Detailed Action
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Species I (Claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 5/29/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1 and 5-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0058627), in view of Hsiung (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0181092).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1 of Chen discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic device, the method comprising: providing vertical interconnects (200) over an upper side of a first carrier (C); bonding a routing component inorganic layer (AD) on a lower side of a routing component (300) to an inorganic layer (102) on the upper side of the first carrier; encapsulating (FIG. 1C) the vertical interconnects and the routing component in a lower encapsulant (400); providing an upper substrate (502) to an upper side of the lower encapsulant such that a conductive structure (504) of the upper substrate is coupled to upper sides of the vertical interconnects and to an upper side of the routing component (FIG. 1E); coupling (FIG. 1F) a first electronic component (704) and a second electronic component (804) to an upper side of the upper substrate; removing the first carrier from the routing component and the vertical interconnects (FIG. 1I).
Chen is silent with respect to “providing a second carrier over the first electronic component and the second electronic component”; and “providing a lower substrate to a lower side of the lower encapsulant such that a conductive structure of the lower substrate is coupled to lower sides of the vertical interconnects”.
FIG. 3 of Hsiung discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, comprising bonding a routing component inorganic [0019] layer (308) on a lower side of a routing component (310) to an inorganic layer (306) on the upper side of the first carrier (302); providing a second carrier (350) over the first electronic component (318) and the second electronic component (320); removing the first carrier from the routing component and the vertical interconnects (314); and providing a lower substrate (354) to a lower side of the lower encapsulant such that a conductive structure of the lower substrate is coupled to lower sides of the vertical interconnects
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Hsiung. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of reducing production cost ([0015] of Hsiung).
Regarding Claim 5
With respect to “bonding occurs at temperatures ranging from approximately 25° C. to approximately 400° C”, said temperature is related to the formation of chemical bonds. For example, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0233971 to Terao teaches a heating temperature of approximately 80° C. to approximately 250° C [0183]. When the temperature is low, no sufficient chemical bonds would be formed. When the heating temperature is raised higher than the upper limit, the effect is not improved corresponding to the increase in the heating temperature. Therefore, said temperature is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific temperature therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 3 of Hsiung discloses encapsulating the first electronic component and the second electronic component in an upper encapsulant (324) prior to providing the second carrier.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 1 of Chen discloses providing the upper substrate comprises coupling the conductive structure of the upper substrate to a routing component redistribution structure at the upper side of the routing component.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Hsiung, in view of Liff (CN 112563235, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 2
Chen as modified by Hsiung discloses Claim 1.
Chen as modified by Hsiung is silent with respect to “bonding comprises forming a covalent bond between the routing component inorganic layer and the inorganic layer on the upper side of the first carrier”.
FIG. 1 of Liff discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, wherein bonding comprises forming a covalent bond between the routing component inorganic layer (116) and the inorganic layer (111) on the upper side of the first carrier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Liff. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of improving yield and reliability ([0017] of Liff).
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Hsiung, in view of Hirayama (CN 106783735, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 3
Chen as modified by Hsiung discloses Claim 1.
Chen as modified by Hsiung is silent with respect to “bonding comprises forming hydroxyl (OH) groups on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer”.
FIG. 1 of Hirayama discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, wherein bonding comprises forming hydroxyl (OH) groups on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Hirayama. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of improving sealing and tightness of the structure (Abstract of Hirayama).
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Hsiung, in view of Oh (KR 102120897, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 4
Chen as modified by Hsiung discloses Claim 1.
Chen as modified by Hsiung is silent with respect to “generating hydrogen (H) on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer through plasma treatment; binding oxygen (O) particles separated during plasma treatment to the hydrogen (H) generated on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer; and inducing hydroxyl (OH) groups on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer”.
FIG. 2 of Oh discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, wherein generating hydrogen (H) on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer through plasma treatment; binding oxygen (O) particles separated during plasma treatment to the hydrogen (H) generated on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer; and inducing hydroxyl (OH) groups on the lower side of the routing component inorganic layer and the upper side of the inorganic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Oh. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of prevent peeling off due to thermal stress (text of Oh).
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Hsiung, in view of Yoo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0320043).
Regarding Claim 8
Chen as modified by Hsiung discloses Claim 1.
Chen as modified by Hsiung is silent with respect to “coupling the conductive structure of the lower substrate to lower sides of routing component through-interconnects that extend through a routing component die”.
FIG. 4 of Yoo discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, wherein coupling the conductive structure of the lower substrate (100) to lower sides of routing component (200) through-interconnects (260) that extend through a routing component die.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Yoo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of providing a semiconductor package with increased electrical characteristics ([0004] of Yoo).
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Hsiung, in view of Tsai (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0020834).
Regarding Claim 9
Chen as modified by Hsiung discloses Claim 1.
Chen as modified by Hsiung is silent with respect to “coupling a lower side of the lower substrate to an upper side of a base substrate; and providing external interconnects to a lower side of the base substrate”.
FIG. 1 of Tsai discloses a similar method of manufacturing an electronic device, comprising coupling a lower side of the lower substrate (PM2) to an upper side of a base substrate (PM3); and providing external interconnects (170) to a lower side of the base substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Tsai. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of electrical connection to a circuit carrier ([0042] of Tsai).
Pertinent Art
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0208669, 2021/0391268, 20180226349, and JP 2023181141.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897