DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
• This action is in reply to the amendments filed on May 20, 2026
• Claims 36-54 have been added.
• Claims 1-27 have been canceled.
• Claims 28-35 are withdrawn from further consideration.
• Claims 36-54 are currently pending and have been examined.
• This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner is withdrawing the statutory double patenting rejection due to Applicant’s amendments, and new non-statutory double patenting rejections have been entered due to Applicant’s amendments.
New 35 USC § 112 rejections have been entered due to applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on pages 16-17, that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea because the claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the Patent Subject Matter Eligibility analysis, Step 2A, prong two, integration into a practical application requires an additional element(s) or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application are those that generally link the use of the judicial exception into a particular technological environment or field of use-see MPEP 2106.05(h). Here the claims recite a computer-implemented method; a financial credentials authentication system, comprising: a storage medium; and a processor configured to perform claim functions; a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform operations comprising claim functions; and an electronic device such that they amount to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g., a computer network) (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Furthermore, and in response to Applicant’s argument on page 17 where Applicant argues the claims reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or other technology, in determining whether a claim integrates a judicial exception into a practical application, a determination is made of whether the claimed invention pertains to an improvement in the functioning of the computer itself or any other technology or technical field (i.e., a technological solution to a technological problem). Here, the claims recite generic computer components, i.e., a generic processor, a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor to perform the claimed method steps and system functions. The processor, memory and system are recited at a high level of generality and are recited as performing generic computer functions customarily used in computer applications.
Furthermore, the Specification describes a problem and improvement to a business or commercial process at least at [0003], describing authentication being used to reduce or prevent fraudulent transactions.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 18, that the claims recite a specific technical improvement, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The pending claims do not describe a technical solution to a technical problem. The pending claims are directed to solving the problem of improving authentication by authenticating financial credentials to prevent fraudulent transactions (see at least [0003] of the Specification). The claims of the instant application describe an improvement to a business process i.e., improving authentication by authenticating financial credentials to prevent fraudulent transactions, not improvement in the functioning of the computer itself or an improvement to any other technology or technological field.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 18-19 that the claims recite specific concrete elements, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated in the 101 rejection below, the additional elements of the claim are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer components performing generic computer functions obtaining financial credential data, determining whether the data is valid, and determining whether to authorize or reject a transaction based on the credential data) such that it amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g., a computer network).
Applicant’s reliance upon Enfish, on page 19, is misplaced. In Enfish, the courts applied the distinction to reject the § 101 challenge at stage one because the claims in Enfish focused not on asserted advances in uses to which existing computer capabilities could be put, but on a specific improvement — a particular database technique — in how computers could carry out one of their basic functions of storage and retrieval of data. Enfish, 822 F.3d at 1335-36; see Bascom, 827 F.3d at 1348-49, 2016 WL 3514158, at *5; cf. Alice, 134 S.Ct. at 2360 (noting basic storage function of generic computer). The present case is different: the focus of the claims is not on such an improvement in computers as tools, but on certain independently abstract ideas that use computers as tools.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 20-21, that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea and that the claims include an inventive step by reciting nonconventional and non-generic arrangement of features, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitations are directed to an abstract idea and when determining if the claims are directed to significantly more, the additional limitations of the claims in addition to the abstract idea are analyzed. In the instant application, the additional elements of the claim include a computer-implemented method; a financial credentials authentication system, comprising: a storage medium; and a processor configured to perform claim functions; a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform operations comprising claim functions; and an electronic device. The additional limitations, when considered both individually and in combination, do not affect an improvement to another technology or technological field; the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself; and the claims do not move beyond a general link of use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claims merely amount to merely generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g., a computer network), and is considered to amount to nothing more than requiring a generic computer network to carry out the abstract idea itself. The specifics about the abstract idea do not overcome the rejection.
