) to a lower side of the base substrate.
Pertinent Art
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0208669, 2021/0391268, 20180226349, and JP 2023181141, Chen (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0058627), Hsiung (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0181092).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897