The claims are not patent eligible.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on page 23, that the cited art of record does not teach a “financial score,” the argument has been considered and is not persuasive. The Examiner notes that the claims specifically require that the dynamic data includes a value associated with a financial score of the user, and Cohen teaches this at least at [0047], describing a timestamp that may correspond to dynamic portions, identifiers, or values that are used for single use authentication and/or login and are changed at each subsequent login. The Examiner is interpreting timestamp which may be indicative of fraud of a transaction as being a value associated with a financial score. The cited art of record therefore teaches this limitation.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 23-24 regarding the claim limitation of a financial score comprising a plurality of components including at least a user health component and a user credit component, the argument has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For the reasons above, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claims 36-54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18410806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims speak tore ceiving a request to authenticate financial credentials of a user; determining, whether the financial credentials have been preliminarily authenticated based on static data indicative of the financial credentials of the user; in response to a determination that the financial credentials have been preliminarily authenticated, receiving dynamic data indicative of the financial credentials of the user, wherein the dynamic data are provided by an electronic device of the user, wherein the dynamic data includes a value associated with a financial score of the user, wherein the financial score comprises a plurality of components including at least a user health component and a user credit component, and wherein the value associated with the financial score is based on a combination of respective values associated with the plurality of components; determining whether the dynamic data are valid; and in response to a determination that the dynamic data are valid, validating the financial credentials of the user. The claims differ in the following way: with respect to the independent claims of the instant application, claims 1, 4,13, 15, and 19 of copending Application No. 18410806 discloses all of the limitations of independent claims 36, 48, and 54 of the instant application except the limitations of the financial score comprises a plurality of components including at least a user health component and a user credit component, and wherein the value associated with the financial score is based on a combination of respective values associated with the plurality of components. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the financial score of copending Application No. 18410806 to include at least a user health component and a user credit component, and to modify the value associated with the financial score to be based on a combination of respective values associated with the plurality of components, in order to prevent fraud and improve transaction security.
Dependent claims 37-47 and 49-53 of the instant application recite substantially similar limitations to those of claims 2-12 and 14-18 of copending Application No. 18410806, and therefore are anticipated by copending Application No. 18410806.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 37-47 and 49-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 37-47 and 49-53 all reject upon canceled claims. The Examiner recommends amending the claims to reflect the new numbering of claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 36-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claims 36, 48, and 54 are directed to a method (claim 36), a system (claim 48), and an apparatus (claim 54). Therefore, on its face, each independent claim 36, 48, and 54 are directed to a statutory category of invention under Step 1 of the Patent Subject Matter Eligibility analysis (see MPEP 2106.03).
Under Step 2A, Prong One of the Patent Subject Matter Eligibility analysis (see MPEP 2106.04), claims 36, 48, and 54 recite, in part, a method, a system, and an apparatus of organizing human activity. Claim 36 recites a method to authenticate a user's financial credentials, comprising: receiving a request to authenticate financial credentials of a user; determining, whether the financial credentials have been preliminarily authenticated based on static data indicative of the financial credentials of the user; in response to a determination that the financial credentials have been preliminarily authenticated, receiving dynamic data indicative of the financial credentials of the user, wherein the dynamic data are provided by the user, wherein the dynamic data includes a value associated with a financial score of the user, wherein the financial score comprises a plurality of components including at least a user health component and a user credit component, and wherein the value associated with the financial score is based on a combination of respective values associated with the plurality of components; determining whether the dynamic data are valid; and in response to a determination that the dynamic data are valid, validating the financial credentials of the user. Claim 48 recites similar limitations as claim 1 above. Claim 54 recites similar limitations as claim 1 above, and claim 19 further recites requesting a financial institution to authorize a financial transaction; and in response to a determination that the dynamic data are not valid, requesting the financial institution to decline the financial transaction. The limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers fundamental economic principles or practices and commercial and legal interactions (certain methods of organizing human activity), but for the recitation of generic computer components. The claims as a whole recite a method of organizing human activity. The claimed inventions allows for authenticating a user’s financial credentials by determining whether credentials are valid or not, and authorizing or declining a transaction based on the result of the authorization determination, which is a fundamental economic principle or practice of mitigating risk and a commercial and legal interaction including sales activities or behaviors. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A, Prong Two of the Patent Subject Matter Eligibility analysis (see MPEP 2106.04), the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements of a computer-implemented method; a financial credentials authentication system, comprising: a storage medium; and a processor configured to perform claim functions; a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform operations comprising claim functions; and an electronic device are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer components performing generic computer functions obtaining financial credential data, determining whether the data is valid, and determining whether to authorize or reject a transaction based on the credential data) such that it amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g., a computer network).-see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Accordingly, the combination of the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2B of the Patent Subject Matter Eligibility analysis (see MPEP 2106.05), the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
The claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims have been given the full two part analysis including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because for the same reasoning as above and the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. Dependent claims 37-47 and 49-53 simply help to define the abstract idea. The additional limitations of the dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Viewing the claim limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the claim limitations individually. When viewed either individually, or as an ordered combination, the additional limitations do not amount to a claim as a whole that is significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 36-54 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36-40, 46, 48-52, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230006844 A1 (“Cohen”) in view of US 20130326578 A1 (“Blom”).
Regarding claim 36, Cohen discloses a computer-implemented method to authenticate a user's financial credentials, comprising: receiving a request to authenticate financial credentials of a user (The computer cookie is received during a login attempt to the account. The received computer cookie may be received with or in place of authentication information (e.g., a username and/or password), and may be requested for use with passwordless authentication, reduced authentication requirements, and/or increased trust (e.g., for more sensitive computing operations). See at least [0061]. Credentials may be for a financial payment account such as Paypal, see at least [0012]. See also FIG. 4A, step 402-408.);
determining, whether the financial credentials have been preliminarily authenticated based on static data indicative of the financial credentials of the user (The computer cookie includes a “static” cookie that corresponds to a portion, identifier, or value for the cookie. See at least [0016]. A login by a device to an account with a service provider is detected. The login may correspond to entry of authentication information and/or other authentication that a device and/or user is authorized to use the account. In some embodiments, this may be a first login or may be a subsequent login where a computer cookie having at least a static identifier is provided. If this is a first login, a static identifier and a dynamic value for a computer cookie is generated for the device. Once generated and combined, at step 406 the computer cookie is stored on the device, this includes storing the entire computer cookie so it can be provided during a subsequent login. See at least [0059]-[0060]. See also FIG. 4A, step 402-410. The Examiner interprets determining existence of the cookie which was created at a user’s first login as determining whether financial credentials have been preliminarily authenticated based on static data.);
in response to a determination that the financial credentials have been preliminarily authenticated, receiving dynamic data indicative of the financial credentials of the user, wherein the dynamic data are provided (it is determined whether a dynamic value of the received computer cookie matches an expected value of the dynamic value of the computer cookie stored by the service provider system. See at least [0061] and FIG. 4A, step 410-412.),
wherein the dynamic data includes a value associated with a financial score of the user (Cookie identifier further includes dynamic value and, optionally, timestamp that may correspond to dynamic portions, identifiers, or values that are used for single use authentication and/or login and are changed at each subsequent login. See at least [0047]. See also [0044]. Financial payment account such as Paypal, see at least [0012]. The Examiner interprets timestamp which may be indicative of fraud of a transaction as being a value associated with a financial score.),
wherein the financial score comprises a plurality of components, and wherein the value associated with the financial score is based on a combination of respective values associated with the plurality of components (Timestamp may correspond to a timestamp, which may be down to a millisecond, that is further associated with the authentication and/or login. Once dynamic value and timestamp are set, cookie identifier is then stored to local storage on the computing device performing the authentication. Further, the service provider's server may request at least dynamic value and timestamp are stored for the user's account and/or static identifier, which may be used for the subsequent comparison and authentication. See at least [0047].);
determining whether the dynamic data are valid; and in response to a determination that the dynamic data are valid, validating the financial credentials of the user (When performing the matching of the dynamic value to the expected stored value, the service provider may utilize the device's information, such as an identifier or fingerprint, to retrieve the expected stored value for the dynamic value of the computer cookie. Other information may also be utilized in order to receive the expected stored value, such as an authentication credential or other account identifying information that may allow for retrieval of the expected stored value for the particular account. The service provider may then compare the dynamic value, in the computer cookie received from the device requesting the login, to the expected stored value stored with the service provider. Based on this comparison, at step 414, it is determined whether to authenticate a use of the account based on whether the dynamic values match. In various embodiments, that may include approving the login. See at least [0062] and see also FIG. 4A, step 414.).
While Cohen discloses dynamic data is provided, Cohen does not expressly disclose dynamic data is provided by an electronic device of the user. Furthermore, while Cohen discloses a financial score comprising a plurality of components, Cohen does not expressly disclose the plurality of components including at least a user health component and a user credit component.
However, Blom discloses dynamic data is provided by an electronic device of the user (use using a user device to collect biometric data, see at least [0098] and FIG. 8D-8F.);
the plurality of components including at least a user health component and a user credit component (Receive and/or generate the at least one instance of data associated with a user, a product, and/or a service. For example, the data may be related to the user's health condition, location, product efficacy tests, test results, product usage, user performance (e.g., on a test, examination, etc.), user history, user preferences, financial information (e.g., bank account, credit score, mortgage payments, etc.), type of product, type of service, and the like. In one example, the user utilizes a device to perform a diagnostics of a user health parameter such as a heart rate before and/or after taking a certain product (e.g., medication, coffee, etc.) In another example, the data is associated with a user utilizing a device, an application, a service, etc. to take a college aptitude test. In one embodiment, the PS module, the applications, the data collection module, and/or the user determine at least one value for the at least one instance of data. For example, the value may be a range (e.g., 1, 2, 3, etc.) and/or may indicate a performance (e.g., good, bad, fail, pass, successful, etc.). See at least [0033].).
From the teaching of Blom, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the providing of the dynamic data of Cohen to be from an electronic device of the user, as taught by Blom, and to modify the plurality of components of Cohen to include at least a user health component and a user credit component, as taught by Blom, in order to improve security (see Blom at least at [0001]-[0002]). Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination, each element merely would have performed the same function it performed separately, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Cohen and Blom discloses the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and Cohen further discloses in response to a determination that the dynamic data are valid, requesting a financial institution to authorize a financial transaction (When performing the matching of the dynamic value to the expected stored value, the service provider may utilize the device's information, such as an identifier or fingerprint, to retrieve the expected stored value for the dynamic value of the computer cookie. Other information may also be utilized in order to receive the expected stored value, such as an authentication credential or other account identifying information that may allow for retrieval of the expected stored value for the particular account. The service provider may then compare the dynamic value, in the computer cookie received from the device requesting the login, to the expected stored value stored with the service provider. Based on this comparison, at step 414, it is determined whether to authenticate a use of the account based on whether the dynamic values match. See at least [0062] and see also FIG. 4A, step 414. For example, a service provider, such as an online transaction processor (e.g., PayPal®), may provide services to users, including electronic transaction processing that allows merchants, users, and other entities to process transactions, provide payments, and/or transfer funds between these users, see at least [0011]-[0012]. See also [0013], [0019]. Service provider may be a payment provider, see at least [0026]-[0028].); and
in response to a determination that the dynamic data are not valid, requesting the financial institution to decline the financial transaction (If the dynamic values do not match, authentication may be refused. See at least [0070]. See also [0068]. For example, a service provider, such as an online transaction processor (e.g., PayPal®), may provide services to users, including electronic transaction processing that allows merchants, users, and other entities to process transactions, provide payments, and/or transfer funds between these users, see at least [0011]-[0012]. See also [0013], [0019]. Service provider may be a payment provider, see at least [0026]-[0028].).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Cohen and Blom discloses the limitations of claim 2, as discussed above, and Cohen further discloses determining whether the dynamic data are valid comprises: comparing the dynamic data provided by the electronic device with a second dynamic data (determining whether dynamic value of the computer cookie matches the dynamic value stored in the database of the service provider. See at least [0061].); and
determining the dynamic data are valid in response to determining that the dynamic data match the second dynamic data (When performing the matching of the dynamic value to the expected stored value, the service provider may utilize the device's information, such as an identifier or fingerprint, to retrieve the expected stored value for the dynamic value of the computer cookie. Other information may also be utilized in order to receive the expected stored value, such as an authentication credential or other account identifying information that may allow for retrieval of the expected stored value for the particular account. The service provider may then compare the dynamic value, in the computer cookie received from the device requesting the login, to the expected stored value stored with the service provider. Based on this comparison, at step 414, it is determined whether to authenticate a use of the account based on whether the dynamic values match. See at least [0062] and see also FIG. 4A, step 414); and
determining the dynamic data are not valid in response to determining that the dynamic data do not match the second dynamic data (If the dynamic values do not match, authentication may be refused. See at least [0070].).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Cohen and Blom discloses the limitations of claim 3, as discussed above, and Cohen further discloses determining, from the dynamic data, a value that is associated with a financial score of the user (Cookie identifier further includes dynamic value and, optionally, timestamp that may correspond to dynamic portions, identifiers, or values that are used for single use authentication and/or login and are changed at each subsequent login. See at least [0047]. See also [0044]. Financial payment account such as Paypal, see at least [0012]. The Examiner interprets timestamp which may be indicative of fraud of a transaction as being a value associated with a financial score.);
determining, from the second dynamic data, a second value that is associated with the financial score of the user (Stored values for dynamic value and timestamp from the service provider's systems. See at least [0050]. See also [0044].);
determining the dynamic data are valid in response to determining that the value matches the second value (Comparing and matching dynamic value and timestamp from cookie identifier to expected and stored values for dynamic value and timestamp from the service provider's systems. See at least [0050]. If the expected values for dynamic value and timestamp are matched, cookie identifier may not be compromised. See at least [0047]. By comparing and matching dynamic value and timestamp from cookie identifier to expected and stored values for dynamic value and timestamp from the service provider's systems, authentication may be reduced and/or device trust may be increased. See at least [0050].); and
determining the dynamic data are not valid in response to determining that the value does not match the second value (Cookie identifier includes cookie data, which may include individual identifiers, portions, or values added for a static identifier, a dynamic value, and/or, optionally, a timestamp. See at least [0044]. If the expected values for dynamic value and timestamp are matched, cookie identifier may not be compromised. See at least [0047]. By comparing and matching dynamic value and timestamp from cookie identifier to expected and stored values for dynamic value and timestamp from the service provider's systems, authentication may be reduced and/or device trust may be increased. See at least [0050].)
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Cohen and Blom discloses the limitations of claim 4, as discussed above, and Cohen further discloses determining, from the dynamic data, a first set of numerical values that are associated with the financial score of the user (Cookie identifier further includes dynamic value and, optionally, timestamp that may correspond to dynamic portions, identifiers, or values that are used for single use authentication and/or login and are changed at each subsequent login. See at least [0047]. See also [0044]. Financial payment account such as Paypal, see at least [0012]. The Examiner interprets timestamp and dynamic value as a set of numerical values.),
wherein each numerical value of the first set of numerical values represents a portion of the value (Cookie identifier is shown that requires numbers, characters, symbols, timestamps, or the like that may be added to a computer cookie. See at least [0044] and FIG. 2.);
determining, from the dynamic data, a second set of numerical values that are associated with the financial score of the user (Stored values for dynamic value and timestamp from the service provider's systems. See at least [0050]. See also [0044].),
wherein each numerical value of the second set of numerical values represents a portion of the second value (Cookie identifier is shown that requires numbers, characters, symbols, timestamps, or the like that may be added to a computer cookie. See at least [0044] and FIG. 2.);
determining the dynamic data are valid in response to determining that each value of the first set of values matches a corresponding value of the second set of values (Comparing and matching dynamic value and timestamp from cookie identifier to expected and stored values for dynamic value and timestamp from the service provider's systems. See at least [0050]. If the expected values for dynamic value and timestamp are matched, cookie identifier may not be compromised. See at least [0047]. By comparing and matching dynamic value and timestamp from cookie identifier to expected and stored values for dynamic value and timestamp from the service provider's systems, authentication may be reduced and/or device trust may be increased. See at least [0050].); and
determining the dynamic data are not valid in response to determining that a value of the first set of values does not match a corresponding value of the second set of values (Cookie identifier includes cookie data, which may include individual identifiers, portions, or values added for a static identifier, a dynamic value, and/or, optionally, a timestamp. See at least [0044]. If the expected values for dynamic value and timestamp are matched, cookie identifier may not be compromised. See at least [0047]. By comparing and matching dynamic value and timestamp from cookie identifier to expected and stored values for dynamic value and timestamp from the service provider's systems, authentication may be reduced and/or device trust may be increased. See at least [0050].).
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Cohen and Blom disclose the limitations of claim 3, as discussed above, and Cohen further discloses dynamically updating the second dynamic data (service provider performing the valid authentication may generate a new dynamic value or update the dynamic value to a new identifier, such as a new alphanumeric identifier, hash value, encrypted value, or other like. In such embodiments, the service provider may then store, locally to a database accessible and/or trusted by the service provider, the new dynamic value. See at least [0066].).
Claim 48 has similar limitations found in claim 36 above, and therefore is rejected by the same art and rationale.
Claim 49 has similar limitations found in claim 38 above, and therefore is rejected by the same art and rationale.
Claim 50 has similar limitations found in claim 39 above, and therefore is rejected by the same art and rationale.
Claim 51 has similar limitations found in claim 40 above, and therefore is rejected by the same art and rationale.
Claim 54 has similar limitations found in claims 36-37 above, and therefore is rejected by the same art and rationale.
Claims 41-43, 47, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen in view of Blom, and in further view of US 20230273985 A1 (“Suchan”).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Cohen and Blom disclose the limitations of claim 5, as discussed above. Cohen does not expressly disclose determining, for each respective value of the first set of values, whether the respective value is within a threshold range of a corresponding value of the second set of values; determining that the respective value matches the corresponding value if the respective value is within the threshold range of the corresponding value; and determining that the respective value does not match the corresponding value if the respective value is not within the threshold range of the corresponding value.
However, Suchan discloses determining, for each respective value of the first set of values, whether the respective value is within a threshold range of a corresponding value of the second set of values; determining that the respective value matches the corresponding value if the respective value is within the threshold range of the corresponding value (the biometric information is compared to enrolled biometric information (e.g., compare obtained iris scan to stored iris print and/or compare current eye information to eye information from previous frame), wherein a determination whether the user authentication criterion is met is based on the comparison of the biometric information to the enrolled biometric information (e.g., user authentication criterion satisfied if comparison meets sufficient similarity threshold (e.g., 95% similarity)). In some embodiments, a first level (e.g., complete or high-fidelity) iris features verification is performed, and at a later time (e.g., one hour later), a second level (e.g., tracking eye information for continuity) iris features verification is performed in order to link the first level iris features verification to the performance criteria for initiating performance of the secure operation. Requiring biometric authentication in addition to user authorization for a secure operation provides improved security/privacy by adding a layer of biometric verification specific to user requesting authorization. See at least [0175]. Biometrics include eye data, fingerprint data, facial data, etc. See at least [0198]); and
determining that the respective value does not match the corresponding value if the respective value is not within the threshold range of the corresponding value (the biometric information is compared to enrolled biometric information (e.g., compare obtained iris scan to stored iris print and/or compare current eye information to eye information from previous frame), wherein a determination whether the user authentication criterion is met is based on the comparison of the biometric information to the enrolled biometric information (e.g., user authentication criterion satisfied if comparison meets sufficient similarity threshold (e.g., 95% similarity)). See at least [0175]. a determination that the user authentication criterion is not met (e.g., device is unable to obtain a sufficient iris features scan, first level iris features verification result indicates iris features scan does not match reference scan, or user declines to provide iris features verification), a prompt (e.g., 728) is provided (e.g., displaying, via the display generation component (e.g., 120 and/or 700a)) to enable authentication with a passcode (e.g., a button the user activates to invoke a passcode entry interface). In some embodiments, the prompt (e.g., 704) includes a passcode entry portion and an affordance to decline passcode entry. Requiring passcode authentication after biometric authentication failure provides improved security/privacy by providing backup options for verifying a user's identity. See at least [0182].)
From the teaching of Suchan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the determining of Cohen to determining, for each respective value of the first set of values, whether the respective value is within a threshold range of a corresponding value of the second set of values; determining that the respective value matches the corresponding value if the respective value is within the threshold range of the corresponding value; and determining that the respective value does not match the corresponding value if the respective value is not within the threshold range of the corresponding value, as taught by Suchan, in order to improve efficiency of authenticating a user (see Suchan at least at [0006]), and in order to improve user experience and privacy and security (see Suchan at least at [0035]).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Cohen, Blom, and Suchan disclose the limitations of claim 6, as discussed above, and Cohen further discloses determining that the respective value matches the corresponding value if the respective value is identical to the corresponding value (When performing the matching of the dynamic value to the expected stored value, the service provider may utilize the device's information, such as an identifier or fingerprint, to retrieve the expected stored value for the dynamic value of the computer cookie. Other information may also be utilized in order to receive the expected stored value, such as an authentication credential or other account identifying information that may allow for retrieval of the expected stored value for the particular account. The service provider may then compare the dynamic value, in the computer cookie received from the device requesting the login, to the expected stored value stored with the service provider. Based on this comparison, at step 414, it is determined whether to authenticate a use of the account based on whether the dynamic values match. See at least [0062] and see also FIG. 4A, step 414); and
determining that the respective value does not match the corresponding value if the respective value is not identical to the corresponding value (If the dynamic values do not match, authentication may be refused. See at least [0070].).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Cohen and Blom disclose the limitations of claim 4, as discussed above. Cohen does not expressly disclose determining that the value matches the corresponding value if the value is within a threshold range of the second value; and determining that the value does not match the corresponding value if the value is not within the threshold range of the second value.
However, Suchan discloses determining that the value matches the corresponding value if the value is within a threshold range of the second value (the biometric information is compared to enrolled biometric information (e.g., compare obtained iris scan to stored iris print and/or compare current eye information to eye information from previous frame), wherein a determination whether the user authentication criterion is met is based on the comparison of the biometric information to the enrolled biometric information (e.g., user authentication criterion satisfied if comparison meets sufficient similarity threshold (e.g., 95% similarity)). In some embodiments, a first level (e.g., complete or high-fidelity) iris features verification is performed, and at a later time (e.g., one hour later), a second level (e.g., tracking eye information for continuity) iris features verification is performed in order to link the first level iris features verification to the performance criteria for initiating performance of the secure operation. Requiring biometric authentication in addition to user authorization for a secure operation provides improved security/privacy by adding a layer of biometric verification specific to user requesting authorization. See at least [0175]. Biometrics include eye data, fingerprint data, facial data, etc. See at least [0198]); and
determining that the value does not match the corresponding value if the value is not within the threshold range of the second value (the biometric information is compared to enrolled biometric information (e.g., compare obtained iris scan to stored iris print and/or compare current eye information to eye information from previous frame), wherein a determination whether the user authentication criterion is met is based on the comparison of the biometric information to the enrolled biometric information (e.g., user authentication criterion satisfied if comparison meets sufficient similarity threshold (e.g., 95% similarity)). See at least [0175]. a determination that the user authentication criterion is not met (e.g., device is unable to obtain a sufficient iris features scan, first level iris features verification result indicates iris features scan does not match reference scan, or user declines to provide iris features verification), a prompt (e.g., 728) is provided (e.g., displaying, via the display generation component (e.g., 120 and/or 700a)) to enable authentication with a passcode (e.g., a button the user activates to invoke a passcode entry interface). In some embodiments, the prompt (e.g., 704) includes a passcode entry portion and an affordance to decline passcode entry. Requiring passcode authentication after biometric authentication failure provides improved security/privacy by providing backup options for verifying a user's identity. See at least [0182].).
From the teaching of Suchan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the determining of Cohen to determine that the value matches the corresponding value if the value is within a threshold range of the second value; and determining that the value does not match the corresponding value if the value is not within the threshold range of the second value, as taught by Suchan, in order to improve efficiency of authenticating a user (see Suchan at least at [0006]), and in order to improve user experience and privacy and security (see Suchan at least at [0035]).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Cohen and Blom disclose the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Cohen does not expressly disclose providing a result to the electronic device.
However, Suchan discloses providing a result to the electronic device (electronic device provides an indication to user that user authorization of the autofill function was successful. In particular, electronic device modifies (or otherwise replaced with an additional interface) authorization interface to include a positive indication that user authorization of the autofill function was successful (e.g., a “check” mark next to text “Done”). See at least [0142] and FIG. 7E.).
From the teaching of Suchan, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Cohen to provide a result to the electronic device, as taught by Suchan, in order to improve efficiency of authenticating a user (see Suchan at least at [0006]), and in order to improve user experience and privacy and security (see Suchan at least at [0035]).
Claim 52 has similar limitations found in claim 41 above, and therefore is rejected by the same art and rationale.
No Prior Art Rejections
Based on the prior art search results, the prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed subject matter of claims 44-45 and 53. While some individual features of claims 44-45 and 53 may be shown in the prior art of record: no known reference, alone or in combination, would provide the invention of claims 44-45 and 53.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11605078 B1 (“Adam”) discloses authorizing a payment card transaction using a dynamic code accessed from a first device and a presence of a second device. The dynamic code can be accessed on a first device when the second device is within a proximity of the first device (e.g., electronically paired using a short-range communication protocol, on the same local area network). The system can receive a request for authorization of a transaction using the payment card and can include a verification code associated with the payment card and an identifier of the payment card, and the payment card can have the associated dynamic code. The verification code can be compared with a value of the dynamic code at the time of the transaction. In response to the verification code matching the dynamic code at the time of the transaction, the system can authorize the transaction.
US 9749308 B2 (“Jones”) discloses assessing network authentication requirements based on situational instance. In this regard, the invention dynamically determines specific user authentication requirements for accessing a service or executing an activity based on the determining the user's network connections, geographic location, and applications, in real-time. The invention provides a novel method for employing activity data provided by a plurality of users associated with historical activity information to vary the authentication requirements dynamically. Another aspect of the invention is directed to constructing geographic maps with predefined physical areas and overlaying graphical representations of activity data on the maps, in real-time.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAVEN E YONO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3694